(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

jenifur: no worries.. i think CL will do the job.

SSL: simi lobang queen. no lahz.. i always surfing mah..
Some serve lunch too.. u can call to ask... i seen my plc here got one deliver daily for lunch.

Hi clarissemummy

for engorgement, massage is the key (dat is wat i learnt during my stay in mt a). b4 massage, u may apply hot towel on ur beast.
easier if others massage for u. it will be a bit painful though.

Pd says dun bathe bb in beer (cl advises as it would get rid of jaundice) as ur bb skin may be sensitive to it.

my pd says it is okay to wash the bb mouth wif cloth n pure clycerin (from pharmacy)

hello girls! I am back! finally got internet access at home liao. But prob cant log on as often cos so busy with Kenshin now. I've so much to catch up on wat i missed on our thread. Will post my birth story when I have more time ok? Seem to have problem uploading my son's pic now...dunno how to do leh.

Adel, sorry just now replying u halfway, frenz came n couldn't continue. gleneagles's hospital delivery suite ? do u mean the labour ward?? I was there only for a short while - 2 hrs before I was wheeled to the Operating Theatre so I can't really tell u whats in it. I dont recall seeing any CD player. But there was a TV there and a chair for your hb to sit on. There's a toilet in there too. That's abt it!

Jenifur

Just now i try to presevere and continue latching Brennan. he will latch, suckle (not always) and spit out nipple and sleep. When we try to put him back to cot, he will want more. So just now, latch right breast 1/2hr, left breast 25mins, right breast 20mins. STILL WANT FM. refuse to sleep. My arms are too suan so gave up :p

ClarisseMummy

ya, my side here also got alot of tingkat brochures. but i hope to get recommendations lor. Unless really bo bian. heehee

pammie: thanks for the info.. argrg.. no cd player.. mm.. was thinking of bring monopoly into the labour room.. my hb's face almost turn green!! haha.. he said.. if i were to bring my monopoly in and play.. then during light contractions.. if its painful.. and if he were to win.. i sure will lose my temper at hime one..! haahahah...

I dun know whether u want to try to use Gim Tin as I use them before in my house warming and the food is not bad...and there is no time limited for u. That mean u tell them what time u would like to start your buffet and once u finsh, u call them to tell them to come and collect back.

http://www.gimtim.com.sg

Hey anyone using Medela Breast pumps? just boughtthis breastshield wrongly.. actually its more for very engorged mums.. but i thought the soft rubber filter will ease off my nipple pain..

So now wana sell it off, used once this morning niah at $30. usual $30.90.
325402.jpg

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

Prob it's become a habit for Brennan to cry for FM. But U shldn't stop giving FM so abruptly. U've to wean off slowly by reducing e amt of FM. Here's something I found on e net bout weaning from FM, hope it helps :-

<font color="0000ff">The first thing I would recommend is that if you have been using infant formula, you start to pump to try to make as much of the supplement breastmilk as possible. Get an electric RENTAL pump with a double kit to maximize your pumping.
Every ounce of formula you give the baby is teaching your breasts not to make that amount of breast milk. If you give 10oz a day of formula your breasts will make 10oz less than your baby needs, unless you are pumping 10oz. (and of course if you were pumping 10oz you would be giving that instead of the formula) The breasts know how much to make by how much is taken out of the breast.

The supplements should not be dropped suddenly since that would put baby at risk for not gaining and would not give your breasts a chance to make up the difference. But if your baby is bf well what you need to do to increase the supply is slowly reduce the supplements. Here's the method I use with moms in similar situations (as mentioned):

Start recording the amounts you give via the bottle and total it each day so you know how many ounces per 24 hours you give via the bottle, record how much is ebm and how much is formula. Also, record the wet and soiled diapers. As you increase the breastmilk and reduce the formula your baby will probably start to poop more since breastmilk will loosen the stools.

After you have an idea how much he gets each day via bottle start to systematically reduce that amount, starting with reducing the formula first(reduce the ebm via bottle last). So, for example: if baby gets 10oz of formula and 4 oz of ebm per 24 hours via the bottle his 24 hours total is 14oz of supplement. You should of course continue to put him to the breast as much as possible during this process, at least 8 times in 24 hours.

On day 1 to 3 give him only 13oz via the bottles in 24 hours, give whatever you have of ebm and make up the difference with formula..so it might be 4oz of ebm and 9oz of formula. Don't give more keep putting him back to the breast if he needs to eat more.

If his diaper count does not reduce from what it has been, on days 4-6 give him only 12 oz of milk in bottles per 24 hours. Say you have 5oz ebm and 7oz of formula each day.

Again if the diaper count stays the same or more drop more from the daily 24 hour total of bottled milk, and you can start to increase the rate if it is going well for example to 10oz on days 6-7, maybe 6oz would be ebm and 4oz of formula.

Continue to reduce the daily total in the bottles by about 1-2 ounces every 1-3 days as long as the diaper count is good. When reducing the 24 hour total you can reduce the amount in each bottle or reduce the number of bottles or a combination of both...the important factor is reducing the 24 hour total.

When you get to the point that it is only ebm in the bottles you can drop the bottles much faster. This is a flexible process, you can reduce the amounts in the bottles faster if it is going well and the diaper count and weights are good or reduce more slowly if it seems as though the diapers are dropping and the weights are not as they should be. But you must keep good records so you know where you are in the process.

You should also get the baby weighed AT LEAST every week or more frequently as the ped recommends until the transition to the breast is complete and then one more weight check one week after the baby is totally on the breast. That way you will be reassured the baby is "getting enough" through this process and have the confidence to keep reducing the bottles.</font>

Have also emailed u something. Jia You. Dun let wat happen today stop u from going TBF.</font>

Inc,

Are you the mummy who deliver at MT A by C-Sect? Can I know how much is your overall bill and also how much u need to top up by cash after deducting your CPF?

Did you go for GA or epidural?

Mummies, who opt for C-sect, can give me more advise on what to do as I most properly opt for c-sect?

I have been having Diarrhea since morning till now....Has been running to the toilet quite a few times liao... Is it a symptom of giving birth?

mummies:
1)have u decided what bank a/c to open for your baby? any recommendation?

2)if we are still bf, we cannot wear the padded bra right coz we need to wear breast pad? but the bf bra does not look nice as it will look crumpled from exterior? any solution?

3)when can we stop using antipetic solution for the bottom wound?

Hi ladies, I delivered on 23 Sep. Bb arrived early as my waterbag broke...

As bb needs to be in NICU for 2 weeks, I was rather depressed and only logged in today.

Read all the previous post and realised that many mummies had delivered!!

Congrats to all mummies who have popped!!

WTP: dun be too depress.. cos many of us here have problems we face too.

i am oso depress now... when today i started to have breast engorment, and started my express of BM... sad.. cos less than 10ml... my first time.. i felt so sad n useless too.. tears just started rolling.

clarissemummy: *hugz hugz* dun be like this.. you gotta be strong ok? coz next week.. it will be ur turn to console me le.. coz got feeling i will have low supply of milk too! am so terrified just by the thought of it!.. brave thru it.. and guide me along ok? you can do it!

clarissemummy, dun be upset...1st try of EBM has 10ml already quite good. My initial EBM is only a few pathetic drop. Just keep pumping regularly (at 2 hr interval for the milk supply to build up) or latch on frequently (for simulation) to increase the supply. When u have engorgement, remember to apply hot towel and massage. Even if painful, u also must massage especially the lumpy area, if not the engorgement will be worse and might lead to infection.

I'm using Petpet for my bb now. It's cheap and quite good leh... Mamypoko is very ex for initial use as bb poo very frequently.

Jenifur

I try to pump only once a day (when i feel engorged in the morning) Today's pumping is better 1/2hr got 50ml liao. But when i try to continue pumping, not much come out.

Sometimes CL and MIL will comment that my BM not enough for BB la. blah blah... Pretty stressed by them. I'm trying my very best to latch BB on and pump for BB.

nuttnuts

I went through c section and for someone who has never been into operating theatre, it wasnt as scary as i thought. I actually find out what will happen during the op from other c section mummies and get my self prepared mentally.

When I was wheeled into OT area and being put one side to wait for anathetist, I was quite scared. But there was this nice chinese nurse keep coming and ask if i'm feeling ok, and comfort me. Even when I was in OT, she came in again and comfort me.

I try not to think of happy things and not to look at the OT apparatus. Epidural administration was quite fast and anathetist explained what I will be feeling (or not feeling) so it makes me less scared. And when gynae came in, she also comfort me and try to make me more relax. When i saw hubby coming in, i really am happier and more relax and he keep using his hands to gently rub my forehead cos i was shaking so much due to the epidural.

I was actually expecting myself to "feel" the motion when gynae made the incision. But i actually couldnt feel anything!! It was only when they are about to deliver baby, anathetist help gynae to push my tummy from my side that i know baby is coming out. And when I see baby from the side curtain and heard his cries, all other things doesnt matter.

Dont worry ok.

WTP

Congrats
Me using MamyPoko at night.

ClarisseMummy

Dont feel sad. I'm like WTP too. Only few drops when i first try pumping.

For mummies whose BBs are over 1month, do you move BB's cot to your room so that you can care for him at night when CL leaves? For me, i intend to sleep in nursery room with BB. But that means, i wont be able to sleep with hubby.
Just thought to let him rest at night cos he need to work. But I would hope that we can sleep together with BB cos at least there will be two person listening for his cries at night. Any suggestion?

ClarisseMummy:
Dun be sad ok.. I also duno what will my milk supply be like.. persevere ok.. u can make it one.. hehe.. my colleague told me.. its more of in the mind.. if u keep having negative thinking then ur supply will drop so be positive..

I'm still waiting for her to come out.. sigh.. getting really tired of waiting liao.. my hubby every morning will ask her why u no come out last night???

325479.jpg

kuririn: dun be so gan chiong mah.. mm.. are u stressed out by the fact tt she is not coming out? but usually i heard tt girl girl will not come out so early one leh.. sometimes.. could be overdue even.. so take ur time for the time being lor.. and dun get stressed out... by the fact tt she didn't come out the previous night!.. i enjoy every single night.. of peace actually.. ain't tt looking forward to my son... coming out yet.. (i figured tt there will be lotsa noise and etc)

Puea has given birth yesterday to a baby boy at ard 4pm+++.....

Hi Puea,

Congrat congrat...Do take care and have a good rest....

adel:
hehehe.. not me stressed out abt her not coming out yet.. its my hubby lah.. but i'm getting more tired physically lor.. maybe thats why I'm tired of waiting.. and my hardening of stomach getting more and more frequent..

Puea:
Congrats!!!

kuririn: mm.. yea.. i feel tt too actually.. the pregnancy is becoming more and more uncomfortable.. and painful for me..

but again.. look ard u.. the silence/ the absence of another human being/ the absence of wails.. u will miss all these.. maybe not for u.. but for me.. i definitely will..
must clarify this.. not tt i dun love my boy.. jus tt i enjoy the silence.. and listening to jazz.. music.. to chill out for a bit.. dun think will be doing a lot of these.. lor.. when baby comes out

nuttnutt: noted. tks

adel: pat pat.. we sama .. we console each other ok.

WTP: pet pet no NB Size right? do i have to get S?
i am trying to cheer up for sure... Tks for the lovely concern showered.

kuririn: lol ur hubby oso like my hubby.. so cute. keep asking when coming out.. now she is out... he stopped asking, but my girl just like her daddy, after mid nit dun sleep, and wan ppl to be with her.. aiyoo...

325495.gif
PUEA!

today at 10am, i managed to express 30ml. still slightly upset..
dunno when i can have more.. haiz

clarissemummy: *hugz* its alright! cheer up.. the more upset and stressed out u are.. the lesser milk u will have! be optimistic! look at ur angel! she will brighten u up!!!

hi clarissemummy....samval here! long time no chat wif you. congrats! how was ur experience wif RH? dun be sad ok? breastfeeding is never a bed of roses. try to latch on more on top of pumping. dun worry ur ss will be better. now my bb is 3 month plus and ONLY NOW my ss increase!

Samval: RH experience?!?!? GREAT! FANTASTIC! EXCELLENT! whahahhaa.. really good... nurse call fast response, food good. kekekeke

ya today express 30 ml

what's the price of Mamy poko? Fitti? now which is cheapest diapers? Nepia is it good, how many in one pack and how much?

Hi Ling,

For the Nepia Diaper, you can refer to the following thread for more details:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&amp;topic=270192&amp;page=320671

If u wan to buy and try, I do not mind to share with you since we are both staying in CCK. Have heard that Nepia is as good as MP and Pamper. The sizes are as follow:

NB - 60psc (0-5kg)
S - 54psc (4-8kg)
M - 51psc (6-12kg)
L - 42psc (9-14kg)

The promotion is from nepia company. Valid till 30 oct. Tel: 62262650

If you want to find out more on which diaper is good and cheap, u can refer to the following thread as most of the mummies have commented their views on the following diaper:

Drypers
EQ
Fitti
Huggies
MamyPoko
Nepia
Pampers
PetPet
ProKids
Sealer
NTUC Brand
Giant Brand

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/324706.html?1129445240

Heard that other Pet Pet and NTUC brand is more cheaper, if you want, u can let Clarisse use Pet Pet or NTUC brand Diaper for Day use and MP or Nepia or Pamper for night use...

Please note that are 2 types of packaging for Fitti:

325559.jpg

Above is the cheaper packaging and more for day use....

325560.jpg

Above is more the more expensive one and more for night use...

So far the comments for Fitti is so so only lah...

Congrats to the mummies who had delivered!!!

haiz.. me dying of boredom at home arh... growing mushrooms on my head liaoz....

Hi Ling,

Try to cheer up a liitle bit as think of clarisse will help you to stimulate more milk...as menioned by SSL, u can try to cook the green papaya soup which heard will help to increase the amount of breast milk....

Pet Pet do not have NB size but the cutting for Pet Pet "S" Size is equal to NB Size

Hi SSL,

Thanks for your info....Actually I am like you now me reading more posts on the C Sect from the forum...Saw got quite a lot of post from you &amp; Inc. Have actually choose my C Sect day liao just need to confirm with the Doc during my next visit when I see him....MY D Day will mostly properly be on my B Day [Which is this coming Friday]...Hee Hee, from next year onwards, we can celebrate our [Me and BB] birthday together...My HB choose "21" is because me and hb are both born on the 21 and so want our bb to be the same as us...Hee Hee Funny Parents, right???

For those giving birth in TMC and by Doc Lawrence Ang. What do you think of their service?

Hope that you can give me some comments. THanks.

ling: don't be upset leh...like most have said, being uptight and stressed out will reduce milk production. i guess i'm already like that and i hope you're not like me...as mentioned, BF is never a bed of roses...i'm also envious of those whose babies can latch on...i've not really succeeded till today...i'm even more useless...pump only 2 - 3 oz each time...trying to do it more frequently now with the encouragement from hubby...

as for MP NB diapers, only guardian pharmacy sells the cheapest @ S$10.50 per packet...go grab them...in fact, i've finished my 2 packs in 2 less than 2 weeks...i'm almost 95% on disposables now..keke...my plan (day = nappy, night = disposables) has failed....pengz!

for those of u who are using a confinement lady, do u know how much Ang Pow to give to her when she leaves? I'm not sure what is an average.. My c lady is actually very good...

i have almost the same question as pammie...for those whose MILs or mothers are doing their confinement, do you give Ang Pow &amp; how much shd be the right amount ah?

Sneaky: not only ur plan to use cloth diapers during day failed.. me too failed.. totally on diapers! faint!

ok.. noted guardian with best price.

Pammie: how much is ur CL charging u? i heard market is abt 100. not sure abt others.

mine too very good.. she is really a good cook, and she rather modern too.

ling: wahahaha...i thought i'm the only one...so far only used 4 cloth nappies...just cannot tahan baby crying because he's wet...it pains me to see him like that...you also, right? actually, it's for convenience also lah...keke...lazy mummies! eh...i bring my baby to your house to stay...we share CL can bo??? i think your CL will run away from home ah...hahaha...

lol sneaky: kekekke can can can..

cos i am still helping out with some housework

it oso pains me when i see her cries... she cries i cry

ling: okay...i prepare to pack up liaoz....keke...don't do too much hor...i also did quite a bit during first few days of being at home...walk here and there...did not rest in bed...haiz...dunno what's gonna happen to me when i grow old leh...don't cry leh...during confinement, i cried at least 5 times liao...seems like we're very proned to depression during this period...must maintain cheerful

Dun be depressed over the low milk supply. Dun push urselves too much, u can always supplement with formula milk. Dun let ur bb go hungry either.

I drank lotsa milk (those milk powder ones) and milo, eats lotsa egg. My milk supply seem to be increasing. it's enuf for my bb now...and I pump out the milk 3 x per day on top of latching...each time can pump abt 80-90ml. sometimes can pump 120-130ml. Be positive..and milk supply will increase,ok?

Hi nuttsnut

sorry did not see ur post till now. ya, i hv epi c section at mt A. i stay in 2 bedded for 3 days. total bill is about $4.1k in total n mostly deductable from CPF. husband paid $600 cash for deposit upon registration.

hope this helps. All the Best

Hi Fiona

wow, ur ss is not bad... i can onli do 60 to 70ml per time.. hv not hit 100 yet. how i envy u.

which FM are u all giving ur little ones? i tried similac, and my girl poo till butt red red.. see again tears roll...

i just uploaded new pics..
u all see clarisse looks like mummy or daddy...

325583.jpg
325584.jpg

inc

urs not bad too. mine only 50ml. how long did u pump each time? so u pump in bet feeds and latch during feeds? does that help to increase the ss?

u on TBF or u will supplement with EBM if BB still wants more after latching? Btw what pump are u using?

ClarisseMummy

Me giving my boy Similac too.

Think BB looks more like daddy
But both of u got "fu qi xiang" so i guess its a mix