(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

jenifur thank you for your advise. so other than pumping after feeds, you dun pump in between right? cuz my feeds are about 2-3hr intervals.

btw if the milk is very little from pumping, do you store or throw away?

i plan to introduce the bottle at 6 weeks, but read some of you suggest introducing earlier esp useful during first month party. i wonder if its too early to introduce cuz less latching on means less supply right?

Sneaky: hehe I'm getting lazy. tried to pump at least 3 times at wk, but wondering when we can start to pump less but extract more at a time.

Ginger: i introduce bottle at 8 wks old. any amt pump be it 10 ml or 20 ml, i'll store in fridge. accumulate & freeze it.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">3rascal</font>,

Will increase one. Sometime back I was still telling Sneaky my supply cannot meet Janelle's demand &amp; I was really worried as Janelle dun take FM. After few wks of pumping diligently @ 3hr interval (even woke up @ 3am) my SS increased.

<font color="0000ff">Ginger</font>,

I didn't pump in between initally when I onli latched my ger. Aiyo how to pump in between when oredi latching her every 2~3hrs.

I stored e milk.. so precious how can throw away!!

U can replace e latching with pumping. U can start by probaby giving her 1 feed a day using bottle for bout 1 wk then slowly increase. Jus rem it's important to clear your breast @ 3hr interval if possible be it by pump or latch to build up supply. </font>

jenifur i was advised to pump after feeds, initally i threw away my milk cuz i think i can build up my supply later and the amount is not that significant after all, now i start to keep, but i think its not super fresh? hahahaha

i just wonder why some ppl say cannot pump and some ppl say can pump. i know demand = supply so logically if i pump to empty my breast, can make more milk right?

one more question, after i pump finish, i can still squeeze some milk out, so do you do hand express or still keep pumping? usually i pump about 10 mins only

jenifur, you mention you latch your girl only, for how long did you do that before you pump?

ginger, i suggest you still continue pumping even after each feed. this way, you're telling your breasts baby needs more and that they should produce more milk. am sure your supply will increase in a weeks' time...

3rascals, wow 10ml also can keep huh, i'm lazy lah, cuz i think it looks so miserable in the plastic bag. so far i think i threw away about 200ml of milk HAHHhahaha....must start to pump and see if can build up reserve already

Jenifur: I super "ON" in pumping. frozen supply used up so fast. now hope that he can just feed on cereals for one meal then don need so much milk..

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Ginger</font>,
I still pump after every feed to clear my breast.. but I just dun dedicate a slot for pumping till I start to intro her bottle. Meaning I'll pump to xpress out e milk if I dun latch her during tt feed.

I usually hand express after about 25mins of pumping. Feel tt it totally clears my breast with hand express but hor quite tiring &amp; abit painful when I used too much strength</font>

1)so i should pump after every latch on, do you pump for night feeds?
<font color="0000ff">i usually latch my girl during the nite feeds, but after if she is sleeping and i get engorment, i will express it out. Latching at nite feeds helps to establish the milk supply when you dun latch during the day.</font>

2) everytime i pump now after feeds, the amt is very very little! only when she latches on one breast then i will get abit more milk, how much milk would you start to save?
<font color="0000ff">little is ok, cos we started with very little, i think mine was 10ml only. it will establish through time. whatever u can pump out u should save it. patience will be the perfect word.</font>

3) when did you start to introduce the bottle?
<font color="0000ff">i started bottles with her curing confinement, and she has no problem with bottle except sometimes she chooses to latch on then the bottle.</font>

4) how long do you pump> usu i pump about 10 mins, i heard some people pump for 30?
<font color="0000ff">i usually sit infront of the pump for 15mins, which i will get abt 110-150ml per side</font>

hope this will help you.

btw, i dun pump after each feed, cos she suck it dry.

jenifur: tell me, am i very bad to introduce Michelle to do house cleaning jobs? i tot this will just help her with little income and support her own kids. I think she is more KE LIAN then pris many times. at least Pris still has a car and a hubby, where poor michelle got no one to depend on. But i dunno why i just felt i am such a sadist to introduce her such a job, which my hubby suggesting to me to hire her to help out in my house cleaning for part time. at least we can do our part to help her.

Mummies, i know its a little too much to ask you all to try to help Michelle, just do a little bit or something that is within your means to help her.

I have personally went down to see her situation and passed her some EBM too. She actually took pain to buy biscuits for those who helped her even when she is in such a state.

just now when i was playing with clarisse, i told her, "clarisse, you have did you bit to help Auntie Michelle by donating your milk to someone who needs it too". This will encourage our little ones to share in the near future and let them understand giving is a such a joy.

thanks moms for the helpful information.

today i started pumping after every feed. suprisingly she started to drink more and she can take two sides and she does suck me dry cuz i can only pump less than 10ml or even 5ml combined! so nothing to save

hopefully as sneaky says my supply will increase in a week's time.

its tiring to pump at night huh? i prefer latching on..so much easier!!

really admire those who are still pumping!!

ginger: lol its takes time for the supply to kick in.
it took me one mth before i can feed my girl on total BM, so dun worry. Isit tiring to pump at nite, given that if you girl needs nite feed, u can just latch and goes to bed, dun have to pump after tt. but if she fails to wake up and sleep through, and u get engorment, then u should pump unless u wanna a bed wet with milk.

i dunno what else she needs, i will try to check with her. i know u cant supply ebm, dun worry.. i understand
till u establish ur supply ok.

carole thanks so much for the advices.

let me know what michelle needs. I do have some baby clothes, but they are second hand, given to me by people if she needs

Oh btw can I check with you, do you go back to the PD at RAffles Hospital or do you go to other PDs for jabs? I was thinking of going to other PDS near my house as its more convenient next time and Raffles is so darn expensive!

BTW also one quick question, I know you sling your little girl, for new borns ok to sling too? I have this phobia for dropping! hahaha

BTW anyone has good recommendations for nursing bras? I can't stand those without err some padding, abit obsence leh!

Ginger: My hb's bro is a GP, he does the jab for my girl. RMH's PD super ex, turn my girl few rounds, and charge me 84. i almost fainted.

wah, like tt u oso know i sling my girl, u ultimate liaoz.. whahaha.. its ok to sling new born, if u dun sling now, when she is 5mths, i tell u... she will be big and heavy. kekeke droping? wont lahz, u jsut twill the ends ard the loop.

whaha i bought mine for thymes! no padding ones!

Geniune request from Michelle

1. Cloth Diapers - currently her girl dun wear diapers during the day, she let little baby pee everywhere and she cleans up the mess later. this is to save cost on diapers.

2. Disposable diapers (M Size)

3. baby clothes for 6mths and above.

ginger, wet bed is nothing lah....blocked ducts is far worse!!! painful experience...don't leave breasts full for too long...in short, cannot be lazy ah...

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Carole</font>,

I think it's very nice of you to offer Michelle a job. She cannot depends on others forever. She has to be financially independent. How about hiring her as server in your new lobang? But she wil have to work out an arrangment for her kids.

<font color="0000ff">Ginger</font>,

Check out the padded nursing bra from MIM:-

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/dropcupbras.html</font>

jenifur, thanks for the link, i saw that too just wondering anyone tried it before?

sneaky i know cannot be lazy, but at night very lazy right? i cannot keep my eyes open ah!!!

carole, yah the PD so dam expensive ok! and i think they don't do anything much and its a hassle going back.

so its ok to sling newborn huh? i dun dare try hahaah!!

alamak i just gave away a big bag of cloth diapers leh, i might have clothes for 6 months and above but second hand is it ok?

wah u got new lobang ah..new biz?

Carole, Michelle isn't working at all at the moment? Then who's providing for her and her kids? I supoose she can try to obtain some assistance from the MP in her area.
I will try to go down tomorrow to pass her some EBM.

syl: i have no idea, i think its her mum for now.

ginger: its totally ok to sling, cos i started slinging her str8 after 1st mth till current 5mth. aiyo, she now big so have to sling her in another way. ya.. our cafe is gng to open soon, likely to be in mid april and needed some crews to help too. let me know if you cousin and nephew or niece looking for work.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Ginger</font>,

I'll set timer for 30 mins then sneak a nap while pumping.

<font color="0000ff">Carole</font>,

Hmm.... I oso nt sure how else we can help her leh. My office oso dun need helper. Think I'll pass those diapers meant for Jadon to her instead lah.

Btw check w u huh, chilled milk after heat up cannot be frozen anymore rite? If refreeze e milk, still can drink or not?

My gf's maid went to refreeze all e unfinish milk from every feed. My gf asked her why do tt. She said "Mdm ur BM v precious. I see u squeeze until so tiring but still so little. So I always store up those cannot finish one. Nt time u cannot squeeze out any milk then take out give Keith drink
"

My gf duno whether to laugh or cry after hearing this.</font>

Carole:wow 150ml from each side. i only get that from adding both sides. Hmmm.. Tik the pump makes a difference. I'm using manual.

Jenifur: My MIL is the opp. Alway like to thaw excessive milk. I keep telling her once thaw cant freeze back. Guess wat? She threw away cos she say I say cant drink. I very heartache cos supply also not that fantastic. Pump like mad "thrift &amp; save". To play safe better ask yr gf not to use back those milk, mayb not spoilt but nutrient level drop?

Mummies: How to tell if yr child is teething? Mine very grouchy these days and keep drooling, put everything into his mouth &amp; bite till his face looks so frustrated. Teething? I see no teeth yet lei.

Another thing, currently still drink every 3 hrs except lunch replaced by cereals. MIL suggesting to hv cereals for b/fast, porridge for lunch &amp; dinner. Only drink milk at nite. IS IT OK? Feel that shld replace only 1 meal wiht semi-solid. &amp; start replacing 2 meals when 9 mths old. Correct?

Jenifur: thawed milk cannot be freeze again. EBM that is taken out from chiller max can only warm 2 times (nt very hot). refreeze milk can drink or not, best is to open n smell first, once u smell sour taste, stop giving to bb.

Milk that has fed before strongly nt encourage to chill again, as there is bacteria being introduced during the drinking process. best way to overcome, is to pour out wat is required to feed, so there wont be wastage.

3rascal: whahaha.... u MIL still better hor. there is one day, my MIL thawed the EBM for my little girl, my mum who was at my MIL's plc, saw the thawed EBM, my mum throw the whole bottle of milk away! cos she told my MIL change colour.. .i heard liao i almost fainted.. aiyo...

Freezed EBM, after thawed will change colour, its ok. but if there is a sour taste, pls throw.

3rascal: my milk supply has been abt there since after confinement. more or less abt there. but once u stop latching, the supply goes down.

breakfast cereals and lunch n dinner porridge??? joking isit? u know hor, my 20mths nephew, still only 2 meals porridge leh, the rest still milk ok... ur little kayden still very very small, dun be so exciting to introduce such things so fast

Carole: Got a few times i saw the milk change colour after thawed. like a layer of oil. I told MIL its oil. normal. she say better throw. cos she nvr see like tat b4. hehe my sense of smell very lousy. so far cant smell if its spoilt.will advise MIL not to intorduce some much solid at a time.. Thanx UUU

3rascal: if cant smell, try it. ops.. i tried many times. yucks!

ginger: lol i can.. pump n zzz.. latch n zzz too.. practice makes perfect.

sneaky can i ask you for the pigeon bottle that comes with the P something teat, what size is that huh? mine i bought with the steriliser that comes free, and they never wrote the size down!

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Carole</font>,

Then I better ask my fren to throw away or bathe her son with it. She acutally wanted to donate to Michelle but then now she also duno which are those she forzen as spare &amp; which are those frozen from unfinished milk.

Tok bout sour smell.. Sometimes my freshly pump BM will also hv sour smell leh so I cannot really tell if those milk in my chiller are spoilt or not. So anything beyond 50hrs will end up in Janelle's bath tub.

<font color="0000ff">3rascals</font>,

No NO..... At 6 months offering solids is only meant to expose the child to different kinds of food and to get accustomed to spoon-feeding. Milk should still remain the main source of nourishment. Tt's why the baby's milk feed should be given first and then the food.</font>

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Carole</font>

Just realised tt our BJG 1st class will starts on 2-Apr. I cannot make it on tt wkend, gota travel back to Malaysia to pray to anncestor for Qing Ming festival.

Do I need to pass u the course fees 1st or can I pay e next wk when I attend? Sorry to trouble u ya</font>

when are we gng to have our 1st OFFICIAL OCT MTB gathering after all the babies are born? kekkee

gng to be fun, when one bb start engine, and follows the rest manz.. whahahhaha

Carole: Lucky Clarrise.. Seems to have great fun! Poor Kayden, his daddy says must wait til his older. How long u all in the water? hehe Clarrise's mummy so sexy.. in 2 pc. Weep weep
I dare not even wear 1 pc, stretchmarks everywhere.

hi, Carole Ng
Very nice pitures. you so fast let your gerger swim already..is it adviseble to go public swimming pool ha ????
where is your cafe ?? will go to see you on one of the weekend ma..

carole: Wow, can tell Clarrise very enjoyed har!

3rascals, you're not alone. Me too, stretchmarks all over the place... *sigh*

3rascals:
me also.. stretchmarks everywhere can't even wear 1 piece one cos my thighs and buttocks alot of stretchmarks.. sigh..

carole:
Clarisse looks very pretty in her bikini.. hehe and she is enjoying herself.. going to let my girl try when she knows how to sit properly.. but won't be me going into the pool with her.. hehe..

ginger, i guess coffeedrinker has already answered your question. you have to take out the teat to see against the light...the size (either one-S,M,Y,L) is circled. check it out...you're using the Pigeon Peralstatic Nipple bottles too?

carole, sibei cute ah!!!!! i also wanna try samuel at my home pool first...so exciting! if i'm not wrong, Adel also tried Brent yesterday! Adel, where are you??? How was the swimming session yesterday?

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Sharon</font>,

I brought Janelle swimming @ Safra pool cuz got hot water. Public swimming also can but more troublesome cuz they got no hot water, then u mus bring ur own hot water to mix &amp; rinse Sabrina.

<font color="0000ff">3rascal</font>,

Dun need to wait till Kayden can sit then go "swimming". Janelle went swimming when she's 4 mths. They dun really swim. It's jus to let them try e water so they will nt b scared when they get older. My aunt bought her kids swimming after their 1st mth celebration. But mus try to limit onli 1/2hr in water or else might get too cold for them.</font>

3rascal: wee wee?? no lahz. i always been wearing 2 pcs. but i outgrew the top piece so wear over another bareback to cover. opss. whahaha... we stayed for abt 20-30mins.
my girl now 5mths. well, everything has its first step. just we started her early.

sharon: cafe hasnt start yet, its at upper thomson. once xstart sure invite u all to opening.. mai scare.. lol... i am my condo's pool. we acn organise one at private pool either at condo or penny's plc.. whahahaha. penny gng to faint manz.

my friends came over to swim, and they came up to shower, so its ok.

I have following tin of FM for sale or exchange to Gain IQ.

(1) Friso 2 From 6-12 mth (900g) - New with DHA &amp; AA. Expiry Dte May 2007 = $20 or exchange with 900g Gain IQ or 2 tin of 400g of Gain IQ

(2) Dumex Mamil GOld Step 2 From 6 mth &amp; above 400g) Expiry Dte Jun 2007 = $10 or exchange with Similac Follow on or Gain IQ

(3) Promil Gold 2 Age 6-12 mth Follow on Formula with Iron (400g) = $10 or exchange with Similac Follow on or Gain IQ

please email me at [email protected]

carole, yah manz...my pool will be filled with babies...haha...how big can my pool be??? hahahaha

adel, poor Brent must be scared...

hello mummies! been a lonnng time since i last posted.. have started my little tammi on solids a week and a half ago.. heinz plain rice, like most of you.. but unfortunately she doesn't like it and kicks a big fuss everytime... i"m not sure if I shld make it thicker or thinner, cos' I've tried both, she just refuses... i'm wondering shld i just wait for a few days before giving her the same thing or shld I give her something else instead? I'm afraid if I delay anymore, she will not get enough iron in her diet just on BM alone.. anyone with similar experience can share?