(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Anyone bought anything or heard of this shop call BabyTown at Toa Payoh?

I chanced upon their website. Just wonder if they are selling original or second hand baby products.

Ya Fushiastar, all bb clothings and items should be handwashed with bb's detergent, and not put in the washing machine leh.

SSL,
Where can I find unity pharmacy? issit at all NTUC? dat day went to KKH to see my friend's bb, tried my luck at KKH pharmacy to get the neurogain but cannot find leh.

Adel:
when I see the dietician.. she wants me to tell her what I'm eating usually.. so I just tell her lor.. then she said looks ok.. just want me to cut down on rice intake for lunch and also eat cream plain crackers for teabreak.. the rest can remain.. oh ya she said no fried bee hoon for breakfast..

anyway I schedule to see her 3 weeks later.. but hubby said no need to go back lah.. waste money.. just watch diet.. plus now I can monitor my sugar level so he said no point see dietician again lor..

SSL:
I bought a pack of Julie's wheat crackers also prepacked 3pieces in 1 pack.. anyway I had passed the digestive biscuits to my colleagues.. not going to eat those liao..

Kris & Sneaky : Tks and noted.

Then I will follow wat Kris doing ... buy a cheaper one for daily use and ex one for nasty nappy rash if not v siong to use the ex one everyday.

fiona

i just saw it 2 weeks ago, but only got few bottles left.

Unity Pharmacy is not at all NTUC. I only saw at City Hall, Woodlands Civic Centre, Tampines Mall, Great World City. Where are u working?

Kuririn

As long as u see the nutrient content of the biscuits, that the sugar and carbo level is low, its ok

Ya those breakfast beehoon are sometimes fried with sweet sauce (those black ones) so cant. I tried before and tested, reading high, even though i ate with egg and fishcake.

U can try eating small portion of vegetarian beehoon (white ones) with veggies only (cant take those starch charsiew or beancurd skin cos they are sweet)

Hi Fiona,

I've 2 botles of neurogain to spare. Bought during my gynae visit last wk. Exp: 04/2008

Was using my co's mthly medical allowance so bought extra to keep, not wanting the unuse balance to forfeit.

If u r keen, i'll let go at $28/botl (bot at $30)
PM me cos i dun come in to check forum now so frequent as like b4 =p

Collection plc: Raffles plc mrt b4 5pm

SSL:
ok noted.. anyway decided to stick to wholemeal bread for breakfast.. so far my sugar readings are ok..

hey anyone tot of saving the cord blood of the bb? I tot of this, cos it can be very useful in times of need. But i haf no much ideas on its pros and cons. Anyone got info on this?

Hi Tao_baby

U can refer to the two websites below.

I signed up with Stemcord few weeks back. You can probably arrange to meet up with their salesrep so that they can explain to you in further details.

www.stemcord.com.sg

There is another company call CordLife but I think there is something wrong with their website now. U can try later

www.cordlife.com

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Tao_baby</font>,

Called Cordlift yesterday. 1st payment is S$1260 for e 1st year then every yr will be $260. Hv not called Stemcord yet so not sure bout their price.

<font color="0000ff">Fiona/SSL</font>,

Why do we hv to handwash all e BB's clothes? Was still thinking of dumping everything into e washing machine this wkend leh.

MTB,

anyone bought Sarong Baby Carrier? Need some feedback whether it's easy to use or not? Thinking whether to buy.</font>

Thanks SSL for your info on Unity pharmacy.Will try to get from City Hall as I stay near there.

Ruff,
ya, many pple told me to drink at least 2 bottles of essence of chicken before gng in for labour so that u will have energy to push. but I never like the smell and have never in my life drunk any...so dun think will be drinking. My mum is like me, dun drink essence of chicken one, but on the day of labour, she drank some for the sake of drinking, then end up, the moment she stepped out of the house, she vomitted all out...

Jennifur,
BB's skin tends to be sensitive, so it's safer to handwash all bb's clothes in bb detergent.You can machine wash the bb clothes provided the machine is solely for bb laundry one. The washing machine which u use for washing other family members' laudry may have certain bacteria caught in the clothes, so if mix with bb's clothes, not too good. hmm all these I read from books and learnt from my colleagues one, so I am not sure...but anything just play safe lor...just in case.

Fiona:
I also dun like to drink essence of chicken.. the smell made me want to vomit.. but my mother in law had bought 2 boxes and put at my house.. she said can drink during confinement.. even though my hubby told her I dun drink one she still insist that during confinement must drink.. duno how..

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Fiona</font>,

Thanks. Luckily I haven use e new washing machine to wash anything yet. Will clean it then use it to wash all e BB's stuff 1st. </font>

jenifur: i've just called up Stemcord. their charges are S$1150 for 1st year and S$250 per year in subsequent years...

FYI, stemcord charges different rates for different hospital and gynae. It depends on whether your hospital or gynae tie up with Stemcord, and whether the hospital impose any admin charges.
usually when u call them up, they will quote u the 'common' rate or 'one size fits all' rate. U should tell them ur hospital and gynae before they advise you on the actual rate.

Sneaky,
Mt. E tied up with Stemcord, so will be cheaper.

hehe.. I machine washed all my baby's clothings using normal detergent.. my colleague told me its ok.. I'm using dynamo.. yellow bottle one..

Some bb has sensitive skins, so using the normal detergent will be too harsh on their skin, and causes rashes or redness...however, I have colleagues who, after a while, are too tired to separate bb and other family clothes, so everything throw into washing machine and use the normal detergent, bb did not develop any allergy..so it's up to individual lor.haha.

haha.. now toking about machine wash and etc ah... mmm.. for me i would suggest hand wash but use.. machine to rinse.. probably i dun trust the maid enuff.. to rinse properly ba.
actually, i would seriously think that its ok to use the machine to wash so long's not mixed with adult's clothes. as for bacteria thats supposedly stucked in the machine.. i guess.. can believe and can don't believe ba.. how far will u do to stop bacteria from going to ur baby? let ur baby have an environment whereby..its clean in general.. but not to the extreme type ba. at least i guess he would have some form of immunity against certain virus.. and let him be in the environment whereby.. he can be immuned to the bacteria(not so strong)!if not, might as well keep him in a big bubble that only has got oxygen in it. impossible right?
mummies ah mummies.. dun be so gan chiong.. hehe.. all mummies loves their baby.. but no need to go to the extreme..

kuririn: i agree with ur hubby! dun waste this kind of money... jus control ur diet..

i also want to dump all bb clothes into my washing machine using bb detergent this weekend leh....cannot huh?? handwash very troublesome i where got sooo much time

my bb is wriggling so much that i told him stop playing oredi hor mama want to smack you liao. Make my tummy damn pain ok! sometimes i wonder he is really hyperactive machiam 24 hours no need to sleep keep wriggling *sigh*

SSL,

I dun want elective c-section leh....neither am i keen to induce lor. I must pray hard bb come out safely when its due time not because of some unacceptable reasons..

celine: lol... not only urs i guess... mine oso.. play non stop... she keeps tapping.. n making movements.. then i play along with her, she responds by doing it harder... aiyo.. see lahz... but its real amazing..... i am like u.. praying every single day tt she will turn down and dun let me go for C-section...

clarissemummy/celine: same for me as well.. fingers crossed for the check up next tue.. sigh.. bery scared tat he hasn't turn yet

celine &amp; ling: my son also like that...i'm trying to cultivate patience with him by telling him, "yes, samuel, mummy know abt your presence and that you're awake. play all you can, but please be gentle with mummy"...haha..this will make me feel less angry with him despite the pain i'm going through...

my boy has turn down already (anyway that's his favorite position since he is 3mth old) but i think its not a justified reason if bb more than 3kg should be induce at week 37. Alot depends on our pelvic and bb head isn't it? nvrmind if my gynae tell me her stupid logic at next visit i let her know my thoughts.

his legs keep kicking up my ribs damn painful! I told him i dun want stretch mark so please dun wriggle too much but sadly he dun understand behaving like an octopus inside my tummy *sigh*

sneaky: i tell her.. okok.. mummy know u wake up liao.. but u wan to play, pls be gentle can... she lagi more hard.. aiyo...

sneaky, you are much more patience than me! haha... i told my sister i want to smack him but i dare not tell him directly lah coz scare he upset with mama.

exactly, clarisse! my boy behave same like your gal machiam no use irregardless whatever things you tell him he will still wriggle as much as he like.

I tell him night time already (about 2am ok!) mama need to sleep already so can you dun play go and sleep no he still continue to wriggle very hard stretching his hands and legs.

celine: whahaha.. mine today 2 am... daddy put his hand on the right side of my tummy.. thinking daddy hand will keep her quiet... She kicks real hard.. and like telling him to get his hands off.. whahahaha.. she practically no give face..

celine/clarissemummy: i dun mind inducing actually.. but i do mind.. going for the op. coz of the scar.. so when i was in my 28 weeks.. gynae told me if by oct not turn yet must schedule for c-section already.. but i was really firm when he mentioned c-section. i told him no way am i going for the c-section, i will wait! i guess he could sensed that i was very firm with this.. decision that he juz said.. well.. then you better start nagging at ur son.
(which obviously i didn't) hehe.. let everything be natural ba.. i hope.

adel: i read some sites they says, gynae actually can massage the bb to turn down.. i dunno how true.. but i am gng to ask my gynae this mon! i die die oso dun wan C-section...

clarissemummy: tell me after ur appt on mon ok?? keeping my own fingers crossed for my tue appt.. dunno why.. this is the first time i am so nervous about my appt.

Thanks Ladies for your info on cord blood bank. It kinda expensive hor? but i tink it is worth it, cos we nv noe if we need it one day.

Btw have ur started drinking coconut juice? Tis is wat i was told by relatives... starting fr 8th mth, we can drink 1 coconut a month. (juz the water),and muz stand up while drinking it. Juz a few days before our duedate,we can drink 1 glass of fresh pineapple juice(juz once will do), pineapple juice can helps to clean the bb body.

I drank my first coconut juice 2day for the month...so cooooling....

hehe.. drink one coconut once a month like too little le.. hehe... sure not enuff for me one.. but i like to eat the flesh leh.. if dun eat feel kinda wasted like that.. hehe.

ruff: I've been drinking chichekn essence almost everyday since I was abt 4 months or so preggy leh.. I find that it really helps in giving me the energy to tahan through a full day at work.

tao_baby: I started drinking young coconut juice already! So far I've had it twice. Wah.. v shiok leh!

jenifur: I used the baby sarong sling carrier for my #1. Personally I find it v convenient to use as for me it doubles up as a nursing hood. When we go out we'll have a pram but also the sarong sling. If I need to bf bb I just go to a nursing room, pop bb in the sling, if she's not already in there and just feed. Then she'll doze off and we continue with our shopping with her in the sling sleeping. I used it on her till she was abt 7, 8 months and she got too heavy for me.
But hor, not all bbs like to be in the sling one lah, and it takes practice to learn to use it properly.

Can drink more coconut? i realli love coconut...so cooooling...can drink maximum how many coconut a month?
Adel: i was told the reason why we r not encouraged to eat the flesh is bcos the flesh is heaty...while the water is cooling which we need when coming near to our delivery....

Mrs Tan

I am here, have been working till 8pm for past few days so didnt log on, catching up on all postings today. Yup, can email me your contact at [email protected] . Will email you mine too then we can sms each other when due at TMC.

BTW i read somewhere that TMC charges for everything u use, so does it mean they dont even provide pads FOC? Anyone knows?

Fiona, i used the Klorane dry shampoo before when i did a mini confinement previously for m/c. It's powder actually, aborbs the oil well so at least your hair dont look so oily. OK but of course nothing beats the shiokness of washing hair with water. Can get neurogain at Unity.

machine washed bb clothes last Sun then when I wanted to hang them out, it rained :-| today took 0.5 day, washed all nappies. Arranged for cot delivery this sat, getting really excited, 4 more weeks to go.

Have u girls bought nursing bras? any recommendation? Supposed to buy closer to due date for a better fit right?

any of u staying at Sengkang can get Eu Yan Sang ckn essence at $9.90 for 6 bottles instead of $16.90
good deal to stock up. Offer only till this weekend.

Nursing Bra : OG has really cheap ones.. at only $9.90. Looks ok.

CHicken essence : I also hate it. Was just wondering if it was gd. Thanks for the replies.

Baby Position : Have been told that although baby turn already, sometimes, last minute will turn back to be breeched position...

Bb clothes : What brand is the bb washing powder? Think machine wash shd be more thorough than hand wash....

Hi Whitefloral,
Thanks for your feedback on the dry shampoo. So will it cause dandruffs? I cannot imagine all the dandruffs dropping onto my bb while I bend down to carry her leh..hehe.

Yes, it's better to buy nursing bra nearer to our EDD, cos breast will continue to increase at tremendous rate! When I am in my 8th month, I bot 2 nursing bra from ERO, those non-wire, cheapskate type ($19.90). Won't really recommend this as after few times of washing, it gets looser, especially the strap. Just bot 2 from Wacoal, but with soft wire ($42.90) from Metro Sale a few days ago...u will b surprise how big the breast can grow in just a few weeks. So far, all my breastfeeding colleagues highly recommend this as it can provide good support, and won't cause your breasts to sag. They suggested getting one cup size bigger to allow room for engorgement. Personally, I prefer the Wacoal one for aesthetic reasons -it's not aunty like, and it's lacy and nice. The hole in the bra is big enuf for bb to suckle. Don't worry about the wire that will block the ducts, as it is soft wire, when u wear it, u feel next to nothing... For me, i intend to wear those cheapskate nursing bras at home, then go out wear the wacoal ones.

Tao_baby,
u can start drinking coconut juice from 8th month onwards. I drink once every fortnight. I leave the meat for my husband. Heard that the meat is too heaty. At this stage, we should 'cool' ourselves down rather than pump ourselves with heaty stuff. hmmm heard that heaty stuff will cause bb to develop 'pimple-like' thingy on face. dunno if this is true, but better be safe than sorry.

all MTBs,
It's always good to bank our child's umblical cord blood because we won't know when we need it. Since the blood can be used on ourselves, the child himself and his siblings, I think it's worth spending the money. For me, initially I was hesistant to sign up cos it's rather expensive, but later considering the fact that I want to 'stop at one' (dun intend to have the 2nd child), i think it's better to safe guard my first child's future. But of cos (n ironically), I hope the blood will be stored there forever and I won't get to draw out any for use lah. But everything can happen unexpectedly.

Don't worry about delivering our bb via c-section or naturally. We should rather pray that both mummy n baby are safe and sound during the delivery process. I guess gynaes are in the best position to advise us on the via methods of c-section and I also believe he/she has weigh the consequences and risk after giving sound advices. BTW, c-section won't cause any scar, they will cut a small slit near ur virgina (in the midst of ur pubic hair). My sister was pushed in emergency c, she took just one week for the wound to recover, and there is no scar or mark left on her skin. For C-section, u can choose to take epidural, which means u can still 'hear' what's going on during the operation, or u may opt for GA, whereby u will 'fall asleep' and not know what's happening.

jenifur

reason for handwashing bb clothings cos they are new so no need to put into machine ma. Just wash with baby detergent and rinse it with clean water.

I would also prefer CL to wash BB clothings by hand in future. Find it cleaner than using machine wash, cos there maybe left over adult detergent or softener left inside the machine, which I dont want it on bb's clothing.

celine

my boy hasnt turn yet (as at last gynae visit at 35weeks) but I'm already experiencing ribcage pain. Last night was quite painful and out of breath for me.

Mine is usually on the right side cos i think my boy's favourite position is on the right side.

Issit better to sit upright when we have those pain? or continue to lie down to sleep ?

Be it c section, induce or natural, i think gynae would be in the best position to determine whats best for mummy and baby at that point of labour.

mmm.. *deep in thoughts* maybe ssl.. u can be right ah.. about the c-section/induce/natural.. but again sometimes.. mum would want (and hope) to deliver the way they wanna to. can jus release frustration here.. and when it comes to real action.. will also do according to what gynae says.

if u ask cl to wash nappies by hand(which i think they definitely will to prevent stains) then after confinement ne? very very tiring one wor.. do u have anyone to help?

SSL/Fiona, oh.. I wash all my baby stuff in the washing machine with baby detergent leh.. Actually I'm very KS, first I soak everything for 24hours in dettol, then wash with adult detergent one round and dry, then wash with baby detergent- (Pureen brand) another round, but all baby stuff I place in a new laundry bag for baby's use..
Really can't imagine handwashing everything.. Like the cot bumpers and playmat and all her toys.. I'm just lazy lah! :p

Kuririn, Guess better do as your dr says lor.. I usually buy the low fat Mcvities or Marks and Spencer digestives..

I just got a Pigeon steriliser yesterday.. Now thinking of whether to get a bottle drying rack or just a normal drying rack...