(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Carole: will surely strike soon, don't worry! remember practise makes perfect... so go and practise and practise more and more, until YK knees week

mm.. carole: urs late for how long then report strength ne? mine for this time round is late for approx 4days ba.. but i tested using guardian pharm.. one..yesterday, its BFN. so i guess it prob.. just due to work stress ba. hehe.. but i really hope that it will come coz i do feel bloated lor.

pammie, missed u and tammie... me was late :p
me already put her on waiting list... either 9am or 2pm class... wait and see lor

it was great seeing sabie and samuel again

Hi Flo.. so sorry.. must sms me yr no. again.. I was so sure I was going at 1030am after breakfast and settling some bank stuff. The last time I was at the bank, around same time, it took me more than 1 hour to queue n finalise the transaction. This time it took just 5min! I dont know where the crowd went.. so we were v v early.. anyway, Tammi attended the 430pm class that day itself since they had 1 vacancy... I am going to waitlist for 9am class too cos' she's TOO hyper at 430pm esp without a nap.. it was hard to control her. The class content is v good and i like the mandarin class too.. i found myself struggling to speak mandarin even to the teacher.. :Sigh!! I think they are native chinese teachers.

i saw pammie & tammi & daddy! they were very early. saw them not long after our class started...hee

Samuel's Response To The Class
actually, i had quite an experience during Samuel's first lesson. the mandarin class started first. samuel was alright in the first 15 mins till i think he saw my maid at the door. he started crying for her. kept calling out to auntie auntie. he cried quite hard and was persistent in going out to look for auntie. i was told not to bring him out of the class and that both the teachers and i will have to calm him down and get accustomed to the class. this was mentioned during the orientation. i tried pacifying him and distracting him but he could only stop for a few minutes before he started crying again. he cried so hard that he threw up. got himself, myself and the floor messed up. i had no choice but to bring him out to wash up. there, he met his auntie for 10 mins. i brought him back to class and he started sobbing again. after a few minutes, it was time to wash hands and have snacks back in class. when he saw his food, he cheered up and attending the rest of the English lesson and singing sessions happily...there was a sand-play session after the lesson. there, he enjoyed himself scooping sand and thereafter riding on the motorcycle...

The Lessons
overall, i find the curriculum quite interesting and interactive. during the Mandarin class, samuel actually had a chance to pick up green beans and put them nicely into a container with cotton wool (though still sobbing). thereafter, they were told to water the beans. they've also performed a play which stars a hardworking bee and a lazy bear.

as for the English class, they've emphasized on the word GARDEN this week. the singing session was indeed quite fun and did capture all the kids' attention. am sure patsy saw that part.

there's a good mix of toddlers around the same age. samuel was the youngest in the class though.

that's the end of the 1st lesson story...

sneaky: sounds like the class was v interesting hopefully zoe can get a place in the july term!

Zoe's starting the toddler class at her childcare today.. hope all goes well!

I'm 10 days late.. also v tired and nauseus for the past 2 days.. working this morning was a real killer, could barely keep my eyes open and kept yawning! wonder if i'm preggie.. but refuse to test til this weekend.. spent so much money on test kits already..

fushiastar: u are late too? hehe... u mean u spent a lot of money on test kits but negative mah? mm... could it be just late ne? well... hopefully.. the test kits are not working well though!

sneaky - hey, samuel n tammi went thro' the same thing! except we had english before chinese and i skipped the sandplay cos' she was already getting delirious! when tammi doesnt get her sleep, she becomes delirious.. and it becomes hard to control her.. she staggers as she walks!
The beans have sprouted! everyday i saw it to her.. i even have a toy watering can which I give to Tammi so she can water the beans ..
Hey, she remembered the letter G - taught in class.. Today i asked her what letter it is and she said "G"... She spilt apple juice all over herself on sat so I had to run out to change her out of her clothing.. really ka lang ka bor.. I was all alone. no maid, no hubb..

pammie, i forgot to bring back the beansprout leh...i think i left it on the bench at the reception area...so sad...oh, you also had quite an experience huh? hee...well, i guess, we just have to learn to cope with our kiddos on our own...

hey, i just called up JG. indeed, i left the beansprout on the bench and they have kept it for me. i'll be picking it up tomorrow...thanks, pammie, for reminding me about it...

Sneaky.. oh good thing they kept for u.. it would have sprouted by now.. !

U know what Tammi did when chinese teacher said she wanted to "щԖ" Tammi crumpled the paper folower up! The other kids seem to know that they are to hold out their hand so that Teacher can collect nectar like a bee..

wah...pammie, what're those 3 words? sprouted already ah? that's quite fast leh...all the more i shd collect it earlier to show sam his masterpiece...

by the way, any mummies wanna get rid of their playpens? preferably the standard size ones (not the reduced sized)...please sms or pm me if you're keen to let go...

patsy, borrow? sell it to me lah...cos i will have to use it for close to a year leh...where are you today? not online?

pammie, the chinese characters did show up but i don't know how to read even a single word. my colleague also don't know how to read them leh...what are they in hanyu pinyin? anyway, i have collected the beansprout this morning. indeed, they have sprouted...

fushiastar, i did use a playpen with samuel. because i live in a 3-storey house, i need a "bed" to rest my baby on the 1st floor. then, in my room on 3rd floor, i need a bed for baby Isaac to sleep in and i intend to use a playpen also. therefore, i'll need 2 playpens. i have 1 now, so i need another...

for your case, the playpen or playard is for the purpose of playing. mine is for sleeping...totally different purposes.

hmm. idea, them them how to plant. kekek so cute.
nice nice

a new Playpen cost abt 99 i think.. some even cheaper

carole, i know...just thought i would also do a good deed if i get from mummies who wanna free some space in their homes mah...

carole, me also had the same tot. kekeke...

Fun, you going to the seminar?
btw, Alden attending the english or billingual class at GUG? me gg for a trial class next Monday afternoon

Flo

still considering to attend anot .. must chk with hubby

ALden still taking his BB class.. his toddler class is english de.. cos billingual class has more kids on waiting list.. but they will let me know if there's a space for Alden

sneaky, aiya it's not as if i will use it still, but my sis wants it for her future kids so i lend to you first!

in vietnam still, be back online tomorrow!

carole, yah...that's why i'm asking patsy loh...

patsy, aiyo...then don't want lah...keep it for her...else it will be too old for her to use leh...please keep for her, k? eh....come back quick...missing you leh....

sneaky: i doubt Isaac will be jumping up and down on it.. i'll ask her and if she prefers the play yard, i'll just give you the play pen ok?

be back tomorrow!!

patsy, hard to say wor...i think this boy is more active than his bro...i cannot guarantee that it will be as good as it is not a year later hor...yah...good idea, better check with your sis...

flo

Brennan also attending the GUG trial class this sat at 2pm
but i duno if its bilingual or english only ;p

I need some advice from you.

I thought of putting my gal in the MMI childcare Center@ Ten Mile Junction or Phoenix Walk.
http://www.modern-montessori.com/presch_centres_cck.htm

Is it really good to put your child @ Montessori School ??? I heard some negative comments but after viewing so many childcare, I quite like their activities.

Below is my preferences for childcare centre after viewing so many of them:

1) MMI @ Phoenix Walk
As this center is not a fully air condition centre so it will be good to put my gal there but a bit out of the way if hb cannot fetch her. Really like the activities over there as they teach based on your child learning speed. They teach you the concept before going into the details. Child will get a lots of hand on too.

2) Kinderland @ CCK Central
This will be my next option as convenience for me to fetch my gal if hb is not free. Quite like the activities there as there is music lesson which I think my gal will like it.
For this CC, it seem like there is a lot of craft work which it is good when can prepare the child for future sch projects.

3) Columbia @ Akira Centre
Heard good comments about this school. It is really academic focus and it really prepare your child to Primary School. Got to enrol them during nursery class as they do not take in student after that as they are worried that your child might not be able to catch up with their learning phase.
Good but hb asked me "DO I REALLY NEED TO STRESS MY GAL AT SUCH A YOUNG AGE?"
I can't answered too as my hb's question also very stress leh....

If u were me, where would u want to put your child???

nuttnuts

First i will ask myself wat comes first..

To me its: Distance From Home, School Reputation, condition of school den price. As u se tat i am not planning for #2. I can put all our effort on Alden alone.. if u are planning for #2 and #3.. shld consider long term commitments which means cheaper schools lor.. as long as they can learn useful things and knowledges.

And whether isit necessary to send her, i will answer as : They are like Sponge now.. they can absorb ANYTHING we teach! why not start from young.. give a good base! Moreover schools can expell all their everyday energy kekeke..

Hi nuttnuts

its me

i have oso enquired on MMI Jurong West branch and oso contemplating to place ash tare but oso after hearing some negatives comments on MMI teaching den ended up holding back til now.. like u, i used to think MMI are good coz ppl's comments n etc den just when i wanna enrol ash in tare den here comes the negative comments.. haiz

as for me, im stil thinking over zoo phonics or MMI, come to school fees, its the same pricing.. so its more on wat they give to the child.. *headache*

sweetie

As i know, in GUG they onli allow trials for bb class.. even if u wana attend toddler classes, must first join bb class for a term.

sabie has a slot in GUG but have had to defer coz of her surgery, they've agreed to hold on to her slot when she has recovered... how ah? GUG or JG?

both i have to wake up early on saturdays... die!!!

i guess its voice down wat u wan ur child to do.

Clar will be starting at Kidsloft @ cluny court comes 10th apr. my main aim is for her to socialise n learn through play. $ is 580 2x a week for 8wks

sweetie

yes, babies class. and like what fun said, i waited for donkey months. think it was even before brennan went to infantcare!!! (in dec last year) heehee

wa yours 9.30am, brennan would be very fussy that time cos he needs his beauty sleep. ngiak ngiak.

patsy,

i also registered jg but have to wait. so try gug and see if grace likes it or not...

ssl,
i will be paying $42 for the trial class this sat. was only given 9.30a.m. slot so got to leave home abt 8.30a.m. for the class... will dump all food into slow cooker and then wake grace up by 8... normal time for her lor... a bit rush but still ok i think. 2p.m. is grace nap time so i think will waste money... hahaha
the whole idea is to expose grace to socialising and learning... i find that i cant get grace to sit and read with me.... headache.