(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Mayday

Congrats

mybabydream

we selected the date and time for the operation.

fiona: yah...i can see my tummy reducing size...i have no clue where the water went to...maybe to the swelling of my feet...gynae told me as we are nearing our edd, we will not gain more weight...

Mayday, congrats on your promotion!!!! take care and enjoy motherhood...

Mayday, congratulations!

can't sleep. have been working late. busy handing over my duties. will be going on leave from wednesday. excited, waiting for bb's arrival .

also have stretch marks on my bum, didn't apply the clarins oil to bum/ thigh area till the stretch marks are out. Just bought my 3rd bottle of oil to continue applying.

sorry i updated only now.. i popped on 22nd Sept 4.13am, the very next morning after i complained about my contractions and bleeding. ok, i realized that contractions are not fun!
phew, i'm just glad it's over.
everything was smooth and trust me, mummies, just staring at ur baby will become ur new hobby.

Thanks all mummies.

Congrats the rest too and enjoy our motherhood.

Adel: the staff and nurses were ok .. juz keep pressing the bell if you need anything.

Mine was a planned C-sect so nothing much to share but agreed with Ice the waiting time at the OT can kill but is all so worth when u noe u able to see yr little one soon.

Agreed wiz Fiona shouldn't be disturbing Jenifur. Sorry for being inconsiderate .. keke
We shall go back to the thread and see others 'pop' dates.

Congratulation Mayday and qiqi!

Qiqi, do share with us your birth story when you have time ok

aiyo from the list, fiona and sneaky will be the next to give birth leh...excited boh??

sometime i think having induction or c-sect is not such a bad thing at least you know when your bb coming out and preparation can be done beforehand. But if natural birth have to play the waiting game...*sigh* abit frustrated.

Hi Mayday

how is the first day? could you get up? got my binder from my gynae clinic. Is the pain bad?
did u affect ur bf.. m going c section on the same day with SSL
Tks.

Go to pharmacies like Nature's Way. The brand 'NOW' has red raspberry tea leaves. I tried taking it but everytime i took it it gave me a tummy ache.. so I dunno whether I should continue to take it leh..

i read from somewhere its good to drink some when we are in our last trimester for faster labour and induction rite?

Agree with Sneaky, this waiting game is a killer!hehe. But I think Sneaky's turn will be before mine lah...her bb Samuel's head has been stucked there for more than a month alreadi...mine haven leh..hehe.

If i am not wrong, SSL and Inc gng for C-sect this week, so their turn should be next rite? Good luck to both of you, hope you will have a smooth delivery.

mayday

my turn will be this thurs. Ya intend to buy the binder at TMC after the op. Probably just tell the nurse will do right?

Btw, was told by my mum not to eat chicken during the first week after the op. So intend to request TMC to exclude chicken in my meals. hope can be done.

Btw, since u had c section, can you share with me your hospital bill? like how much costs for mum and baby? did u opt for separate billing ?

thanks Fiona and Celine.

Yap, 2 more days and it will be inc and my turn.

celine,

It can be scary too cos i have never been into OT before.

qiqi

congrats

kris

do u happen to know the english name for the "san yu", kind of fish. Heard those who went for c section cant take that cos will cause the wound to "grow" meat.(hence making the wound look ugly) confirmed with my mum too.

So thinking of avoiding that type of fish in TMC too. Btw, remember got this "papaya and fish" soup that TMC lactation consultant recommend for bringing in breast milk. Wanted to try that soup but not sure if the fish is that "no no" fish.

inc,

u may want to take note too. if u believe in not taking chicken and "san yu" in the first few weeks after the op

Tks to all of your well wishes. ya, SSL jiayou.. but we r in diff hospital if not, we could visit each other.

having itch attacks on my hands and feet. going to see GP now.

inc,

dont worry, am sure we will give one another moral support on that day. . . . .

oh, my CL told me to drink more "pao shen" water so "bu qi" before the op. heehee

SSL, I heard about that fish too! But don't know the chinese or english name..

About fish, threadfin and kurau are suppose to be good right?

Anyone heard that cannot take too much ginger if breastfeeding a baby who has jaundice? That it will make the baby's jaundice worse..?

Wow...
More & more oct mum has popped, can't help feeling nErVioUS when comparing at our EDD chart. To date, my ger still dun want to come out yet 'haiz'(being kiasu, oredi wasted almost 2wk ML). Waiting game is a real torture huh?

Gong Xi Mayday and QiQi..

Mayday ~ thanks for ur advise ya..

sorry but den can i noe how much was ur fees overall??

fushiastar ~ i heard before abt the ginger thingy but den its not medically proven i guess but den to reduce ur intake shld be safer ba..

Fiona ~ i agree with u oso on the chart thing..

Morraine, actually my mom told me that.. My bro had pretty bad jaundice when he was born and apparently my mum was taking quite a lot of ginger which made it worse, then she said when she stopped taking the ginger, my bro's jaundice wasn't so bad..

fuschiastar: Ya, if bb has serious jaundice it is best to avoid ginger for the first few weeks after delivery.

SSL: I also dunno what it's called leh.. the papaya and fish soup can use threadfin or even ikan bilis with pork ribs! The most important ingredient is the papaya, the best is to use GREEN papaya cos it has the sap that will aid in lactation.

inc: able to get up on the next day but u will feel v giddy coz lying in bed too long liao.
The pain is still bearable only can feel 'sharp' pain at the edge of the wound when you have some movements. The 2nd day when they bring my boy to me I can't really bf coz no milk and at the same time can't really sit up straight dued to the wound. I only start to bf him when I'm at home. Don't worry C-sect won't affect bf.

SSL: Pls get the binder before hand so that it will be put on immediately after the op.
My CL told me next wk then I can start to 'pu' my body coz first 10 days after op eat something light first. She will start to cook chicken only next wk.
Yes, separate it so that you can claim more for medisave. And do not worry too much for the op coz u really get 'knock-off' within seconds and by the time you woke up you can see yr bb liao.

morraine: My total bill was $2550(inclusive of doc fee + other extra charges) after deducting medisave of $2450(Mother) and $600(Baby).

fushistar: My CL lady told me can eat ginger but moderate it dun eat too much at the beg after bb first chkup for jaundice then eat more. Coz we are bf so can pass the ginger to bb.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Congrats QiQi/Mayday.

I'm still ok w updating e EDD list since Janelle sleeps most of the time now. But u all will hv to forgive me if I'm abit slow or late in updating lah

<font color="0000ff">Mybabydream</font>,

Not too sure bout e goody bag cuz HB is e one who took out everthing. But think inside got stuff like Kodomo shampoo / pack of pampers diapers (U use in hosptial one) / Johnson Nappy Cream / magazines... BB will be given new sets of mitten / top &amp; a receiving blanket upon discharge.

I'm on total bf. Taking care of Janelle is quite easy now cuz she eats &amp; sleeps most of the time. Only thing is very tiring to wake up every 3 hrs to feed her @ nite loh.</font>

good afternoon to all..

read about all the posts.. today.. mm..

QiQi: congrats on the delivery on ur baby.

mayday: so.. basically nothing special about the hospital lo.. haha.. anyway.. as expected ba.. take care of urself in the meantime.

jennifur: i think u better enjoy the one month confinement .. coz usually.. baby will be cranky after one month or so.. now they are still getting used to the outside environment... haha.. take ur time with the list.. it ain't tat impt anyway..
but do come in .. and chat with us.. when ya free.. though.. and share some tips about taking care of the baby..

mayday,

so does that mean you still need to fork out $2550 cash after deducting $2450 + $600 from medisave?

jenifur,

we already appreciate alot for updating the list hence it doesn't matter late/slow or whatever

may i know how much is your hospital bill? how much you fork out in cash?

Congrats to the new mummies!

Adel Yee:
What kind of part time job r u doing? It did come across my mind too but alot seems to be related to doing survey on line, etc which I am not keen.

Fushiastar:
Hee, then u better rest more, think abt holding baby in your arms and think abt the baby arrangement later. U will cross the bridge when u come to it!

Ssl:
Did u engage shifu or own family to select delivery date?

Inc n ssl:
Wahsoonu will be able to hold your babies in your arms. How nice!

Kris, how to cook the papaya fish soup? Just boil green papaya and fish? Do you put anything else inside to season like salt, pepper, onion? The green papaya is boiled whole? Or remove skin and seeds..

Actually, must it be green papaya and fish soup, meaning can I just eat uncooked green papaya and maybe have steam fish? The same effect?

There are quite a few galactologues including fenugreek, fennal etc and I know that traditionally chinese believe in green papaya and fish but when i try to do a search on it.. can't really find out much info leh..

Zhu jiao chu
-----------------
Anyone intending to take the above during confinement?I attended a public talk by zhong yi shi before. she said if u want to take, take after 2 weeks of confinement coz taking during the 1st 2 weeks will cause u to bleed more.

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Fushiastar</font>,

Got this from TMC :-

Fish Head &amp; Green Papaya

200g Green(unripe) Papaya
1 no. Fish Head eg. Crap, Seabream, Promfret or Kurau fillet
1 slice Ginger

Method:
1. Scale and clean fish
2. Simmer together with pieces of papaya &amp; gingier for 4 hours or till soft &amp; appearance milky in colour.
3. Do not stir soup too often, remove papaya &amp; bones before serving</font>

Jenifur, thanks! Must cook for 4 hours!!!... My goodness.. So it can be any sort of unripe papaya.. and only with one slice of ginger.. And only drink the soup and eat the fish.. Have you tried to cook it? Taste nice?

Hi SSL

tot the grow meat is "kinlok". sorry dun really know how to spell it. M prone to it so hv highlighted to my doc. ever heard from my sil that cannot eat the san yu as it causes "kinlok" but i tot not medically proven leh...

cannot eat chicken??

i jsut came back form NTUC... not very sure if they are selling diapers cheaper. but they have offer.. like 32++ for 2 bags of Fitti S66. check it out

Inc+SSL: Yep, it's keloid..
There's a genetic factor to getting keloids , there are also some foods that tend to increase the chances of getting.. That fish is one of them, so are seafood like prawns, shellfish etc..I'm also prone to them too.. Don't think it's really medically proven, but it's more an observation that doctors have noticed.. So up to us whether we want to believe and follow or not.. Me being me, would rather just be safe and just avoid when wound is healing lor..

ssl/inc:
what is grow meat or kinlok? is it those type of scar that become red and thick? is this to do with the food we eat, or doc's skills, or individual skin?

FENUGREEK
Oh, just a word of caution to those who are thinking of trying fenugreek to increase milk supply.. To note that it also causes blood thinning (thus will bleed more easily, not very advisable when we are healing.. ) and some resparatory depression (which means not suitable for people with asthma).. Always best to check with doctor if gonna try..

My babydream: It's a keloid. Yep, it is.. All 3! - more with our own skin and food we eat than doctor's skill..

Something for those interested in keloids.. Keloids and fibrous scars are different in that in fibrous scars, there is tissue overgrowth, but the overgrowth does not extend beyond the edges of the wound. This tends to be a pale pink colour. For keloids, the tissue overgrowth extends beyond the edges of the wound. This tends to be a more angry red colour.. Just FYI

Fuschiastar: I've tried the TMC papaya fish soup recipe b4 but I still prefer my own .. hee.. Here it is:

1. half an unripe/semi ripe papaya (skinned and seeded), cut into relatively large chunks
2. abt 2 tablespoonfuls of ikan bilis (washed)
3. pork ribs (depends on how carnivorous you are)(can marinade in some gd qualiy lite soya sauce)
4. salt to taste
5. a teaspoon of veg oil

In a relatively deep wok, add the oil and stir fry the ikan bilis and pork ribs until the ribs are browned on the outside. Add 3 large bowls of water and the papaya and bring to a boil. Turn down the heat and allow to simmer until the papaya softens (which can take abt almost an hour). Add salt when ready to serve, b4 turning off the heat.

I took this everyday for abt a week and it definitely helped! As a first time mom my supply was seriously pathetic.

As for Fenugreek, I took it during the 4th month when I went back to work and it did help me maintain my supply though it didn't boost it. The moment I stopped my supply dipped.

Kris, Thanks
Have printed both receipes out and gonna stick them on my fridge.. Will let you know when I try them

What sort of ikan bilis do you use? the for frying kind. or the for soup kind or the kind without bones? Your receipe is for one person?

I had asthma before so better not to take fenugreek..