(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Mrs Tan, head slightly bigger should be alright..

Your poor friend.. Hopefully she won't choose the abortion route.. that's really horrible.. I saw a friend through it and I considered it myself but thankfully didn't go through with it..

Hi Mrs Tan, there are several places that your friend can approach for advice and help:
*aLife - Pregnancy Assistance & Counselling Centre, Block 308 #01-165, Shunfu Road, Singapore 570308, Tel : +65 6258-8816, Fax : +65 6258-4339
http://www.alife.org.sg/en_index.php
*Helpline 1800-MUM-TO-BE (1800-6868-623)
Hope she will be okay...

hi Jenifur / Mrs Tan

cant rem whether did i post the bb list here for u all alry, anyway i post again
very forgetful lately

can u give me ur email, i cant seem to post eh attachment here

285558.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font face="Courier New"> <font color="0000ff">as @ 16 May 05
Chloe .......... 11-Sep-05 23 Wks
Fun ............ 24-Sep-05 21 Wks Mt. A (Boy)
Mayday ......... 03-Oct-05 20 Wks
BellyButton .... 05-Oct-05 19 Wks
ice ............ 05-Oct-05 19 Wks
inc ............ 05-Oct-05 19 Wks
Joan ........... 05-Oct-05 19 Wks SGH
MrsTan ......... 05-Oct-05 19 Wks Mt. A (Boy)
Aical .......... 06-Oct-05 19 Wks
Sneaky ......... 06-Oct-05 19 Wks Mt. E (Boy)
Niuniu ......... 07-Oct-05 19 Wks KKH
Winnie ......... 07-Oct-05 19 Wks
SSL ............ 09-Oct-05 19 Wks TMC
Joycelyn ....... 08-Oct-05 19 Wks
MC ............. 08-Oct-05 19 Wks Glen E
Pammie ......... 08-Oct-05 19 Wks
Snow ........... 08-Oct-05 19 Wks KKH
whitefloral .... 08-Oct-05 19 Wks
Viola .......... 09-Oct-05 19 Wks
breakbeats ..... 12-Oct-05 18 Wks Glen E
Jenifur ........ 17-Oct-05 18 Wks
Morraine ....... 18-Oct-05 18 Wks Glen E
Chris .......... 20-Oct-05 17 Wks Mt. A
Fresia ......... 22-Oct-05 17 Wks
Kris ........... 22-Oct-05 17 Wks TMC
Ling ........... 23-Oct-05 17 Wks RMG
Sweetie ........ 23-Oct-05 17 Wks
Missysunflower . 24-Oct-05 17 Wks
Nuttnuts ....... 24-Oct-05 17 Wks
Tao_baby ....... 24-Oct-05 17 Wks Mt. A
Celine ......... 25-Oct-05 17 Wks Mt. A
Janice ......... 26-Oct-05 17 Wks
Garfield ....... 28-Oct-05 16 Wks TMC
SusanY ......... 28-Oct-05 16 Wks Eastshore
Kuririn ........ 29-Oct-05 16 Wks SGH
Manuka ......... 03-Nov-05 15 Wks KKH </font></font></font>

I'm going for Trial class Prenatel Yoga at Babies and Cream on 28th May Sat..

SSL.. you are going tomorrow night right? I'm going to see if I like it, if I do, think I'll sign up for 12 sessions..

Anyone else doing yoga at Babies and Cream?

Jenifur,

I'm delivering at Glen E not Mt E.
Thanks for the list!!

Pammi and Pammie are 2 different ppl. I was Pammie but in order not to confuse everyone, I changed to MC.

Hi wendypooh

one of the problems of pregnt moms is forgetfulness... it's the same with me. Yesterday i left my home and was in church when I kept thinking - did i turn my iron off? I just cld not recall and i rushed home to check... hehe.

anyway, my gynae prescribe me with Prolacta (DHA) for my baby's brain development as well as for mommy cos' she says I need it otherwise I will be more forgetful..

fushiastar, im gog to the yoga with SSL tom...think i will only sign up the short course. scared later i too lazy/tired to attend..hee..

I have been reading your posts quietly, till I read MC's post about forgetfulness. =) Me too! I am usually quite careful, never lose things or muddle headed, but since the pregancy... I forgot to turn off the iron (lucky got auto off), forgot to remove keys from the lock after coming home when I specifically thought to myself, "ah, must remember to take it out later after I put all the things down, otherwise, must change lock tomorrow...", and DUH! I left it there overnight. Luckily, the gate conceals the lock to the main door. Then, I left my hair clay at the yoga place changing room. Nowadays also, I keep asking my husband, have I told you about XX? and true enough, I have just said it 2 mins ago.
How? like old auntie already. =P

Yvonne,

I was thinking about yoga at night but I normally fall asleep by 830pm and I've tried going out and hanging out with my friends, but once it hits about 9pm, I get very tired and crabby, can't even drive myself home and I end up calling my hubby and he has to take a cab down to drive me home.. so think I'd rather go for an afternoon one..

I asked the lady there, she said that most people start in their 4th month and go on til their 8th month..

I'm going to try one session first then if I like it, I'll sign up for more..

Yvonne and SSL,

what are you going to wear for yoga? Can you still fit into your bottoms? I can't fit into all of mine, wear my hubby's bottoms at home..

Ruff,

I'm taking a 5 day trip by coach to KL when I am about 5+ months.. I just verbally told my gynae and she said to go ahead, so we've booked everything..

I actually booked liao... Should be ok cos I've been very ok. But I saw a clause on the airline website that below 35 weeks must show a cert from doctor.... dunno how true.

Ruff, Oh.. hmmm, then maybe just get one from your gynae, in case you need it? Mine is by coach so maybe that's why no need.. I checked both with the travel people and my gynae.. But I think it is usually not advisable to travel in your 3rd trimester..

Hi Ruff

Your gynae shld have informed you when is the safe period to travel. 35weeks is NOT safe that's why travel agents need doc approval.
once we are 31 - 32 weeks - that's the end of travel. For me EDD is 8 Oct and gynae says stop all travel by 3rd week of Aug.

hope this helps.

Pianokey..

you reminded me.. these days i have been arguing with my hubby cos' he will tell me - you just said this and I said - no i did not!! then he said - yes u just said it 2 seconds ago and my mind was completely blank.. scary!!!!!

fushiastar, haha...me too...cant fit into any shorts or singletz! sigh... think wear comfortable wear loh..i will wear my hubby's t-shirt.. ;o)

Mrs Tan - how's your friend? i found this in another thread.

Community Issues - Abortion Pregnancy Crisis Service
Tel: (65) 6339 9770
Mon, Wed, Fri, Sat: 9am - 5pm
Tue, Thu: 9am - 9pm

MC, I was looking at one of the airline webby. It says below 35 weeks, cert from doc.
beyond 35 weeks, will not board.

hi Ruff.. sorry i didn't read properly.. looks like not only absentminded these days also read things that are not there..

one question i've been meaning to ask - how long is your baby measuring from crown to rump (buttocks)?

I am in my 18th week and the U/S measurement of my bb came to 12.5cm. I read under babycentre.com that baby 18 wks shld be 14cm and 19wks shld be 15cm.

My gynae says ok because baby in curled up position.

But i think - all babies are curled up position right? so when they say baby shld be xx cm long, are they measuring as if the baby is in a straight upright position? or are they assuming baby in normal curled up position?

can someone advise me?
How long was your baby when u measured at 18 wks?

Hi sweetie

I'm currently 19 weeks. My class will start on 4th June and my session is 430-630. Will be more than 20 weeks by then.

Hi Sneaky

Do u mean antenatal? Of course its ok but the charges will be higher if u are not delivery at TMC. But like what MC says, the hosp maybe showing u their hosp protocol.

I know for TMC, they will have hosp tour during one of the session.

Hi Fushiastar

Ya
me going with Yvonne tomorrow. cos teacher preggy so maybe the moves will be slower??

I can still fit my own bottoms at home. maybe cos they loose liao.
I will be wearing those pregnant bottoms (tee material) so should be very comfortable.

Will be wearing bigger size tee for tops for more comfort. not too big incase it folds upwards while doing certain stretch

wendypooh,
thanks so much for your list! its very comprehensive and it shall be my guide list to buy baby's stuff.

jenifur,
thanks for posting it up.

MC,
my baby at 19wks measured at 16cm last Sat. but its only a rough gauge measurement cos baby's legs were like curled up so i think it shld be longer than 16cm..not sure leh.

MC,
If I'm not wrong, all measurements are of babies in "curled up position" or crown- rump length.. I don't know the CRL of my baby now (week 18), last scan was at 13 weeks and next scan is at week 21..

Babycentre is a UK based website so info such as baby dimension is probably of caucasian bables which are generally larger than asian babies.. Don't be too worried, yah?

SSL and Yvoone,

Yep, realise that I have nothing suitable to wear for yoga cos I can't fit into any of my old clothes and I only bought dresses/ skirts to wear as interim clothes to work until I can fit into my maternity clothes and wearing hubby's clothes at home.. Must go find maternity bermudas.. I'm also starting to get lower backaches and aches at my inner thighs although I don't think I'm that large yet.. Think it's time to start exercising, that's why I'm signing up for yoga.. It's safe after 20 weeks to exercise..

Everyone:

Do you all have scans every months you see your gynae? I only have 3 scans.. the first dating scan before 12 weeks, then another at 22 weeks and the last one at 32 weeks..

fushiastar:
So far I had been to 3 checkup.. 1st checkup gynae did a ab-scan and saw the sac then send me to do a v-scan where they did a check on the bb heartbeat and a measurement on the bb to determine which wk i'm in lor..

2nd checkup gynae did a quick ab-scan (abt 5 min) and also quick measurement of the bb lor..

for 3rd checkup, i did NT scan.. I'm going for my 4th checkup next week..

fushiastar, strange...i scan everytime when i visit my gynae..but of coz gotta pay for the scan lar..i thot only when u reach ur 20wks then ur visit will be every 4 wks?

i hav a bad backache too...esp when i slp..do not know which position tat will not hurt my bb...sigh..so toss n turn everynite till i cant slp well..

Kuririn,
You had to do the v- scan? I heard about it.. and really hoped that my gynae wouldn't do it for me and was really glad I didn't have to do it cos when I went for my first check, uterus was already palpable.. so can just do abdominal scan...

I think it's cos I'm delivering at NUH.. NUH only does 3 scans, whereas KKH and private hospitals do a scan each visit.. It's really nice to see your baby on screen, right? I only had my weight taken, did urine dip stick and heard foetal heartbeat at my last check up, also my 2nd checkup, didn't get to see baby....

Can't wait for my next check, that's the detailed scan to check everything and see baby's gender..

Hi Mrs Tan.. 16cm at 19 wks is just about right. I guess either you or your hb must be quite tall! mine at 18 wks was only 12.5cm.
did u say you were expecting a boy? I guess maybe mine is a girl then.. ok I will not worry too much.

I started seeing my gynae since I was 4 weeks pregn (based on LMP is 5 weeks). she scans everytime. 1st 2 times at week 4 and 5 were V scans. The subsequent scans were abdominal scans. The reason I choose to scan everytime was because I was quite sick twice and had also slipped and fallen so I didn't mind having the scans which she says are harmless to baby as they are using sound waves.

Yes I get emotional when I see my baby on the scanner because twice I thought something had happened and when she scanned the baby was happily waving at me. It moved me to tears..
At the last scan, something quite miraculous happened. We wanted to check out the gender of my bb but she had her legs curled up again and doc could not see. So I said - come baby turn for mummy and she turned! Then her legs still curled up and I said - come baby open your legs and she opened!! I'm not joking. Even the doc was surprised!! Then I put my legs straight out and curled my arms behind my head and bb did the same thing!! It's just so miraculous to me.. I wish I had a video cam that day..

Oh, i forgot to add that I'm into Week 19 now and I've so far seen my gynae 6 times. Hope that's not too excessive! But honestly I look fwd to every visit cos' I just can't wait to see my bb!

Gynae prints out the U/S pic for me everytime and I've been keeping a journal of my bb's development. I write things that happen around me and our family including visits to gynae etc. I decorate the journal with the pics so one day when she's old enough she can enjoy reading about her life even before she arrived into this world.

fushiastar:
actually i did v-scan twice.. once on my first checkup (done by a male doc not my gynae) and the 2nd time during my NT scan cos bb was upside down ab-scan cannot get measurement so no choice have to do v-scan to get measurement.. i'm delivering at SGH leh..

Everyone:
here's a chart to predict your baby gender.. my colleague n cousin said very accurate for them.. maybe u all would like to try out :p
the chart is based on ur lunar age at conception and lunar mth of conception..

http://www.thelaboroflove.com/chart/cal.html

<font face="Calisto mt"> MC,

Sorry for e mistake. Think I sick until blur liao.

fushiastar,

Noted. Hv updated e EDD list.

Any idea if we can take
285698.jpg
. Coughing v badly but got no time to go see GP leh.

Yvoone,

I went for my 1st check at 13 weeks, then I was given a 4 week appointment at 17 weeks and my next one is another 4 weeks later at 21 weeks.. Then it's 4 weekly til I think 32 weeks.. can't remember.. and its I think either once in 2 weeks, or once a week til 38 weeks..

The NUH package is such that it includes only 3 scans.. If the gynae wants to do additional scans, or we request, then there will be an additional charge for the scan on top of package charge..

Was trying to decided if I wanted to request for additional scans, but after discussing with husband, decided that it's not necessary.. cos purpose of the scans is to detect if anyting is wrong and if something is wrong, if we want to do a d&amp;c which can only be done up to 24 weeks anyway, after which, cannot..

I've found the most comfy sleepning position for me is flat on my back without a pillow..
And I'm so grateful for my king koil mattress.. Really glad I insisted on getting it in the beginning cos it really helps my back.. My back is just better after I lie on it for awhile..

MC,
yes, mine is a boy and i think boys are generally bigger also? urs is a girl so maybe smaller lor. dont worry ok? yes, my hubby is tall (1.83cm) but i am short (1.55cm) so hoping baby will take after hubby lor. hehe... Hey we are so alike. i have a journal for baby too. Will paste all baby's scan pics onto the notebk and write down my thoughts and feelings regularly. I also anticipate my next gynae appt everytime cos thats the only time i can get to see baby! u feel that too rite? wah ur baby is really very guai man...already obeying mummy at such a tender age

Hi Mrs Tan.. Thanks. I haven't detected if mine is girl or boy... but I guess it's girl leh!
Not based on calendar or what but just gut feeling.
Last scan showed my bb inherited my hb's high nose so I belly happy! :D

Btw, I'm about 1.57m and hb abt 1.75m. I was quite sick and had lost 3kg at the end of my 1st tri so maybe tat's y baby abit small but I shld not worry lah, cos' as you say bb v guai!

Ya! sometimes after I come home from gynae visit, I look at the pic and talk to baby.. hehe.
funni hor? keep up your notebook cos' I also do pen my thoughts, feelings, sometimes i tell bb her daddy is cranky ( haha )when we have our little tiffs!

Hi jenifur

sorry blur one is me, not u! cos' I saw wrongly that u put Mt E and then later i went back to list and noticed it was Glen E.. freaky!

i think 'pei pa gao' is safe cos' i also ate alot of it when I had cough - that time didn't occur to me to check with doc but if you worry, just give doc a call. The nurse can check and answer you immediately. No need to arrange appointment.
Hope u get well soon - there seems to be a flu bug going around.

MC,your baby is so obedient..

Kuririn, poor thing.. hopefully you don't have to do anymore v-scans...

Jenifur: Thanks..
I can't even read the chinese words you texted.. But do go see a gp, must take good care of yourself..

Let's talk about **BaBy NaMes**... Have any of you decided yet?

Fushiastar,

we all seem to want girls! actually it's my wish too but as I progress, i"m more concern abt bb's health then gender. also i am afraid of the negative impact on bb if I keep wishing for a girl and it turns out to be boy. i want to make sure bb knows wheth girl or boy mommy's love is same!
Hope your hb's surname not TAY else ZOE TAY - wah.. little famous bb. Noel is a nice name.
I'm still having headache over name cos' my hb not chinese n i want chinese name but does not go well with his surname. headache.. lately ploughing through chinese dictionary (haha).

What do u think of the name WEN(2) XI(1). wen is language wen and xi is rare. is it a nice name for a girl?? got any meaning or not?? hehe..

<font face="Calisto mt"> MC,

Actually I also not bother but HB v kan cheong. Insist I mus go see doc to take medication
. Wow ur BB in tummy already so guai liao

Fushiastar,

Boy will be Jarvis or Jerrell.

But I think shld b girl cuz I dreamt tt HB came to fetch me from work w a sweet little girl &amp; her name was Janelle.

ruff: abt the 35 weeks to show gynae letter..after 35 weeks u cant board the plane, 32 weeks - with gynae's letter its true.. tt time i travel at 12weeks this stupid front counter dun wan to issue me ticket when she know i was pregnant.. kaoz... i so angry.. i told her.. go read up her work. :p

SSL: yah...i meant antenatal. but the timing is terrible if i join the mt E one leh...haiz...i'm so vexed...if i didn't remember wrongly, my SIL went to one that conducts classes on saturdays. it's held at wheelock place...must find out from her...

fushiastar: i've been to 5 checkups liao and everytime also scan. is it bad for bb?

all: wendypooh, thanks for the list. taka baby section also has a checklist. maybe i post it tonight. btw, the salesgirl hinted me over the weekend that i can start shopping at taka for bb stuff starting end of this month for the 20% discount. i think the bb fair is starting there soon but they cannot reveal yet...yeah...this time, i'll surely buy all i want; bottles, sterilisers, bathtub, etc....

wah!!!!! all nice baby names.... my hubby wan me to change the boy name from warren to louis... i dun like louis, cos my gf who just given birth in Dec have named her son lloyd. so i dun wan to follow the L....

poshbb

it's v hard when daddy n mommy like different names. for me, i have a list of names i like and from there we work out together to select 1 - 2 common ones that both like and agree. So far fortunately my hb and I can agree at least on one name for boy and one name for girl but we couldn't agree on the spelling! haha.. these days alot of v hip names with cool spelling...
but meaning of name is still more important to us lah.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Ling,

Louis is also a gd name. It's origin from German &amp; means famous warrior. My gf's son also called Louis. Is there any particular reason why YK likes Louis? If not then find another name loh. Wat alaphets u like?</font>