(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

jenifur: pls dun mention, just hoping we all can have some fun and oso getting a gd deal out of it too.

Sneaky: tks for having me at the dinner.
lol 1st time vday with family. looks so funny right? whahahahha

sweetie: ur gal v good, drinks a lot of milk.
I headache ah...my gal only drinks 3x(at most 4x) a day. Each feed abt 4/5oz. She drinks only 3x cos after her 6.30pm feed, she will sleep all the way to next day 4am or 5am. But sometimes, she will wake up at ard 11pm, and i will feed her again (this will be her 4th feed) but she will only drink 1.5-2 oz...*SIGH* scared she is not getting enough nutrients. furthermore, she is quite small size and light

Sharon,

Mine taking 5-6 feeds a day (on total FM), 5oz each time. Lunch feed is cereals.

All mummies,

Anyone got bb down wif flu before?
My boi is down wif flu since last Fri. No fever now, but still got greenlish mucus when sneeze.
My bbsitter commented tat my boi's body is more heaty type ones. So I m thinking whether can give my boi herbal tea to drink to "cool down" his body. :p
Any ideas?

can give barley water or u can put 1 pc of tong kui tang (those sugar used to cook barley water) in hot water then dilute the water to make it not too sweet to give ur son to drink,

sneaky: guess what, i might be gng alone with clar for the crawler's class on 26. kekkee.. cos yk like gng taiwan to find "Bing Lang Mei". whahahaahah

Puea: I would suggest you bring ur boy to the pd cos if mucus is yellow or green it means an infection has set in and he may need antibiotics. Better not give any herbal preparations in case an allergy may set in. My 3.75 month old bb is also down with a cold since last Wednesday. My 2.5 yr old is down with bronchitis n I'm v worried the older one will pass it down to the younger one. Thank goodness so far not yet. *fingers crossed*

All: There've been 2 v strong viruses around n they are striking many bbs, children n adults. (my pd told me)Both I think are respiratory viruses. Better keep our little ones at home these few weeks to minimise any possible contact with these viruses.

carole, it's so nice having dinner together. i guess life is no longer the same huh? i'm very happy with the arrangement cos i can be with 2 of my beloved and of cos a good friend's family on this special day!!! YK leaving for Taiwan?? how can? no fun liao loh...postpone leh, YK!!!

puea, my boy down with flu twice; 2 weeks apart and is still recovering from it. went to see a PD and was prescribed Zyrtec & cough mixture to dilute the phlegm. like kris, i think you'd better bring him to the PD.

kris, unfortunately, my house full of the flu virus cos my son's 2 elder cousins (2 yrs & 1 yr) brought home the viruses from school...i can't avoid!

Sneaky: Our only consolation then is that our bbs will grow up with better immunity EVENTUALLY cos they are exposed to so many viruses from a v young age!

sneaky: yup. it's true. Their immunity will mature slightly faster cos they are exposed earlier. But v cham one when they fall ill so young.

Carole. Thanks for the time arrangement.

Jenifur/Sweetie/Puea/Sneaky
my Sabrina only take in 3/4 feed per day. ea time
3/4 oz only.., same as garfield, scared she is not getting enough nutrients. furthermore, she is quite small size and light.

Puea, Better bring your BB to see PD

All.
Anyone can share, how to choose a maid????

sneaky: can i know how the feeding schedule of ur son? Eg: 9am - 150ml milk, 10am - cereal.

I dun no how to go abt introducing my gal cereal leh. How u prepare ur cereal. 3 scoops into milk (fm or bm)?
when did u start this feeding schedule for u son?

sharon:

Qns to consider when choosing a maid:

1. Indo or Filipina? Indo usually no pork, but can handle, cut, cook it. Off day once a month. Poor English, but more innocent. Filipino more expensive, off day every week, but shld be able to speak English.

2. Main duty housework or childcare? If hsework, look for someone with work experience in a city. Otherwise dunno hw to use vacuum, washing machine etc.. If childcare, preferably go for one with own children. Those without own children usually have probs with safety issues.

3. Work experience?
Indos who have worked in Saudi Arabia tend to be v disciplined and are v clear that you are more superior than them. Will not eat on same table as you.
Transfer maids are not nec. bad. The problem cld v likely be with their previous employers.

4. Family backgrd of maid
Some Filipinos come to Sing to work on impulse. These usually come from well-off families and may not know how to cook, clean, and may give you attitude when you try to correct their wrong actions etc.
Most maids will have financial problem at home and leave own children unwillingly. Be prepared for a few weeks, even months of homesickness.

kris, yah loh...so young gotta take medicine liao...i heartache leh...but like you said, it's a consolation also lah...

gracemum, if PD says it's ok, trust them, okay? don't YI SEN YI GUI loh...as to choosing a maid, i chose mine based on the following criteria: -

- must have own kids (experienced in taking care of infant)
- must be above 30yrs of age (mature enough)
- ex-Singapore (been here before so not SUA GU)
- have experience in cooking, household chores, etc
- must be pleasant looking
- must be able to speak fluent English (so that baby can learn and communicate correctly)
- able to accept NO off-days (i will give as a reward for her job well done in future)

garfield, i'm feeding him Heinz First Foods Rice Cereal. this is suitable for babies 4 mths and above. i intend to start him on Nestle's brown rice cereals when he's 6 mths old as stated on the can. his schedule is as follow (+/- 1 hr)

4.00am - Latch (timing not fixed)
9.00am - EBM 150ml
12.00pm - Cereals 3 scoops + EBM 150ml
4.00pm - EBM 150ml
7.00pm - Cereals 3 scoops + EBM 150ml
10.00pm - FM 150ml (sometimes this process skipped)

usually, the cereals will be combined with EBM cos i need it to mix with cereals. there's no fixed ratio for cereals against milk. i just pour the milk and stir until pasty. if mixed with EBM, it will become watery as you feed. so nowadays, my initial mixture is quite dry. i started cereals when Samuel's exactly 4 mths old. started with 2 scoops, once a day and then increase to 3 scoops once a day then now 3 scoops twice a day...can increase every 4 - 5 days until you reach a maximum of 2 metalspoons full.

Carole and YK witnessed how much Samuel was enjoying his cereals last evening. he would open his mouth while waiting for the spoon to reach his mouth...so cute...this applies to drinking milk, either fm direct latching or bottle...he started holding his own bottle too...

kris/sneaky,

Thanks for sharing. at least, i got an idea le.
Do you know ,how much is current salaries for filipino maid, w/o day off??? and how much levy, we need to paid with child below 12 year old.

garfield,
she is 6.08kg/64 @ 4 mths . she going to 5 mths old already. ya .. your girl also small size le
at least ,my ger 5.38kg/60 le..
but compare with my sister BB, my ger is smaller already.

anyone got own tranport go-Crawlers class (TRIAL class), Can "tongban" or pick up point ???
because fm sengkang go very far for me le.

garfield, yes, i mixed with ebm and feed through spoon (pigeon bowl & spoon set). he rejected those mixed with water...can tell it's very bland loh...he can't sit straight on his own. gotta support him on my lap...

any bb taking mamil gold? any feedback?

was at mtuc buying fm n there is a dumex promoter. introduced me mamil nite which can be taken at last feed as its more concentrated n acts like cereal. they also have a series of cereal combi, very cute..

was thinking of letting him take mamil nite (already requested for samples) for last feed, but continue taking similac 2. should i mix fm?

sharon

u looking for maid too? me also. she will be coming on 13mar. she's indo.

kris/sneaky

my agent told me no off day for her leh...i tot must give at least one day?

btw when u go out for meal with maid. do u buy food for her or give her $ to buy herself?

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Sharon</font>,

Levy now is $200.00, think salary depends on experience also. Sindy did advise best is to get Filipino cuz is take care of BB.
Did she share her own experience w indo maid? Her BB was hospitalized last time for some stomach virus when under e care of an Indo maid.
After some tests, hospital detected germs found in adult stools in her BB's stomach.
Then she realised her indo maid had used hand to clean herself after business. She didn't clean her nails properly so germs got transferred to food she prepared for e BB.</font>

Sneaky, Thanks, my agent tell me is sgd 350 w/o day off. I think is about this range.

SSL, yup. but i will gave a filipino maid, because they can speak english well le.

Jenifur, Thanks, this few weeks i very busy le, did not have time talk to sindy. just SMS only.
actually employ maid is all depent on luck. but
I also very scare.... don't know got luck or not ????

SSL: The new rule is that we must give the maid either 1 day off per month or extra $10 if not giving the off-day. Ask your agent if the salary stated includes the $10 extra for no off-day.

Thanks, garfield.

Have told bbsitter to cook the barley water for my boi to drink liao... last nite seems like no greenlish mucus liao... phew!
But hor, he seems like still have alot of mucus in his nose, so heartache when seeing him struggling while sleep...

Kris, Sneaky, Sharon

Oh no, ok, noted. I think I got to bring him to PD again liao.
Somemore the nose drip prescribed to him is already used for 5 days (up to yesterday), and his nose still got alot of mucus ley...

SSL,

Yeap, my boi is taking mamil gold.
Huh? Mixed? But you got to try the taste whether same or not ley.
Cos some bb very smart ones, once they taste it differently, they will reject...
And my cousin's bb and coll's bb oso tried mamil nite b4, they said it's very hard to dilute in water... and very heaty for their bbs...

anyone of you considering buying the brown rice in box form with ikan bilis or si shen fron ntuc when baby is 4 mths? wonder if its as good as we make type.

sweetieI bought brown rice powder with si shen from Eu ren Sheng and has started giving my gal when she was abt 4 months old. Have not add in ikan bilis yet. will slowly introduced the ikan bilis when she turns 6 months. Will ground the ikan bilis into fine powder and add it into her brown rice powder with si shen when she turns 6 months

i went Giant last evening. bought a pack of dunno what "Rabbit" Brown Rice Powder with Si Sen &amp; Ikan Bilis. this one no need to cook one. just add warm water to stir and then hot water to mix well. there's another one with Dang Gui...i don't want to buy that first...no need to to get the Yu Ren Sheng one liao. heard that one needs to cook...anyone feeding their babies this one??

sweetie..haha...we're on the same topic at around the same time! i bought it already but haven't try loh. maybe i'll try tonight..

i tried today the rice cereal recommended by Sneaky! my girl loves it.. kekek eat till so cute. whahah welll the face oso seems to be real hungry.. whahaha..

dunno whats wrong, my girl dun wan to latch..
so sad manz.. haiz... i think i will call my gynae to recommend me a lactation
haiz

sneaky: i bought the brown rice from Eu ren sheng...hehe...although need to cook but worth it lah cos i dun dare buy 'no brand' food for my gal to eat. anyway, i did a comparison, i think there are more brown rice in eu ren sheng wan as compared to the one from NTUC cos after preparing the brown rice (from eu ren sheng), the color more brown while the one from NTUC is fine white. Think more brown rice better...hehe
Just my opinion

just to add,my gal after eating the brown rice from eu ren sheng for abt half a month, my gal has nice rosy cheek wor.....very nice.....

and hor my nephew has been eating the brown rice with ikan bilis &amp; si shen from ntuc, there is no rosy cheeks lor. even my mil said the eu ren sheng wan smell more like brown rice....so i presume eu ren sheng are of better quality....

FYI only lah...*SMILE*

i also bought the Heinz ric ecereal for 4 months old bb, intend to start this weekend...hehe...

i read from a magazine that says infant formula is still the ideal food for babies till 6 mths as their livers and kidneys are not so mature. However, its good to slowly introduce from 4 mths to 6 mths so that baby can get used to it. infant formula has got all the necessary nutrients needed. i will not increase my grace intake so much during 4 to 6 mths. just to share.

wow looks like most of the mummies here started to feed their bb solids..

sneaky:
can i check, u using this pigeon feeding set to feed Samuel?

372928.jpg

sweetie, ok...shall try...

garfield...huh? like that ah? aiyoyo...i bought liao leh...try first lah...lucky it's not too ex...throw away also not so heartpain..keke

amari, Darren is so heavy!!!

san, yes...that's the one...very good leh...can put porridge next time and mash it at the rough area...now i even transport 3 scoops of cereals out and mix at a later time...so handy...

It's true lah, the Eu Ren Sen brown rice is definitely of better quality. Si Shen must cook fresh den the properties can be released. My older daughter also rosy cheeks one. She's been on it for 1 yr liow.

kris: agree with u...my gal only ate it for half a month and her cheeks rosy liao..while my nephew ate the NTUC brand for 1yr+ liao...no such effect.

Actually, i was tempted to buy from NTCU cos cheaper but then i think back hor, i think best to buy better quality wan for bb to eat lor....

now i put 1 scoop (those scoop for fm) of eu ren shen brown rice into 4oz of water, cooked it and then top it up to 5 oz with water then add in 5 scoops of fm. Like tat can? Need to increase the amount of brown rice anot?

please advise

kris...really huh? i shall try a bit first...

amari, my friend's baby's like that loh...8 over kg at 4mths. he's been drinking 240ml since 2 mths old...

sneaky: ur fren's bb must be v chubby. my gal v small size like my hubby. My gal now 4 months old, she only drinkg 4oz usually, sometimes when she is at 'war', she drinks only 2 to 3oz sometimes when she happy she drinks 5 oz!

my MIL dunno where she get the Sisen one.. must cook! i add breastmilk one, how to cook? i cooked already then add then becomes watery.. siao liaoz.. haiz...