(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

adel: whahahha.. nothing leh.. kekek still home.. my gynae super steady, saying see me tomolo.. so likely tomolo liaoz. :p

mybabydream... i think if u didn't bf for days, it will affect milk production but it will come back once u let bb suckle.. for now if bb not satisfied from just BF, then supp with FM but once yr milk production returns, bb shld be fine. My sis went on holiday for a week and came back there was still milk for my nephew.. try expressing even if u are unwell so that u keep the milk production on even if u are not giving to your bb.

morning.... 6am already.. gng for my morning breakfast n heads to hosp. Do i have contractions n tummy pain... funny leh.. nothing seems to happen lor.. kekeke.

inc

my baby weighs 3.15kg during the review checkup. And normally the nite FM feed is 60ml. We are monitoring and may increase if he demands. Feed interval used to be 3-4hrs, but lately 2.5hrs he wants milk liaoz. but sometimes he can sleep till 5hrs then wants feed. thats why we intend to increase some for him.

But cos i'm also feeding him BM, so cant really tell how much he is taking. Intend to pump out to see how much is my milk supply. heehee.

preciousmoment:
I checked with stemcord, if your gynae is tied up with them, you can get a lower initial payment. Annual payment is $250. If you are having the FBI card with TMC, you will have a discount of $50 for the first 9 years of annual payment, ie. $200. I think I will be getting Cordlife cos both amounts come up to about the same.

They were shocked to learn that my edd is next week and asked me to decide by this week cos they need to meet up and give me the collection kit which i need to bring to hospital during delivery.
A rush fee will be charged if you inform them on your delivery.

my hubby is very supportive cos he says even if got insurance money also cannot guarantee a suitable donor if anything happens. makes sense lor.

Pammie : Babyseat attached to Stroller... Think the Quinny can do that. You have to purchase the Maxi Cosi Cabrio($200+) and the Quinny Buzz($500+?) or Zapp ($299). Other brands have that option too.. but its more of an attachment to a pram more than a stroller...

Kidsmall is good... has wide range and their prices are almost the lowest.

ruff, thks.. intend to drop by kidsmall within the next 2 days.. i dont know what i shld look at to make a decision. i think stroller can't be too heavy else i can't handle it on my own, the car seat cannot be too warm or else bb dont like to sit in it and i suppose car seat has to fit my car..

The Quinny stuff are actually v light... that's why the high price. <font color="ff0000">Happy shopping!</font>

dear all, i have not been logging in for quite sometime...
took me a long time to read all the post!!

congrats to all who have delivered liao..guess u all now enjoying your motherhood.

as for me, i will be going for c-section this fri as my gynae said bb is suffering from inter-uterine growth retardation (mild).BB is only 2.3kg at 37weeks which according to gynae, is very small.

sweetie

is the promotion for FBI members recently? coss i'm an FBI member and when i signed up with stemcord, they didnt give me any discount leh?? I contacted Stemcord directly that time. When i called to ask FBI, was told that they only got promo with Cordlife.

garfield

do take care. Maybe u can try eating more these few days so that baby's weight can increase. My gynae told me my boy will be around 2.8kg (less than 3kg) during my last pregnancy checkup with her. Wanting to have a bigger baby (at least more than 3kg), i start to eat more and my boy's weight when delivered is 3.15kg

by the way, i signed up with cordlife to bank my bb's cordblood. IMHO, i find cordlife better cos cordlife is AABB (not sure if i spell correctly) accredited, that means their procedures everything follows strictly the americans counterpart. so in case u need to transport or store ur blood in america, the american counterparts will not question the reliability of the blood. 2ndly, cordlife offers 24hrs service, no matter what time or day u deliver, one of the nurse from cordlife will come down to collect ur blood to bring back to cordlife lab. as far as i know, stemcord do not have 24hrs service, usually, they will wait till the next working day to come collect the blood. the most important of all is that the cordlife collects the blood from the placenta in a more sterile way. the blood is never exposed to the environment at all whereas for stemcord, syringe is used to collect the blood then transfer to the storage bag which kind of exposed the blood to the environment. chances of contamination is higher then.

SSL: i have been eating quite a lot eversine i pregnant, even got ordered to have bedrest for 2 weeks to see if bb grow a not..but seems like bb can only gain a little weight...so now choice lor....

ssl,

ya, the promo is only with Cordlife, not stemcord. Initial payment with Cordlife is $1200, they do not tie up with any gynaes.

Hi celine,

I'll share my detail bills here when i've got much time to post, do give me sometime, okie? =). right now, roughtly sharing for mummy bill alone, after medisave, cash to folk out = $800.00(includ $600 deposit)

bb = $132.00+ (cash to folk out after medisave)

p.s. mine was caesarean wif spinal (4 bedded)

sweetie: have been drinking chicken essence almost everyday during my 2nd trimester but heard that during 3rd trimester, best not to take 'hot' stuff...so din take chicken essence during the 3rd trimester

garfield,

during the 3rd trim, watever you take goes to the baby more... maybe you can take but not everyday and drinks lots of water. my mum told me not to take now until delivery cos scared the baby will grow too much. my baby is 2.9kg at 37 weeks.

did you drink any milk powder like anmum?

sweetie,

u mentioned got the $50 discount for FBI member?? or this is the promo for Cordlife??

garfield,

dont worry so much. just rest well for the op this fri ok. me also went to c section cos of breech baby. remember to buy the binder cos it really helps alot.

And remember to request for separate bill for baby and mummy cos can claim more from medisave. Btw, where are u delivering? TMC?

Garfield, you take care...

btw, ladies, anyone of you have this white thingy on your nipple? When you shower, can actually rub it off or dig it off. Is it advisable to rub it away? Is this some kind of block duct?

Hi all oct MTBs,

I'm from dec MTBs.

SSL,
Would like to check with you, for the binder, is it neccessary to wear for mummies who have gone thru c-section or apply to all, including those who go for normal delivery?
How long must we wear the binder.

Where do you get the binder?

fresia: it's just either dried skin or dried colostrum. Can go ahead and rub it off during shower.
I also have.

DS

I know there are mummies who went thru normal delivery also wear the binder. probably to slim the tummy faster.

For those who went thru c section, its useful to hold your tummy and uterus cos there are external and internal stitches being done. so have to be more careful. I was advised by gynae to wear it for one month. But i can take out during sleeping time since i'm not always walking about. so during day time, i actually wear it all day.

i got the binder from the hospital. I didnt buy the binder outside though there are quite a no. of brands selling them. cos some come in sizes and me not sure what size will fit me lor. So when nurse in the operating theatre ask if i got binder after the c section, i told them no. so i guess they wear it for me and charge to my hospital bill. saw a $37 charge for the binder.
Some gynae clinics do sell it too.

SSL: i will be delivering atTMC My bb also in breech position...hehe..notti bb...dun wan to turn.

I have bought the tummy binder liao..heard it helps to remove some pain when u walk around after the C-section..

kris

if i express my BM, i can store in the glass bottle that TMC gives right? But must sterilised the bottle first and screwed tight. If i dont have alot, I cant mix two EBM batches together in one bottle hor. have to use separate bottle hor.

And just store in fridge (no need chiller or freezer)? can tahan for how long? And to feed baby, just pour in normal milk bottle and warm it up. issit? how long to warm up if using hot water method? Can pour several bottles of bottles into one milk bottle hor?

garfield

me also delivered at TMC. who's your anathetist? mine is dr lim. i find him good.

The first day after the op, i lie straight straight on bed to let the wound heal. didnt even carry baby or BF baby. no pain at all. second day, they remove the drip and catherer, was told to try walking. Anyway, need to go toilet ma.. wah... the pain is ouch... then i walk 70degrees bended, like lao ah ma pattern. but with the binder, it helps to hold on to the stitches and somehow i feel safer wearing it.

didnt walk much except to the toilet.but went for the free BF and bathing class on day 3, so gotta walk quite far. but by then, i already can walk better but still very slow. maybe i dare not stand up too straight cos i scared i tore the stitches :p

Amari

if u are going for c section, just pass to the nurse when u are in OT. (before they administer the epi) so that they can wear for u immediately after the op. If u are delivering naturally, maybe can ask your gynae or the midwife to put on for u after delivery?

garfield

ops maybe i exagerated. soli. actually the op in OT is not painful at all. even epi administration also not pain. so dont worry. maybe u got better threshold than me. my roommate also c section. she can walk straighter than me ah... and can even pick up her own baby to feed. really admire her. but its her second child, so she's telling me cos i new mummy, so just do it slowly. had a good roommate that shares alot with me
she admitted one day earlier than me..

DS,

my binder brand is DALE.

SSL,

Erm, just now got MTBs mentioned that the charges for stemcord and cordlife is almost the same, may i know what is the exact cost for the 1st time payment for both and what is the subsequent amount we need to pay annually?

Surf the stemcord web, but it didn't mentioned anything about the charges, call them also no one answers the phones.

Got mummies also mentioned that if become the TMC FBI member, then we will get discount for the annual fee of the cord banking.

For the FBI member, is it a one time membership? If yes, then how much is the membership? If the membership needs to pay a subscription fees, how much is it? Is it worth to get the membership then? If let say we got a discount of $50 from the cord banking...

Thanks. Sorry for so many questions.

Amari

My gynae assigned the anathetist to me.
so i trust her lor. I only tell her the padetrician i want. u delivering at TMC too?

DS: for stemcord.. u can check with ur gynae if got tie up or not.. if have only 750 1st time payment. for cordlife.. its 1200. but cordlife has got accredition.. or something like tt.. do surf the sites to know more lor..

give u one contact.. for stemcord.. 64712002 shareen chew.
i have not met up with the ppl from cordlife though..

adelyee,
Oh.. okay, will ask then.

Stemcord is $750 for 1st time payment, what abt subsequent payment? Do you know? Thanks.

Yeah, got read about the nfo on cordlife.

64712002 .. this no. no one answers leh.. tried calling also. Nvm, will call again when got the time.
The name card i got is Lynn Wong. heee...

Actually, tried sending emails to request for some brochures from stem cord, but until now also no reply.. no brochures received....

OIC... thanks Kris. Sort of find it tempting to rub it off during shower.

I'm getting really impatient liao. It's really a challenge to sleep at night! Oh my....

ds: mm.. try again later lor.. as for subsequent payment its 250 every year if i am not wrong.. same as cordlife..
but think cordlife got the fbi member discount thingy if i am not wrong.

welcome. i think this is what the forum is for anyway.. hehe.. and soon.. i'll be needing the mummy's help!!!

look out, ssl! will be looking out for u to get tips on baby!

hi all..
im always reading from all ur postings.. but nvr post b4.. all of u so encouraging to one another!! =D
my edd is 31 oct.. so might still make it to be an oct mum.. hehee...
so all mummies here shared their "popping" experiences b4 liao ah?? me starting to get kan cheong already.. =P

hi zimcookies: welcome.. not all mummies have popped yet.. soon i guess.. hehe..

clarissemummy is now in labour..groaning in pain.. ooo.. tat scares me out man! *wishing tt she will have a smooth smooth delivery! hehe.. i think maybe baby coming out soon le.. lo..

DS,

my gynae is tied with stemcord but the initial payment is $800 not $750. Heard from my friend that some only $575... think its different from gynae to gynae, you need to check.

As for the FBI card, its only good if you are delivering in TMC. You can check with TMC on more details. I think i paid $100+ for 2 years membership fee. As i am delivering in TMC, i also enjoy other benefits from this card.

adel meimei

me not expert la... me always bother the mummies here myself, esp kris :p

we are all here for one another

U stressing ClarisseMummy ah..... heehee or she stressing u....

zimcookies

welcome