(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

SSL: my hse cleaning veri flexible... every 2 times will be $110...u can juz call and make appt to come on which day u wan. ctc:62820761.
it takes abt 2hrs...cos got 2helpers who come...

long time have not came here cos change a new job.. quite stressful and tired everyday..

I jus went for my third appt yesterday.. Dr did a simple scan and listen to heart beat.. she say my baby very active.. But my weight so far not much diff leh..
Before preg I was like 41kg
2nd month I was 41.8kg
3rd month I was 41.2kg
and yesterday 17 weeks liow but only 41.6kg

Dunno wats wrong.. People cant even tell I am pregnant.. cannot see tummy.. i still wearing my normal clothes.. But good that dr say baby is growing normal size.. Next month will be doin a detail scan, then can know the sex liow.. hee

U all know your baby sex liow or not?

Hi Kuririn,

U r giving birth in SGH ah! Me too!!!
Finally I found someone same as me.. haha

Which Dr u seeing? I seeing Dr Yu Su Ling..

Good morning ladies...

Joan: me also seeing Dr Yu..
I also tot me the odd one delivering at SGH.. hehehe

poshbb: thanks for the info on the pillow..
will check with my mum when she back from holidays..

joan: dun worry so much... putting on weight gradually .... i lost some weight too in the early weeks like 7 - 9... on the week 11 i was back to normal.. dunno if my weight is ok if i see Dr on 7th May.

Sweetie,
Sent

Sneaky, Mrs Tan, Chloe, Joan.. Wow, how do you all manage to not put on that much weight? I was 42kg and now I'm 46kg ( I'm 1.6m, put on 4 kg ) and I'm only 15 weeks now.. My gynae said that I put on too much.. Suppose to not put on any weight in the 1st 3 months, then 1-1.5kg a month thereafter.. Don't really know how I'm putting on that much.. Only eat 3 meals a day and my meals aren't very large, plus I don't snack in between at all.. Maybe cos now I don't exercise now and I sleep a lot.. Sigh..

Is anyone's stomach showing? I can't fit into all my normal bottoms now and am wearing those one to two sizes larger, bra is also getting tight and have to wear them with bra extensions.. Thankfully I can still wear my undies and my normal tops.. Maternity wear sure is expensive isn't it?

Chloe,

I guess I have to start looking around.. But have to check with my husband and mum and MIL first.. I'm not a very firm believer in traditional practices and I want to bathe! So have to find someone that isn't too sticky about all that.. It will certainly help with someone to care and do the household chores..

Hi Tao_baby

Thanks for the information. Collating information now and will call once discuss with hubby.

Hi Joan

U are not alone.
Me also didnt put on weight the first 3 times of my visit to gynae. Hopefully this sat go see her will be able to see some weight gain.

Me 17 weeks this sat

<font face="Calisto mt">MrsTan,

When u going for e hospital tour? I might want to join u cuz I still cannot make up my mind to deliver in which hospital leh.</font>

<font face="calisto mt"> fushiastar,

U can still bathe during confinement but mus ask HB to get herbs &amp; brew so dun worry

Fushiastar,

aiyohhh i where got never put on...dont forget, i am short so i cannot be putting on too much weight at this point leh. I have no MS so i did not lose weight at all. and my appetite is super super good, always hungry and i DO snack a lot too!! cannot control some more leh! I am trying to control from now on though...or else cannot lah..sure become fat pig if i continue like that one. hehe...

You are ok mah...ur height and weight is balanced so its ok to put on. Unless u are overweight to start with, then its better u watch ur weight.
Since u are in ur 2nd tri now, why not start walking and swimming? at least u move ur body more..then healthier also. I've started swimming once weekly too to get the exercise.

Jenifur,

u also want to go hospital tour ah? mmm...i havent decide when to go leh. maybe not yet..another few wks more. i check with hubby when he free to go and let u know can? btw, we need to call hospital and tell them is it? or can just pop by one?

Jenifur..

Will definitely bathe...

Mrs Tan,

I do take daily walks.. Not too keen on swimming though.. Thinking of going for pre natel yoga after I ok it with my gynae first..
If my gynae oks it, I'll start going once a week from 4 months onwards..

I was told that if you gain too much weight, it's not good for the mother's health .. Higher chance of diabetes and hypertension.. So don't want to put on excess.. Really don't see where all that weight is coming from.. Sometimes I eat less than my colleagues..

fushiastar,

thats good...at least u walk daily. for me, i still think swimming once a week not enough but bopian leh..cos working mah. hmm...heard yoga is good also, can stretch stretch.
true lah..i also dont want to put on excess weight cos got more problems. preg women are more prone to suffer from those i guess so we gotta be extra careful lor. just watch wat u eat then..maybe eat healthier lor.
sigh, we preg women cannot put on too much but yet cannot dont put on also, so kang kor man..

Joan: oh no one recommended.. hehe.. i choose SGH cos my hubby works in SGH more convenient for him to drop by see me during my checkup lor.. then i prefer female gynae so from the list we choose lor.. my hubby said Dr Yu very senior so we choose her lor..

fushiaster: it's worrying that we're not really putting on weight leh...however, one shd also be quite cautious about weight gain during pregnancy...cos if too much, there'll be problems losing them later...

Can i join in the conversation? Im 8 weeks pregnant and planning to deliver at Mt A. My EDD should be 10 Dec (according to my 1st day of last mense) Now searching for gynae... any recommendation?

Cheers!!!

On the topic of weight gain, a book recommended the following :

a) 1st tri : 3 pounds
b) 14th to 35th week : 1 pound per week.
c) 36th week onwards : maintain or drop off 1-2 pounds

This is the average lor, of course +/- is alright if you are under or overweight. but it suggested to be careful against sudden weight gain...guess we should try to be cautious against gaining too much so that the delivery may be easier lor. All the best!

Can I check with all of u if it's ok to eat cheesecake? I read the guidebook given by my gynae and it says that we should avoid eating soft cheese. Do u have any idea what is soft cheese?

Mrs Tan,

Think swimming, walking and yoga are all pretty good cos they help prepare all the muscles that we use at childbirth.. I actually used to swim about once a week too, but kinda worried about swimming pools not being clean leading to urinary tract infection so I've stopped.. Yep.. this weight thing is frudtrating.. Some pregnant women can develop hypertension and diabeties during pregnancy and I don't want to be one of them..

Sneaky..
I guess the best person to check with is our own gynaes? My husband is a doctor (GP) and I'm in healthcare too.. He was telling me that pregnant women generally should gain a certain amount of weight and not be losing weight (unless you are having very bad nausea).. It's a balance between eating not too much and not too little and our weight is an indication of that.. Not gaining the appropriate amount of weight May mean that we are not eating enough and imply that the foetus is not getting sufficient nutrition..
(Please don't freak out when I say this cos that's why I say check with your gynae, if your gynae says that the baby is doing ok based on the scan and tests, it is ok..
) but if we gain too much weight it's not healthy for the mother, cos the foetus only needs that amount of nutrition and whatever is excess is converted to fats in us!!.. Being too fat during pregnancy is not good cos it predisposes us to hypertension and diabetes.. So it's not just about losing weight post delivery..

The figures I put up before was recommanded by my own gynae for me..

0kg in the 1st 3 months and 1-1.5kg per month there after..

That means that I'm putting on 2.5 kg too much..

Viola,
I've seen the figures you've mentioned in books too.. I think these are actually figures for caucasian women..
? Unless the book was written by an asian author?

Missysunflower
Soft cheese often contains bacteria- Listeria that can harm your baby.. I'm not sure what cheese cheesecake contains.. I've cut and pasted something fron FDA about cheese..Hope it helps..

Sweetie
Sent again

*Cheese and Pregnancy*

FDA/CFSAN Keep Your Baby Safe: Eat Hard Cheeses instead of Soft Cheeses during Pregnancy
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
FDA Brochure: June 1996; Updated July 1997

Keep Your Baby Safe:

Eat Hard Cheeses Instead of Soft Cheeses During Pregnancy

As a pregnant woman, eating for two, you should be aware that certain soft cheeses can become contaminated with bacteria called Listeria. . If you become sick from Listeria, the baby you're carrying could get sick or die. To protect your unborn baby, eat hard cheeses instead of soft cheeses while you are pregnant.

Soft cheeses that can easily become contaminated include:

Mexican-Style Soft Cheeses
queso blanco
queso fresco
queso de hoja
queso de crema
asadero

Other Soft Cheeses
feta (goat cheese)
brie
Camembert
blue-veined cheeses, like Roquefort
Listeria can also contaminate other foods. Contaminated food may not look, smell or taste different from uncontaminated food.

Symptoms of infection can develop from 2 to 30 days after you eat contaminated food. If the infection spreads to your unborn baby, you could start early labor. Tell your doctor right away if you get any of these symptoms:

fever and chills, or other flu-like symptoms
headache
nausea
vomiting
Although Listeria bacteria are killed with thorough cooking, these "tough bugs" can grow in the refrigerator and survive in the freezer.

To prevent infection, take these precautions:

Use hard cheeses, like cheddar, instead of soft cheeses during pregnancy.

If you do use soft cheeses during pregnancy, cook them until they are boiling (bubbling).

Use only pasteurized dairy products. It will state "pasteurized" on the label.

If you do use hard cheeses made from unpasteurized milk, use only those marked "aged 60 days" (or longer).

Eat only thoroughly cooked meat, poultry or seafood.

Thoroughly reheat all meats purchased at deli counters, including cured meats like salami, before eating them.

Wash all fruits and vegetables with water.

Follow label instructions on products that must be refrigerated or that have a "use by" date.

Keep the inside of the refrigerator, counter tops, and utensils clean.

After handling raw foods, wash your hands with warm soapy water, and wash the utensil you used with hot soapy water before using them again.
Do you have any questions about Listeria? Call (1-800) FDA-4010.

Department of Health and Human Services
Food and Drug Administration (HFI-40)
5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857
DHHS Publication No. (FDA) 96-2304S

Reproduced from the Food and Drug Administration

Instead of walking and swimming, y not try climbling up stairs? hee
i live at 12floor, i take lift to 6th floor,then climb up to my hse (of coz on days i nt that tired). Climb whatever stairs you can find like overhead bridge or in office etc.

Guess it helps in easy delivery also...as you are stretching yr legs muscle.

hi girls,

my urine test result is out. Doc says i have urinary tract infection leh.
I asked him if its common, he said not so. supposed to pick up antibiotics from him to treat it. or else if untreated it will result in preterm labour/delivery. sigh...
the scary thing abt this is that i have no symptoms abt it but he said it can happen without any symptoms one.

Mrs Tan: No worries..... Its is common to have urinary tract infection for pregnant ladies due to the frequency of toilet visits we get. Just make sure that we drink lots of water and go when you need to. I had it too and had no symptoms like you. My doc said its common.....

Mrs.Tan : why you went for urine test, as a regular test or doctor asked you to do.Its very scary that there is no symptom, yet you got UTI. Do we need to go for regular urine test?

Mrs Tan,

Sorry to hear about this. but dun worry, i had a girlfriend who always kena, especially if TTC too hard. With treatment shd be ok. A nurse told me that when go toilet, wipe from front to back.

Ice, Viola,

thanks for your concern. ya i hope the UTI will not be recurrent or else sure very headache one. The thing is, i have been drinking a lot of water already all along but still can kena. sigh. Will go buy cranberry juice after work today. I am more worried cos of the baby. If i'm not preg, then not so bad. So strange that my doc said its not common. Make me worried.

Pammi,
from my Wk12 onwards, the nurse will ask me to do urine test on strip to check so thats how it was found out. I'm sure ur doc will do that same too. Yes, mine is called Asymptomatic (meaning no symptoms) but come to think back now, I do realise that i pee very very often, but i had thot it was becos i drink a lot of water plus being preg, our baby rests on our bladder so all the more got urge to pee. So i thot it was normal. But its UTI.

yeah mrstan, don't worry as it is quite common for preggies.

Kris, i tried the peppermint tea from crabtree &amp; Evelyn liao. Its light and taste refreshing. Thanks for the recommendation. It felt more soothing after taking it. But hor, the for first round, the colour of the tea seems to be quite dark. Then i add more water and the 2nd round taste lighter and better and not so dark also.

fushiastar: thanks for the explanation. during my last visit at the gynae's baby is growing well. i lost weight because i fell sick...i had bad cough for more than 10 days...however, i will still check with gynae when i next visit him on 9 may 05...

Mrs Tan: Thanks for the explanation. Do take care. Dont worry, everything will be alright soon and god will help you.

Tao baby,

I can't climb stairs cos I have a knee problem..Will have to stick to walking..

Mrs Tan,
Oh no.. Do rest well and drink lotsa water.. Get well soon.. Don't think UTI in pregnancy is that uncommon actually but I'm not sure..

Sneaky,
Yep As long as gynae confirms baby is ok, should be alright.. We must try to be happy and not stressed too.. for the sake of our babies
You've gained 2.5 kg at 17 weeks right? That's quite alright I think..
I wish I only gained 2.5kg and not 4kg at 15 weeks.. I'm only suppose to gain 1.5 kg by now.. Sigh.. I'm seeing my gynae a day after you, on May 10th

Mrs Tan: I also kana UTI quite often.. in fact i kana b4 i tested positive which was after my fertile period.. then i took a course of antibiotics.. both me and hubby were so freaked out when we realised that i was pregnant after tat cos afraid that the medication will affect the baby cos the gp said pregnant cannot take this antibiotics.. told my concerns to gynae she said if had effect on baby i would have miscarriaged lor.. so should be ok.. was quite relieved after i heard this from her..

Fushiastar,
thanks girl...ya i am already downing lots of water now liao.

Kuririn,
oh dear really? i also know that UTI is very common among us women. thank God you and ur baby are both ok hor...
but how come u kena UTI often? dont u take antibiotics to treat it? or is it becos it is recurrent? very mafan hor..

Mrs Tan: thanks for the concern.. i was very worried when i found out i got pregnant.. i din expect to strike one cos tried for half yr still no strike mah.. who knows when u least expected it u kana.. when my mensus was late.. hubby was saying just late not pregnant.. cos i got sore breasts n stomach cramp b4 my mensus one.. so after almost late for a week then i tested..

think i will get it abt once in 3-4 mths.. gp said after sex must go urine to wash out the bacteria and also must drink lots of water.. cos u know try for bb we dun go wash up that fast mah.. sometimes i fall asleep.. so kana lor.. ya i did took antibiotics lor.. the doc somemore increased my dosage cos he said more serious than last time.. lucky everything is ok.. gynae said if we scared can do detail check when 5mths pregnant lor..

fushiastar: you are right...we shd remain positive and not get stressed up...jia you everyone...some of us are almost halfway there...

I've just called the aqua aerobics teacher. She said that she can start on 14th May (Sat) at 11am.

Can i just reconfirm gals going:-
- SSL
- Kuririn
- Jenifur
- Morraine
- Celine

I told her there's only 5 of us and if she can still charge us $120 per pax. She said she will need to find someone else to join us to form 6 pax otherwise we will have to absorb the pool rental charges.

But before that, I have to confirm with her if 5 of us are really confirmed to go before she starts to call.

So I appreciate if you girls can let me know by tues so that I can call her to confirm

Sorry for the rush

Hi ruff

No, I have not buy any BB stuff yet. Will plan what to buy and start sourcing around. Some friends and colleagues offer to pass down their BB stuff (eg. cot, infant car seat), so have to list down whats required and whats available.

But most likely will be buying own baby clothes and pram.

For those who has gone for your 5th month detail scan, anything to take note?

Should we go with a full bladder or empty one? Any special thing that we should take note?

wanna to check every time we went for gynae appt, we will be go for urine test for any sugar and protein detection in urine. btw could that tell if we hv urine infection (esp for those w/o symptoms?

Tks.