(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Triniti,
I oni gain 9+kg so far, now me 59kg. That's why i was shocked tat bb expected to be big.
She's a big-eater!
My gyane say if 1st one late, then 2nd one most prob late too.

wendy/applejuz
sorrie ah.....me quite contented with a small 3kg. manageable for me....hahahaha....dun think i will ever give birth to bb of more than 3.2kg cos both my hb n i were small bbs to begin with.

at 33weeks last week, my wt actually dropped by 1/2kg from week31, but bb managed to grow by 200g. hahaha
maybe i was too stressed up over Cayden (cos hb is in camp)

Vone,
Now that he is better, my mom is more convinced that the antibiotics could be the saviour. Else, i will be sooo moody. He has not been to CC for 3 days liao...Will resume tomorrow.

aidanee
the PD good huh.

hey Zoe Tay is due in Oct. Will she go to TMC again? If co-incide with any Oct MTBs here, surely kena even worse parking situation. Hope she quickly natural birth and go home to begin her rustic nirvana confinement where she sometimes bathes, sometimes doesn't, pumps 6m worth of BM then takes X-trim, & whatever other boo boos that happened with her #1.

Hi seabreeze,
Sorry..nowadays I dun login as often.I can collect the markers sometime this weekend? What time will be good for you?

wendy,
i meant to reply your smses that day, but you were using special tool is it? cant reply leh....thanks so much for your help. I also think it's cos he is taking Gain. Very heaty for him. Gotta switch back to Enfagrow again. Every time he goes on milk strike, i switch to Gain and he will drink milk. But will also fall sick.This happened when he turned 13mo last time.

Seabreeze, now i recall about cayden facing the mirror at CC....he must be feeling sick already, just that i didnt realise. The fever started late afternoon after the tues class.

mybabydream
yes yes I still remembered u...
Ur second one is already 3 mths..wow thats fast
How is it handling 2 kids?

applejuz
ohh if thts the case then the 2nd one will also be on the edd or slightly earlier then... so u gain in total 9 kg...I think I will gain 5-8kg depends how much I can eat..Now alittle bit sick with cough and sore throat...now dun think will eat that much.

aidanee
anton is also sick but more of cough and running nose but no fever. He is still active and running about...wonder when he will completely recover...sigh

seabreeze.. i c.. u make up some excuse to come over lah, then we can have lunch together.. bring u to a "feel good" salad bar.. hehe..

Triniti,
Take care of yourself n anton!

Cayden's high fever is like a roller coaster. only hit high of 39 in the wee morning like 4am. Other times, he was ok, active and happy. That's y it is more stressful for me cos i had to monitor his temp in the night. I am so drained out. Now craving for durians! Have to target a 3kg bb. Any smaller, my inlaws wouldnt be happy. hahaha....cos they always tot i was dieting even during preg (cos they always believe preg women will balloon ALOT if eat well.) Now that Cayden is beginning to be real picky about food, they confirmed that's because i was choosy during pregnancy! Sigh...what to do...

Anyone has the book bb whisperer or something like that? is it good?

aidanee
yeah i hv it but din manage to finish reading. it's abt diffrnt baby temperaments.
considered switching cayden to full cream milk instd of FM? Less heaty perhaps..

triniti:
are u still a fulltime homemaker?

The 1st 2 months was tough, esp when the elder one was jeolous and demanded alot of our attention. When baby cried, the elder one followed. You carried the baby, the elder wanted too. Its juz the 2 of us managing the 2 little ones over the weekend, so u can imagine.But we managed to pull thro!

mummies:
have your kids being toilet trained and also brush their own teeth?

so far, i have not toilet trained my elder one. how do we approach it?

i only use cloth to clean her teeth. How to introduce toothpaste? I guess they wun knwo how to spit out the water yet?

sweetpea ...

sat from 5pm onwards would be good. will be out on sunday though ... otherwise weekday evening would be around 9.30pm

ting ting ...

ok see when i can go down and join you for lunch =)

aidanee ...

no wonder lar ... i heard at least 20x 'dun wan' from him that morning and he wanted to keep his raincoat on

my boss's son never drank FM before ... after he weaned off from BM he went on to drink soya bean milk (without sugar) and full cream milk ... so you can try to intro and see if cayden like it

Wendyg,
did you borrow from library? is it worth gettg a copy? does it cover all the way to toddlerhood?

Seabreeze,
today i din send him to CC. So he has missed 4 sessions liao.....alot of money hor. i will see if i can get makeup classes for him. I think i will stop his classes when i m in confinment cos my hubby is not willing to give me the commitment that he will be around to fetch him home.
He said his flying schedule is packed in Sep. sHit man!!!

FM/Soya milk
I switched back to enfagrow and his condition improved alot. So i think Gain is the real cause of everything. hahaha.....

Have intro Freshmilk, but he is not so adventurous. Wheny you say full cream milk, can you recommend a brand? is it those packet ones that need no chilling?

hi aidanee,
Would like to know what other alternatives besides FM too... my gal on Friso 3 and lately she's been asking for milk very often (everytime seeing her didi drinking milk) and now got serious constipation! She would only pass motion if given yogurt (alternate day). And half of the time is very hard and sometime strain until got blood (*ouch.. and yucks..*)

Or anyone knows which FM is less heaty? thanks....

aidanee
i started off with UHT packets.. then now Isaac is on chilled full cream milk. Fresher coz expiry is nearer?? My Avent warmer is back in use again.

So long didn't post in the thread liao!... Guess more mummies are starting or already had their no. 2...

Me no courage to go for no. 2. One only is 'killing' us liao...

Re: Flu/Cough
Pls try to get Sambuccol for ur kids if you can. My gal started childcare 2 weeks back. After end of one week, started to have flu.. I quickly gave her sambuccol, and after 1-2 days, no more mucus liao... so sambuccol is really good for flu/cough.

Hi mybabydream
Yeah I am still a full-time mummy...
I am going to have a CL for 2 mths...hopefully that I can spend more time with anton nurturing him with the bb...and hope he won't be too jealous or feel neglected.

Hoshi
My son is also taking sambuccol..but I stoppped recently cos the pharmacist said that the kid should stop for 2 weeks and continue for 6 weeks..and then 2 weeks break again..or else, they might be too dependant on it...

Freshmilk
Anton has not got any constipation problems but maybe he is on Freshmilk since 15 mths and he always eat lots of fruits in a day..( 3 times in fact) Now at least he poo only 2 times instead of the usual 4 times. I think I can toilet train him very soon. I am still waiting for the 'right' time so I won't stress out myself since I am 30 weeks preggie

hi triniti,
Can share what's the brand of freshmilk anton is taking and where to get it? He consumed it cold out from the fridge? Also how much is he taking per day or maybe per week?

What fruit is good for them? I usually give my gal 2/3 slice of either honeydew or papaya each day over the weekend. weekday not sure how much MIL is giving her...

aidanee,
My boy is Ryan... Realise it's such a common name that I abit regret hehe... Anyway hubby love that name so ok lar..

wendy,
It's better when she consume alot of water (a few cups per day). But overall still got bad constipation leh... Last 2 weeks she even try to 'restrain' from passing motion... keep crying when got the urge, and asking the ng ng 'don't come out'.....

fruit good for constipated kids
- dragonfruit
- kiwi
- blueberries
- grapes (eaten with skin)
- papaya

PD mentioned common fruits like apple, orange, pear etc doesn't do anything for constipation.

Dragonfruit works wonders for isaac, coz of the little black bits. But my MIL says it's v 'liang' & cannot give everyday. Most times, I swop between any of the abv fruit, except papaya coz isaac doesn't like it. Seems that he likes citrus fruits. He's not keen on yellowish fruit eg papaya, peach.

Banana hardens the stool coz starchy, so dun give too much. At the very most, give her some prunes or prune juice.

If it's very bad, maybe chk with doc whether any medication can soften the stool to make it easier to pass out. When isaac was just 5m+, he didn't poo for 11 days despite being on TBM. Doc inserted bullet and the poo came out v fast. Coz the initial poo was very hard (due to lack of water) and he didn't know how to push it out, everything accumulated inside. After he poo everything, his tummy went flat. haha.

Cakey,
I think Triniti gives Horizon organic milk.

Ryan is a nice name. I dun think it is that common these days...I have decided on the chinese name too, but not the eng name.

Cayden loves grapes. but i find it too sweet and causes phlegm. But this is about the only fruit that he likes and will eat voluntarily. He also hates my fav papaya. hahaha...

Hi cakey
Hee aidanee is right, I give anton Horizons Organic milk.

Anton is not receptive to all fruits so what I do is, I will blend 4 different fruitds together so its easier to eat...
He will have it with breakfast and yogurt(about 3 Oz-4 Oz of fruits )
After lunch another 3-4 ounce of fruits and so is dinner. so all in all, he will eat 12 ounces of fruits a day. Thats why no constipation problems. I will add alot of berries as they contain seeds and will give more boost for him to poo...heee...Even fruits he doesn't like, I will also blend in it so he won't notice...

hi triniti,
Thanks for sharing...
Btw. where to get the Orizons Organic milk? It comes in packet or as milk powder?
3-4oz of fruits is abt 1 slice? Sorry not very good with cookery hehe..

hi wendyg,
I try not to give her stool softenner as don't want her to rely on it... Hope to improve her condition thru her diet.

cakey
Hmm, I know they have it in some cold storage in town. I usually get it from Market place in Paragon or Tanglin Mall.
Hmm...ok..I will usually add half a pear or one kiwi, 3 strawberries, 6 blueberries and 6 raspberries for one setting..so it won't be sour. Usually when u blend it, it can accomodate more fruits since its more semi-liquid. The mixture will become quite seedy depends how many berries u put in

triniti,
I did a search on the horizon milk and saw your past posting on it mentioning it costs abt $14+++ for 1.8+L. I suppose 1.8L could only last abt 3days (also cannot keep too long..) that means will cost me $140+++/mth (double the price of her friso3)...
Hence in the meantime will still try to give her more fruits and encourage her to drink more water.. will get the organic milk only if i passby marketplace..
Meanwhile any mummy knows of FM that's less heaty pls let me know

ting,
ya, tt's wat she told me aso. tink 4 pax is okie 4 a start.

sea,
u need a break... during ur break, then u tink abt wat u wanna do k.

aidanee,
ic. it's good 2 hear tt cayden is recovering.

mybabydream,
my boy will brush himself. i'll guide him if i c tt he left out some parts. as he dun noe hw 2 spit out d toothpaste, i'll use a wet hanky 2 clean his mouth.

cakey,
ouch... tt sounds painful. u can try boiling china barley 4 ur gal 2 drink. if she finds tt it's tasteless, then u add in some rock sugar. my boy luves it. so he'll drink a lot. if he starts drinking in d morning, normally, by d nite, he wld poo liao.

hi cakey
the non organic Magnolia full cream milk costs abt $3+ per litre on sale. Cheaper ones like Marigold costs $2+ per litre on sale. I did my sums, savings of abt $10 per month compared to new price of Friso 3 (1.8kg tin $39). Isaac takes abt 1month to finish a 1.8kg tin. He drinks abt 500ml per day.

anyway i dropped the FM not due to cost.. it's more in hope of easier poo & easier transition when he grows up into a big boy who drinks milk everyday.

cakey
yeah organic milk in general are more expensive. Anton drinks 200ml in the morning and 180ml at night. At his age, he should drink a minimum of 350ml a day.So the 1.8L can actually last Anton for 4-5 days.

Actually, u can try other fresh milk which is non-organic. They are much much cheaper. Fresh milk has less artificial 'chemicals' added so overall better for the child.

wendy, wah didn't know Friso has increased pricing! still consuming the old stock i bought at $33... but fresh milk meaning they have to drink it cold?

can do a quick check on how ur kids drink milk? i.e. bottle, cup, straw..? zephan drinks fr straw now, and could down a 200ml glass of milk in 1 min. he takes a much longer time when drinking water fr a cup thoug, abt only 50ml in 30 sec n refuse to drink anymore. planning to transit him to drinking milk fr a cup, but at the rate he's going, we'll take a good 1/2 hr to finish!

cakey and tingting
I usually warm the milk using the bfree milk bottle which Anton previously used in the avent warmer..Anton dun like anything cold...

Anton drinks using the Munchkin straw cup. However during meal times, he will drink his water using a regular kids cup. Yeah usually he will drink faster with a straw. I am not that fussed as long he drink his milk not using the bottle

Share with your Ethan's birthday cake. We bought 2 for him. Was celebrate at the CC.

I let Ethan tried fresh milk but he rejected.

907992.jpg
907993.jpg

ting,
my boy is still drinking fr d btl. i tried using a training cup 2 let him drink his milk. however, i realised tt he takes a longer time 2 finish it & he drinks lesser 2. thus i switched back 2 d btl. m planning 2 wean him off when he turns 2 as i dun wan him 2 b still drinking fr d btl when he's older.

esther,
ethan's cakes r so nice... hw come he rejected fresh milk? is it coz it's cold?

re: drinking from a cup

How do you teach or train your child to drink from a cup ah? my girl wants to and tries to drink from a cup, but everytime she does it, she makes a mess. i think ita because she doesn't close her bottom lip properly over the rim of the cup. I tried to teach her by demoing but still cannot... so now she's still using straw to drink for milk and water..

also, how to teach them to gurgle? I tried to teach her few times, but she keeps drinking the water (lucky i use drinking water to teach her instead of tap water hehe). She tries to imitate me (making gurgling noises and trying to spit out) but all she spit out is a bit of her saliva. Alamak

Update a good news...
Applejuz delivered a little princess, Kecia this morning... weighing a 3.385kg!

Congrats....

i'm a mummy,
hmm... it's a bit difficult 2 teach. tink u mus let them learn on their own. my boy noes hw 2 drink fr a cup, bt it tend 2 b v wet affairs. as 4 gurgling, he dun noe yet.

applejuz,

i'm a mummy
think you just have to let it be messy.. my gal try on cup month ago and we just standby a handkerchief under her chin and now she is able to drink from cup without dripping...

congrats to applejuz!

i'm a mummy, i just give a little bit of water in a kiddy cup (the mini tea cup types)for a start. water will drip but u can minimise the mess by wearing a bib. at first they'll just touch the water without drinking. but let them observe how u drink. soon they'll catch on. :p)

as for gurgling, zephan also just spits out saliva. may have to wait for a while before they catch on..

Hi triniti,

Re: Sambucol
Need some advise. My gal just started childcare for abt 3 weeks already. So I started her on Sambucol for abt 2 weeks then stop. But then she started to have flu again... so me give her sambucol again. How??...
I worry she might be dependent on sambucol too. But without sambucol, the flu comes back. (I only stop for 2 days, the the flu is back.)

Hi Mummies:
Re: Drink from cup
I train my gal by giving her a bit of water in the cup. Same as Tingting. After some time, they will get the hang of it... hehe... though of course some kids (like my gal) may be very impatient type... she will pour all the water into her mouth, then 'choke' a bit then cough out the water...

hi hoshi5,
Where to get the sambucol? I can't find it in guardian, watson or unity... My gal caught the flu bug hence got to postpone giving her the fresh milk to try...

Hoshi
It goes on the same with my son. I stopped and his cough has been pesistent. I think U can continue again till the 6th week. Then you stopped for 2 weeks and continue for 6 weeks again and so on. I am quite sure, previously our kids are pretty resistant because of their dependancy to sambucol...so right now he is back on again. Just remember to stop after 6 weeks, for 2 weeks. I think at least let their body get adjusted to the lack of sambucol.

Cakey
u can get sambucol in vitakids in forum of Paragon. However, buying it from www.luckyvitamin is much cheaper.

Hi triniti,

Thanks. So, I will continue for 6 weeks, then stop 2 weeks see how. This is her 2-3 weeks taking sambucol.

Cakey,
I just started my own spree specially to get the sambucol to stock up. hehe.. Ordered 2 more bottles. If u want, can let go one bottle to you first. But shipping is still on the way to vpost. U want??...