(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Alden hugs raindeer to sleep.. cant sleep without it.. haha... have to use the backside label to poke his eyelid den can sleep.. faint...

jenifur,
how was zoophonics?

i have a big tin of mamil 3 to let go at $36.. i bot it at 39+.. unopened. Just bot.. reason for letting go - girl weaning off FM and i dont need another tin... let me know ok?

Alden just went for his GUG baby class yesterday.. he was the 2nd oldest there, more active than the rest of the babies. He still roams ard the room like last time, but he is more attentive on wat is going on in the group even tho he doesnt not sit on the mat like others. Quite a nice experience for Alden and me

They have now relocated at Level 1, a new renovated place with abt 8 rooms. They also have their very own toilets for children, better than the old place.

I just chked that they have a new yoga cum fitness class.. wana share the info with u ladies

Yoga Cum Fitness

This is a fun and fitness programme for children 7 months to 12 years, and conducted by certified facilitators from YogaKids International Inc. (world's leading yoga school for children for more than 15 years). Much more than just yoga, this programme offers a unique approach that incorporates Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP), High Impact Training, Touch Therapy and Music & Movement.

Promoting fitness of the body and mind, we introduce special exercises and games proven to develop healthy bodies, mind concentration, self-confidence and esteem. Babies and toddlers enjoy parental bonding through gentle yoga play, musical stimulation and creative movement. Students from 3 years upward have fun with yoga fitness through animal poses, as well as learn how to direct their energies, thoughts and emotions positively. Children will develop to become calmer, balanced, healthy and focused individuals.

hi moms.. just a survey - how many of you have switched yr kids to Fresh Milk ? I happend to ask 2 of my colleagues if they want the extra mamil 3 that i have and they ask me why I switch to fresh milk so soon... I said cos' my PD said so and they say that their kids at 6 yrs old still drinking formula..

which is better ??

pammie

It realli depends on individual parents.. my relative stays in Australia, the culture there is give FResh milk as early as 6mths old. There not much choices in FM, but lots of Fresh milk brands to choose from and cheap cheap too!

Ang mos all give fresh milk to their kids.. its realli depends on what u believe. If u believe tat Fm can make their brain grow in a smarter way den continue with it. if u think fresh or FM doesnt make a difference, den Fresh ones also can lor
BUT baby's stomach must be able to take fresh milk la.. cos of the lactose.

hi fun.. ok! basically i'm not just concern abt brain food, but wnt to know, which one has more nutrients.. ie vitamins and calcium. anyone knows?

pammie: FM will definitely have more vits/mins plus the brain food (i.e. DHA/ARA/SA) that Fun mentions, plus the medium chain triglycerides whihc is essential for vitamin metabolism. there will probably be a higher amount of calcium too as it is more difficult to add in calcium in fresh milk due to sedimentation issues as compared to powdered milk. Fresh milk will also not have the choline/taurine (amino acid pre-cursors).

the thrust of FM producers recently is to try to mimic BM as close as possible, hence the addition of all the extras.

another thing you have to consider is that fresh milk (i.e. from cows basically) has a different protein ratio as that of human milk. FM milk manufacturers are now trying to use the same ratio of whey vs casein because this affects the "absorption rate" of the nutrients in the milk. For example, weight lifters drink whey protein shakes before lifting weights to give them energy, but will drink casein drinks after to help rebuild the cells that were exhausted during physical activity

personally, I think this is beneficial to the babies

patsy: wow...finally, the professional at work huh! but that's your job...keke...thanks for the information anyway!

pammie: in my opinion, for the ages of our babies, yes, I would stick to FM

sneaky: hehe yah lor, at least my brain cells are used once in a while :) just re-read what I typed and realized I phrased it like i was making a report for work, sorry hor. anyone with more questions can msn me lah!

carole: me and sabie!

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Flo</font>,

Zoophonic trial was great though find some of e activities abit advance for Janelle. But she enjoyed herself, even manage to pick up e sounds of "A" & "F" after just 1 lesson. The art & craft part was a diaster for me lah. Janelle had paint all over her top, hand, face & even on my face too
lucky can be wash off. I'm arranging to enrol her for class on Wed morning as this is the only session with Mandarin programme.

Brought Janelle to a goat farm last Sat to buy goat milk. Here's some pictures to share:-</font>
715008.jpg

715009.jpg

715010.jpg

Jenifur

The goat farm tour was featured on Monday night's bb show right
so cute. Where is the location btw? Do we need to pay??

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">SSL,

The goat farm is located at No. 3 Lim Chu Kang, Agrotech Park Lane 4, Singapore 718859. It's free. You have to purchase the feed from them at S$2 if you wan to feed e goats. But I find it not neccessary. I bot a pack but end up Janelle just take those on the floor to feed instead of taking from e pack I bot. Here's e website:-

http://www.haydairies.com.sg/services.htm

Will bring Janelle tere again this Sat to stock up more goat milk. She luvs it
If got time & not too hot, will bring her to visit other farms lyk fish/frog etc too...</font>

Here's a list of some other farms u can visit:-

http://www.kranjicountryside.com/template/farmpreneurs.html</font>

mummies and babies going to Sentosa.. what time?? would prefer after lunch so less rushed and less things to pack (specially for me!!)

Hi Jenifur,
thanks for the info. may want to sign Rae up with Zoophonics too, since it's very near my parents place. if it's weekdays, my mum or dad can bring her there. when is Janelle's class starting? hehehe.. mebbe can arrange them to be classmates

Fun,
forgot to ask what does Alden do during GUG class?

mummies going sentosa, if i can make it, i wanna bring Rae along too... hehe.. will sms Patsy if i can go

Flo

All these comprehensive 1.5-hour weekend classes provide your young ones with opportunities to explore and participate in fun and exciting activities. They include action rhymes, alphabet games, zoophonics and language, songs, music and movement, puppetry, art & craft, cooking, sensorial and science discoveries!

<font face="calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">SSL,

Yes, Janelle is taking goat milk now. I substitute it for 1 of her milk feed & also use it to mix w her cereal.

Goat's milk is a very good source of calcium and a good source of protein, phosphorous, riboflavin (vitamin B2) and potassium & low in lactose.

Got this from e net:-
Cow's milk and goat's milk protein are both comprised of around 80% casein (milk) protein and 20% whey protein. Because goats eat the same thing year round, the fatty acid content remains consistent. On the other hand, cows often feed on different grains depending on the season creating variations in this area.

Cholesterol levels are the same for both types of milk, but goat's milk has more of vitamins A, B6, and D and also more potassium, manganese, chloride, and copper. Its calcium content is quite a bit higher as well. Levels of vitamin B12 and zinc are generally a bit lower. The higher potassium content contributes to maintaining low blood pressure, essential in avoiding strokes and heart attacks.

You can read more from this website:-
http://www.n101.com/goats_milk_protein_guide_A10010.html
</font></font>

Jenifur

So you warm it up before feeding Janelle? Brennan no longer eating cereal at home. Thats why sold off all my cereals except for Nestle ones. Weekends morning we will bring him out to kopitiam to eat zhu chang fen. If we didnt go out for breakfast, then i will feed him bread. after which he will have his milk feed.

jenifur

good to hear tat janelle loves the goat milk coz goat milk tends to have a diff taste compared to cow milk and its a bit bland n salty to me personally.. *hee*

May I know what is a good time to start bb in using straw to drink? brennan still drinks his plain water via spoon feeding. last time tried using sprout but he doesnt want to drink, just keep bitting the soft spout and playing with the water. I actually bought the harder spout but duno if i should just let him try the straw now that he is older?

How can I determine if he is ready to drink using the straw? Or shall i let him try the harder spout first?

SSL

OMG.. he shld be able to suck from strew liao leh.. he can even start learning to drink from cup! Alden has been sucking from strew since 12 mths old.. these few days he learning to drink from cup liao.. can try liao leh. just try la.. they very good in learning de.. no need to be ready anot de la.. only water ma.. choke also not a bad prob.. keke

You can try letting him suck a packet of greentea.. sure learn real fast!! haha

i agree with chan ka

my ash started to use straw from her yakult when she was onli a few months old.. when the child wans something they like.. they wil learn SUPER fast! wahahha

11th March to Sentosa

1. Patsy & Sabie
2. Adel & Brent
3. Carole & Clarisse
4. Penny & Samuel
5. Sharon & Sabrina (may join ur all )

hahaha yakult.

now brennan is coughing with alot of phlegm so i will wait till not so much phlegm then let him try the straw.

btw, can drink yakult ah... the less sugar version?? Brennan quite slow in things compared to many babies here lor. thats why i do it slowly with him. like u say, if he wants, he will learn very fast.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

Yupz, I'll warm e goat milk jus lyk EBM den give Janelle. I agree w Fun & Morraine that it's easier for them to learn if it's something they like. I tried for almost 2 mths to teach Janelle how to drink her plain water using straw but it was fruitless. Den I happen to let her try drinking the apple juice from Macdonald & guess wat, she learnt how to use e straw within an hr
716379.gif

<font color="0000ff">Morraine</font>,

Janelle rejected it at 1st but I force her to drink lor, now she's ok w e taste... </font>

I need your help. I'm planning for my boy 1yrs old celebration & intend to order the cakes from Hot Fuchsia? wonder anybody here tried their cakes? can share your feedback with me.

SSL.. I think every kid is different. I trained Tammi to drink from cup because she wanted to copy us (what we drink, how we drink..etC) also , i think when going out it's just easier, cos' i just give her water in a cup n she'll drink. Another consideration is if u wnat to put them in childcare they dont have bottled drinks and teachers will give all the kids water or juice in a cup. So you need to train.. but if you are not considering childcare so soon, you have time. Brennan shld pick it up.. dont worry! There are kids at 3 still drinking milk from a bottle!

pammie, oh yes...my niece who's turning 4 in july is still drinking milk from a bottle and sleeping in a sarong during afternoon naps!

Sherisse had been drinking plain water from cup.. she will only drink plain water from cup from bottle she will reject.. tried to train her to drink from straw too but failure.. keke.. but now she drink from cup so ok loh.. maybe I should try giving her vitagen or yakult to train her to drink from straw.. keke

SSL

Like wat most of us said.. its really very individual so u dun have to worry on the kid's growth n etc..

As for yakult, ash has been drinking it since dunno how many mos but i limit to a few sips onli not the whole bottle to herself, usually i wil drink most of it den leave like 1/4 of it for her to suck and in regards to less sugar version, im not so sure.. tonite go bac i check den let u noe

Drinking with straw got nothing to do with phelgm wor.. if u are letting him drink plain water..

thanks mummies

i will try to let Brennan have the straw test. heehee just hope he wont chew on them.

pammie,

Brennan is already in infantcare now since Dec last year. The teacher tried to train him using spout but he refuse to drink the water. so they ask me to bring back the bottle and they will spoon feed him. So i thought it would be better to start training him before he goes to childcare side end March (provided he is more steady on his walking).

I need 6 kind souls to help me test out a new brand of diaper pants. Will mail 2 pieces (size XL) to each participants to test and try.

But I would need require the help of the testers to fill up a simple feedback form about the performance of the diaper pants.

Only have enough samples for 6 participants. Please PM me if you are keen. Thanks.

hi girls..

Sentosa.. what time har???
1. Patsy & Sabie
2. Adel & Brent
3. Carole & Clarisse
4. Penny & Samuel
5. Sharon & Sabrina (may join ur all )

anyone else???

Straw/cup, sabie drinks juice/water from a straw/cut no problems. milk sometimes she'll drink sometimes, if bedtime she'll want her bottle still.

Sabie's not walking still... am so sad

patsy

dont worry. sabie will walk soon. try to let her explore herself. sometimes it depends on the BB. like we used to keep asking brennan to walk, hold him to practice walking. he doesnt want. but lately he has been walking alot in childcare and at home and now he is quite steady in his walking :D

i might ask my parents and bro to join us...can or not har? btw Patsy, Shirley is joining us and i have a whole jing gang of pple to help me with samuel...haha...from none to a whole jing gang!