(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

fushiastar:
after consulting my colleague, she said u can boil both the latex n silicone teats.. she said better to get silicone ones.. cos latex one after boiling will have sticky feeling lor..

whow u girls bery fast talking about BB stuff.

Looks like Pigeon brand is better hor. Is Medela electric pump better?

Anyone knows what brand of diapers better? Me trying to list down the brand to buy so that its easier to zoom in.

Otherwise see so many cute cute bottles and BB items, sure cant control and anyhow buy.

Kuririn,
Thanks..
Maybe I'll go buy a teat to try..

Sneaky..
I found the teat you are talking about.. It's the Pigeon Peristaltic Teats .. Just saw online that Pigeon has a Anti-colic kit and Orthodontic teats too.. http://www.babyandcompany.co.za/pigeonbottles.html

SSL

Think the best bottles are actually the ones by Dr Brown.. But they are very ex.. $20+ a bottle..

Everyone I know who is using a breast pump uses the Medela breast pump and give it the thumbs up.. So that's what I'm getting although it's not exactly cheap.. The one I'm looking at is a Single pump Medala mini electric which is retailing at $178

Diapers wise, best I hear is Pampers premium if you are not going for nappies.. but this is ex too, about 50% more ex than regular brands.. Fitti, Pet pet, Mama Poko and Nepia seem to have Ok reviews and affordable pricing. Drypers don't seem to have very good reviews.. This is just what I gather from readin other threads and my friends.. Don't have any personal experience..

I'm considering using nappies mostly and Pampers premium for night and going out..

fuschiastar: Yes! MUST sterilise bottles!!! Cos if any bacteria get into them it can cause us adults at most a stomach upset but can be fatal for bb! Old methods are either steaming (like steam fish like that) or immerse bottles and teats etc into water and boil. I feel that the boiling method wastes a lot of water. old style steaming will take quite a while also and you can't guarantee that the bottles will remain sterile after you open the container to get the bottles out. A steriliser at least has a proper cover and can keep the things sterile. And yes, I agree with kuririn's colleague. Latex teats are not 'time friendly' in the sense that just one steam or boil will change its shape and turn it sticky.

Sneaky: Haha.. you so funny lah.. bottle also must be 'you siu' one! Hehe.. I tell you ah, after bb is delievered and the first time you bring him to you breasts to suckle you will probably get a shock at how big our nipples are compared to bb's small small mouth! Hehe...

SSL: Personally the Medela pump did not work for me. I used the Ameda and it was much better. I have heard some ppl say that Medela is more for ang moh ladies but then I know pple with whom the Medela works well for. Basically I bought both the brands loh.. At first I bought the Medela and found it strange that very very little milk was coming out, then I went to give the Ameda pump (only available either at Moms In Mind or Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group)
a try and liked it cos it really pumped well, so I bought it loh! You can actually go and 'test' the Ameda with the Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group.

Yvonne tt: Heh.. cos Pigeon is on the whole cheaper than Avent and more easily available than Avent loh.

SSL: Pet Pet is cheap and of ok quality when bb is still young. After that sure cannot tahan the amt of urine one. My girl is now using Huggies Dry Comfort. Slightly more ex, but good quality and great absorbency. DUn bother trying Drypers. Cheap but not good.
Nepia is very comfy but can't hold my girl's urine. I use Nepia pull-ups when we go out cos it's very soft and comfy for her. AT night I use Mamy Poko. Very good!!

Kris,
Looks like a sterilizer is essential.. So have to buy..This is not your first child? Did you use latex or silicone teats? Heard that babies that are direct feeding may refuse silicone teats cos they are "harder"? but take to the latex ones better..? I

<font face="Calisto mt"> Sweetie,

Most likely going tis Sat, 11am if lazy HB can wake up in time. Hope to see ya there.

Winnie,

Do take care of urself &amp; take plenty of rest leh.</font>

I am deciding between an electric sterilizer and a microwave type... The microwave type is almost half the price.

fushiastar ~ think kris explained to u liaoz.. hee hee..

ruff ~ try not to use microwave so much for bb things.. i oso dunno y but den my sis say so i jus tel u lor.. hee hee.

fuschiastar: Ya, this is my #2. I gave my (presently 20 months old) girl the silicone teats. She was breastfed (direct latch) for 6 months but I give her formula for night feeds. She did not have any problem with the silicone teats leh.. from day 1 of birth she was already using both my breast, silicone as well as latex teats. At the hospital she used latex ones but she gave me no problems at all where teats are concerned.
Every bb is different lah. My girl was a terror when she was very small but feeding has never been a problem.

ruff: The microwave type is very cheap I agree. But I got no microwave at home and I suppose there are concerns that microwave may not be good for small bbs.

fushiastar: yah...i've spelt wrongly...you are correct...i don't know how to wash leh...that's why i think the sterilizer method is better cos everything can put inside...

kris: really that big meh?? my hb already said my aerola quite big liao leh...i see already also very sian leh...

fushiastar: what's Anti-colic kit and Orthodontic teats for ah??? i really green leh...which one should i use? blur blur

Sneaky,

Anti Colic refers to bottles that suppossedly are fashioned such that when the bables drink, they don't "drink" air in addition to milk or water or whatever is in the bottle.. Colic apparently happens if there is air in the babies stomach or intestine and hurts..
The Dr Brown ones are suppose to be good cos they have this valve like thing that suppposedly can remove the air or something.. Heard that from a colleague who uses it..

I'm not sure how the Pigeon anti-colic kit works cos I only saw it online..

Orthodontic teats are recommanded when babies are teething. It's suppose to be shaped in such a way such that it doesn't cause the babies front teeth to erupt splayed outwards..(as in like bugs bunny), I don't know if they really work.. It depends on a few factors like if your baby is still on total bottle feeding or if you are starting your baby on solids.. Baby teeth start to erupt at about 6 months..

heh gals,

thanks for the tips on the diapers
have to start making notes liao.

today very busy at work so cant logon much.

Thanks Morraine. Actually the electric one is a bit better... cos bigger can sterilize more and can leave the bottles in there. So fun to buy things...

I'm 17 weeks and still not showing. Quite fun cos can't tell.

Morning girls,

I am almost finishing my stretchmark cream already, between Mustela and the clarins one, which is better, anyone knows?

Just now, i was sitting at my desk and i thot i felt some slight jerks/twitch at my tummy..below my belly button. I wonder, could this be baby's kicks? Will continue to monitor today.. hehe...so fun.

Mrs Tan: Very likely is bb's movement loh!
I dun know abt Mustela and Clarins cos I used the creams religiously but in the end 1 week before delivery the stretch marks all appeared!!!

Mrs Tan,

I use the Palmers one.. Don't know about Mustela but there are people that really believe in Clarins tonic oil.. I went to the counter to try but didn't really like the smell and thought it felt oily and the salesgirl told me that I had to apply it on damp skin so that the oil can be absorbed more easily? Don't understand, thought oil and water don't mix..

Sneaky,
I saw the Pigeon peristaltic bottle yesterday.. It's the one that costs about $8-9 dollars and comes in 200/300mls? The teat feels very soft..

triangle_right.gif
Everyone.. I was looking at prams at Taka yesterday.. So difficult to find a suitable pram.. Cos I need one that can recline totally, not too heavy and has a window on the pram hood so that I can see my baby.. .. Even the Aprica ones that are suppose to be really good only recline til about 30 degrees.. Does anyone know where I can find a range of prams, or recommand a pram to me?

Kris, Fushiastar,

haha..i see. that means its hard to say when the stretchmarks will appear hor? hmm..but then i better continue using it..better than not using lor. Fushiastar, your palmers one is it the cocoa butter one or somethg like that? where to get it?

<font face="Calisto mt"> Morning gals....

I also looking for prams &amp; car seat. Not sure which brand is gd. I want those pram w 3 wheels one so anyone can recommend?</font>

jenifur: Wah.. 3-wheeled ones v expensive leh.. You planning to bring bb out for a run ah? Those are sports-prams leh..

ladies: I share with you all my experience with prams k? My hb and I decided that we didn't need a pram till bb was maybe at least 4 months old and so we bought ours only after bb was delivered. We thought that when bb is very young chances are that we will not be going out often or for long and even if we do go out, bb will be hand-carried or placed in the bb sling. We survived like that till bb was about 4+ months old. Then we bought one that had 2 positions, but it doesn't recline all the way down. It cost us only abt $130 for the pram instead of nearly $300-$600 for one that had up to 5 positions (i.e., suitable for infants). We used the pram for only a few months as once my girl learnt to walk she didn't want the pram anymore. Now that she's almost 2 yrs old, we bring the pram out only when we go to the zoo/ birdpark etc so that she can sit in it when she gets tired.

Personally I'm glad I did not splurge a whole lot for a pram that we didn't use for long.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Kris,

Ya I know 3-wheeled one v ex but HB said tt one looks more steady &amp; easier to control leh. Mayb I shldn't get a pram too early like u</font>

jenifur, my hubby also wnat to get the 3-wheeled one coz he said he is the one who got to push it usually so he want a very functional and cool one.

ladies, from what my gynae said the stretchmark creams not really effective in fact she want me to use moisturizer daily and make sure my whole body especially tummy, breast, thighs area are well moisturized....

jenifur and Celine: 3-wheeled prams are very heavy leh... cos they are meant for running and have to be heavy to be steady and withstand the speed. If you want a steady one and dun mind the price, Maclarens has good prams. Alternatively, you can get 4-wheeled ones but get those with slightly larger wheels. A pram generally will not fall over with bb inside provided it is not too lightweight. Very lightweight prams are easy to carry around but you can't hang things on the handle cos it WILL topple backwards if bb's weight cannot offset the weight of the bags.

Kris,
Do you have the exact address of the Baby hypermart? Thanks..

I'm going to place my baby in infant care after 2 months and work part time. My husband's work is such that he won't be around much and I'll be alone with the baby quite a lot.. So a pram is necessary if I want to go out..
which I do..
Mrs Tan,
It's the Palmers Coca butter stretch mark cream. You can get it at Guardian pharmacy.. It costs about $24 a bottle.. I have been using mine for about a month and have used about half a bottle..

Celine: Your gynae is right loh!
Just a good moisturiser is enough liow. tummy, breasts and thighs cos these are the areas that are going to EXPAND!!!
kao_scared.gif

fushiastar:
address of baby's hyperstore:
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Industrial Park
S(417947)

since u will be going there u might wana check out this shop too..

Baby's Kingdom
83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 #01-00
Shun Li Industrial Park
S(417954)

I had not been to both of the shop yet..

sorry to add on to the 3 wheeled prams, we went Botanica Garden recently saw sooo many parents bringing their babies out and most of them especially the angmohs are using the 3 wheeled ones.

Kuririn: Thanks for providing the address! I was just looking for it!

fuschiastar and kuririn:

Baby Hypermart is good for bulky items esp strollers. They also have some interesting toys.

Baby Kingdom is better for smaller items like clothes, accessories. They also have a wider selection of cots than Baby Hypermart.

just drop by to see hi to mrs tan , jennifur...
hope u all are getting on fine, the feeling of bb movement very "sheng qi " right i missed tat

hi sneaky,
saw tat u are looking for pigeon breast pump? I had 1 pigeon battery operated breast pump to sell leh only used once only leh cos unsuccessful in breast feed. u interested, come wif one free pigeon bottle &amp; 2 breat pad.
i might be meeting ling to pass her some thing,
let me know if u interested maybe can meet together.
email me @ [email protected]
cos i seldom come to forum

hi wendypooh,
how have u been?? so nice to see u pop by here just to say hi. thanks for remember me and jenifur!
apart from some preg discomforts, i am getting on ok..still have a long way to go and praying everythg goes well.

Kuririn,
thanks for the addresses. will def go check these 2 places out.

Kuririn,
Thanks for the addresses.. Will definitely go check them out..

Kris,
Thanks for letting us know more about Baby hypermart and Baby kingdom.. I want to finish all my baby shopping in my 2nd trimester if possible.. Think it'll be more difficult to move around when I get bigger..

hi mrs tan,

me not very good had been feelign sick too so is my darling Nicole. SHe had fever after her jab follow by flu and cough etc.....
of course i rem u all cos know u all so long alry, i soemtime got chat with smeaky and ling they all at TTC. u still have MS?
have u start doing ur shoppign better do early cos toward the end very tired alry

wendypooh,

oh dear u poor girl..and ur lil princess too. u must rest more and just drink plenty of water.
ya..we have come a long way, havent we? I still log on to TTC thread but never really post.
I dont have MS at all, good appetite in fact so putting on weight liao.
Btw, wanna ask u, do u have a shopping list for all the things to buy for baby? I am compiling one for myself for easy reference so just wondering if there is a more concise list.

Mrs Tan

I've booked for MT A's antenatal classes but they onli have july slots for weekends liao.. so cant meet u for yr june classes liao :p

I bought a single powered medala breast pump last week in OG.. got 20% dis lor :p hopefully i am able to make full use of it

talking abt prams,

i've seen some parents letting their 4-5 yr old kid still using it.. den i was like, shouldnt they be training their kids to walk then using prams already??? *blur*

<font face="Calisto mt"> Celine,

Told my HB I'll only used e pram only if he's going out w me cuz e 3-wheeled pram look really heavy.

Wendy,

So nice of u to pop by. Hope Nicole is feeling better now. I'm feeling ok now but once in every few days will still puke
. Still cannot feel bb's movement yet &amp; hv been feeling so tried. Workload also piling up so feel very sian loh.

I also want a copy of ur shopping list if hv. Still hv not really started shopping for anything cuz feel so tired. Tried to shop for maternity wear last wk but only managed to walk for 1/2hr then give up liao. Luckily can still wear some of my normal clothes.

Fun,

I've seen tt too &amp; mostly r malays. Guess they feel is more convenient for e kids to sit pram when shopping mah. Plus pram buy liao "bu yong bai bu yong" mah</font>

Sometimes the kids just want to rest and parents find them too heavy to carry around?

Anyway, I stopped bring out the pram once my son knows how to walk and refuses to sit in it. After he knows how to walk, he prefers to push the pram. Because he's short, people walking towards me though how come the pram moves on its own
Sometimes he can't see and knocks onto people. So I don't bring out pram anymore.

Fun,

really ah? wah so fast full liao. actually, i think mine is booked for July one leh...cos my 24 wks will be sometime end June so plus/minus, i prob start ard July anyway. So we might still see each other! when time comes nearer, we keep each other informed lor ok?

Hubby &amp; I intends to buy those pram that the seat actually faces the person pushing it? cos we find that its easier for us to see BB as compared to the conventional method.

any comments on this type of pram?

Hi Kuririn

Thanks for the addresses cos me also thinking of asking hubby to go.

Any idea if they are open on sat and sun whole day?