(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

i didn't take up any membership...but i know it's S$150 for a lifetime (i think) and you'll get 20% discount off all services all the time...as for the pregnancy massage, it's $75 for 1.5 hrs...

as for post-natal massage, i will be engaging an ex-KK nurse. she'll be bathing and massaging baby followed by massaging me for 1 week @ S$380. intend to engage her for 2 weeks if possible cos i'm afraid of bathing my newborn...

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Garfield</font>,

U can also bring 2 frenz &amp; they can also enjoy e 20% discount. Plus u can to use their couple rm &amp; Jacuzzi for free.

<font color="0000ff">Sneaky</font>,

e pre-natal massage is only for 60 mins leh.</font>

Fushiastar,
Ya, I wear my panties while sitting down as well.It's so difficult to lift up my legs off the ground. Worse is, I have to squat down and hand wash my own panties, which is more difficult.Sometimes feel like wearing disposable panties but read that cotton panties is better in the sense that we won't get Urinary tract infections so easily, so guess no choice gotta bear with all these pains for a couple of months more.

I went for my check up today. Took the urine test, but first time, I can't seems to 'aim' my urine properly on the strip, end up no stain on the strip and gotta redo again. So hard, can't even see my own urine, how to aim?haha.

My bb weighs ard 1.7kg at the current 32nd week. So far, I have gained 13kg. I think it's alot but gynae said it's still within acceptable weight gain as I was underweight before pregnant. My appt is changed to once every fortnight now.

U gals thinking of going for C-section or natural birth? I hope I can deliver through natural birth.

Hi Fiona,
Thanks for the clarification. Really appreciate it. I just got myself a non-wired bra to try. Not too sure if I will get used to it cos I'm so used to wearing wired-bras. I do wear tube bra - find it quite comfy too.

If you have signed up for the post-natal massage package, do check out the per session rate and whether u need to pay in full before all the sessions end. A friend of mine paid for the entire sessions but discovered that she developed rashes after the first session. She endured for another session since she had paid so much for it. However, her rashes did not go away and she was very uncomfortable. In the end, she got to forfeit the rest of the sessions. So, now, she advises me to check with the massage lady if it is possible to pay on a per visit basis or to hold part of the payment till the end.

jenifur: hope you've enjoyed your massage...i did not book my session tonight...lazy lah...well, the massage session can be half hr also...i've tried that too...well, it all depends on you how long you'd like it to be...1 - 1.5 hrs also can..

hi there.. have not been in for quite a while le.. been in nov thread. my edd was initially in 4nov. but again... due to gestational diabetes, i would definitely be giving birth in oct. (hope that am still welcome)

at least those who found out that u have GDM at the later stage still manage to indulge in a bit more sweet stuffs than me!!.. mine was found out at week 16. and obviously gynae wasn't too happy abt it.. and i was to be put under strict diet.. sigh.. so.. yong tau foo became my fav friend nowadays...
how envious to those who can still eat durians etc etc!!!! am so deprived of sweet stuffs now..

wendypooh,
really?? Yes i rem gebbera..we used to chat at ttc thread last time. ok i pop by ttc thread and congrat her! thanks for informing me &amp; jenifur.

morning everyone!
my flu is really making me v tired wor....*YAWNZ*
work has not been progressing v well for me....really have the urge to quit &amp; rest at home...*SIGH*

Adel

I'm also diagnosed with GD since week 21. Apart from the strict diet, did your gynae ask you to monitor your glucose level at home?

I know its hard and sometimes when you go out to eat, really dont know what else you can eat right. Seems to be going back to the same kind of food. And that sucks cos you get sick and tired of it.

For me, I'm happy after i was told that I can drink HL milk cos it taste so nice
If you are monitoring your glucose level at home, do you find it harder now as you progress into the 2nd trimester? I do find it more difficult cos me now in 3rd trimester.

Did your gynae mentioned to you that she will deliver your baby by 38weeks? I heard that for GD mummies, some gynae will do so by week 38. But so far, my gynae didnt say anything. But I have to prepare myself mentally for baby's early arrival. My EDD is 9 Oct so if early, would be around end Sept.

Come to think of it, better start finalising my baby stuff before its too late.

has anyone's bb turn and engaged? went to another forum and saw that many preggie ladies's bb turned at ard 28th week but din engage.

I not sure if my bb has turn leh....going to ask gynae at next appt

Hi garfield,
Just found out from my visit yesterday that my bb has turned, so now she's in the inverted position. But I'm not too sure if she's engaged. Think not yet.

Garfield: Thanks!
Rest well! I think babies only engage from 32 weeks onwards..Before that they still move round and round..
Fiona: Yah..
Why don't you machine wash your panties? I put mine in the laundry mesh bag and just machine wash.. I can still see my urine stream so can aim :p Me opting for vaginal/natural epidural if possible..

I was out shopping with hubby the other day.. We were walking around for about an hour and just as we were walking, I almost blacked out, twice.. So scary.. Don't know why.. But gonna tell my gynae the next time I see her..

Hi fushiastar,
So scary arh? Almost blackout! Must take care, okie. I think it's quite normal for preggie women to have dizzy spells but blackout sounds kinda serious. Better check with your gynae.

I did ask my gynae if it is possible for the bb to move around after she's has turned. She told me that normally for 1st time mums, our womb is not that big, so bb won't move around that much after she's has turned upside down.

fushiastar: i've also experienced "going to blackout" many times especially during the 3rd trimester...i cannot stand for too long especially when i was helping in the kitchen preparing food or cooking...i had many a times dashed out of the kitchen to sit down on sofa cos i felt fainting...my mum told me i was like her....

Think we must all take care..

I got dizzy, then my vision darkened.. That's exactly what happens before I faint.. Thankfully, hubby was with me.. the moment I realised my vision was darkening, I sat down immediately.. There was nowhere to sit and I was sitting on the floor at a flight of stairs.. After a few minutes, felt better and walked to the car and went home..

Missysunflower: Thanks

Sneaky, did you tell your gynae?

hi ssl

no.. i do not have to monitor my gluccose level at home.. juz need to stick to strict diet lo.. gynae says.. that i can anything... i want but in moderation.. dun indulge.

so my fluid everyday is juz plain ice water or 100 plus lo. yea.. gynae says he'll want to induce the baby earlier.. thats why i came into this thread lo..

but nice to know that majority of the mummies here are healthy and also entitled to lotsa food!!! unlike me.

<font color="ff0000">IRRESPONSIBLE BABYSITTER AND AGENT!!! </font>

Agent: <font color="ff0000">PETER ONG ENG HOCK </font>
<font color="ff0000">HP: 9388-9332 </font>
PGR: 9263-9882
Agency: <font color="0000ff">JIA HOUSEHOLD CARE SERVICES </font>
Address: 179, RIVER VALLEY, #05-11, RIVER VALLEY BUILDING, S(179033)

Babysitter: MDM ONG
Address: Blk 625 Senja Road #05-146, S(670625)
-------------------------------
Yesterday, went to my ex-nanny (Mdm Ong) house to collect my boy clothing. I asked her for the bal deposit, she told me that our agent (Peter) told her not to return us the balance monies. Peter even told her that we are suppose to give her 1 week notice if we found another new nanny. That stupid hypocrite didnt tell us that we are suppose to give her 1 WEEK notice ??? I even asked him to look for another nanny for us as Mdm Ong already informed us to look for another nanny.

How can he said that ? So I asked Mdm Ong to called him because I wanted to clarify whether is she telling the truth.

She called Peter &amp; told him that I want her to return us our monies. He asked Mdm Ong NOT TO OPEN THE DOOR, IF WE COME TO HER HOUSE to collect my boy clothing. He even said that she DONT HAVE TO RETURN US OUR MONIES &amp; JUST IGNORE US. Then Mdm Ong told him that we were already in her house &amp; beside her now. She wanted me to talk to Peter personally to clarify the whole matter but that IRRESPONSIBLE Peter dont even dare to talk to me. He told Mdm Ong that hes very busy &amp; quickly hanged up the phone.

Im so angry how can he be so irresponsible &amp; who is he to decide that Mdm Ong shouldnt return us our money ???? That bloody sissy, dont even dare to sit down &amp; sort things out, he just go on hiding.
----------------------

Please be cautious when you are looking for a babysitter agency. We would like to share with you our true life experience.
Our ex-nanny (Mdm Ong) was introduced to us by Peter.
During the interview, we informed them that we needed her to take care of our son day and night, sending him over on Sun night and picking him up on Fri night. They agreed verbally. No contract was signed. Mdm Ong initially took good care of our boy, born in Dec 2004. But things started to change in Jun 2005.
This is a summary of what had happened:
1. We were not informed that the nanny's daughter was also pregnant and her estimated delivery date is in Feb 2005. After her daughters confinement in Mar 2005, she helped to look after her granddaughter at the same time! As we needed day &amp; night care for our son, we did not expect her to do so!
2. As the babies' age gap was so close, we doubted that she could handle them both simultaneously. However, she reassured us many times that the situation "will only be temporary". In addition, the agent (Peter) also assured us that the nanny will be "professional" enough not to handle more than one baby.
3. When her granddaughter began to stay with her in late March, we noticed that she shared the baby products we provided her for our son's exclusive use. This included formula milk, clothing, milk bottles, wipes, diapers, etc. Although we do not have concrete proof, but the speed of use is proof enough. Seeing that our son is still in "good care", we decided to close one eye on this, even though it was at our expense!
4. On 27 June 2005 (after taking care for 4 months), Mdm Ong informed us to look for another nanny because her daughter needed her to take care of her granddaughter! Isn't it supposed to be only temporary?!
5. Anyway, this coincided with the time when we had to change the formula milk (from infant FM to 6mths FM). Also perhaps she finds it a hassle to cook and feed our son, who has to start taking porridge and cereal as he was 6 months old. As we needed time to source for another nanny, we had no choice but to let her continue to take care of our son as we had work commitments.
6. On 3 July 2005 (Sun night), when we brought him back to her house, we smelled something is burning in her kitchen but she insisted the smell was from downstairs. The next minute, I saw burning smoke from her kitchen dustbin! Its actually a cigarette! We did not even know that someone smoke in the house! She quickly poured water into her dustbin.
7. The next morning (Mon), it was raining very heavily and we had to send some things over to her. We saw that she dressed our dear son only in a T-shirt and diapers and left him sitting near an open window! Her darling granddaughter was dressed in long-sleeved and long-pants thick pyjamas in a bouncer away from the open window!
8. Knowing that our son is no longer in good care, we quickly found another babysitter and sent him there on 10 Jul 2005, 2 weeks after Mdm Ong inform us to look for someone else.
9. Before we rendered her service, we placed a $700 deposit (1 month) with her. As Mdm Ong was the one who requested us to look for another nanny, we assume that she will refund us the balance deposit ($150) which we placed with her. However, she turned around and said that we were the ones who wanted to terminate her service and refused to return us the balance!
10. Fed up with liasing with her, we called Peter on 9 Jul 2005 and told him what happened. We requested him to help us to chase for our money. After that, he MIA and refused to answer our phonecalls. We continued to try to contact him. When finally we got him, he told us to go SMALL CLAIM COURTS to claim back our money! Not to mention, there was no contract signed nor documents drawn for rendering Mdm Ong's service so how can I file a report?!
Hes so irresponsible and unprofessional, yet we had to pay him commission of $60! Really cannot believe that he provided such lousy service!
Anyway, up till today (26 Jul 2005), we have yet to claim our money back.
<font color="ff0000">We want to warn everyone out there not to use Peter's or Mdm Ong's service. </font>

PLS HELP TO SPREAD THIS TO ALL MUMMIES, FRIENDS OR COLLEAGUES!!!

Garfield,
My bb's head has turned since week 28 or maybe earlier. Yesterday (week 32)went for checkup, bb's head was lower but not yet engaged. Usually the head will not engaged so early one rite?

fishiastar,
machine washed panties together with other clothes? hmmm since young, I was told to hand wash my own panties, and never ever to mix them with other laundry especially the men's one, cos it's believed to bring bad luck to the men!hmm dunno leh, I am staying with my in laws, better abide to this 'law'.if I am staying alone, I will definitely dump everything into the washing machine to save myself all the trouble!hehe.

garfield

My BB also hasnt turn during my last visit to gynae end July. Hopefully he will turn by next week when we visit gynae.

fushiastar &amp; sneaky

It could be due to lack of oxygen (cos too many people in shopping centre) that you feel faint. Always remember to breathe slowly when you feel it coming. And try to swallow saliva slowly at the same time. If possible, drink some warm water.

Adel

U so lucky. My gynae very strict. so bo bian lor.

Fiona

U can wash your panties in the bathroom basin using a small pail or plastic ware. Thats what i did. I also hand wash my panties after every bath. Got the same "teachings" handed down by parents so cant anyhow put into washing machine to wash.

kris

Can i check if BH is BB trying to stretch that causes the hardening?? I used to have BH on right side but now its in the centre part. Does it mean that my BB has turn or BH can happen any part of my tummy?

Been having the sore feeling at lower tummy. Is it normal har? How would we know if real contraction comes? is it the same feeling as BH??

SSL: indeed...i notice i feel faint due to lack of oxygen...must move to somewhere with better air circulation then sit down and i'll feel better...as for the BH and tightening of tummy, i'm feeling it very often now and it's quite strong...really wonder if it's baby or BH...sometimes, it becomes so hard and tight till i am short of breath and will stop whatever i'm doing to rub my tummy...sometimes, i'll feel my vagina being pulled upwards when i feel the tightening...i'll feel 1 hard lump on either or both sides of my tummy...what is it exactly??? *puzzled*

Sneaky,
ya me also sometimes will feel like a sharp jab at the vagina interior area...like poking. dunno wat it is. sometimes can just come suddenly and i will even jump cos its quite sharp. will ask gynae tmr abt this.

btw sneaky, SSL and those who are due sometime ard 10 Oct,
when do u all intend to start your leave? I am due 10 Oct but becos there might be a chance that I may pop abt 2 wks earlier, I was thinking of starting leave ard 26 Sept like that. Hard to gauge cos really dunno whether bb wanna come out early, on time or late.

Fiona.. Oh.. That makes it more complicated.. Or wash when you are bathing with the shower head or at the sink? Then you don't have to bend? Thankfully me and hubby live alone so I can do pretty much what I want..

Sneaky, I'm gonna tell my gynae when I see her on 23rd too.. Maybe take maternity leave earlier..
SSL.. Maybe.. Whatever it is.. Have to be careful cos we shouldn't fall down at this stage.. My GTT is clear
Have been doing the urine dipstick on my own and after I'm even more diet conscious, generally clear..

Braxton Hicks contraction

Braxton Hicks contraction is defined by Taber's Medical dictionary as an intermittent, painless contraction that may occur every 10 to 20 minutes after the first trimester of pregnancy. These contractions were first described in 1872 by British gynecologist John Braxton Hicks. Sometimes these contractions are also called prelabor contractions or Hicks sign. Not everyone will notice or experience these contractions, and some will have them frequently. Some mothers say that they notice them more in subsequent pregnancies than in their first pregnancy.
Usually women will notice them by casually brushing their hands against their protruding belly and notice that it has tightened, while other moms will notice the tight feeling without having to feel it with their hands. Don't panic if you don't notice them. Some women only notice them because they find them to be uncomfortable.

While Taber's medical dictionary may say that they are painless, pregnant women tell a different story, though most would call it uncomfortable rather than painful. If you experience discomfort or pain with these practice contractions, try out techniques you've learned in class to deal with labor, such as breathing, relaxation, massage, movement and more. Often women will find that simply changing position can help with any pain from these contractions. A nice warm bath or shower can also help relieve any achiness and promote relaxation.

So how would you tell the difference between a Braxton Hicks contraction and a true labor contraction? Generally true labor contractions will get longer in length, closer in frequency and stronger in intensity. A Braxton Hicks contraction might get closer together but not consistently, or they may feel stronger but go away when you move around. Some moms say that they only experience Braxton Hicks contractions when moving around and they cease when mom sits down.

Calling your doctor or midwife should happen if you have contractions closer than 12 minutes apart prior to 37 weeks, as this might indicate preterm labor and not Braxton Hicks contractions.

While these many seem like an annoyance, yet another thing to deal with in pregnancy, they are believed to be helpful in preparing your body for labor, even though no noticeable progress can be seen.

True Labor vs. Braxton Hicks

Braxton Hicks True Labor
Contractions don't get closer together. Contractions do get closer together.
Contractions don't get stronger. Contractions do get stronger.
Contractions tend to be felt only in the front. Contractions tend to be felt all over.
Contractions don't last longer. Contractions do last longer.
Walking has no effect on the contractions. Walking makes the contractions stronger.
Cervix doesn't change with contractions. Cervix opens and thins with

hi mrstan, my EDD is 6 Oct and i intend to work till 30 Sep, leaving 1 week of rest...this is possible if baby is on time loh...as for the sharp jab, let me know what your gynae says, k?

fushiastar: it's hard to differentiate BH &amp; baby's doings cos we're 1st timers...but i'm sure we'll experience both in time to come and can tell the diff...

mrs tan

I'm not working now
so leave to take. heehee

fushiastar

Thats very good
Anyway, just 2 more months to go before we can get to see our darlings.

SSL: Just checked the forum.
fuschiastar has answered your qn!
BH and baby's movement is different.
BH is muscular in nature.

Mrs Tan: the sharp jab should very likely be bb's foot stretching/kicking into our sensative areas. If bb is head down it could also be bb's hands of just the head pushing down on it. It's a very uncomfortable feeling, like something inside wanna fall down like dat.

My hubby was asking me last nite.... Wat happens if I have contractions and water bag burst and he is at work...

I answered.. best he leave my car at home and take his own car to work, so i can make my way down to hosp myself... lol.. he says, dun joke lahz... contraction n water bag burst can still drive?!?!? i was like... hmmm.. true... but his office is at Pasir Ris and home is cck.
He came up with an idea... he says he gng to stop work one week before my due date.. wahhahahahaha Sounds like him giving birth NOT ME! so funny...

ClarisseMummy.. Me and hubby talked about that too.. Decided that it's too dangerous for me to drive if that happens.. Will call hubby (who's working at novena area and my home is at holland..), my parents and my inlaws (both parents and inlaws live a 10 minute drive away from my home) and see if any are nearby to fetch me.. If not, I'll call a cab and go to the hospital myself.. Everyone will meet me there..
My hubby has limited leave.. Would rather he take all his leave which is only 7 days after I deliver..

fushiastar: you living at holland? which part? i'm at holland green...maybe can meet up for kopi...kekeke...my mum also lives 5 mins away from me...at dover...kekeke

ling: my colleagues already started saying "wah..you still driving ah?" anyways, i will be staying home for 1 week before EDD and if it happens, if my MIL is home, i think she will fetch me to hospital loh...if not, my hubby will rush back from his work place at thomson, which is quite near...well, i believe there's still time to pom pom and prepare a bit even if waterbag has burst...ling, not to worry, k? my cousin even went for breakfast followed by prayers at the temple after her waterbag burst...

sneaky: ya.. my friends oso ask how come still driving? well ok lahz.. still can managed..
I never worry.. whahaha i was more like laughing... say.. i can managed to go myself manz... if not call cab lor.. whahaha...

Fushia: my PIL stays rather far.. nearest is my mum... but tt lady cant even drive.

Sneaky.. I live at holland close..
Can..
Your parents and mine (mine living at mt sinai, in laws live at farrer road) and your hubby and mine (mine working at bukit timah road just off novena and newton..) are living and working at around the same area..
I'm delivering at NUH so that's quite near home..
Have all cab numbers on my mobile speeddial

ling: well, i think the type of cars we drive won't pose a problem...my friend whose EDD is 2 weeks earlier than me cannot drive cos her tummy touching the steering wheel already...she's driving a nissan sunny and she's very short, so she needs to sit quite near to the steering wheel hence touching her tummy...for us, our seats are the high type so it won't hit our tummy...

i thinking of cutting to shoulder length but then my mom said like tat during confinement v troublesome cos if weather hot, difficult to tie up and somemore cannot bathe.
but my dad said best to cut short cos during confinement, i will be eating tonics and my dad said if hair long most tonics will nourish my hair instead of my body....
hehe...so i still pondering wat to do with my hair,
my hair is currently slightly below the bra strap at my back

Hi girls..

I'm experiencing aching pain in my internal virginal area.. the pain is quite bad especially when I will try to turn change position at night.. now day time when I walk also can feel the ache.. do any of u girls experience this aching pain?? did mentioned to my gynae abt the ache during my last checkup.. she said its normal cos pelvic bone is expanding preparing for delivery of baby.. is it true??

I'm planning to work till I give birth lor.. like that can spend more time with baby.. but now on off I will take annual leave cos need to clear if not forfeited..

my current hair length is just touching the bra strap at my back.. I'm going to go for a hair trim end of this mth.. going to keep it long so that I can tie.. imagine if cut short then cannot tie up then the hair keep falling down while u handling the baby.. then have to use hand to shove the hair behind ears or wat so troublesome..

Hi kuririn,
I also experienced similar pain near the pelvic area 2-3 times just now whenever I got up from my seat and started walking around. Hee... I didn't really gave much thoughts to that. Thought it is normal since our "load" has got heavier.

sneaky: maybe.. cos our car slightly higher..

seriously dunno leh.. how.. kekekkeke.. i think i take cab when times comes..wagahhaha cant imagine facing my hubby everyday before due.. whahaha... i will go crazy manz
whahahah.. the worse. i call my EX to come send me.. whahahaha i tell u.. my hub sure freak out! lol. joking joking.. kekeke

Have you ever imagine how our tummy will feel and look like minutes after we delivered? soft and flabby?Dat sounds so scary.

Re: maternity leave
My EDD is on 6 Oct. I plan to take my ML from 26th Sept, about a week in advance, so that it won't eat into my school holiday (falls on 19th Nov). Hence, I will take 56 days of ML first, when school reopen, I will take the balance of one month in January. In other words, I will get to rest at home, spend time with bb for about 4 mths.

Heard that for first timer, we will deliver one or two weeks earlier than our EDD. For all I know, I will deliver before my planned ML, before 29th Sept.

RE: How to travel to hospital
I guess it's best to take a cab down to the hospital when your water bag burst or when u experience contractions. It will be to dangerous to drive. The contractions is rather painful, I heard.

My hair was waist length, when I got pregnant it kept dropping, so out of sheer frustration I cut it to bra strap length and cut a fringe too! Now can't decided what to do with it..

I'm taking maternity leave a month before EDD.. and clearing leave-so will take about a week of half day leave the 5th weeh before EDD..

My infant care centre just relocated!.. Sigh, now have to decided if I still wanna send Zoe there or source for another one..

Think cab down to the hospital is best if there's no one to send us down too..
Me and hubby gonna do a dry run one of these days..

Hi Mayday,
If I am not wrong, the ML applies to all working mum. It's 8 weeks means 8 x 7 days = 56 days. NOT 2 mths x 30 days = 60 days. and the 56 days includes all non-working days like public holidays and sundays...so we lugi..

You can take the first 8 weeks of ML first, then the next 4 weeks, you can take anytime within 6 mths after you delivered. All these are stated clearly in the ML form.

Hope these info helps.