(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

kris

so cute... can imagine ember crawling around the bed at nite. can teach me how to teach brennan to crawl har? must it be on the floor with mattress?

SSL: Cute?? Wah piang I even wanna tie her down somewhere!! :p We put her on her tummy v often and the toys are strewn all over, usually out of her reach. So she has to work towards her toys loh. She creeps a lot (moving with tummy on ground) but is strating to lift her entire body off the ground and is on all 4s now. Not v stable yet though.
The floor is actually best as mattress could be too soft. Unless you have a very firm mattress.

but we cant just put directly on floor right? what if bb suddenly bang head onto floor. brennan has this habit thats why even on floor (which very seldom) we will put mattress. told mil to put him on the floor with cot mattress to train him to crawl but she never done that.

brennan started to do "push up" (occassionally)with his hands. but usually once each time and for a while only. very cute. i tried to put toys and stuff near him to lure him to grab, as he stretches nearer, i will move the toy further to encourage him. after many tries, he will give up. simply lazy....

hi ssl, MY boi lor. still bo gei. hahaha. drooling a lot, though.

Hi Kris, I agree, when bb start crawling, we really need to be more careful hor. My boi also hasnt got the hang of it yet

SSL.

Sabrina 2 days more will reach 8 mths also still bo gei. hahaha..

Weight.
Sabrina never put on a lot weight , even thot she's on 3 meal solid food,milk 500ml -700ml a day, yesterday i just go pd to weight only 7.5 kg.
is it because sabrina too active ? she will crawl to put the Tv wire and trying to open cabinet door
.yes i just put her directly on floor,
Sabrina very often " bang the head, face , leg all over got " blue black" sigh..

Sabrina always cries in the middle of the night, and i don't know wat she want. give milk, she don't want.. diaper not wet...reali don't know she want ?/ can somebody tell me wat happened ???
also apply " RU YI YOU" already.haiz...
Also need to carry and sleep , put down only she cries ??? how????

sharon

brennan sleeps in sarong (more airy) and sleeping time usually 1/2hr without rocking. after that if u rock he continue to sleep, if not he will smile at u and want u to carry him out of the sarong.

could sabrina be teething thats why she crying. try to give pacificer to calm her down. nowadays i also find more difficult to pat brennan to sleep. he will cry and cry despite our usual method of patting him to bed.

so hubby gave pacificer and will munch until sleep. think probably gums itchy??
wa then i should better start to child proof the house before brennan starts to crawl

sharon,
you mean every night like that.. cry?

my girl also cry and once pacifier into her mouth , she ok..but once drop she cry again... so pacifier is the saver.

she cry very hard for the last 2 night..even pacifier fails.. then my mum say she been scared.. so I give her "jin feng san".. last night not so much cry..and I put her to sarong sleep last night.. usually she sleep in bed at night.
she seems to miss her sarong after a few hour of sleep in the night..

SSL, Sweetie, coffeedrinker,

she has been crying tis few days liao.. I'm try to give her pacifier,i see her biting the pacifier liao,is it mean that her gum itchy ???
Do your having the same problem ??/
I do give Sabrina "gripe water" and "jin feng san" when she is 2 mths old , because she has very bad colic, but now i stop it.
I'm working in a clinic, my company doctor advice me, only give them when the BB have colic.
my doctor also says BB under one year old, don't give juice,chinese medical...aiya i don't how liao

yippee, my hubby also very against letting his son take jabs at polyclinic despite me talking and talking abt it...he said to continue with whom Samuel had started with wor...pengz...rather kena ketok...

kris, no prob...in this case, i'd better hold till he turns abt 1 yr old. this morning, my maid took out dried scallops. lucky i discovered early and asked her to stop. gave ngoh fish instead while the older children's porridge are to be cooked with the scallops...so cute...Ember crawl in the wee hours of the night?? i can't imagine Samuel doing that to me ah...recently he's been waking up a couple of times to cry and that already made crazy...

sharon, i had past experiences of Samuel crying in the night also. i realised one thing...he only cries if he's teething, about to fall sick (catch a cold) or is already having cold. last few nights, he had been crying in his sleep. true enough, he caught a cold already. this morning, i brought him to the PD and got some medication...he's having cough and blocked nose...i suspect he's teething again...he can sleep 15 to 30 mins in the afternoon or sometimes 2 to 3 hours...siao siao one...

sharon,

grace likes to bite the pacifier too. it calms her down too.

i give grace some apple by scraping it. will not give orange juice till above 1 year.. orange create phelgm.

sharon

i will add gripe water in plain water and give brennan after his bath everyday. think about 5ml only to 50ml water. Since only 1x per day, i find that its ok.

sneaky

wa the scallops porridge must taste yummy. i very tempted to buy and feed brennan with it but decided to seek kris advice to hold on first.

how do u know if your BB is sick? does he/she display symptoms?

sweetie

remember to let grace drink some water after eating apple. Its to "rinse" the mouse after eating the sweet stuff

SSL, Sneaky,

Your all Better don't give "scallops" porridge to BB under one year old liao because i have try one time , sabrina got rash all over her body.. scared me...at first i tho is hot rash,,, but it is not..

Sneaky..
at least , you know Samuel very well...,i also suspect sabrina is teething , but how come when i checking her gum notti liao.

SSL,
I also think it's ok to have 5ml a day

Sweetie,
you give gala apple or fuji apple ?? my ger don't like sweet one .

ssl & sharon: fwah...that really sounds scary...had better lay off scallops even though i know it's gonna be very delicious...yummy!

sharon, yes, i know because he had been like that 4 times already...

carole, you were the one who told me abt the broccoli thingy, i remembere liao...you very guai leh...

Feeding

Do you sit your babies in the High Chair when feeding? Which brand is good? Any recommendations? Thanks

Sneaky:
Yup, actually I'm quite glad we stick with Kaiser's PD since birth coz Im quite comfortable with her (PD helped us a lot initially cos we are v inexp when Kaiser is a newborn). During each visit, I w bring out my list of Qs to ask her (I will pen down any Q I have during that 1.5mths between jabs so that I remembers to ask them next visit). She always answer them patiently unlike some doctors who cannot wait to see the next patient. And I will call her if Kaiser has fever after jabs or viral fever. In that sense, I dont mind paying the difference in consultation fees & cost of jabs lor.

Hey mommies, today I brought Kaiser for his 1st photography session. We bot a pkg with Kids Picture. He's so responsive & get into action without even need to warm up. I told hubby we need to pay to get him to smile to camera. When we take him wif our digital camera, he just look at us like "hey, what is this weird thing u holding in front of me..."

sharon,
how do u differentiate d rash caused by food allergy and the heat rash? my girl got this persistent rash, esp in the fold of her right arm. put powder, cream etc, no use...

yah... read somewhere tat cannot give baby scallop, shellfish, etc coz may cause allergy...
my nanny wanted to cook porridge with scallop... say to add flavour.. i very scared of her leh.. tell her cannot already. will still try her luck by asking after a few days. wonder if she'll do it behind my back... sigh...

previously she let my girl drink barley. i tot ok... then suddenly i remembered & ask her if she put sugar. she said yah, otherwise bb won't drink mah...aiyo.. *faint*

really cross fingers tat everything's gonna be alrite for my girl...

Yes everyone, I said b4 long long time ago, now I say loud loud one more time: DUN GIVE SCALLOPS TO BBS FOR AS LONG AS YOU CAN HOLD IT!!!! HIGH RISK ALLERGIC CHILDREN SHOULD NOT TAKE IT TILL MAYB AFTER 3 OR 4!!!!!!

ssl,

Ya, i do give grace water to rinse her mouth especially now she has six tiny teeth... hee

sharon,

i buy only fuji apple leh... i dun specially buy for grace. i pray with the apples and i love fuji apples. hee

ruff, i feed my bb on FisherPrice high chair. comfy, versatile and steady...

yippee, but for common illnesses like cold and cough, who would you go to? original PD or nearby PD?

Sneaky, other than tt one time viral fever which we need to see doctor urgently on a Sun, Kaiser no cough & cold yet leh (thank God). Tt time we went to nearby PD cos his regular PD clinic not open on Sun. If not, I believe we will go back to his regular one lor.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Kris</font>,

<font color="ff0000">HIGH RISK ALLERGIC CHILDREN</font> = Janelle &amp; Ember lah... So no scallops for them till 3yo

<font face="Calisto mt">Mummies using Avent Liner to store BM, How do you warm up e EBM? Pour into bottle then warm up huh or can put e whole liner into e warmer?

Then hor if make FM hor, is put water till 170ml then add 5 scoops of FM or add 5 scoops of FM to abit of water dissolve liao then top up to 170ml? And how long can we keep e FM? I've a tin of FM opened since 25th March but kept in e fridge still can use?</font>

Jenifur &amp; Kris

hahaha so kelian ah

Sneaky

where did u buy the high chair? how much issit har? where can we get reasonably priced high chair

ruff,
I just let sabrina sit on my lap.

Flo,
normally , heat rash only appear on sabrina face, but after i feed her "scallops" porridge,at night immediate her neck, hand,body is all red dot, is not normal rite ?? how come suddenly appear so much on her body.now i dun want to take risk any more .. scare.

How is your ger now ? is it still got a lot of rash?

I only feed sabrina barley w/o sugar.
no sugar @ tis moment liao

Kris,
Yes,agree with you, can not give high risk

Sneaky,
Did Samuel move a lot on high chair? sabrina can not sit there "tiam tiam" , she will prefer stand up liao.

<font face="calisto mt"> Hmmm... read this online

<font color="0000ff">Breastmilk is made from what passes into mom's blood, not what is in her stomach or digestive track. Meaning for something to pass into your milk, it must first pass into your bloodstream.

Gas in mom's body cannot pass into breastmilk.

The idea that certain foods in any mom's diet will cause gas in her baby is incredibly persistent but is not founded in research. If certain foods in moms' diets were an overall problem for most babies, we would expect that cultures that emphasize those foods would have more gassy and fussy babies, but this does not occur at all.

This is not to say that certain foods would not bother a particular baby - this does happen occasionally (and it's more likely with very young babies). However, there is no list of foods that every mom should avoid while breastfeeding. In fact, most babies are fine with any food that mom eats, so there is no reason to avoid a food unless you notice an obvious reaction in your baby every time you eat a particular food.

Most babies are gassy from time to time, some more than others. Gassiness is often worse at night. This is due, on the most part, to baby's immature digestive system and has nothing to do with what mom does or eats. Because so many people promote the idea that food in mom's diet causes gas, many a breastfeeding mom will immediately assume it is due to something she has eaten if her baby is gassy.

Breastfed babies who are sensitive to dairy in mom's diet are sensitive to specific cow's milk antibodies, in the form of proteins (not lactose), which pass into the mother's milk.</font></font>

Hi...seems like many mothers wake up at night becoz of bb's cries...Really buay tahan...last night i woke up 5 times to tend to bb. Don't know how long it will last.

yippee, oh yah...if Samuel hadn't fallen sick on a Sunday, i would have gone to my regular PD too...haha...same scenario...

jenifur, i usually warm my milk in its milkbags then transfer to the bottle. it's faster this way. i read that it may be harmful cos it's plastic afterall. to me, if i don't heat my milk under high heat, i don't think there will be much reaction...and i asked that FM/water question before. most of us practice 170ml water then scoops of FM. but my friend is different...she uses the other method; dissolve FM then add water to desired ml.

ssl, i bought it at taka fair. it cost me $129.

sharon, samuel sits there quite guai guai to eat one...show you a pic of him 2 mths ago when i first bought the highchair...of cos now he's bigger
423941.jpg

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Sneaky</font>,

Ya tis morning wanted to transfer out from bag to bottle then noticed e "fats" all still on e walls of e liner bag. Use spoon to remove but end up some stick to e spoon, aiyo v messy lor. But I dun dare to put striaght inside e warmer cuz scare e bag cannot withstand e heat &amp; e chemical reaction.

I also tot is 170ml water then scoops of FM but HB said should b e other way round. Hee hv a debate over tis so I said I'll come here &amp; ask around loh. Need to let Janelle take FM for nite feed liao cuz she develop e bad habit of latching to sleep. If dun let her latch then she will cry &amp; scream refuse to sleep.</font>

jenifur: I confirm with you when making fm is ALWAYS put the water first THEN the powder. When the tin say 1 scoop powder: 60ml water it means u put in the water up to the mark of 60ml THEN you put the 1 scoop of powder k? So in the end the mixture WILL be more than 60ml.

sneaky

samuel looks very cute in the high chair

i havent got any high chair. now feeding brennan when he sits on the sofa. i tot with a high chair, he can also sit with us while me and hubby have meals over the weekends ma. heehee

i duno if the baby kingdom or baby hypermart at kaki bukit got cheaper ones or not. Can yours be dismantle into little table and chair for future use? i'm thinking of getting those leh. (think something like the jane high chair but hubby tot its too exp)

jenifur

actually most of us will put the desired water first then add FM, even though the FM tin will say dissolve FM then add till the desired water level. I guess the difference in terms of FM quantity is about 10-15ml.
So it doesnt matter to me which method is ultimately being used. Me using the first method since day 1.

jenifur, i guess there won't be chemical reaction if you don't heat it under water that's too hot...i either use the avent food warmer with knob turned to 2 (if i'm in the room) or cup with hot water. by the time the milkbag goes in, the water in the cup will cool down....dunno if there'll be any reaction like that...just hope not cos i've been doing that for more than 200pkts of milk liao...

ssl, this one cannot be converted into a table. it's purely a highchair that can last till a kid's 20kg. i hope to train Samuel to sit properly/behave during mealtimes. at least when he's out, he'll behave and guai guai sit down as if he's at home...

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Puea</font>,

I pass your book to either Sharon or San can? Cuz last wk made my HB U-turn half way he dam buay song me liao so tis sun dun dare to make him go

<font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

I oso interested in e Jane Highchiar in fact I'm currently neg. w a supplier for BP price</font>

i'm beginning to cut down on expessing....i'm now expressing only once a day in the office and a total of 3 times a day with 1 latch session...a bit sad to have to do this...bu she de leh...anyone with experience to share?

sharon,
her rash better liao. that time her neck/back area also start to have little bumps...so dunno if she was allergic to food or it was heat rash...

she had fungal infection on her buttock before, think weather was too humid.. doc gave some cream.. did use abit on the rash as well. :p

sneaky,
samuel so good... will sit n eat..

i put my girl in her bumbo when i feed her...
she either try to "eat" the bumbo, try to snatch the spoon &amp; bowl or try to stand up... aiyo..
my mum say her buttock is sharp one... cannot sit still...

sometimes she sneeze when i just put the food in her mouth and it lands everywhere... hahaha...

flo, i must praise my boy for being such a darling...hee...wah, sneeze with food in the mouth...that's surely messy...haa

carole, we will hv to stop one day, right? it's a painful decision but still has to come to an end mah...i also yi yi bu she...

jenifur

that time got BP too. but hubby say KIV lor. U let me know when u starting the BP ok. i scare i sotong didnt follow thread. btw, u got my HP. just sms me :p xie xie ni

my bb doesn't like to sleep on the bed. during the daytime i let him nap in the sarong, and night time i let him sleep on the bed with me. but he sleeps lightly after i put him on the bed and sometimes wake up 2-3 times. he's ok if i let him sleep in the sarong.

what should i do?