(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Celine,
me also just like u. just before leaving office will go pee...then once reach home (which is abt 30 mins later), will have to pee again!!

Celine and Mrs Tan: When you are peeing, hold your urine in mid-stream amd count to 3 slowly, then let go again. Slowly increase the count to 5, then 8. You can do this once everytime you pee (make sure there is enough pee though! Hee..) In time you will find that you can control your bladder better, and your hubby will know the difference too!

Hee.. dun wait until one day you sneeze and find that some pee had leaked!

Kris,
ohhh i see. thats called kegel exercise lah?
but i thot like that not gd to hold urine right? sekali hold and then when want to release, then urine dont want to come out liao, how?? hahahaha. is that only way to do kegel?

Mrs Tan: Hahaha.. you v funny leh! once you've conditioned your pelvic floor muscles it's like having the ability to squeeze and let go any time! Just make sure that you completely relax so that pee can come out again. Hee..

Forgot to add, the other way to kegel is to do what SSL suggested. isolate your pelvic floor muscles (imagine you are holding your pee)and squeeze it for abt 10 counts. YOu can do this as many times as you like in a day, but I find that it is less effective and if you're doing the exercise for the 1ft time it could be hard to isolate the muscles correctly.

Kris,
hahaha kidding lah. eh i just went to do in the toilet just now liao. hee hee, can leh! just pee..stop...pee...stop..hahaha

another way is to sit or lie down on bed, with knees bend. then try to squeeze the muscle.

kris, am i right to say that we should try not to control too much during urinating cos it may result in UTI?? though its an easier method to locate the right muscle??

SSL: I think UTI happens only when we hold our pee for too long, i.e., for hours. I've got a fren who kena all the time one.. cos she always hold her pee for like 6 hours or more... I doubt doing kegel can cause UTI.

girls,
any of u have decided whether to have natural birth or do C? I am in a dilemma now leh...cos i dont wanna go thru labour pains, only to do last min C, double the pain.

Mrs Tan: go for natural birth as far as possible lah. Cos C-section will result in more pain post-delivery! Imagine it could be so bad you may have sit in the wheelchair for the first few days! Labour pains aren't that bad. Really.
Taking care of the little one AFTER the labour is more painful.

Kris,
really ah? sigh..i know...all docs recc natural as opposed to C. but then C can bypass all labour pain leh. and its quicker too. oh well, but i guess sometimes when the time omes, just gotta go thru it, like or not. no time to think also. I have to get myself prepared lor. mentally.

hi girls

side track abit. do u know where to get those water-filled cushion that makes your bum feels cool when u sit on it??

cant seem to find it at shopping centre leh

Mrs Tan: Really lah. I went through 22 hours of labour and I STILL dun mind going though it again.
My hubby was with me all the while trying to ease my pains by talking to me, and guess what? I told him to shut up! Hehehe... somehow during labour I found him extremely irritating. Hee.. I was more afraid of the episiotomy though... but then I didn't feel a single thing! I didn't even know when doc cut me!

hi SSL, you can try Chinatown area. My aunt bought 1 from chinatown shop 1 yr back. Dunno whether they still got...
I got one from Msia...

ssl: yes, i could feel that too when baby kicks downwards...

all: i met my cousin last evening. she told me she skipped epidural when she delivered her 2 children; eldest at 3.8kg and the youngest at 4kg. salute her???

thanks kris and puea.

dont really go to those areas. but will keep a lookout if i do
those neighbourhood ones i guess.

Sneaky,
wah saluting ur cousin. *bow head*
she win already lah. both bb so big and no epi some more.
*standing ovation, clap clap*

Kris,
eh u never really told us ur birth story before hor? if u can still rem details, maybe can share??

SSL, MRs Tan - ya i must be standing too long the heat..anyway i wont be cooking much now..

Kris - thanks for the tips on kegal ex. I have no discipline and like Mrs tan - i thot holding pee was bad n would lead to UTI ! but honestly i already have pee leaking particularly bad in 1st tri. This tri is better.. I will try SSL method..

Mrs Tan - all my sisters went thro' C section n I really dont want it if I can control cos' of pain n higher cost. Even sneeze also painful u know..
I want to start working out as soon as I can and I know with C section, u can't really work out until wound is fully healed... dont worry abt labour lah, just imagine we all have to go thro' it.. i'm praying for a short labour!

MC,
ya u better take it slow and dont strain again ah, understand...
ya i feel the same too...C gotta stay longer in hospital and cost is higher also. nat.is still the "nat." way to go. True lah..when the time comes, no matter how long/painful the labour is, we will get by it. For our dear babies! But sometimes i cant help scaring myself by thinking abt birth complications like cord accidents, etc etc....*shiver*

kris, any idea if NUK bottles can fit Pigeon teats??

saw NUK bottles very cute designs. so wonder must i buy NUK teats lor.

i bought 4oz bottle now. so whats the next bottle size that i should be getting when BB grows older?

<font face="Calisto mt"> MrsTan,

HB said dun want me to use epidural so I'm thinking of opting for C section. I worried I cannot take e pain. Plus I went thru operation b4 &amp; wound heal v fast &amp; not much pain so thinking....

Ya most of my frenz had natural birth w/o epdiural too. I really saluate them loh. Best is they all like Kris dun mind going thru it again.</font>

Jenifur,
i see...but maybe u can do natural with no epi?
wahh thats so encouraging. at least ur frens dont mind going thru it again. means it isnt all that traumatic. imagine if its the opp.

Jenifur , Mrs Tan

How come you have frenz who went natural without epi and C sect? most of my frenz are C sect and epi.. so I have no one to look up to!! My friend gave birth at Mt A last year. She said the labour ward v quiet - cos' everyone given Epi and she refused no matter what.. I think at the last min, she also gave in.. sometimes the nurses there will force you when they see u push so hard baby still not out.. I also dont know whether I will succumb to epi eventually or not..

Dear mums-to-be,

For the kegel exercise, please do not practise it while urinating. Possibility of contracting of UTI is high. Well, if you're unsure which is the portion of muscle to 'squeeze', yes, u may tried once while urinating. And once u understand &amp; know where is the muscle to contract, practise it while not urinating please!! U can practise it while in the bus/MRT &amp; anywhere, even b4 U get up in the morning &amp; b4 u sleep at night, can also lie on bed &amp; do. Nobody can tell.

<font face="Calisto mt"> MrsTan,

But I see in e movies, those women all shout/scream like it's so painful, cannot imagine going thru it w/o epi loh. I also hv e thinking tt later go thru long labour pain liao then in e end still gota go C section worse.

e assistant @ my gynae clinic aslo encourage C section cuz she personally had v bad experience w nat. birth. Something like she had to sit on float 4 few mths after her birth</font>

I never think of opting for natural or C section coz i think nearer to delivery we can't control the situation.

Like my two frens both want natural without epidural but in the end one go thru c section after some time cervis cannot open to 10cm the other one got to vacuum baby out but go thru episiotomy. Both methods also damn painful.

I can only pray hard now for the best for my own delivery....

Sometimes, gynae and nurse also plays a part in influencing us to get epi. I think to my gynae, he thinks I've quite low pain tolerance, so he did advise me to take epi.

I think I'm the unlucky one for my 1st delivery whereby have to go through labour pain, epi and then emergency c-section.

Actually after c-section is not as painful as some said. I'm able to walk around the next day. My sil having the same gynae also able to walk around without much difficulty. So it's much dependent on individual.

Most impt is to listen to your body during labour. If no choice have to c-section, for the safety of the mum and baby, just have to do it lor...

But most doctor doesn't allow c-section and insists on going through labour if the baby does not have complication (Eg. breech)

my pain tolerance is super low imagine my monthly menses i also need to eat painkiller.

anyway, pray about it lah whatever will be will be...

Celine,
u are right. u are like me also...i have to take painkillers with my menses last time. true lah, even if plan sui sui before birth, when the time comes, if cannot, then also gotta go to Plan B. So i guess the best way is to be mentally prepared for both natural birth and C.

Jenifur,
i also super scared of pain one lor...but i wanna try for natural without epi, cos i am very easily allergic to drugs (eg. penicillin) and break out in rashes over the slightest antibiotics. so i know my body well...dunno whether can take epi or not.

mrs tan, we are very alike I got allergic to drugs too such as penicillin! like that cannot take epidural?? *faint*

Celine,
ya..somehow my skin is naturally very sensitive. I get hives and red red very easily one lor..hate it leh. thats why i not sure whether can take epi or not. cos the side effects are numbness, headache..and thats for normal ppl. then some more we are so sensitive already....

Hi Jenifur,

it's been a long time since I last posted on this thread. Quite surprised at how long the EDD chart has grown... it even indicates boy/girl now. That's really nice of u. Jus to let u know my baby is a boy and his EDD has been changed to 15 Oct.

However, he has been diagnosed with Trisomy 18 with major abnormalities in the head, heart and intestines. Although he is not expected to survive beyond the first few days after birth, my hubby and I are praying for a miracle as we continue the pregnancy. We hope all mothers-to-be here can pray for our brave little boy who is still flipping and kicking inside me.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Joan,

I'm so sorry to hear about ur boy. It's really v brave of u to continue w e pregnancy. Will keep you &amp; him in prayer. Be strong, I'm sure god will see you thru</font>

Hi Joan,
So sorry to hear about your baby.. I really admire your courage to continue with the pregnancy. Do take care..

Joan: keep constant prayers. I am sure He will be there to answer them. U are a brave mum for sure to keep the pregnancy gng, who knows God will change everything and bb gng to be perfectly alright. Let's pray and pray for good health and hoping everything will be alright!

Hi Jenifur and Kuririn,

thanks for the encouragement. Every baby is God's gift to us regardless of the package it comes. He's our child and we realised we love him even more after we found out about his condition. That's y abortion has never crossed our minds. We jus hope for a miracle that he recovers but if he doesn't, we've already seen how ppl around us miraculously changed their mindsets about abortion. So we r already very proud of our little boy. :)

SSL: yah loh...really peifu her man...

puea: i have no idea at all. maybe you'll need to check with gynae...

jenifur: my cousin, who delivered without epidural tore her hubby's shirt...what say you about the pain then??? hahahahaha....

winnie: yah...my colleague said she didn't feel pain at all after her op...i'm truly puzzled...

joan: yes, indeed, your little boy is so brave and he's got a pair of brave parents too. please persevere...miracles do happen...will keep you in prayers too...God bless!!!

Sneaky: Wah! So big also can do without epi! I kow tow to her liow!

SSL: If you're talking abt those NUK bottles with a 'D'-shaped like opening for the teat then can't use other teats except NUK ones. After the 4oz bottle you can go on to 10oz loh.
If your bb become a milk guzzler (like my girl now) then eventually can even upgrade to 12oz bottle! But dun be in too much of a hurry to buy them all.

Mrs Tan: Of cos I remember my delivery experience.
I'll post it here later. Now must send my girl to my mom's place first!

morning everyone!
joan: i salute u &amp; ur hubby for being so brave! I really hope ur bb boy will recover! I believe in miracles so dun give up hope k? *HUGS*

i going to see gynae today for my routine checkup..can't wait to see my little wan!!! hehe

hi Joan,
It's really brave of you to have made this decision with ur hubby. Must not have been easy. I will be praying for you and your lil boy. he's gonna be a strong boy. Take care.

Joan - Sorry to hear about your boy's condition. will keep you both in prayer.. indeed you are one courageous mommy.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Morning MTBs,

Saw my gynae yesterday, did a swab for bacteria culture to determine if I'm having infection. Everything seems ok except placenta seems abit low than normal. But gynae didn't said anything bout it so guess shld b alrite</font>

Kris: yah manthe best part is that shes quite slim oneshe encouraged me go all natural without epi. She also said its possible if determined. Well, lets see.hubby ever told me hed bring a few carrots into the labour ward. When I asked him why, he said hed let me hold the carrot instead of his finger in case I break it, its not painfulfunny, right?

joan: Continue to have faith in God he will bless you and your baby boy.

when did your gynae tell you about this complication? pray hard and maybe your baby boy will be heal by the time he is conceive.

hi..my mum also encouraged me to go natural without epidural. my mum was saying in the past, nobody used epidural and they (the women) can still give birth so she believes tat we women now can also take it. just tat we have an option of having painless delivery so most of us not willing to go thru the pain..hehe..

cham..i feel v tired today...yesternite think i woke up at least 3 times to pee....so disturbing to my sleep *ARGH*

i will try to go natural and without epidural..hopefully i can tahan it..hehe

<font face="calisto mt"> MrsTan,

Duno leh. I guess shld not affect anything since my gynae didn't said anything. He has also checked tt my cervix/womb is still closed so everything seems alrite. Shld b jus an infection

Sneaky,

Ur HB jus as bad as mine. My HB said he will bring cucumber so I won't break/bite his hand.
291679.gif
I threaten to bite him if really doing nat. w/o epi. so he can share e pain </font>
291680.gif