(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

mummyjan: my bb abdonminal size also very small.my gynae did the measurements and told me that bb's femur (leg length) is too small for bb at wk 37. the femur length measured at week 37 is abt the size for week 34. doc said bb will be short..am worried is stunted growth...*SIGH*
i intend to go on total breastfeed so hopefully with the c-section wound, i can still breastfeed. i think most important of all is the support from ur hubby

All mummies considering getting a maid for bb:

Cos there are quite a few of you I can't remember your names so I post generic one.
Actually I would really advise against leaving bb with a foreign maid alone at home, with or without cctv installed. I have a maid who has been with me for a year. She's Indo and does housework well. In fact she's a v experienced maid with 7 yrs of domestic helper experience in Saudi Arabia. This past yr I have never left my girl alone with her for anything more than 20min. And frankly even after a yr I still dun trust that she will have the patience to take care of my girl like family would. Staying alone at home the whole day is already isolating enuf on its own, what more being trapped in a house with chores to do and a crying infant/ active toddler to care for at the same time. To add to things, most of these maids come with problems from back home and they spend quite a bit of time mulling over these problems and can become distracted easily.

An alternative to hiring a maid is to send bb to a nanny who lives near you. It would cost abt $500 a month and chances are there'll be less chances of abuse and a distracted care-giver. Local aunties, esp experienced nannies, are definitely better than foreign maids.

Whitefloral

Wow, after jabbing epi u can still eat meh?? i cannot leh.. onli can eat before the jab :p

Kris

I just passed 4 weeks liao.. wondering if my milk is established anot.. how to know huh? I just pumped out 80ml from left side but onli 50ml from right side leh.. LOL.. How to know if i can already just pump and no need to have Alden latch on to stimulate??

Congrats to ClarisseMummy & Daddy!!

Thanks Garfield. All the best for your c-section. Hope that our babies will grow better when they are out. I will also try for TBF and hope that baby's growth can catch up.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Whitefloral</font>,

324638.gif

Congrats on your Cute Li'l Baby Girl !

<font color="0000ff">Kris</font>,

Tks for sharing. Both HB &amp; myself hv never really consider getting a nanny due to personal past bad experience. Maid was never really my choice till now HB wants it. Guess we'll hv to try to work things out these few days.

<font color="0000ff">Adel</font>,

HB feels tt Myanmar r more hardworking, at least this is wat he sees in his old work place. He's not keen on Filipino cuz he feels they r more street-smart &amp; will tend to play punk.

<font color="0000ff">Apple</font>,

REALLY!! I tot Myanmar quite gd as to wat mummyjan said - shld b able to speak chinese etc.. Then I better think twice &amp; twice if I ever getting a maid

<font color="0000ff">Mummyjan</font>,

So no one will be home during e day time except e maid &amp; e BB huh?? I really cannot put my mind @ ease w e tot of this. Especially after all e cases of maid killing e owners &amp; throwing BB down e block

<font color="0000ff">Ruff</font>,

A pity you ask too late... Clarissemummy has e contact for such agent but she has jus popped so duno when will she be back in action here. </font>

Fun: Why you wanna stop latching bb leh? From the amt that you're pumping it's clear that your supply has more or less extablished. It's a v good amt indeed. Stopping bb from latching could eventually lead to a decrease in supply cos bb offers the best stimulation. Also direct latching is more convenient anytime and anywhere. And direct latching also means bb gets the complete goodness from your milk. EBM loses some of the antibiotics and nutrients due to exposure, even if we freeze it immediately. If you're thinking of going back to work and hence need to pump then do still latch bb on direct everyday whenever you're home.

whitefloral

Congrats

My boy also wee wee alot
sometimes just after change, he will wee wee and we have to change nappy again. haha... So now, we use diapers at nite

Garfield

Dont worry about BF with your wound. Just wear the binder and u will feel better. For me, i didnt carry my boy on the first day in hospital cos i want the wound to heal probably. But on second day onwards, i try to latch him on. It was very difficult and have to go through alot of "fightings" with him. Even sometimes now at home, he will be very impatient if he too hungry and cant suckle or latch on probably.

Fun

U prefer to bottle feed him and dont want Alden to latch on?

Kris

I'm having occassional (not often la) joint pains at my fingers, something like water retention. Issit normal?

kris

issit normal to have semi watery stools (yellowish in colour) if me BF and feed FM? doc say abit diarrhoea. I thought its normal to have loose stools if i BF.

whitefloral,

Thanks for sharing your birth story. Your part on epidural administered really helped to relieve some of my fear to labour.

Kris

I will prefer to let my mum feed him with my BM instead of FM if i'm not available mah.. so wana know more lor :p

Nite time i will still be letting him latch on cos i will be taking care of him

SSL

not stoppin him totally from latching lah
even during daytime will still let him latch on

jenifur, think the Myanmar maid is hardworking..but not very hygenic. They dunno our style where we sepearate wash floor mat, clothes and kitchen towel. I even mentioned to her many times since she comes only once a week, but still she doesn't understand what I meant!
She is my office ang-mo expat's maid..so I ask my colleague about her cleaning for him, he said he doesn't know how she clean :p ang-mo is kind of can't be bothered type so long he has working shirt iron properly, hanging there for him to wear to work :p The wife also easy going type.

Jenifur,

I am not at ease with the maid alone with the baby too. I will be leaving the maid and baby at my mother-in-law's place which is nearby.

SSL: BF bbs do have loose stool. I should think you're increasing your boy's bm intake rite? I think the stool is fine unless he's on mostly fm. Then you may wanna consider switching to soy milk.

FUn: oic.

kris

we are still maintaining the 60ml FM. But now he suckles longer on each breasts. (seems to take more of BM)

just now managed to pump 50+ml after 1hr on 2 breasts. Today got buy papaya to cook soup. hopefully got more milk coming in la. heehee

u mean switch to soy milk instead of taking similac? but his eczema problem can take soy milk? We are feeding him FM at night (when i'm sleeping). day time BM and FM (if he demands more) Lately, i think if he drinks enough BM, he will sleep after latching on. That can tahan about 1hr, before he demands again

<font face="Calisto mt"> Good Morning Ladies

<font color="0000ff">Kris</font>,

On e topic of stool, my girl is on tbf &amp; she only poos once a day in huge amt &amp; is very yellowish &amp; smelly. This is pretty normal rite...

Next thing is she seems to get Hic-cup pretty often, anyway to relieve her &amp; what could b the cause? Thanks

<font color="0000ff">SSL</font>,

R u e one who wanted to purchase something from "babytown" (www.babytown.com.sg)? Did u finally purchase anything from them? If yes, how's their service &amp; stuff quality like?</font>

324825.jpg

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Adel</font>,

Wow u r asking me to do something almost impossible. My girl hates plain water, She will spits everything out whenever we try to feed her

jenifur

ya, me the one. but didnt buy anything in the end. i went to their office once. some items they sell are second hand and u really got to look closer to see the quality lor. though can order online, its better to go down to see it for yourself. the office abit ulu ulu one. so dont expect too high.
but there's this malay lady there quite nice, explaining to us the car seats (old and new ones) when we were there.

SSL: now me still BM+FM so the stool is abit watery but still got 'yi li yi li' lah ... juz wondering TFM stool shd be hard hard kind or wat?

If diarrhoea will poo many times a day? Mine only poo once or twice a day.

mayday

same as mine. watery but got some yi li yi li. think TFM stool harder. (and smellier) heehee

Yest brought my son to PD cos of rash problem and when i told him about the watery stools, he prescribe him med for diarrhoae leh. (or to calm the stomach now)

SSL

My CL told me the stool is ok leh so thought asking Kris lor ... First time mummy always blur blur

So you let yr son take the medi? Let me know if yr son stool got change coz we same same on BM+FM.

ya my CL also say ok. :D

ya let him take, cos its those sachet, drink once a day and only for 5 days. shouldnt be too harmful.

I say BM+FM, meaning I latch him for BM, then he wants more, then i continue with FM. yours the same??

Btw, u got MSN?? sometimes easier to seek help via MSN. i always bother kris this way :p

talking about poo, my son is not poo-ing everyday...and when he does, his stools are dark greenish and sticky...it made him cry so hard...shd be quite difficult to pass out...what's the problem actually? he's on 50% BM &amp; 50% FM...FM = Enfalac 1

SSL:mine is BM day time and FM night time but sometimes he seems not satisfied after feeding FM is given so he will kuai kuai go sleep.

My MSN is [email protected]

Sneaky: got 50% BM should not be dark greenish and sticky rite? Me oso dunno leh ... better seek expert help here.

mothers:
1)is it normal to LS? i seem to have it often since my delivery.

2)if baby does not burp, can we leave it alone? my baby doesn't always burp.

3)when can we stop applying the antiseptic to the wound below?

sneaky:
is your formula milk with enfalac A+? mine with A+ and my girl also on BM(Day) and FM(Day and night). Her poo is yellowish and smooth.She poos everyday, once or twice.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Sneaky</font>,

Janelle's inital poo also dark greenish &amp; sticky &amp; smelly too. My mum said is normal cuz they r actually passing out those things they "consume" while in our tummy. Janelle's stool only became yellowish 2 wks ago.</font>

mayday

u let BB latch on during day? how long does BB feed on each breast and how long is the feeding interval?

Think my BM not enough. Just now BB drank 30mins on right side and 15mins on left side, still want more milk. So gotta give him FM.

sneaky

if he hasnt poo for two days (happened to my boy before), u better bring him to GP or PD so that they can insert suppositories into his anus to help him poo.

mybabydream

Are u sensitive to any herbs that you are taking during your confinement? For me, so far ok. only these two days, have more watery poo. Was saying, maybe i watery poo, thats why BB also watery poo.

Normal PD will advise that if burp BB for 5-10mins and BB havent burp, then leave it. My CL usually will get a burp from BB after FM.

hi, i would like to check for those mummies who delivered at TMC, does TMC provide free car parking? My hubby drives and not sure if the parking is free for mothers who delivers there?

hi everyone...

mm.. just came back from lunch and shopping.. oo.. i went to visit clarissemummy..!! clarisse.. is such a sweetie!! mm.. both mother and girl are fine.. and.. they are discharging.. from the hospital today.. so i think i will just let carole.. to describe her birth story to u gals ba.. hiak hiak

garfield

TMC will give u 2pcs of $2 carpark coupons. That means, u park whole day, only pay $2. Otherwise, it will be based on per entry or/and entry. Just tell them you drive when u do the admission.

For my case, c section needs 4D3N in hospital, so one of the day hubby come later so that the parking is not so expensive. If u are delivering natural one, then will be 3D2N, so just enough cos 3rd day is discharge day ma

For those mummies who have celebrated or going to celebrate your BB's first month birthday, may i know which cake shop and caterer you have (or going to) used.

I most likely be ordering from Melrose for their cakes. As for caterers, still sourcing. Got 3 recommendations from Aug MTBs thread

sneaky: dark green colour is due to the iron in the fm. If bb takes significantly more bm then the poo should be yellowish.

jenifur: hiccups are v normal in all infants (even in puppies) and it does not bother them a single bit. It is us adults who are bothered and think they are suffering. PDs will actually advise against giving water when bb hiccup cos it can cause them to choke at times. The reason bbs hiccup is that their eosophagus ring is still weak and can't close properly at times so they tend to hiccup often and may spit up milk often as well. As bb grows older the ring muscle will also become stronger, and you should see the hiccup easing off.

Tennyson: bbs on bm should have stool that's watery, mustard colour and sometimes look like got some seeds in them. It's also ok that bb on 90% or more bm doesn't poop everyday cos bm is completely digestable.

just reading a few postings on BM and wanted to share my opinion.

I hear some of you have 50% BM and 50% FM and the reason being u are afraid u have not enough BM for bb as after latching on, bb still wants more.

BF works on a demand/supply principle, so the more we supplement with FM, the more the bb will suck less on the breast resulting in less milk being produced by mom since FM can make up for it.

I've been giving my girl BM from day 1. But because she was underwt, PD advised to supplement with FM. I gave her 30ml of FM for 3 - 4days and then stopped when she started to gain wt. NOw she's solely on BM. I also question everyday, do I have enough BM for her? sometimes i feel like she's only suckling on the breast and there's no actual milkflow. I'm also tempted to give her FM. But I'm told, as long as there are about 6 - 8 wet diapers a day, 2 - 3 poos a day,that's indication that bb has had enough.

Sometimes my bb wakes up grouchy, her mouth turning to the sides like she wants milk but when I soothe her say with fan blowing at her or just rocking her abit, she calms down and sleeps for an hour or two.

So I guess if we dont supp with FM, the bb's suckle on the breasts will be stronger and that will help mummy produce milk. mummy must also remember to drink lots of fluid to make up for loss, and fluids will also help in replenishing your milk so make sure you are drinking enough. Rest is also important...

don't give up giving your babies the best !!

hi all, thanks for the inputs...

mayday: yah...it's scary to see greenish bowels leh

mybabydream: nope, not A+, but the normal one...i dare not buy A+ yet cos i want to try out this one before moving on to A+..

jenifur: if this is the case, i shall monitor again...he pooed yesterday and i'm still waiting for him to poo today...it hurts to see my baby cry till seow when poo poo...must be quite hard on him...

SSL: i shall take note of that...if he does not poo for more than 2 days, i shall head to the GP this time...

kris: iron causes green stools?? whoa...i'm giving him half half leh...maybe you are right, slightly more FM...i will try to express more BM for him...will still continue to monitor his stools tho...