(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Morning girls,
finally got time to log in now liao. just finished feeding kenshin. ya regd wat jenifur & pammie discussed abt bb's irregular feeding patter, i am also facing same prob! just last nite, kenshin refused to sleep and he drank practically every hr from 1 - 5am! its terrible. I just hope this will change or else really cannot get enough rest.
Btw do ur bbs fuss, like kick and punch in the air during feeding?

Fiona

Just check with u, what pump are u using? does your baby latch well when it's direct feed?
i can only express when fully engorged, even then abt 60ml max usually less than 40ml each time for both breasts.. so I rarely express.

ClarisseMummy - thanks, my C lady charges 1800.

my supply is also around 60-100ml each time. i express only 3 - 4 times a day. i've been using the Pigeon manual pump and i discourage you all from using it...it's so stressful to my fingers (need a lot of strength to pump) and super noisy. last night i borrowed the Avent manual pump from SIL and am using it now. it's so quiet and i use so much less energy to pump and it is more effective. i might consider investing in the Avent pump even tho i'm using Pigeon bottles. at most, i'll transfer each time i need to feed loh...

i have 1 question...since i have so little milk now, will it increase or at least maintain if i carry on pumping without my baby latching on even for the next few months? if so, then it's worth it to invest in the pump...

Guess it's better to invest in an electric pump. I tried using a pigeon manual one to pump while my bb latch on one breast...alamak, no matter how much strength i use, no milk comes out leh. Electric ones are a breeze, u just need to stuck the funnel at ur breast and it will do the job for you!

Sneaky,
I read some articles saying dat latching will produce more milk supply. Expressing out the milk will decrease the milk supply. I dunno how true as my sis' bb doesn't noe how to latch, she express out her BM to feed her bb. She has been doing this for the past 3 mths and her milk supply...wow...is sooooooooo much and still increasing. She expresses every 4 hrs and 5 times per day.

Pammie,
I am using medela electric pump. i am blessed in the sense that my bb latches well immediately after I delivered...She latches every 2 hrs and each time 30mins. any other times i will express out the milk and store in the fridge. when the bb latches make sure his mouth is big enuf to cover ur aerola, dun let him just suck ur nipple alone, u will have sore nipple. latching is more comfortable and less painful than expressing.

dunno how true, pple say eat pear will help increase milk supply. I eat a pear every day as well.

Fiona

When do u feed your BB the EBM? after she latch? 30mins for both breasts?

Tot pear is cooling and should be avoided during confinement?

Are u using the medela mini pump? issit better?

Sneaky

me using pigeon battery operated one. Pump 50ml in 30-45mins time. abit noisy but still ok lor.

Hello all. I saw Clarisse mummy at the TTC thread so decided to come and kay poh here. Congrats Clarisse mummy. She is adorable.

I noticed that many of you have breast feeding questions. I may not be a mum (yet)but I am a nurse and my sister fully breastfed my niece till she was 2. I can offer some pointers. Ignore me if I do not make sense to you.

1. Let your baby latch on as much as possible to stimulte milk production. A baby's suction is much more powerful compared to the pumps.
2. More demand from your baby means your body will send out signals to produce more milk. Therfore, let your baby latch on as much as possible.
3. Once your milk production increases and maintains (ie 6-8 weeks)you may use the pump thereafter.

do u sterilise the tongs? read that we can actually use hands to take sterilised bottles. Just have to make sure our hands are washed clean and that we do not touch the tip of the teat when we assemble the bottle for feeding.

Are we allow to do that? cos find that using tongs are very difficult to manage

Bernice

Thanks for the tips.

Any idea when will the milk supply for new mummies increase? Does it mean that if your BB sleeps after latching on to feed, it means that our supply is sufficient?

fiona: huh? expressing will cause decrease in supply? mai lah...that's the only way i can get milk for baby...i don't want to give up yet...in fact, i don't mind a manual pump cos i'm in control and it's easier for me to bring it out or to work place. the Avent ISIS quite convenient. i would probably get the whole package. if need be, i will also change all my bottles to Avent ones to prevent colic. Pigeon bottles not that good in this sense. indeed, you're so blessed, your baby can latch. mine has problem leh...even the lactation consultant gave up...

SSL: wah...it takes so long to pump 50ml ah? i usually get 60 - 100ml within half hour. therefore, i think i still prefer the manual pump...

bernice, thanks for your information. it's indeed valuable. unfortunately, my baby refuse to latch due to my short nipples and his curly tongue...i wish i could breastfeed like many other breastfeeding mummies...i'm deprived of the kind of bond many of them are enjoying now...

anymore inputs on breastpumps???

hi morraine,

i am taking my maternity from this week 39 liao. feeling the tiredness to go to work. how many weeks are you in now? when is your edd?

Adel

you still around? sorry for late reply. busy adjusting to life at home with the little one.

Dr Cheng is actually quite pro-epidural, especially for mothers like me who have low pain threshold. i can't even tahan cervix check, so i guess I cannot imgaine how it is like without epi. Anyway, i was not really traumatised by the birth process since the pain only became unbearable at the last 2 contractions when I pushed and he using the forceps. Btw, the midwives were all full of praise for him; he is very good with forceps, without his assistance, i would have gone for emergency C-section cos' baby was still quite high even when my cervix was fully dilated.

Hope that this helps.

sneaky

My first try - 1hr then 60ml.

The nursery nurse mentioned to me that my nipple also short. But so far, have to "assist" my boy abit when he tries to latch on.
try to practice more and fight more with him, will succeed. So u feeding him with EBM via bottle?

SSL,
me also same as sneaky, got short nipple so bb very frustrated to latch and suck. I still try but only like once or twice a day the most, mostly give him EBM. I also got to hold nipple to his mouth and help him, and at the same time fight his flying hands and kicking legs. tough man.

Sneaky,
dont give up. I also still trying hard.

ssl,
Unfortunately, it is difficult to tell when your supply is sufficient with your baby latching on. You can try expressing it once in a while to see how much you can get. But stress does affect your milk supply. If you cant express much, try taking a few deep breaths, relaxing music or TV program. You will be surprised on how much more you can get.

viola: am still here! thanks for the info.. ah.. how many weeks were u when dr cheng wanted to induce u ne? how heavy was ur baby then?

sigh.. am going to see him tomorrow.. so.. gotta get myself mentally prepared..

Hi Fiona,

Yes i did hear the theory abt losing milk supply with pumping.. I latch on most part of the day, only express when it's too painful for me. i have a hyperactive letdown and to avoid bb gagging, I pump some out then feed her. anyway, i dont have alot to pump out lah but I'll try the pear theory. it's the green pear not the chinese li right?

anyone staying in the West and feeding bb with Similac Infant?

I have a 3/4 tin left... cos i changed Clarisse FM. She cant seem to take similac.

Find it wasted to throw it, anyone wanna take? Bought on 13/10.

Adel,

I was 39th week. during the scan, he estimated 3.8kg but thank God when she came out, 3.3kg but nurses also said she is big. dun worry, trust him to do what's good for you. if you dun wan epi, am sure he will leave it to you but if cannot tahan, just ask for epi cos the midwives also said that when you are more relaxed, the cervix can dilate better.

oic... huh.. difference by so much? mm.. if he calculate wrongly for mine.. then wouldn't it be.. er.. too small le? dunno wor..

tomorrow is my 38th week.. oh yea check with u.. when he decided to induce u.. he did it on the day itself issit? how long did u check into the hospital ah? i mean he ask u to go to the hospital after how long ah?

Talking abt pumps, if you are prepared to part with quite a bit of money the Ameda Lactaline is definitely worth every cent!

morraine: tkae care ya.... enjoy the process kekeke... ya i tot she looks like daddy too..

Kuririn!!! kekeke she indeed looks like daddy..

Adel: checkinto hosp. super fast lahz.. all records inside already

Adel,

the diff is prob due to the fact that baby's bones are light but his dimension measurements are quite "chun".

dun worry, if he wants to induce you, he'll give you time to consider. Like for me, went to see him on Sat, he said too big, to induce. asked me to consider 1) date, 2) natural or c-section (i at 1st scared scared so suggested), gave him reply on Mon. Unless there's an emergency eg. baby heartbeat not good, then i think he'll want to induce on the day itself.

Went to his clinic at 12pm to insert tablet. then check into hospital 6 hrs later. meanwhile, he said i can go shopping and have a good lunch, which we did!

all the best!

clariseemummy: haha.. i know its fast but am scared tt.. i might check in too late.
if i am not wrong.. i think viola was inserted the pills.. at 12pm.. then was asked to go to the hospital by 6pm! then i think she gave birth in the wee hours in the morning le.. can't remember.. think its this case..

viola: so how? am i right?

Aiyah,

dun worry lah. He said if got contraction/pain that i cannot tahan, can admit earlier. but in fact for me, I admitted 7 hrs later, also never feel any contraction...

If the cervix not ripe at insertion, think will not suddenly feel so much pain one.

Viola: precisely.. if i can endure.. i will only want to admit myself.. after 12midnight! hiak hiak..

i trust him too... its just tt am unsure..if can admit later or not.. hehe..

how's ur baby?

viola ...

congrats .. yap dr cheng v experienced ... me had a pleasant delivery oso ....

adel ...

dun worry lar ... u in good hands!!

Jenifur: Tks for uploading the photo.

Nuttnuts: Fitti not gd cause nappy rash.

ClarisseMummy: Clarisee look like daddy more leh ..

Btw, u change clarisse's FM to wat brand? Which you change it? Loose stool?

Morraine: yr girl too comfortable inside yr womb liao ... keke
Must enjoy this peaceful moment and relaxed!

btw, are you letting yr bb to sleep in sarong?
Me intending to buy one if not CL leave liao everyday got to carry & pat to sleep v siong!!!

ssl & mrstan: wah...it's really a skill to breastfeed huh? tougher than giving birth leh...i sure will not give up...but i tell you, that day Samuel rejected my breast, i was so sad till tears filled my eyes...i will try latching him again with the help of the nipple shield. indeed, gotta fight his temper and his flying hands and kicking legs...

ling: let me think think a while regarding the similac, can? most likely i'll take it cos my Samuel has got poot poot problem...let me ask ah lau first...

kris: why do you say that the Ameda Lactaline is good? which one is it and how much is it ah? got pic?

Seabreeze, thanks. how have you been? must be adjusting well by now.

Adel, my gal is doing well. very demanding on BF; now i trying to play catch up on BF having given her FM the 1st few days to satisfy her hunger and rested my sore nipples.

mayday: i change to Nestlac, so far ok.. she is now better.. i am gng to feed her on BM soon.. cos i managed to express slightly more now. yes loose stool... super bad, poo till she butt red red.

sneaky: noted... will keep for u first.

Similac infant reserved, thanks all for interests

<font color="ff0000">the KPO daddy is in.. kekeke</font>

sneaky: I have tried Medela dual pump and the Ameda Lactaline. Frankly the Medela did not work on me. I could only get maybe 30ml max from both sides added together. But the Ameda could pump up to abt 80ml for me. (I always had low supply). You can also adjust the pressure and speed of pump on the Ameda.

Sorry I dun have the pic...

sneaky: The Ameda is retailing at $310 but if you become a member with BMSG you get to buy it at $280. I did not get the tote bag. I got only the pumps. You can contact BMSG for a trial of the pumps actually.

325776.gif

<font size="-1"><font face="courier new"> <font color="0077aa">as @ 17 Oct 05
MTB <font color="ffffff">.............</font> <font color="ffffff">...</font>EDD<font color="ffffff">...</font> Weeks<font color="ffffff">.</font> Hosp. <font color="ffffff">.</font> Gender/Name <font color="ffffff">.</font> Popped On
Fun ............. 01-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Alden</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> 11-Sep-05
Jenifur ......... 17-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Janelle</font> <font color="ffffff">.....</font> 18-Sep-05
ice ............. 05-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> <font color="ff0000">Angeline</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font> 19-Sep-05
Gracemum ........ 01-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Grace</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> 20-Sep-05
QiQi ............ 01-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font> 22-Sep-05
Chris ........... 20-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Shaun</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> 23-Sep-05
Mayday .......... 03-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font> 23-Sep-05
Winnie .......... 07-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">39 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font> 23-Sep-05
MC .............. 01-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="ff0000">Tammi</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> 24-Sep-05
MrsTan .......... 06-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Kenshin</font> <font color="ffffff">.....</font> 25-Sep-05
Fiona ........... 06-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> Mt.E <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Genevieve</font> <font color="ffffff">...</font> 28-Sep-05
inc ............. 05-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font> 29-Sep-05
Mybabydream ..... 11-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Jx</font> <font color="ffffff">..........</font> 29-Sep-05
SSL ............. 09-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Brennan</font> <font color="ffffff">.....</font> 29-Sep-05
Sneaky .......... 06-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">38 Wks</font> Mt.E <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Samuel</font> <font color="ffffff">......</font> 30-Sep-05
Fushiastar ...... 22-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> NUH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Zoe</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font> 04-Oct-05
Mdl ............. 05-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">39 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Tricia</font> <font color="ffffff">......</font> 04-Oct-05
Snow ............ 08-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">39 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Yong Shan</font> <font color="ffffff">...</font> 04-Oct-05
whitefloral ..... 06-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">39 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Charlise</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font> 05-Oct-05
Viola ........... 09-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">39 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font> 07-Oct-05
Ling ............ 23-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">37 Wks</font> RMG <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Clarisse</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font> 12-Oct-05
Puea ............ 18-Oct-05 <font color="ffffff">38 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font> 15-Oct-05
Aical ........... 06-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">40 Wks</font>
Niuniu .......... 07-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">40 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Joycelyn ........ 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">40 Wks</font>
Pammi ........... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">40 Wks</font>
breakbeats ...... 12-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">39 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font>
yongsiowyin ..... 16-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">39 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font>
Morraine ........ 18-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">39 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Adel ............ 19-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Brent</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font>
Kris ............ 20-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Ember</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font>
Fresia .......... 22-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font>
Sweetie ......... 23-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Tao_baby ........ 24-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Celine .......... 25-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Joshua</font> <font color="ffffff">......</font>
Janice .......... 26-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font> <font color="ffffff">.........</font>
Missysunflower .. 26-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">38 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Garfield ........ 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Nuttnuts ........ 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">37 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Preciousmoments . 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">37 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
SusanY .......... 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">37 Wks</font> E.S. <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">GyAnn</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font>
Kuririn ......... 29-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">37 Wks</font> SGH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Sherisse</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font> </font></font></font>

<font face="Calisto mt"> If you would like to join us, or update your EDD / Baby's name, please PM me! </font>

Hi SSL

m using medala electric. if i on the min suction, i will onli get around 50ml but if i on to the mid suction, i will get around 70 to 80 ml. if i latch my boy on, i dun express (double work) unless i feel it is engorged. If m "tired" of latch on esp for nite feed, i will pump. I hv stopped using max suction after my sore nipple epsiode :p. occasionally do supplement wif Nan Ha formula. i normally pump for about 20mins to 30mins (wif medium suction)

expressing will nt decrease the ss if u pump regularly but some do say bb clears the milk better than pump.

m still tinking my breastfeeding arrangement (latch on or ebm for nite) wen my cl leaves.

I read that some of you have confinement lady and mine is also leaving end of the week...I feel depressed at the thought of not having her with me.. sometimes I cry! shhhh... today I tried to bathe my princess, she cried from the moment I undressed her. Usu bath time is her favourite, she's always cheery and happy.. sometimes my bb doesn't burp after drinking and no matter how I try she just won't and if I leave her in the cot, I dare not go anywhere. Once I went to shower and kept coming out to check on her!!

I dont know how i'm going to cope without CL. Can some of us form a support group on this??

cheerful mum:
i find tmc's services so so. as for dr ang, he's quite a str forward but nice dr, willing to give u time to ask Qs and he will try to ans Qs patiently. he will also save $ for his patients too, like u only need to choose 4 beded and he upgrade to 2 beded for you. in the total bill, there's some discount from dr ang which i dun really understand. when i made payment during discharge, the counter staff said one. but he 's not very pro-epidural.90% of his patients dun use epidural.