(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

fushiastar: My gynae says I'm ok on my weight gain of 12kg. Tip top condition ... haha

Sneaky: You engage her liao ... wow u very fast leh ... how much she's charging you and how many days is her massage? Do we need to pay her in advance for the full package price? How your SIL find her?

MayDay ~ wat mus we prepare for the pre-admission?

do we have to let our gynae noe we are doing it?

den ware n how to go by doing it?

Fiona.. Just checked.. Ministry of Manpower states that can only take up to 28 days of maternity leave before EDD.. Oh well.. better than nothing..

morraine: is my gynae who ask me to do that .. they prepare some docs and pass to me ask me to go and do pre-admission registration. At the admission counter they will explain to you the hospital fees of GlenE and how much you can claim from the medisave. Both you and your hubby must be around to do the registration and they will ask you who medisave to use and let you sign some medisave form.

Then they will pass you back the documents to keep and on the day of your admission just bring to docs can liao. Think this process come in useful in emergency.

mayday: not really engaged her...i just told her abt when i'm due and she said to call her when i've delivered and she will arrange. no pre-booking for required...she's charging $380 for 7 days of bathing/massaging baby and massaging me...pay her only at the end of her service, i think...my MIL introduced mdm Royaha to SIL...

fushiastar: excited hor can see zoe again .. keke

morraine: yap buay leh .. btw, how can I arrange the tour? Call up hospital or thru my gynae?

sneaky: I can't remember very clearly when exactly, but it's abt the last 1 month+ before edd. I tried to do the massage and expression a few weeks ago and already got milk come out.
How did the massage lady teach you to massage ah? I hope this time my bfing efforts can be better than my #1's!
The benefits for bb are really clear to see one!

kris

is it normal to have increased discharge in 3rd trimester? I realised i have those slightly sticky discharge (very light yellow colour) on some days recently. Hope this is normal.

Sneaky,
You are delivering at Mt. E as well rite? Have you done the Pre-admission? I haven leh.

Hi Morraine,
Yes, we can only take ML one month prior to our EDD.

Hi all MTB,
Last nite, I have problem sleeping. No matter which position I sleep, I felt as if someone is strangling me, have difficulties breathing. This morning, I have heartburn. I feel like vomiting but nothing comes out. Do you experience this shortness of breath and heartburn as well? so scary. Some of my colleagues told me that when they were pregnant, they sleep while sitting down when they are in their 3rd trimester. It's easier for them to breath. Can you imagine that?

Fiona: It will become easier to breathe once bb drops into your pelvic area (i.e., engages). Meanwhile, the beginning of the 3rd trimester to abt 36 weeks can be a v tough time for MTBs cos of the increase in weight, sciatic pain, problem lying down to sleep, shortness of breath, heartburn, poor digestion etc etc. Dun worry, you are NORMAL.

mayday: should be lah...i had introduced her to some of the later MTBs...

fiona: yes, i am
i will be doing the pre-registration this coming Mon, 22 oct 05 during my next check up. when do you plan to do so? our EDD same same somemore...kekeke

306160.jpg

Hi Sneaky,
Maybe I will ask my gynae about the pre-registration next Wednesday, my next appt with him.

Sorry Morraine, it's Fushiastar who informed me about the ML. I blur.

fiona: ok...in fact, i wasn't informed by gynae to do the pre-reg...it was during the hospital tour that the staff told us about it...

thanks kris

btw, is there a "deadline" for BB to turn? when will gynae turn BB if BB still hasnt turn by certain weeks?

If BB doesnt turn, he wont be able to engage right? thats why will have to be deliver by C section?

fushiastar,

your weight gain is ok, i gained 12.5kg at 32 weeks. Gynae has limited the wt gain to no more than 2kg ev mth since i gained 4kg in a mth some time back
Now i weigh myself every other day and try to cut down on rice and no durians at all. Didn't really control diet otherwise, still eating KFC, pizza, BK breakfast, ah kun kaya toast, coke about once a week. Now I need to see her ev 2 weeks, so wt gain must be < 1kg.

SSL
me also having increased discharged this few days, changing my undies 2-3 times a day.

i have friends who slept sitting up during last trimester. So far can sleep, but not very well. sometimes bb will poke here n there with powerful kicks. To get a good nite sleep, I even try to hold my pee and not getting out of bed to go toilet if i wake up in the middle of nite and she's not moving much, coz once i get up, she will wake too and I dont get to sleep anymore.

Fiona,
there was once when i woke up from breathlessness too, scary feeling right? Realised i was sleeping on my back.

Mrs Tan
yah, we may be delivering on the same day

do u girls feel that your legs getting very tired easily from the weight and even a bit of pain in the tighs?

can try the Marigold Wheatgrass n veg n fruits yogurt drink for heartburn, very effective. I am also starting to get regurgitation like 1st tri again. Just drink 1 cup after meal and u dont feel bloated anymore.

BTW if anyone's getting a bed, check out Seahorse, they are having 50% sale on bedframes + mattresses. Discounts on pillows and mattress protectors too.

Hi Sneaky,

Do you mind to share the contact of your massage lady? If it is inconvenient to post here, you can e-mail me @ [email protected]

Hi Whitefloral,

Thanks for sharing the info on the heartburn. Will try to get the yogurt drink tomolo. I have been suffering from Heartburn for the past few weeks and feeling terrible when the feeling is there.

I also same same as you. I also try to hold my bladder during the night till boh bian then go. If i wake up in the middle of nite and I will not be able to fall asleep again till 1/2-1 hr later...

Did understand from my antenatal class that we should not sleep at our back as the weight of the bb will cause us to have backache. If u dun eperience now, u may experience at a later stage. Try to sleep on the side. If u feel uncomforatable slepping on the side, you can place some pillows on your back to support u to
sleep on the side. U still can allow your head to be upright [ur face facing the ceiling].

<font face="Calisto mt"> Good Morning
306387.gif

<font color="0000ff">Kris/Sneaky</font>,

Wat e lady taught me was to place 1 hand under e breast then e other hand stroke downwards from shoulder towards e nipple. e lady english also not v gd so roughly tis is how we shld be massaging lah. Supposed to do this for 1 min on each breast daily. Will double confirm again on Sat when I go for my pre-natal massage</font>
306388.gif

<center>
306389.jpg
</center>

Hi Kris,
Thanks for enlightening me. I cannot imagine myself 'suffering' from all those symptoms from now till 36th week, about 4 more weeks!!Scary.

Whitefloral,
Ya, the feeling of breathlessness is scary. I woke up worrying if one day I will die of suffocation.

I also feel my legs getting more and more tired. The weight and pressure from my big tummy is causing all these tiredness, I suppose. Can you imagine, my tummy is so big now that I can fit into my own maternity clothes which are too short to cover my tummy now! I have to wear my sister's maternity clothes. From S-size to L- size...tremendous growth though.

Jenifur,
How's pre-natal massage suppose to help preggies, any asethetic value?

Chin SN,
I will be opting for natural birth. heard that the recovery rate for Cesarean will take as long as one month. I can't afford to wait this long as I need to take care of my baby.

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Garfield</font>,

Ya think we r suppose to start massaging our breast from 32 wks onwards.

<font color="0000ff">Fiona</font>,

Here's some "benefits" of pre-natal massage :

Benefits of prenatal massage include:

<ul>[*]relaxation and decreased insomnia; <LI>stress relief on weight-bearing joints, such as ankles, lower back and pelvis; <LI>neck and back pain relief caused by muscle imbalance and weakness; <LI>assistance in maintaining proper posture; <LI>preparing the muscles used during childbirth; <LI>reduced swelling in hands and feet; <LI>lessened sciatic pain; <LI>fewer calf cramps; <LI>headache and sinus congestion relief. <LI>reduces stress hormones in the body[/list]For me, I feel tt it really helps me to lessen sciatic pain &amp; calf cramps. But e most important thing is I feel totally relaxed after e massage
306470.gif

<font color="0000ff">Mayday</font>,

How come u going for C-Section? Ur own choice or??</font>

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Chin,</font>

306474.gif

I shld b going for natural birth w/o Epi since HB is strongly against C-Section &amp; Epi
306475.gif

<font color="0000ff">Nuttnut</font>,

Jus saw ur msg to me re massage lady. I'm currently going to <font color="0077aa">Heritage of Traditional Javanese Massage</font> for my pre-natal massage. Shld b taking up their post-natal massage package too; 7 session @ $420(non member)</font>

whitefloral &amp; nuttnuts

Try to avoid controlling your bladder ah. I cant cos i will feel very uncomfortable at my lower tummy so have to go.

I am also beginning to feel that my legs are getting easily tired. Thought its due to lack of exercise? :p

Mayday

SSL: I've got increased discharge too.. Think Kris has answered your query..

Fiona: Yep it was me that was asking about ML.. Have cleared it up with HR
I know of people who sleep sitting up in the last few weeks of pregnancy too! Guess if we have to we have too lor.. Have you tried sleeping with more pillows to prop yourself up?
Whitefloral:
Thanks for the reassurance
I feel like my arms and thighs are just getting fatter..
Chin: I hope to have a natural/vaginal delivary

Everyone:
I thought that we are Not suppose to massage our breasts in the third trimester cos it may induce contractions?!.... Please correct me if I'm wrong.. Think I either heard or read somewhere that when you massage your breast it causes oxytocin hormone to be released and that's the same hormone that causes contractions..

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Fushiastar</font>,

Vigorous and prolonged breast massage can trigger early labour. So tt's why only can limit to 1 min per breast per day loh.</font>

jenifur

Hubby strongly object on epi??? if u realli cannot tahan.. i dun think u will care abt wat he thinks... hahaha... good luck!!

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Fun</font>,

Really!! but I rem hearing my gynae assistant telling another pat said can start massaging bout 2 mths before EDD leh. Mayb shld check w my gynae.</font>

jenifur: Is my own choice because I have scoliosis with a metal rod implanted in my back. Of coz my gynae did explained to me I can have other painkillers if I wan natural delivery since epi is out for me but I do not want to take the risk as I'm afraid I will hurt my back during delivery.

jenifur: gng to opt out EPIDURAL!?!?!?!?!?!? U steady manz!!!

i think i will scream in pain. whahhaa.. lets see whose hubby's hand blue black first.

ClarisseMummy, jenifur :

Me too, me too... I'm opting for natural birth without epi...

No choices too, cos I'm allergy to pain killer... :p
I think I will scream like hell too! Kekeke!

Jenifur, Puea,
wahh opting out epi? for me, i am also very sensitive &amp; allergic to medication such as penicillin and also antiobiotics, but i will be taking epi cos i dont think i can stand the contractions, episiotomy &amp; piles which will recur for me (i have them). But i also worry if my body can take epi cos i never take b4, dunno how it will react. i will take the risk lor. wat else to do?

not sure if i am taking epidural....... dunno how the pain gng to be like...

anyway i opted for a package which includes.. so if i dun use, they will deduct.

i also intend to go for natural delivery w/o epidural...tat is wat i hope for lah...but hor, last minute might change cos the labour may be so painful that i can't tahan....

I want an epidural!.. Really can't imagine delivering without one.. Especially since this is my first delivery, which will take longer.. Plus my pain threshold is very very very low...

Mayday: Oh.. Hey, then you can choose when you want your baby to be born..

Snow: I've been applying a camomile nipple cream on and off when my nipples are dry or cracked..
Jenifur+Fun: Hmmm guess the best thing to do is to check with gynae about breast massage..

MTB:
Hows your appetite during pregnancy? My appetite is worse than b4 I am pregnant. Now I am turn off upon seeing rice (hard to swallow) and meat too! I am eating less of pork and chicken, they have a funny smell. Wondering whether my appetite will resume after the delivery? Else I may turn into a vegetarian 1 day!

My lactation told us not to massage until ure in the 36/37 weeks, coz it will trigger early labour.

Sneaky:
Massaging-When do u need to start massaging for natural and c section? How long is per session? Does the lady juz massage with oil or is there any wrapping? What do we wear during the session? Will she massage the breast?If yes, it means we juz express out 1st right?

SSL n whitefloral n fusiastar:
I had moz yellow discharge in my 1st trim and some in this trim. For me, drinking coconut juice helps me a lot, very effective!

Whitefloral:
Avoid sleeping on yr back. Opt for side way instead, good for blood circulation also if u sleep on your left side.

Fiona:
I experienced shortness of breath recently too. I think for me, its coz I was in a toilet with little ventilation. Almoz followed by wanting to vomit and fainting, so I got out for some fresh air.

Chin:
Opting for natural delivery with epi(standby)

Show:
I am starting my nipple cream 1 mth b4 delivery.

kris:
in your 1st pregnancy, juz before you deliver, what checkup did your gynae did on you? i read something like ctg, vaginal swap, cervic check? is the gynae surpose to check down there? mine is a male, paiseh , muz be "mentally prepared" . :p and what's the post-delivery? pap smear is 1 of them?