(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

SSL: Yes, can store 2 batches of ebm together in the same bottle. The moment you get the ebm and pour into the glass bottle, immediately put into the freezer compartment to freeze. (I prefer to do this even if I intend to use the ebm say on the same nite cos immediate freezing can better maintain the nutrients in the ebm than leaving it in liquid form in the lower compartment of the fridge. As for the glass bottle, after sterilising, just leave it in the steam steriliser. Take out only when you need it, dun take it out too soon and leave outside.

ebm stored in freezer can keep for up to 2-3 months, if deep freeze can keep for even up to 6 months (but our normal fridges dun have deep freezing capacity). If keep ebm in lower compartment can keep for 48 hours.

Yes, let ebm thaw in the glass bottle first, constantly swirling it around as it thaws to ensure it is evenly mixed. Then pour into feeding bottle and warm. Depending on the amt to be warmed it can take anything from 10min - 20min if put in warm water. Still, you must swirl the ebm in the feeding bottle every now and then to ensure even distribution of temperature.

One last thing, frozen ebm usually separates into 2 layers. One layer of fat one layer of milk. This is completely normal, and is usually more evident if freezing larger amts of ebm.

mummies dat popped..
jus very curious.. any tell tale signs that ur little darling is coming??
heheee... cos i heard of e Braxton Hicks (erm.. spelled correct?? =P) but dunno wat its like leh.. den me like blur blur lidat.. other den my dr tell me will feel contractions.. but oso dunno wat dat will feel like lei..
=P me very sotong hor!!

adelyee: frankly hor... I dunno leh.. cos I never use b4. I use the original caps that came with the glass bottles and milkbags with clips. Sorry!

Adelyee,

I read from other threads that you can buy from the pharmacy at Mt A, or a shop in Chinatown.
Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 Up Cross St #03-132 S(050034),
Tel : 6532 3855

or you can get at the Tollyjoy warehouse
Tollyjoy Baby Products Pte Ltd
29, Changi South Street 1, Singapore
Ph : 6542 6988 ; Fax : 6545 8737

Heard that each set is abt 70-80cents. Can call them and ask before going down.

hi mothers,

i'm v lost regarding post maternity leave arrangement for my bb... i'm inclined towards a maid. can someone share with me all the related cost for a maid? thanks!

Hi SSL

mine still drinking 60ml wen from bottle, if i latch him on,i dun know..
did not increase as worry of indigestion (wind).
so keep it that way.

i did not use the binder after a few days.. so feel it is a waste to get it:p though it helps a lot during the initial days

pammie: ya still lost with regards to a maid? mmm.. if u need a maid u need to get her real early.

cost are basically.. for filiphino.. (i only know filipino): salary: 300-350 levy:200(with child).
for me i feel tat u should hire a filipino if u do not know how to speak malay.. coz sometimes even with a filipino u can have communication breakdown. and make sure there is at least one adult to supervise her.. at the beginning..
u must supply her with food/daily necessities lor.. which will probably come up to about 800 per month.

Hi all mummies and MTBs,
I am one of those few who hardly post in this thread. Kinda busy at work. Once in a while, I'll pop in to read all your postings. So nice to see advices being shared readily.

And oh yes! Congrats to those who have become mummies liao!!!

I still have 2 more weeks to go. But looking at some of your experiences, it seems kinda possible that I might pop anytime from now till EDD.

BTW, I need some advices. Are bb's movements still very obvious at the final 1-2 weeks? What are the movements like? Sometimes when I get too busy at work, I hardly feel any bb's movements. I also get confused between bb's movements and Braxton Hicks.

Missy

Clarisse popped in the early hours of 12 Oct 05. She weighs 2.77kg. Mummy is really tired after all the 'pushings'. Daddy is also tired from all the support in the last 24 hours and counting from 1-10 during the pushes. Time to catch 2-3 hours sleep before heading back to RH. See ya!

ClarisseMummy & Daddy

Congrats

Amari

U are in good hands of Dr Chua
She sounded more excited than me when she came into the OT. I guess trying to make me more relax
and she seems to be on good terms with the anathetist cos they were chatting blah blah....

Thats why me not scared but was just shaking alot due to the epidural

inc

do u feel that your womb or uterus sag when u get up from your bed? sometimes i do feel that, like something sag inside me around the lower adobmen. hmmm...

I still using the binder cos i really move alot during the day and dont lie down on bed to rest. (cos too sticky) U got rest during the day time?

SSL, thanks. i will go to see Dr Chua this sat for weekly check up. this week will be in 39 weeks. gynae mention my bb is big size cause when she measure his weight at 37 weeks is abt 3.4 kg. and now gettting bigger everyday.

i did asked her last visit, will she induce me? She said she won't, want to take natural.

clarissemummy/daddy: congrats!!! saw ur msg in the middle of my sleep.. oo.. woke up and got a shock! hehe..

pammie: u mustn't forget tt with one more person in the house.. means more water and electricity usage.. and how about food? ok.. maybe not soo.. much.. but it will hit around an extra 200 bucks one..

but again.. with the help of the maid sometimes.. (rather than nanny) ur house is kept clean! haha

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Carole/YK</font>,

324397.gif

That's GREAT NEWS!!!
You must be sooo happy.. now that Clarisse is here.. Take care &amp; see ya soon</font>

324398.jpg
324399.jpg

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Pammie</font>,

I'm also having e same headache... HB wants to hv a maid but I'm worried bout leaving BB w e maid alone in e day. HB dun want me to leave Janelle @ infant care as it will mean travelling long distance daily on public transport. Will anyone b supervising e maid for your case?</font>

jennifur/pammie: for a new maid.. i kind of think tt its dangerous to leave ur baby with them. coz they might not know what to do.. and trust me.. u need some time to evaluate ur new maid.. to find out her character and etc.. at least have someone whom u trust to be there for a month or two with the maid to see how she's doing.. DANGEROUS is the word lor..

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Adel</font>,

Ya this is how I feel too. But HB thinks tt we can observe e maid during e next 2 mths while I'm still @ home. He thinks it's so simple as to if this one cannot then change until can lor. He also said will install a CCTV so I can always check on them online while in office.

HB jus dun want me to leave Janelle @ infant care or w nanny. He dun want Janelle to travel long journey w me every morning since he will not b able to fetch me to work anymore. So now really really big headache...</font>

jennifur: its true actually.. coz leaving with nanny or infant care doesn't really mean its safe anyway.. and plus the cost also doesn't work out. imagine.. u send her to the nanny.. and then fecth her home after work.. u will be dead tired le.. somemore got housework to do? even if ur house needs to be clean once in every three days also tiring mah..

if u got a good maid.. (tats only if u manage to find one) u can throw everything to her.. hiak hiak.. not very difficult what.. esp when baby is still young.. she can do housework in between the feeding hours while baby is still sleeping.. just keep her within sight. plus with cctv.. its even better! do give it a serious thought.

Im from Nov thread. Would like to find out from those mummies who giving birth at TMC, upon discharge, does TMC provide any baby clothing with mitten and booties? I heard that they will provide a baby bag with all baby stuffs... so when we check-in hospital,we do not need to bring any baby stuffs but only mummy belongings.
Plse advised. Thank you.

Hi woofy, TMC will provide all baby stuff. There is no need for you to bring any clothings for the bb. Just prepare for yourself will do

woofy

one word of advice. i pack all my stuff and ask hubby to bring home the day before i discharge. so that there wont be able to carry on the day of discharge.

The bag from TMC is quite big also.
They only give u the bag when u discharge. They will dress your baby with the TMC baby clothings. Any balance wet wipes and diapers they will give to you also.

I actually brought 3 nightdress to wear but cos got aircon, no sweat. i didnt bother to change. Didint stained it so wore one throughout my stay :p

They will also provide a toiletries bag in the room so u can no need to bring your own.

wow.. sounds like tmc got a lot of goodies ah.. mmm.. how come stupid gleneagles ask me to bring my baby's going home clothes and booties and mittens ne? hmmp!.. lousy.. (mm..)

Thanks Fresia &amp; SSL for your advises.

Does all these "freebies" chargeable into our hospital bills or hidden cost to us?

So basically we only need to bring our own clothing since toiletries and baby stuffs will be provided by TMC.

woofy

i dont see any charges of those sort in the bill leh.... so i guess they are really "freebies". also didnt use up all the maternity pads there (so i brought it home

i actually brought my own toiletries (facial wash, toothbrush/paste). In the end, i didnt use any cos quite painful for me to walk to the toilet. so i try to rinse my mouth only. heehee

jenifur, I'm fr Mar06 mummy..keke..saw your posting about maid.
The procedure of getting a maid takes a month or 2. Unless u are taking those transfer maid. Check out with agent careful before u make decision.

I'm also going to engage a maid, but will be after my confinement.
Have to install cctv, my hb will do that too. 1 camera at the main door, 1 at bb's room and another at kitchen.

apple: no lah.. wun take 2 months so long.. can choose those who already has got ready made passports.. esp filipinos.. usually they have one.. 1 month i believe so.. coz sometimes.. might not get the maid u want and there could be changes..

SSL,

Thanks for sharing the tips with me. Now at least i know what to expect and what to bring to hospital.

So how's your baby now?

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Adel</font>,

Ya I agree tt maid is of a better solution cuz they can help to take care of BB when we r not ard &amp; also w e hsework when we take over BB. But even w CCTV camera, I'm still worried. *touchwood* If anything happens, by e time I rush home also too late liao.

<font color="0000ff">Apple</font>,

Thanks for e remainder.. We had initially decided on leaving my girl w infant care but duno Y my stupid HB change his mind again. Still trying to "neg" w him if not then straight after my confinement gona rush to get maid loh. Somemore he wants Myanmar maid which is more expensive &amp; rare</font>
kao_frustrated.gif

haha.. jenifur: why myanmar? mm.. take ur time to choose ba.. and plus..i think better dun choose indonesian.. ones.. sorry ah.. a bit sceptical about them.. plus communication breakdown.

Jenifur, U really have to monitor maid movement before u can leav your bb with her and returns to work. For me, I will stop working for at least 6-9 months..so by that time my bb is more stable.

Y ur hb wanna get Myanmar maid? U know communication and cooking is a prob? I engage part-time Myanmar maid before, gosh..give me a lot of prob. She washed clothes together with floor mat and my kitchen towels eventhough I soak them in seperately. Think twice ya.

Jenifur,

I have heard some good comments about using Myanmar maids, as some of them can speak chinese and they are known to be good with baby care. The problem is difficulty in finding agents who bring them in.

Anyway, I also face the same problem as you. My in-laws and my parents were unable to take care of baby for me. Furthermore, there is no infantcare centre near my place. It seems that hiring a maid is the most economical solution for us. My husband will install CCTV at home to monitor also.

Garfield,

I read about your case a few days ago. All the best for your c-section on Friday.

I just came back from my gynae checkup. My baby is currently too small at wk 38. His abdominal growth has been slowing down for the past few weeks. In fact his abdominal size at 38 wks is only about that of a 34 wks baby. Fortunately the head and legs are still about the right size.

I am really worried. It seems that he is not getting enough nutrients from me even though I have been eating a lot. My gynae says that he will induce me by week 39 if I do not go into labour this week.

What are your plans for breastfeeding? Are you planning to go for total BF? I am keen to find out as I do not seem to have any milk at the moment so I am worried that my baby will 'starve' again after he is borned, after all he is already so small. Any views on this?

woofy

Learning how to care for baby.. very busy but happy whenever baby latches and suckles during breastfeeding time.

Hi SSL

i onli feel it the first few days.. now okay, so did not put the binder

i do rest during the day (catch nap) as i wake up at nite to express milk...

u r one happy mother wen bb latches
. somehow i prefer to express :p

hi mums and MTB,

popped on 5 Oct, 1 day b4 edd. havent been able to steal time to even sleep, only only manage to post now n catch up on postings. Congrats to all new mums and may all MTB have a quick and smooth delivery.

birth story:
mon 3 Oct, strong braxton hicks every 10-15min from 6pm. Was thinking if that was 'it' but the intensity and frequency of BH didnt increase. unable to sleep, trying to manage the BH, like very bad menstrual cramp. BH stopped suddenly at 4am.

tue 4 Oct, strong BH again from 12am. Intially it was 30sec every 15 min, then got very bad and the frequency was like 1 min of contraction ev 5min by 6am. Didn't sleep. Terrible pain, i was on all fours, using a heat pad on my lower back to manage the pain. Called TMC, advised to go and check.

9.30am, cervix 2cm open, asked to admit, sent into labour ward.

Gynae broke water bag and put me on drip.

Contraction got worse but manageable. Nurse kept asking if i wanted epi, told her i will try to manage first and see how.

Nurse increased the drip to double the dosage.

By 12.30pm. Terrible contraction every 20sec. Given gas. Was grabbing arm rest of bed and hubby's sleeve. Gas didn't work for me after 5min, asked nurse how many cm dilated. Still 2cm. Gave in, asked for epi.

1pm Epi administered. Can laugh and eat Delifrance crossiant and watch TV, read papers

2pm 7cm dilated

3.30pm started to push. wow, really take a lot of energy to push.

4.30pm Charlise was placed on my chest straight from the womb. tears of joy rolled down when i felt her warm body against mine. Memorable moment.Everything was worth it.

So far either pump or latch on. She can be v impatient to latch on then will drink ebm from bottle 60ml.

want to ask mummies here. She can take 1hr to suckle and feed again in 1hr. Is that ok?

also, is it a must to pump in middle of nite so as not to affect supply? If not I may want to sleep a nite through. Very tired.
Have been sleeping only 1-2hr ev nite. Either pumping, latching on or nappy changing. bb wet herself like 10 times a day. At times poo on me when I changing her

will come in again to chat. going to catch some sleep.