(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

<font face="calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Carole</font>,

Janelle does wake up to latch but only once or twice. But when she's sick hor she can wake up lyk every 1/2hr leh.

Clarisse got nightmare huh or play too much just before bedtime? Prob just wan to manja mummy

Fushiastar/jenifur/sneaky: hope your babies will be ok. My mum has told me from the beginning to treasure the moments your baby want you and only you because there will come a time when she won't even remember you exists (hehe, she says she's speaking from experience) When I complained that Xaby got used to being rocked to sleep she said enjoy it, when she's bigger and more independent, she won't even want to have you in bed with her... also remember our babies will be babies only once, we must enjoy them now because there will come a time when we can't baby them anymore! (just realized i sound like a nagging mum) errrr

Sneaky: if your house on AC the whole time, it could be that Samuel's air passages get too dry, try to give him warm water often as fushiastar says. Also, get one of those eucalyptus oils and burn it coz that will help soothen his air passages.

jenifur: is your boss married? ang moh or local? is there no way you can bring your work home and do some even when on leave?

Re: sick babies, isn't there an old wives tale that babies will all get sick just before they turn one??

yipee, yep, tomorrow i'll look ard again. if nothing seems right, i'll just make do without any programmes. let the children play amongst themselves will do...

fushiastar, sneaky, jenifur

hope baby zoe, samuel and janelle will be alright soon. when bbs fall sick, they only want mummy. there's probably a sense of comfort when bb is near us.

sharon
yes, i let Kaiser watch Baby Einstein, Baby Genius &amp; Bumble Bee Action words DVD/VCD. Otherwise, he sometimes also watch Sesame Street &amp; cable TV (Chinese programmes) - for his Mandarin "lessons".

yippee: does kaiser get bored with the videos? xaby will watch for a while but gt bored. the only one she watches throughout is mother goose!

He doesnt look bored, I normally play them for him during his lunch/dinner. Ya... we dont have the habit of eating together at the dining table.

hmmmm... guess i'll have to watch it with her and point this out to her so she won't get bored.

Got her birthday present a few weeks ago coz i saw this rocking horse on sale at Taka... here is Xaby testing out the unicorn...
509141.jpg

but we decided to get her the horsie coz the pink unicorn might get dirty easily

509142.jpg

her daddy wanted to get her the princess chair but it was $285!!! took a pic of her sitting in it instead
509143.jpg

Xaby is looking cute on the rocking horse &amp; princess chair.

The rocking horse sure looks fun. Ya the chair is nice but expensive. hey only have a princess chair huh, any King chair?

it is fun.. xaby will sit on it and refuse to let go... specially coz the ears have galloping and "neighing" sounds when you press them!

only saw a pink princess chair, but maybe they have king chair also :) they had a mini sofa set that was also soooooooo cute!!

thanks everyone for your well wishes
zoe actually slept fr 730pm-530am last night!
so i got some sleep too

jenifur: pm-ed you

Re: VCD
anyone watching the baby einstein series? have tried to let zoe watch but no interest at all.. she rather watch slideshow of pictures of herself.. haha..
yipee ya ya: which baby einstein vcd does kaiser like?

fushiastar: you're lucky Zoe slept so early... xaby went to bed a 10pm, but poo'ed at midnight so got woken up and slept at 2 am!

Patsy,

Xbaby is so chubby... wat is her weight now? Grace manage to finish 6 oz yesterday night, first time! so happy... so will stick with Enfa series...

fushiastar
We do not hv the full set, only Baby Bach, Baby Mozart &amp; Baby Beethoven (Neighbourhood Animals a little spoiled already). Kaiser has no preference it seems, he just watch them. But I think he prefers muppet shows compared to scenery &amp; animals.

Bumble Bee action words also quite good.

xweetie: she's about 9.5 (approx) kgs.... xaby drank 9 oz BM last night before going to sleep...i really need to start limiting her food leh, else she'll be super over weight!

Sneaky: just to share, am really really impressed with the cream... this morning my right hand is still so much smoother than my left!

Nope Patsy
I have not bot them (yet). But it looks pretty popular. I almost got it 2nd hand at the Mktplc (collection at Jurong - quite far for me &amp; timing cant match so din get it). Then again Im also concern tt 2nd hand scarly buy already cannot play/spoil one how.... no recourse huh.

Popular sells at 10% discount with membership card I think. Sometimes, Isetan also gives discount during their sale.

Morning all! the thread is alive again!

Fushiastar, i dont own the einstein series but Tammi's hooked on the nursery rhymes VCD.. we live so close by, shld meet up more often!! some interaction between Zoe and Tammi..

Patsy, Xaby is very princess looking!! cutesy!

Yippee: yeah, been looking at it, i think during the robinson's sale they also had it on discount but didn't get a chance to buy!

pammie: thanks...

Any mummies feeding your bbs millet (called xiao mi in chinese)?? if so, can share how you cook them? thanks

aiyoyo...i left my reply to some of you on the computer screen since last night. i think i did not post it...aiyoyo...even the reply to yippee i posted last night was from previous night. so kayu!

Its ok lah, Sneaky. Hope Samuel is feeling better now. How come his cousins always spread the virus to Samuel huh? the virus in the school must be so powerful... I am still thinking of sending Kaiser to infantcare next time when I go to work &amp; if the maids are slack without supervision.

yippee, Samuel is still coughing and a little wheezing. his 2 cousins attend different classes and are at different schools. in fact, they bring viruses from 2 different places *faint*. worse, they attend enrichment classes even on Sat &amp; Sun. even more viruses...they go to school mon-sun!

if you're sending Kaiser to infant/child-care, be mentally and financially prepared...not that i'm scaring you but this is unavoidable...

Sneaky, Jenifur, Fushiastar, Carole,

hey hey we are on the same boat! Ken Shin also fell sick (again...) on Wed, he most prob got it from my maid who has flu now. He's got runny &amp; blocked nose, no cough so far. And ya regding the old wives tale abt how babies will fall sick before they turn 1...I can't help but believe it liao.

Ya and Ken Shin also likes to latch on countless times at night when he sleeps, once i take out, he will start to toss and turn his face, looking for it, if take too long to put back, then he will start to wail liao. I'm also quite glad that still bfing now, cos i can tell he is really comforted by nursing.

Sneaky &amp; Yippee,

Ever consider giving Samuel the pneumoccocal jab?

I am considering giving grace after her first birthday. Think to delay the chickenpox jab to the pneumoccocal one instead. Its two jabs when baby is after 1 year old.

sweetie: just digged through my notes re: FM. Enfalac range has a bit lower fat, but but also lower protein (slight) compared to Gain. Both products contain DHA but enfalac contains SA (Sialic acid - present in human milk and is said to help boost immune system). Gain has FOS (fructoligosaccharides) which acts as fiber but i honestly don't think a child of 1 or so needs this as his diet is still not as diverse as adults. Both products are made up of high oleic fats (palm, coconut, sunflower and soy i think) and is also based on cows milk. It terms of additional vit and mins, bout the same. Enfalac may be more palatable to children becasue they have natural flavours added. If this is a bit "cheem" for you, send me a PM with your questions and i will try to clear things up.

Sneaky: your niece/nephew attend classes Mon-Sun??? when do they have time to be kids???

BTW, mrstan: you still want the pasta? hope Ken Shin will get better soon.

Hope it's not my turn to have a sick child soon!

mrstan, maybe this is the time everyone must be very careful. the flu bug is everywhere!! hey, seems like our batch (Oct 05 mummies) breastfeed for the longest time hor? very on man!

sweetie, for your info, Samuel had all jabs available since 6mths old; pneumoccocal &amp; rotavirus as well.

patsy, they are also kids when in school. basically, they are there to play, socialise and learn. there are other children around as playmates. monday to fri - julia gabriel and chiltern house (individually) while sat &amp; sun enrichment classes like kindermusik, yamaha, shichida

sneaky: yeah i guess but it's all so structured for them... dunno, maybe i'm too "ang moh" in my thinking and can't get used to this... playschool I can understand but not monday to friday!! this is a source of contention b/w HB and me too.. coz i tell him I don't want to let xaby study primary school in singapore

BTW girls, will be in Vietnam and will go to the Kipling factory outlet, anything you wnat? also from bangkok.... let me know! I have lots of space in my luggage, don't worry!!!

Patsy,
sorry, i dont have time to pick up the pasta fr u lately. Maybe next week can. Can u meet at tiong bahru area?

sneaky.. haha.. your SIL sounds like my mom and my MIL.. last time hubby and i also had classes monday to sunday... from art to music to tennis, swimming,julia gabriel and chinese of course.. and it was so stressful and i didn't enjoy it one bit and i don't think it "made me any smarter"! i only kinda liked piano which still became a chore cos my mom forced me to practise for hours and only exam pieces!.. it was only after she stopped forcing me that i grew to love it again.. i think that enrichment classes are beneficial but children should still be children and have a childhood lor.. i never had one.. so i'm not gonna let zoe go through that.. will let her try out various classes and only let her join what she likes.. but swimming and chinese classes are a must for survival and cos me and hubby are "bananas"! for now think will just let zoe go for 1 enrichment class
the mummy also wants to spend time with her..

mrstan:

can you please collect my thermos food jar for me? i collect it from you from tiong bahru or buikit timah can?

fushiastar, my mum also like that when i was younger. besides nursery, i had to attend piano, ballet &amp; art lessons. also no life! sunday go sunday school somemore...like you, i hated piano cos my mum used to force me to practice and practice and practice...you are kind of right, all these enrichment classes did not make me any smarter too...

mrs tan: next week am travelling so week after next?

fushiastar/sneaky: will you send your kids for piano classes since you both hated it?? i too had to take piano classes and would have to be bribed/dragged/threatened to go every weekend! but now am thinking of letting xaby take classes.. .maybe let her try and if she likes she can continue, if not, try something else...

sneaky: will you send samuel for many enrichment classes too? i cried everyday when i was sent to nursery and started to pull out my hair.. my parents got so worried that they pulled me out of nursery and i only needed to go for kindergarten..haha..
i think what helped me when i was young was actually my dad teaching me, bringing me to the library, science centre and buying me a set of children's encyclopedia.. not so much the so called enrichment classes.. and my dad worked 9am-9pm mondays to fridays and weekend mornings so i didn't see much of him and it was more quality time with my dad.. that being said.. he did spend all his free time with me and my siblings..i remember sitting down with all these puzzle books my dad got me and trying to figure them out.. that was fun.. would want zoe to go for some but think there's more to childhood and nurturing a child than that lor..

patsy: actually i started out really liking piano up til maybe grade 6 or so.. then was forced to practise for 2 hours everyday cos my piano teacher had to go tell my mom i showed "great promise"
.. and only exam pieces, couldn't play the other pieces that i liked and so slowly began to hate it.. it was such a relief to finish grade 8 when i was 15.. when my piano teacher asked if i wanna do my diploma i said no way and gave the 'i wanna concentrate on my O levels' excuse..
i intend to teach zoe piano myself first.. see if she likes it and shows any inclination for music, if she does, then will send her for formal lessons.. so far she does seem to like music
and banging on my piano

maybe like you said, let xaby try..
and if she likes it, nurture the love for music

my hubby wants to send zoe for martial arts classes when she's bigger! says it's for self defense!

yippee/fushiastar/sweetie/patsy
Sabrina also watches baby song(shapes, color and 123), Your Baby can Read and some chinese songs.
wat i worries is izzit bad for their eyes lo
sabrina learn a lot on your baby can read liao.
she know "head , shoulder, knee and toe song"
How much is your rocking horse ? i saw raffles place got selling liao

fushiastar: yeah, i'm all for enrichment classes but not every day. I am planning to take xaby to church with us for sunday school tho.... dunno if she's old enough tho, she may catch a cold or somethng....

sharon: the horse was $99 in taka... will go and look for Your Baby can read tomorrow. I think as long as she doesn't sit too close to the tv and watches it sitting down she should be ok. I do limit xaby's tv time to max 1 hr a day (staggered times)

hey, these are my replies left on the screen last night....

fushiastar, thank you for the explanation. that helped me a lot in understanding asthma. i'll do what you say; give warm water often.

jenifur, what can i do even if MIL minds? i value my son's health more than her thoughts. seems like mummies who breastfeed longer also have their own set of problems too...

patsy, only very few windows are now opened for a bit of circulation; of course still with aircon turned on. is it still too dry? not sure if my nephew who has G6PD can take eucalyptus or not...

sneaky: dunno, not very familiar with G6PD, maybe yo can ask a doctor? But if it's just in your room then should be ok i guess... good reason to prevent you nephew from going into your room ;-)