(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

I still find the weather very unbearable, still perspiring every day! Once I didnt drink milk at night, the next day I almoz kena leg cramp! Think I better drink faithfully at night.

I can still see my weight on the scale leh, it means my bump is not very big isit? Hehe. So far I gained 8 kg. Think I may gain another 2 kg coz somehow I put on more weight this trim as I like to eat sweet stuff.

Though my gynae discouraged, I will still opt for epi juz in case I cannot take the pain if labour is too long. At moz on that day if I have the confidence to endure the pain, then I will opt out of epi but of coz I cannot feel heartpain of the epi charge forgone. But my concern is, how to push if u cant feel anything down there? Epi should be quite safe, isnt it? My gynae stressed on the side effects. Sigh.

306571.jpg

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Garfield/Puea</font>

I saluate both of u. For me it's I dun hv choice cuz HB strongly object but hoping he'll relent when he see me in pain during labour.

<font color="0000ff">Ling</font>,

My stupid HB said he will bring cucumber &amp; carrot for me to bite/hold during labour so his hand sure wun blue black
306574.gif

mydreambaby: If I remember correctly, my gynae did an internal check to see if the cervix has started to soften. Sure will check down there one lah. Hee.. Postnatal check will include a pap smear and checking of the episiotomy stitches.

Can someone enlighten me on the cervix check?
What exactly does the gynae do...? Heard that they wear gloves, with some lubricating jelly and push their finger(s) as far up the vagina as possible to check how far the cervix is dilated? This is done without any anaesthesia right? How far up do they go? Painful? Must be mentally prepared..

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Mybabydream</font>,

Ya, Dr Ang really emphaize on e side effect of Epi hor. He make it very clear tt he dun encourage us to take Epi unless REALLY cannot take e pain. He somemore further emphaize tt labour pain is really really very very painful. </font>

I guessed it's bcos of my gynae lor, he advised me not to opt for epi.
So I believe he can somehow "help" me during labour. :p

Jenifur, your husband so cute! Kekeke!
I dun want my husband seeing me during labour bcos I scare later he will faint after seeing blood then dunno my gynae got to save who first. Hahaha!

fuschiastar: yup, the gynae will wear a glove, and insert his/her finger/thumb as high up as possible. It's not painful lah, just maybe a bit uncomfortable. If you had a virginal scan during the 1st trimester then it's not very different from that. And so no, no anaesthesia.

Kris...I didn't have a virginal scan.. finger and thumb? up til their knuckles? Gosh.. Is it only the gynae that checks? Or does the midwife and nurse do that too? Gynae only comes in when we are about 10cm dilated right? Sigh.. I'm scared of delivary..
Heard this horrer story about how someone delivered in SGH as a subsidized patient and had not only the gynae but 7 other medical students do cervix checks on her when she was 7cm dilated and not on any anaesthetic.. I'm gonna say that I don't want any students or HOs touching me or my baby..

fushiastar:
if u're a subsized patient, it is possible for the trainee to come in to learn. worse thing is, the hospital wun ask u for permission, juz ask them to come in. i feel that there's no respect for patients.

mybabydream: massage can start once we get home; maybe on day 3 after birth. as for c-section, i'm not too sure. each massage session is 1 hr, i suppose. herbal oil and wrapping will be involved in the massage. if i'm not wrong, we only wear panties (with our pads) and leave our breasts opened for massage. i think she will adv if we need to express out our milk.

all: i'm beginning to look bloated and my skin colour has changed to becoming more pinkish...i wonder if this is water retention...

Mybabydream.. I'm going in as a private patient at NUH..
The problem is that in the teaching hospitals like NUH, SGH and KKH, even if you are a private patient, cos it is a teaching hospital, you may still get students that assist in delivary and HOs that draw blood or set plugs for you or deliver your baby too!.. If you don't want any students or HOs then you Must tell your gynae and the ward nurses once you are admitted.. Then they will note it in your case file..

Mybabydream.. An O&amp;G trainee is still not so bad cos they are at least qualified doctors with at least 1-2 years experience who are going to specialise and be gynaes but you may get medicine undergrad students or medicine students that have graduated and in their first year of work- these are called House Officers (HOs) and they only have a provisional registration with the Singapore Medical Council..

eeeks! it sounds so disgusting to me....
to ahve HO or medical students in the delivery ward to observe me or check my cervix!!! no way man!! i strongly feel that the hospitals shld inform the patient beforehand if they want the HO or students to be present and let the patient decide whether we want them to be present a not mah!!!
where got privacy like tat?!

mydreambaby,
I have no apetite too. Nothing seems to appeal to me now. But sometimes I just eat for the sake for giving my bb nutrients. Eat small portion lor. But I do crave for 'cooling stuff' nowadays, like coconut juice, ice plain water, ice cream and green bean soup.

According to my sister, she said at ard 37 or 38th week,her gynae insert his whole hand into the vargina and check how much she has dilated. So painful rite?

fiona: scary leh....insert the whole hand into the vagina?!
actually, the vagina like v private part..is it necessary to let gynae insert his/her hands or finger? like doing abit of sex like that....hmmm...

I guess we all dun have to feel embarrassed if the male gyane did a check or whatsoever at our vaginal or cervix. It's part and parcel of their job..even if he didn't see it now, he will see it during the delivery rite? We should have considered these 'embarrassment' before we sign up with a male gynae..so dun worry, just let him check with an open mind..ok?

understand from antenatal class that we should not massage breast till 37-8 weeks coz may lead to contractions.

have been going to bed lying on my side but in middle of nite will be lying on my back, realise only when i wake up.

don't feel rested these few day, keep yawning in the morning and tired by the time I knock off.

Hello girls

Hey, do you all feel that the bb is kicking very high now? Just below the breasts. I keep feeling the bump there.. very funny.

Something to share: My cousin's wife gave birth to a baby girl weighing 4Kg!! my god. Natural delivery without any pain-killer. She is really fortunate. She didn't have "show" at all.. she went into labour 6+ in the morning and around 10+ in the morning, bb came out. Wah.... smooth delivery.

morning everyone!
i crave for tao suan or pulau hitam (black glutinous rice) too!
how huh? where got sell nice nice tao suan or pulau hitam?
*salivating*

by the way, anyone tried the Tian Tian Huo Guo (steamboat) at bugis there before? is it nice? i crave for steamboat too and am considering going there for steamboat.

Morning everyone!

Wow, seems like you gals are much healthier than me... I crave for french fries ley... :p
My husband keeps saying "No No No" when I want to eat french fries...

garfield: i usually go AMK ave 10 for my tau suan.. kekeke.. cheap.. 0.80 only.

puea: french fries are ok.. carbo..
maybe minus the salt.. will be healthy

looks like we are all counting down .. kekeke.. i have another 66-67days to go.

Garfield: TMC is a private hospital, don't have
Fiona: Whole hand!!! That must be so painful.. How to insert whole hand?! The whole hand is so large!
Fresia: Yah, I feel baby movements somewhere below the breast too..
Your cousin's wife must have a very high pain threshold..

Everyone: Don't forget to take out your wedding/engagement ring soon (I was told no jewellary in the delivary suite) , before water retention sets in and we can't remove it

**I have no cravings for anything specific, feel hungry all the time now.. Just want to eat..

**I feel like there are less baby movements now..Zoe used to move quite a lot, but she seems to move a lot less now and less vigourously.. Anyone experiences the same thing?

fushiastar: If bb can come out from there hor, 1 hand should be ok lah... hehe... But why need to insert whole hand, normally only insert 1or 2 fingers to check the dilation...bb movements din decrease but increase leh... seems like she'd moving all the time...

garfleid: sometimes gynae needs to check, so no choice, have to insert... normally they are rather professional...

I have heartburn all the time leh... often feel very uncomfortable like want to puke...

I also crave for tau suan &amp; fries, nuggets &amp; burgers!
Only AMK Ave 10 got sell nice tau suan ah? got other places or not? I still havent settle the craving lehh...cannot find leh

clarissemum,
i stay at holland area lor...hehe...

btw girls,
just a thought, for those who are still working now, maybe can prepare and put a set of panties, bottom &amp; pad in the office, just in case waterbag breaks or in case got show. cos we never know when it will happen.

Mrstan: hmmmmm... i hardly come across any tau suan there..
i went Ghim Moh market many times.. and cant find it there too

Mrs Tan.. I know where.. Farrer Court market!.. The fried hokkein mee stall sells nice Tau Suan
Ghim moh, Holland village and Dover area doesn't really have..

hi,I also plan for normal birth w/o epidural because my father in-law says normal birth good for baby,they says the baby know that their mum try very hard for them (baby).
but my doc worried the baby too big for me go normal birth because i 33 weeks the baby already 2kg. doc says i not too tall (1.51m)
i very bad luck le. my house at sengkang the flooring pop out le , have to ask HDB re-do the floor and i also arranged sameboby to do the gills
and i also re-do the house painting le. Currently i staying in my mother in-law house @ bishan.
peolpe says when you preg can not do reno. but i got not choice le.
but i scare the renovation can not be in time.
if baby came out early.
my poor husband have arrange the all this things.
hope everthing will ok

gracemum

as long as u are not in the renovation vicinity (like what u are doing now), its ok. Cos sometimes, certain renovations are inevitable.

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Gracemum</font>,

It's ok as long as u dun go near when they doing e work but moving will really b a hazzle. I understand ur situation cuz my hse also still undergoing some renovation to accomdate e arrival of Janelle. Our poor HB will hv to do e packing/unpacking alone loh...

Btw ur BB really big leh. U want to join our EDD list??</font>

When does water retention comes in? I havent got it, will I kena or not?

I think my baby l has not engaged yet, can still feel her kicks near my hip. Have been telling her to guaiguai cooperate and give mummy a smooth delivery too.

I like to eat potato(French fries) n nuggets too, a craving that is retained but I try to control as I didnt want to grow too fat! Like Persi as well, coz the weather is too hot and drinking plain water doesnt help.

mybabydream: it is good that u dun suffer from water retention wor! water retention makes ur joints (if ur water retention is in your palms) v painful and no strength wan..

i suffer water retention in my feet, hands &amp; face...face wan still ok. feet water retention makes my feet looked like elephant leg and when i walk, i can't feel my ankle! water retention in my hands makes me feel v weak in my hands.it is painful too..i had difficulties in opening a can of coke!
so u shld count ur lucky stars tat u are not suffering from water retention. and i hope u dun get any at all...*SMILE*

mybabydream: yah loh..you shd count yourself lucky not having WR yet...i'm getting it already...most of my finger joints hurt a bit when i clench my fists and they do feel a little weak...as for legs, i can also see that it's a bit pinkish and looks fatter...when pressed, i can see my fingerprints...face also bloated...haiz...

306976.jpg

mayday: think the later stage where u get water retention is a kind of warning to inform u tat u are getting ready for labour..then when ur water retention subside it is warning u that u are abt to deliver. that is wat i heard from my mum. this kind of water retention is not the same as my type of water retention...hehe

sneaky: v sian hor. stupid water retention...makes my face looks bloated and nose like Jackie Chan's nose. my dad called me Jackie Chan gal!!!! *ARGH*
my legs swollen like elephant leg and yah lor...it looks so pinkish and when i pressed the flesh on my leg, it will sink in and take some time to "unsink"!!!! can see white patches on the pinkish flesh after i pressed my bloated legs!
fingers when clenched v painful hor...
*HUGZHUGZ*

Jenifur, ok i think of join in also my EDD is 1 Oct 05 is a baby girl.will go TMC(my little angel name Grace Tong Ning En) what do your guys think of this name ???
Because I like to eat durian le, i heard eat durian baby will grow very fast.
now i try to cut down my meal.my doc says no need le. I before preg. is 50kg now already 62.2kg

<font face="Calisto mt"> All,

I'm thinking of starting a contact list so we can keep each other update over sms if anyone of us popped or hv questions etc...

If u r comfortable w e idea then PM me ur hp &amp; email addy by this wkend. I'll complie e list &amp; email to everyone once it's ready</font>

<center>
306994.jpg
</center>

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Gracemum</font>,

Noted, hv updated u in our EDD list. Ur girl's name nice, I like e character "En"

No wonder ur girl so big, u must hv ate alot of durain rite. Durain is very "bu" for our BB but v fattening to us loh. I've stopped eating eversince my girl started growing "tremendously". Mus watch her weight now or else I scare I got problem delivering her</font>