(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Fun, thks! bb sitter's at Punggol.

jkids, i let my ger eat those pigeon biscuits. those round tiny ones...melt in the mouth immediately. so no choking. if u scared, can press it slightly first.

fushiastar, pls help me get one pack 1st. will arrange to collect fr ur plc. thks!

i let my boy eat many things that are soft (e.g. tofu, beehoon, rice, fish). all these things are from what i eat at times. Samuel is taking them well...maybe because he's very food greedy! keke

fushiastar: it will be a big mess if we ever get the chance to bring Zoe and Xaby together... food on the floor, table, wall, on Mummy except in their mouth! Xaby's been acting up during meal times these days, she'll happily eat the first half of her porridge (sometimes feeding herself even) but once she reaches half way, she'll start to want to get out of her high chair. I guess she gets bored? Then she'll want me to carry her, then put her back, then carry her, then put her back, on and on and on! lat night refused here porridge totally even if it was her favourite beef with potatoes, had to dip the porridge in bread then feed her the bread! BTW, I've been training her to eat those Gerber puffs and so far she can finish about 8 - 12 pcs on her own, very funny if she drops one... she sort of panics and almost falls face forward trying to find it!! Will try raisins like you mentioned this weekend. What kind of brown rice do you feed Zoe? Do you use this to make porridge?

Flo: I hope Rae's ok. Xaby had bronchitis a few months ago and also had to be on antiboitics, very scary right? Very scared of getting pneumonia becuase the bacteria might infect her heart stent which is hard to cure due to her heart condition... glad you have the option to stay at home! Wish i could too but with her medical bills, we need the 2nd income to prepare for her heart surgery.

Sneaky: No allergic reaction due to beehoon? From experience in my former job a lot of the beehoon made uses additives in the flour to make it whiter, and i'm scared of allergic reactions due to it.

Does anyone here play mah jong?

sharon & Jenifur

are we working nearby?
must meet for lunch one day.
maybe the week commencing 21 aug

Been a while since i log on.. wah, all the babies are so cute n big liao..especially Xaby, so chubby chubby

Can I know how does ur babies feeding schedule? I felt that my boi Shaun 10 month++ is drinking less n less ler.. average abt 600ml fm + 1 lunch porridge.. haiz, very worry, sometimes try to force feed him but cannot also.. should we just let them be? Can mummies shares some comment? Thanks

chris27

Brennan takes about 520ml with 2 porridge feeds (lunch and dinner) and 1 cereal feed(morning)

Hi SSL,

ic ic.. how much porridge does brennan take each feed? 1 small bowl?
Sometimes I have to spoon feed milk to Shaun when he refuses to suck from milk bottle.. really headache!

hi chris

usually is 1 tablespoon of rice, which is about 1 small bowl of porridge with ingredients

maybe u can try changing the teat? when brennan refuse to drink, i will change to latex teat. especially now he has started to teeth so MIL say change to latex teat lor.

But if brennan dont want milk, there is no way i can force him. so let him be. once, i feed him those round pigeon biscuits that flo mentioned above, he then willing to take milk but only 50ml. heehee better than nothing lor

<font color="ff0000">Patsy - me me!! i play!!</font>

<font color="ff0000">SSL - one tablespoon of rice arh for the porridge? eunff? for Ash i use half cup of rice for her lunch and dinner porridge leh.. </font>

patsy, so far so good for Samuel. he doesn't seem to have any allergic reactions to anything i've given to him. i think i've even given him some stuffs made of egg and of course egg white...i'm really blessed with this kid!

morriane: hehe, the reason i'm asking is because we play in front of xaby sometimes and I'm wondering if it's bad for her... my friends say she'll grow up to be a gambling queen and her first words will be pong and kang! if we don't have enough "ka" i will call you!! but warning we play very small, $0.10/$0.20 only!!

sneaky: you're so lucky!! Xaby seems to get rashes everytime even if she's eating food she's had before, had to be very careful else her face all red.

SSL: where do you work?

chris: thanks... am now starting to worry she'll have to go major dieting when she gets big but she LOVESSSSS to eat!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Patsy:
haha.. me also recently start to play mahjong in front of Sherisse.. weekend entertainment for us when I go back to my mum's place... keke</font>

patsy,
yah... scary when they are sick, esp when they have fever...
now she's better already. but still can 'hear' the phlegm.
if dun get better by fri, think i'll bring her to kkh to make sure the lungs are cleared.
no choice... can't depend on single income. so the plan is to stop work till end of the year only.
me dun know how to play mahjong :p

chris27,
so far, my ger's been eating cereal for breakfast and porridge for lunch and dinner. I use 2 - 3 chinese soup spoon of rice to cook for both meals. cannot finish all tho.. so i finish watever's left. she's drinking abt 700 - 900ml milk, depends. PD did say tat she can drink up to 1 litre per day for her weight and age.
guess the other way u can increase milk intake by adding it to the cereal.

i guess most imptly is tat doc say their growth is ok.
realise that it's quite hard to compare... each baby have different appetites and feeding habits

i too given food with egg white, and many other things like mushroom, pasta, marcaroni, cakes... clarisse got no allergies too. But the only allergies are from those baby chair she sat on. last nite went Sakura at Tampines, clarisse sat on the bb chiar, her legs all got little red dots.

Been so stressed today! Xaby woke u p with her cheeks all red, I think it's an allergic reaction to yellow kiwi. She's been so grouchy the whole day I think it's because her face is itchy

Anyway, went to Taka baby fair, some very sweet dresses to be found.

flo: you might want to consider bringing Rae to Dr.William Yip in Gleneagles, she's Xaby's cardio but he is also very good for pulmonary problems. If you need his contact, send me an email. I'll also reply to your email re: baby formula tomorrow.

morraine

MIL prefer more veg and meat than rice lor. i wanted to increase but didnt after she said this. 1 tablespoon is for 1 meal

Patsy

me working at one george street (opposite great eastern building). y leh
me no play mahjong

Flo

your ger drink alot. can share whats her feeding schedule? how heavy is bb now?

i went centrepoint to check out the party items at level 5
bought 2 birthday banners, 1 birthday balloon and 1 bib for brennan's birthday. banners quite expensive but balloon price is ok. didnt ask them to put helium cos too early now. either go back to ask them to do it nearer to his bd or approach one shop near my opic to see if they can do it.

feeding cheese to bb:
for those who feed bb cheese, there seems to be salt content, i am thinking whether can they eat at this age?

<font color="ff0000">SSL - oic
by the way jin long bo see u oso liaoz leh.. heh</font>

<font color="ff0000">mybabydream - i dare not feed cheese as of now oso leh coz my SIL went to feed her boy when he was 11mos old, thinking the greedy boy enjoying himself den the very next day.. rashes..
den PD says its allergic shld try not to give bb so soon.. but den again depend on individual bb oso la</font>

<font color="ff0000">
HAPPY BIRTHDAY FUN!!!!

does anyone know of a good pediatric dermatologist? Xaby's rashes are still there, she looks like she put on make up for wayang!

wah...i feel like crying!!! my Samuel is sick again! he's gotta be nebulised again!!! he's been coughing for 3 days and threw up 5 times in 2 days. this morning he threw up thrice and that was why i had rushed him to the clinic. at the clinic, he wheezed...haiz...all thanks to his cousin again!!! how can i avoid this har? my poor boy gets the virus everytime his cousins get sick. he merely recovered 2 weeks ago and now back at it again! i feel so heartache. this happened on a monthly basis ever since Samuel turned 3mths old. i had tried to avoid by bringing him to my mum's place when i knew one of them was sick. i only brought him home at night but he still couldn't escape.

i told my BIL's maid this morning to change the sarong cloth if my nephew sleeps in Samuel's sarong. this is because his mucus and germs get stucked on the cloth and then Samuel gets infected when he next sleeps in it. she quickly carried the sick boy into his own sarong and took the sarong to soak. i even commented that it's worth it when the 2 older kids get sick cos they gain knowledge from school. what about Samuel? he gains nothing except virus! wah, wonder what will happen if she tells her employer...haha..

sorry, i had to pour out my frustrations here...i really am at a lost of what to do already...

patsy, Samuel suddenly had an outbreak of rashes on the left side of this face. they are small little dots similar to heat rashes. according to the PD this morning, it could be slight eczema due to dryness. she asked me to put moisturing lotion on his face and keep it clean all the time.

patsy

could it be too much sun? maybe try to reduce the time she's out in the playground when sun is strong

sneaky

oh no... is the whole house airconditioned?? if so, could be the virus circulating this way. i think the virus and germs will be in the air if the kids are sick. unless you totally dont stay there, otherwise bringing samuel back home at night wont help much also.

Morraine

Thanks for yr kind wishes :D tomolo on leave..hehe.. tonite go pak tuo with hb

patsy

U mean u nv bring Xaby to PD yet ah? have u tried applying calmine lotion?

Sneaky
I sugguest u get air purifier... try Belair.. i have been using it.. lots of useful oils for different concerns.. can kill germs in the air. one of my frd selling it.. got starter kids too de.. if u are interested i can intro to u

SSL, yes, our whole house is airconditioned. they opened the sliding doors only 2 days ago during the day cos the kids are ALREADY SICK. my MIL refused to let us open the main door cos of some myths...haiz...the air is not really circulating this way. i can't move out now...i feel so helpless and it really hurts to just watch my son fall sick...

fun, my FIL is actually looking at getting an air cleaning machine. the one he's looking at costs $3k plus. my hubby's worried he might get conned and asked me to do some research on prices as well. haiz...wonder if this will help...how good is the Belaire one? what is it actually? is it the burning one? my MIL has the gadget but doesn't have the solution.

i was telling hubby this morning. now that Samuel is not really playing with his cousins, he already gets the germs. next time when he grows older, they will start playing together and he will be more proned to getting sick! howwwww???

sneaky
its just oil and burner lor.. not exp to have de la.. no need electicity

go to this website and see
www.belairworld.com
The below is a summary

Uses and Applications of BelAir Aromatherapy At A Glance

Improvement of environmental hygiene, neutralisation of odor, dissipation of second-hand smoke and air purification.
Enhancement of Immunity.
Enhancement of lung vitality.
Improvement of respiratory functions, reduction of nasal allergic conditions and alleviation of breathing problems.
Insect repellent and anti-bacterial action.
An aid for stabilisation of hormonal levels, enhancement of cellular vitality and anti-aging.
Invigoration of state of health and alertness, improvement of memory.
Induction of calmness, a state of relaxation, sleep, relief of headaches and sense of well-being.

Sneaky: also tell the maid to spray Lysol or alcohol on the sarong stand, doors, environment before you let Samuel into the room. Even if you appear "kiasu," wash Samuel's hands with antiseptic hand wash or alcohol often. I normally use 70% isopropyl alcohol (Johnson's Brand i buy in Manila) that I put into an atomizer to wash Xaby's hands regularly if we go out. Also clean her toys using alcohol. I have lots of spare bottles if you want to try some.

Re: allergy - her PD has already seen these type of rashes, gave her a cream to put but it's steroidal so I don't really want to keep applyiing it to her face. I think part of the problem is that she's learning to feed herself and sometimes food ends up on her cheeks instead of mouth, so the cheeks get irritated.

Fun: Aiya today very busy coz going to China next week. And last time we had a check up he gave us some ointment but I was thinking maybe a derma can give a non-steroidal cream. Told the maid to put cold compress on the cheeks to make it less itchy, think it's working.

SSL: doubt it's too much sun, Xaby only goes out at 8 - 9 am and 4- 5 pm for about 20 mins each time.

patsy
yah.. poor xaby, rashes must be v itchy! when zoe has allergy rashes, usually we just let it be, if not apply corticosteroid sparingly..i didn't know bee hoon has additives! sigh, just fed zoe yong tao fu today.. bee hoon w tofu and chye sim in an ikan bilis soup base.. she gobbled it up!

sneaky: poor samuel! why does ur nephew sleep in his sarong? sigh.. maybe just routinely change the sarong cloth daily? yah, v difficult.. have to really isolate samuel fr his cousins which is difficult.. bringing him to ur mum's should help..

fushiastar: yeah.... she was so irritable and grouchy yesterday, much better today. Hehe.. I'm a food technologist by profession, so if you guys have food based questions, I can try to help
Did you cook the yong tao fu yourself? scared to let Xaby eat soup cooked outside because they put MSG and a lot of salt leh

fushiastar, nephew sleeps in Samuel's sarong because his sister was sleeping in their own sarong...they conveniently make use of Samuel's sarong when he's not using it...many a times, nephew is seen sleeping faced down and his mucus stained the sarong and he's been coughing onto it too...so unhygienic! change daily also no use mah...the thing is they should use their own cloth if nephew is sleeping and change it back to Samuel's cloth after use. then, this is fair and hygienic...

patsy, where can i get the spray? how can i keep spraying at the living room downstairs with everyone around? what will they think of me? too much such chemicals, okay for baby?

<font color="119911">Fun - welcome la.. orh.. notti mummy n daddy.. leaving my son-in-law at home hor!!</font>

<font color="119911">Patsy - tat time my Ash had bad rashes n ezcema, i brought her to this GP at Jurong side and it improved after a few applications but den again if u wan the address.. let me noe</font>

<font color="119911">sneaky - relax
erm try to open up the windows more often for fresh air?</font>

fun: please... my parents use this at home and if I can get the oils cheaper than in manila or US, I can get for them too.

Sneaky: just go to Watson's or Daiso and get a perfume atomizer, I pass you some alcohol (less chemicals). FYI, when Xaby was still in the NICU, the nurses would clean EVERYTHING around her with alcohol every 6 hours to prevent infection, that's where I got the idea. If you get one small enough you can discreetly spray lah. But if you ask me, even if they think you're strange, it shouldn't matter because you just have Samuels well being in mind. If anyone asks, just say that you are trying to prevent Samuel from getting sick too often because this may cause him to have lower resistance in the future. Plus, always having to go see the PD is expensive, not to mention the possibility of Samuel catching something else while waiting in the doctors clinic!!

morraine, will try to get the maids to open up the windows more often...but it's very very hot even though there's wind cause we're living on ground level...what's worse is my MIL refused to let us open the door in front if the back door is opened because of some luck stuff myths...how to get wind/air to come in like that...

morriane: eeek, Jurong too far for me! I've applied some of the cream from her PD, if it's not beter by tonight I will PM you for the doctors addy, ok?

<font color="ff6000">sneaky - haiz.. tel ur MIL lor.. wan bb to get better or luck leh? haiz.. old ppl.. haiz.. *shake head* hot oso no choice leh.. jus open up windows den let fresh air come in den all the germs get lost!! hope Samuel wil get better soon!

Patsy - hee i knew sure far far so tat is y i say if u wan den i give u lor.. anyway hope u wun need to get the doctor addy from me!! </font>

patsy
they freq got promotions de leh.. tat time i bought 5 litre free 5 litre
but everytime promo diff de

morraine
tats why tomolo on leave ma.. bring him out lor
Chan Ka u also take leave la.. so tat our jin tong yu nu can meet for the 1st time! haha

fun: speaking to her as i type

morriane: hehe, pity, i used to work in jurong, if you're not working then maybe we could have met for lunch!

sneaky: I'm gonna suggest u do what I do for my older gal. Give dong cong cao once a week, feed Nordic natural Omega3-6-9 (available at Vitakidz at Forum Galleria) daily as well as multi-vites. The Omega keeps her eczema at bay and seems to shorten her bouts of bronchitis. The dong cong cao also works wonders in keeping the cough and phlegm away. Once I stop the dong cong cao for abt 2 months the bronchitis comes back. Ember takes the dong cong cao as well. My Pd also prescribed Zediten (ketotifen) for Ember. She had to take it for 1 month for the medicine to be fully operational in the body. It's supposed to be a prevention for asthma, bronchitis, sensitive nose etc. Now my older gal has also just been prescribed ketotifen. She's gotta take it for 3-6 months tho. I'm hoping that it'll work as well on her as it IS working on Ember.