(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

kris: i also thought it would be that way...maternal instincts will tell us it's different and that we shd report at the hospital liaoz...

kris

so i will boil water to wash those bottles. i will need to add the boiled water to normal tap water before i wash the bottles right? otherwise wont it be too hot for the bottles??

And i will also be washing the teats, breast pump parts (not motor) and other things using the same water?

one thing to ask u about steriliser. i read that once we sterilise those bottles, it can tahan for 6hrs (without opening the lid). does it mean that once we open the lid to use one set of bottles/teats, we will need to sterilise the rest of the remaining bottles/teats before we can use them? what do u normally do leh?

sorry for asking so much.

Sneaky,
I was reading this thread and getting very excited for you! The last time we met you were just into your 2nd trimester? Looks like things are going great and you'll pop anytime soon! Hope you have a smooth delivery!

Ling,
Clarisse is a good girl... turned head down already! Do inform me if there's a gathering next...

Same for all Oct MTBs... very excited for you all! I still have 7 weeks to full term!

I remember someone here mentioned about using baby lotion on baby while still in hospital. May I know the different between baby lotion and baby oil?? Or are they the same!?!??

hi dili mummy...it's been so long....how are you? thanks for popping by...and yes, it's getting more and more exciting for me...every little unusual feel will make me wonder if i'm going into labour...i guess this is the worst time during whole pregnancy...haha

Ya Kris and Sneaky,
I think we will go according to our maternal instinct. We should know when to report to hospital.

Since our Gynae's clinic is at Mt. E, think whenever we 'thought' we experience real contractions, we will report to the clinic first to let the gynae check, if he gives the green light then we head for the hospital. In this case, we do not have to pay for the extra stay in the hospital if they are the false contractions..haha...can save money this way leh.

This last trimester is indeed very torturous, each day is like a waiting and guessing game for us...

fiona: yes, we can do that provided we experience contractions during gynae's operating hours...else, it will still the same...we've gotta admit hospital...

wow, seems like all of us now very kan cheong already. When I told my hubby that Jennifur popped a mth b4 EDD, he asked me what to bring to hospital and wrote it down, also very kan cheong.

have been experiencing cramps on and off too and at times a very heavy feeling down there, like something's coming out.

aim to start my ML 1 Oct, rushing to complete my work for handover this week.

mrs tan, I have pm u my contact. anything can sms me too since u won't be logging in.

Sneaky,
True. I hope I will experience contractions, show or water bag burst after 1.30p.m after my hb's lesson time, so that we can save one day of paternity leave...hehe. but having said all these, we can't choose when the bb wants to come out..the bb got the say over this, not us.

mm.. hi mummies: i have been experiencing a prickly weird pain at the end of my left ribcage area.. and it jus wouldn't go away.. no matter what posture i change to. any of u have experienced this before? its pretty constant kind of pain.. (pain is like in the milder form of gastric pain but its not)..

fiona: wah.. cannot be lah.. its painful but isn't it a bit on the 'high side' of the whole tummy area? plus i believe the contraction pain is like er.. menstrual cramps like that?
grr.. dun scare me ah..

Adel,
I dunno how a menstrual cramp is like, cos I never experience dat in my life. Hmm but my gynae did mention dat for true contractions, the pain is at the highest point of the tummy...i.e. the centre of ur tummy. But better be safe than sorry, give ur gynae a call to find out what's happening.

fiona: now ya scaring me.. mm.. i will probably bear with the pain and call my gynae in the morning.. not so nice to call.. now ba..

if pain getting worse.. maybe i'll end up in the hospital.. but i still feel tat its not contractions leh.. my thoughts abt contractions would be.. like.. maybe.. i'll be in pain till am all curled up in bed now.. screaming n shouting away.. not now.. holding onto the painful side and wishing it away.

Adel

Usually I will have the pain you describe during sleeping time when i lie on either sides for too long. and sometimes, the pain just come and i will seemed to be out of breath. its like gastric pain. but there's no interval or pattern so i didnt bother about it.

i tot cos my boy's position is head near ribcage so not enough space for him to move about. and he is probably trying to stretch himself and hence the pain

SSL: The point is to use water at boiling point (dun add any water) and just scald the bottles and stuff. You will need to use a pair of tongs for this cos yes, it will burn you. In a way this is like the first 'sterilising'.

As for the so-called 'sterilised for 6 hours', yes, it means that you dun open the lid. But what I do is that basically I DUN CARE loh..
I only sterilise abt 2-3 times a day. HOWEVER, if you are bfing, you hardly need to use any bottles at all, but you do need to sterilise the pump equipment EVERYTIME you use it.

whitefloral,
yup yup, i got ur hp no. liao. we keep each other informed ya?

hopefully i will be able to get internet access so i can keep up with our thread..if not, i will keep in touch with u all via sms lor.

is the feeling of gastric pain part of contraction. tot everyone says it is more like menses cramp..

any advice from experienced mummy who has gone through it.

Morning girls..

Me MC at home..

ClarisseMummy:
Me also like u leh.. keep farting.. especially in the afternoon.. duno why..

hi everyone...good morning!

ling: keep farting?? really unglam leh...haha...try to control when you're out in the public, k???

all: i really feel like stopping work immediately...feel so tired and like a lot of things not done...my friend just smsed me saying that it's really tough looking after an infant (her baby borned only last thu)...she was initially very very against hiring a maid to look after her kid but she smsed me this morning saying that i shd quickly get 1 cos it's really tough...her hubby is not getting enough sleep and she cannot help much cos her wound hurts. i really feel like shopping for a maid immediately...haiz

just to let u know , ladies, isetan having sale for its baby products. abt 15-20% depending on brands(i saw avent, pigeon, gerber..). ending on 23rd Sept.

I think Zoe's gonna come soon. Can't explain why.. But it's just a feeling and it gets stronger everyday.. Scary leh.. I'm only 35weeks now..

fushia: relax..... relax... me oso 35 weeks.. kekeke.. scare she coming out too.. kekek. her kicks are slightly lower.. i think she is heading down n gng to engage..

kris

ClarisseMummy & Kuririn

U are not alone. i fart quite frequently now too. Tot cos i didnt empty my bowels everyday so keep farting.

fushiastar

maybe u can check with your gynae if u are feeling uncomfortable?

or just talk to Zoe and tell her 2 more weeks ok

qiqi

thanks for the information

SSL: lol.. no leh.. i try to empty it daily now. .i scare kena stuff pill inside to make me go toilet when time to pop....

Just got an appintment this thursday with gynae
Feel much better
Want another scan to check Zoe's growth.. Have been reading about IUGR.. Really hope she's grown more.. That she can hit 2.3-2.4kg when she's born.. Yah, I keep telling Zoe that she must grow a little bigge

i last seen Clarisse weighing 2.1kg at 34 weeks... gng back this sat (36 weeks) to see her growth.. kekek very exciting.. but scary

ClarisseMummy

at least u can empty daily, I cant since i'm pregnant.

fushiastar

maybe u try to eat more white bread (like me). my boy's weight gained alot and i think cos i ate white instead of wholemeal bread now :p And i tend to eat snacks at night before i go bed.

My next visit will be this sat and will be able to confirm if my c section date is confirmed.

Me also empty daily.. and farting a lot.. but don't care lah.. I have no appetite now.. still forcing myself to eat..

May.. 2.1kg at 34weeks is ok.. average is 2.2kg..

SSL.. when's your tentative c-section date? TMC right?

now packing hospital bag and nursery room at the same time. hahaha. always postpone packing hospital bag..... but scared too last minute.

Already finished washing all baby clothings, bedsheet sets, etc. Now left washing the bottles, teats, etc. and finalising the packing of the drawer i kept all the baby clothings and stuff.

Didnt buy those big drawer cabinet, only bought 5 tier toyogo plastic drawer. The clothings and towels, hankies etc already took up 3 drawers. So gotta make good use of the other 2 drawers. Putting bottles and supplies for cotton balls, wet wipes etc.

kris

Ask u hor. If thats the case, will it be better (and easier and faster) to sterilise the bottles/teats instead of washing them in hot water? same bo?

And issit necessary to sterilise or wash those tongs, milk powder bottles, teat/bottle washer? or just wash them when i need to use them will do.

Part of me feels excited that the big day is coming and i have more confident compared to earlier trimester of taking care of Baby. But at times, I find that i am still not well prepared for alot of things, like making sure things are properly cleansed and pre-prepared for baby's usage.

SSL:
me also like u bought toyogo plastic drawerss.. i bought 2 4-tiers one.. 1 for putting baby's stuffs and 1 for confinement nanny.. also bought a small trolley to put baby's wipes, powder pampers etc..

SSL: EVERYTHING must be sterilised the first time. If you dowanna use hot water to scald then better use baby bottle detergent to wash all thoroughly BEFORE sterilising them in the steam steriliser. DUn just put straight into the steriliser cos there will be some dust etc that needs cleaning.

I can understand your mixed feelings... I'm also starting to wonder how i the world I'm gonna be able to handle 2 kids! And I'm worried for my elder girl cos she's so super duper sticky to me now... but I love her so much and enjoy her 'stickiness' to me at the same time I dun really wanna given up anything/ any time with her to care for #2... sounds so selfish and 'unmotherly' right? sigh...

I just finished packing hospital bag yesterday.. Also finished with the baby cot and baby bathing stuff and left baby feeding stuff.. Me got 4 tier toyogo plastic drawer.. All filled up! Now rolling cotton balls

hi ssl/fiona: me not having contractions lah.. haha.. went to sleep in pain.. and couldn't sleep till about 4 plus.. then the pain finally went away.. phew.. so tired out.. dunno whether need to call gynae and ask or not? but i figured.. this is something minor compared to contractions lah.. hehe....

my hb.. always say my pain threshold is very high... so should be able to take contractions.. no need epidural.. save money.. then i told him ok lor... i feed ya ten diarrhoea pills.. and lock u up.. then u dun shit for at least about 5-10 hours ok? then ya tell me if its ok or not... wahahahaha.. (cozits impossible to get men pregnant mah!)

All,
Wow seems like everyone is getting kan chiong alreadi, doing the packing, washing and cleaning. Or issit the nesting instinct that's on the play?hehe.

Me too bot the Toyogo 5-tier cabinets, dun seem to be enuf to put all bb stuffs leh.

Guess everyone of us is worried if we can cope once bb is out. hmm guess, we gotta learn thru experience and by experimenting. I believe with support from pple around us, we can do it, and derive joy from this 'not so easy' task of bringing our kids up.

Sneaky,
Staying at home can be quite boring leh. I am on leave since last Wed, kinda regretted taking leave so early. There's nothing much to do at home other than housework, TV, books and internet. But doing all these monotonous tasks everyday with no one around to talk to you, is indeed a torture. Rather stay in workplace, at least there's pple around u to tok to.

Fushiastar,
Maybe u bb is hinting you that she's coming out soon and sort of want u to be mentally prepared. Don't worry so much for now, let's wait for the Thursday appt and see what's ur gynae said.

I wonder when my daughter's coming out. Tomorrow I would have completed my 38 weeks alreadi...hopefully by next week she will be out!

Kris,
I read from a book that children usually will be jealous of their newborn bro or sis, for 'snatching' attention from their mummies and daddies. So what the parents should do is, buy a gift on behalf of the baby bro or sis, and give it to the older one, and tell the older one the gift is from the baby bro and sis...the older one will grow up to love the baby bro. Dunno if it's true but no harm trying.

Fiona: Ya, I've read/heard of such a practice too. We're gonna buy my #1 a huge Barney soft toy and tell her it's from her mei mei.
I was also told by my colleague that the first time my #1 sees me in the hospital I should NOT let her see me carrying #2 or bfing #2 at all, cos that will immediately set the stage for her that the newborn has taken mummy away!

kuririn

alamak, i forgot about CL :p err.... nevermind la. wait till she comes then see what sort of drawer she needs. probably just get her those plastic box with casters
we trying not to put too many things in the nursery lor.

I will be putting diapers and bathing stuff (shower gel) and wipes on a table in the nursery room. cos i duno how and where the CL wants to bath and dress the baby. If she wants to do it in the masterbedroom then will have to put the stuff in my bedroom instead. so let her come and see how.

kris

okie, thanks for the note.
sorry ah.... i find myself asking so stupid questions at times. :p

fushiastar

wah, u also quick in packing huh. good. remember u must rest alot too ok.. I havent put the bedsheets for the cot cos still early. have told hubby to do it one day before i discharge with baby

rolling cotton balls ah. so u bought those big big ones?? i tempted to buy. maybe later when BB grows bigger. now, i have about 6pkts of cotton balls. siao hor, cos i keep buying them when got sale. hahaha

your 4 tier drawer enough to put all stuff ah?? mine utilised like this

- nappies & liners
- baby clothings
- towels, bedsheets, hankies, bibs
- bottles, breastpump, breast pads, cotton liner for bed to prevent urine leak
- storage for extra stuff (wet wipes, cotton balls, feeding spoons and cutlery when he grows bigger)

but i think some items can be taken out once baby is born and CL is here. then can spare more space.

Adel

Thats good.
just change to other side to rest when u have pain on that particular side. thats what i did.

Last night was waking up every 2hrs to pee. alamak..... sotong liao.

u so cute....

fiona: yah, i know it's gonna be boring but being in the office also quite boring leh...furthermore, i'm still driving myself to work and am afraid i get into labour while driving...ask my hubby drive me to work is not productive leh...

SSL: Dun buy anymore cotton liow hor!
Cos I think by the time you finish all 6 packets bb already big enuf for you to use use wet wipes (for nappy) for hanky (for face and eyes).

DUn need to feel pai seh lah, I'm also starting to tell my hb a lot of 'bird talk' and asking him stupid questions. It's our hormones at work lah.

haha... suddenly so lively after lunch is it? mm.. i have jus taken my lunch though.. mmm. so tired... now.. thanks to my sleepless night before. my small little devil is up and about again.. happily kicking away..

wah sehz.. most of u have finished washing baby's stuffs le ah.. me as usual.. refuse to start washing until the maid comes in next week.. hehe.. no hurry no hurry.worse come to worse.. ask my hb to bring baby's stuffs to in laws house.. and ask their maid to wash lo.. hehe.. i can't seem to squat down and hand wash the stuffs.. (they are still in my cupboard) wahhahaa...

Sneaky: I also driving myself to work and picking my #1 up to go home everyday.
I think driving is still better than taking public transport!

Adel

I stand at the basin to wash the clothings and stuff. Bought a big plastic basin which fits nicely at the kitchen washing basin

Can sit on those little stools lah but not good cos tummy will be squeeze if we bend down. so i usually stand while hand washing any clothings.

sneaky & kris

really peifu u two, can still drive to work.

Adel: First time washing bb's new clothes can just throw all into the machine and run on gentle cycle. Cos there should be enuf to put into the machine right? But do remember to use only bb detergent.

SSL: driving is ok lah.. not v stressful one.
Drive at leisurely speed still can enjoy some peace and just listen to music leh.. Hee.. I guess I feel like this only after my #1 came into my life.
With her around there's not a moment of peace one.
Of cos, except when she sleeps lah.