(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Topic:Yao Lan
Anyone let ur bb sleep in the Yao Lan. Is the manual or the electrical one better? heard that the electrical one will cause 'damage' to the brain. Issit true?

Topic: BM SS
Anyone knows of ways to stop BM supply? I will be gng back to work in January, it will be inconveninent for me to express my BM at work. Hence thought of stopping Bfing in Dec. I have reduced the no. of times I express my milk per day, but my milk SS does not seems to be reduced. Any advice on how to reduce milk SS?

pammie

i took one around 2+. around 8+ right side breast leaking. but dont know y still seem not enough. prob got to take 2?

pammie,

can advise how much your ss increase aft taking F? when you mentioned ss drop it drop below your origin ss?

kuririn,

tiring but now nite time better he tends to drink finish the whole feed (i still burp him aft half a bottle) den he sleep 3 hours interval yday nite best ar he got sleep 4 hour at one interval heehee
guess it takes time soon your bb will drink more den sleep longer lor

Celine:
last nite at 12am she managed to finish 90ml (burp after she finish).. then at 3am she only drank 40ml.. then 6am drank 60ml.. she like dun have a fixed feeding amt lor.. very wasteful..

San, are you giving her EBM? Why don't you breastfeed directly so that it's not wasted? Then at the 3am slot, bottle feed?

San,

Maybe u can tried to burp her when reject yuor milk. Then feed her again. Sometimes some bb need a rest first and then continue...

BTW, how many times your bbs poo per day? My gal only poo once every 2-3 days. Is it common or her FM got problem? She is on half BM and half FM. Can anyone advise me?

These are repeated msg.

Topic:Yao Lan
Anyone let ur bb sleep in the Yao Lan. Is the manual or the electrical one better? heard that the electrical one will cause 'damage' to the brain. Issit true?

Topic: BM SS
Anyone knows of ways to stop BM supply? I will be gng back to work in January, it will be inconveninent for me to express my BM at work. Hence thought of stopping Bfing in Dec. I have reduced the no. of times I express my milk per day, but my milk SS does not seems to be reduced. Any advice on how to reduce milk SS?

syl:
i'm not giving her ebm.. night feeds are all fm so that she can sleep longer..

nuttnuts:
try that before liao.. she will simply refuse to open her mouth.. bo bian..

fushiastar: mm.. colicky babies are hard to managed.. and i have encountered mine for about 3 weeks le.. now its better..

try the follwing..: after every feed.. burp baby properly.. put ru yi oil.. then massage bb's tummy.. downwards.. then after tt... carry him in such a position whereby... his tummy is on yours.. (which means lower a bit) after he fussed for a while.. he will quieten down.. then last step... make bb sleep on his tummy! jus keep an eye on him.. lor.. it will go away after a while... Burping is a must! don't get lazy.. and stop burping if he didn't burp for like 10mins lor..hope tt this will work for u..

fiona

i let my boy sleep in yao lan during day time. manual one. cos electric one exp. heehee

and its not advisable to put bb in yao lan immediately after feed cos it will cause him to regurgitate.

as for stopping, i read that you should wean off BF gradually starting from night feeds, then should be able to reduce the supply.

u can actually keep your excess BM in fridge so that bb atill get BM. its recommended to BF for the first 6 months. thats my target. maybe me not working so no worries. but intend to look for perm job only in april next year. (thats when bb already 6mths old)

guess different babies have diff consumption of milk.I tried to increase the ml but seems like its too much for him in one go.

adelyee,
you mean its advisable to stop after 10 min if the bb did not burp? Sometimes I burp him for half an hr to 45min. No wonder he always kena hipcups.

all mommies,
has anyone given their bb pacifier already?

re: Yao Lan
I will let him sleep in yao lan till he's in his deep sleep then trsf him to bed. Daytime will juz let him hv his nap inside as yao lan is more cooling.
Mine is manual one. I scared Electric one will get 'elcetric shock' .. keke

re: pacifier
yes but not v often .. only when he's difficult to handle. Anyway he will split out the pacifier once he asleep.

How often do you clean yr sterilizer? Once in a day or after every cycle of steaming? How do you clean it? Juz with water and wipe it?

fuschiastar: My #1 was colicky from 1 month till 3+month. There's really nothing you can do except endure endure endure... I know it's a nightmare. I went through 3 months of torturous daily screaming from 11pm till 2-3am...
It will get better. And it really doesn't hurt bb as it hurts our hears and hearts.

bbmum: no.. what i meant is tt.. u must burp him! if he doesn't burp after 45mins like what u have said.. make him sit up for a while before putting him down coz sometimes bb jus doesn't burp!

as for pacifier: am still kinda resisting it though he's hard to handle.. i hate pacifiers.. its all about habit i guess.

pooh05

me had my caesarean delivery (4D3N)in TMC.

stayed in 2 bedded n am FBI member(so got small discount here and there). paid cash $900+ (including deposit of $800 n after medisave deduction)

actually I am also quite against pacifier but my CL said that my bb got 'ni gian'-addicted to milk. Everytime before sleeping, he must have some milk(10-20ml)if not he will be very cranky.

So...no choice, just started to introduce the pacifier(I dislike!but no choice) to him yesterday nite! sigh...
And he really fall asleep after that. I also remove it as soon as he fell asleep.

bbmum

My Alden also ni-gian leh.. or maybe he wants comfort.. need to latch on before he sleeps and slowly doze off during latching.. haha

Wondering wat should i do if i go back to work, should i continue to latch on during the nite or pass to my mum to take care..

nuttnuts

Alden poo alt day.. just give some water in between feeds lor.. but dun have to give between EVERY feed

SSL

tat tme u brought yr son to PD becos of his not pooing rite? wat did the PD say?

pammie

Alden is 9 wks old.. taking 100-120ml now.. tat day Mt A nurse called to chk on our progress, i did ask her abt Alden's diet.. 2 hrly 100-120ml isit ok.. and she say its very gd. Is yr bb a boy or gal? if gal i think 70ml should be alrite

nuttnutts: my bb used to poo every 2 - 3 days and sometimes only on the 4th day when he was taking Enfalac. i called up my PD and she said i should change the FM. ling told me that Clarisse's allergic to Similac and that she'd give me the balance 3/4 can of Similac to try. i did just that and my bb started poo-ing every day or at worst, 2 days.

my little one has started responding to me and talking already...2 nights ago, he was fussing himself in the middle of the night and i didn't bother till much later. the moment my face appeared in front of him, he started smiling at me...it's really heartwarming!

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">SSL/Pammie</font>,

Both of u took fenugreek rite? Did u get it from GP or from PD? Thinking of getting some as Janelle is going trhough another growth spurt &amp; my SS is not enuf for her. Imagine 120ml of EBM can only last e max 45 mins now when normally can last her for at least 2 hrs. Most of e feeds nowadays will end up with her crying &amp; worse thing is she refuse to take FM unless she's very very very hungry. My EBM supply is running out so must think of alternative</font>

sneaky: lol tts gd.. my MIL seems to know my girl recognise my smell... she was crying and MIL tried to carry... kekeke.. but she like know its not me. whaha..

jenifur

i got frm PD but GNC sells exectly the same thing n cheaper.. do u live near town or bt batok? i can give u some to try 1st

Mayday, I don't clean the sterilizer every day either, but we should clean it once a month with citric acid (if u are using the avent one - according to the instructions).

bbmum, I'm not using any pacifiers. Don't intend to as much as I can cuz I don't want bb to get addicted to it.

I also try not to give pacifier to my gal but at nught before sleep, she'll need to suckle my breast ... I end up her pacifier!! Die lar , next time how to leave her at my mum's place over night? I tried not to give in to her but she'll howl till jia lat!!

ling: of course our babies recognise our smell lah...we're their mothers mah...nothing can change the fact...and microwaving milk and especially EBM is a definite NO NO...pammie has already explained...

Mayday: i didn't use to wash my steriliser every day. in fact, i only washed once a week...just keep adding water...seems like my new maid is quite auto...she washes them every other day. syl is correct in saying that we shd clean the machine at least once a month with citric acid. vinegar is a good cleaning aid for the steriliser. ratio is 1 water : 1 vinegar

jenifur: i'm also taking fenugreek. brand is green life obtainable from Guardian @ $25.75 per bottle of 100 capsules. i must say, this dietary supplement really helps in the production of breastmilk. my MIL &amp; SIL are very worried about me taking this...btw, any harm in taking this???

bbmum: i have already started giving my bb pacifier since he's 5 days old. well, he doesn't really fancy it. only ocassionally, he will suckle it for quite long till he falls asleep...i think up till now, only 2 times he did that...i let him have the pacifier not because he's been cranky but because i want to correct his curly tongue. he loves to curl his tongue upwards and i'm worried it'll be a habit...

Has anyone suffered from Mastitis or engorged breasts? I ended up with having fever as well. Read on babycenter that it is ok to continue bfeeding. Does anyone have the same experience-fever and engorged breast and still continue with breastfeeding?

Nutsnuts: thanks.. i burp after each feed.. sometimes during the feed too!.. Also tried the methods you mentioned.. doesn't work.. Sigh..

Kris: yah. really heartache when she cries.. will cry until can see her mouth moving and trying to cry but no sound..

Syl: I did.. mastitis was so bad i took antibiotics for it..took a week to get better.. Can still breastfeed if having mastitis.. If having engorgement, all the more breastfeed!.. baby can help get the milk out.. if not, express the milk..

Mayday: I clean daily..

RE: amount of milk.. there's a formula for this.. take baby's weight in kg and multiply by 150, then divide my the amount of feeds a day and you will get the approximate amount your baby should be taking each feed in mls.. As a general guidem baby should double their birth weight by 3-4 months..

fushiastar, did u also have fever then? I'm just worried about having fever &amp; bfeeding at e same time. Is it safe for e bb?

fun

PD say it could be that bb is in the transition period of changing his poo pattern. he used to poo every day. now he poo alt day. so not to worry. she say sometimes no poo, can check anus if got split (tear) cos it can cause pain to bb and probem with pooing

sneaky

brennan stared baby talking to us too. sometimes we responded n he will respond back. so cute

u mention to clean steriliser with vinegar n water. so we just add both into steriliser n press the button? is it a must? what will happen if we dont. me using pigeon steriliser. anyone using that? i saw some stains (sometimes u see them in those kettles - not algae) at the metal plate. is it normal?

jenifur

i got it 2nd hand from another sb gal. she bought at gnc. i took only 1 pill per day. can feel breasts full sometimes but think ss not up yet.

RE: BF

i felt pain (or sore feeling) when i BF my son. could it be due to full breasts? i dont feel that last time. latching is ok leh

RE: SEALING CAPS

where can we buy sealing caps? able to get them from KP? do they fit all bottle brands screw caps? i am thinking of using bottles to store EBM if my ss increase. but my pigeon bottles dont have. only got 2 bottles w sealing caps.

btw any idea if pigeon teat fits Pureen or NUK bottles?

Fun,
My bb Genevieve used to be like that as well, whenever i carry her, she will tilte her head to my breast and open her mouth big big wanna suck my nipple. I want to cut that bad habit and introduce pacifier out of no other choice.

RE: BOTTLE FEEDING

For those feeding your BBs more than 120ml (using bigger bottle), how long does your bb take to finish the milk? brennan takes 15mins to finish 120ml. sometimes he wants more (during growth spurt) so we have not use the bigger bottle cos hubby scare milk gets cold. wonder should we make hotter, change to faster flowing teat (me using the S size pigeon teat) or what??

Any mummies feeding their bb with more than 120ml FM? if so, how old is your bb?

SSL,
I use pigeong steriliser as well. Yes, mine got that stain as well. What I did was I wash it off using the dishwashing detergent for bb one (tollyjoy brand).

RE: SEALING CAPS
btw any idea if pigeon teat fits Pureen or NUK bottles? <font color="0000ff">yes they fit, but for NUK, u have to use back the sealing cap with any teats.</font> <font color="aa00aa">u can actually buy avent bottles, those comes in a pack of 4 with sealing caps and disc, thats wat i bought to keep EBM, convenient too</font>

RE: Bottles Detergent
Pigeon is more expensive, a bottle abt 18.90 and the texture is very watery. Tollyjoy is 2 bottles at 18.90 and the texture is thicker and has a nice smell.

thanks clarisseMummy

oh i tot can buy only sealing caps lor. heehee. do u remember how much are they avent ones? i may buy medela ones cos i got the medela pump. avent too big liaoz

me still using the free detergent which i got when i bought the steriliser. heehee. will buy tollyjoy one once finish using. i dont use alot let. only few drops per bowl of water.

SSL: i am using Medela PIS, and each time i pump already i transfer into avent bottles. 4 Avent bottles 24, all with sealing caps. 3 Medela bottles at 30+. and now running out of bottles, i am getting the bags to store

so its cheaper to get avent bottles la...
how many ounce one har? my ss not alot so every time gotta accumulate

When you say accumulate, do you mean you mix the breastmilk which are expressed at different times? So far, I have only put the breastmilk into separate bottles each time I express.