(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

how's everyone? Thanks Cakey 4 announcing my gd news..

Yap, Baby Kecia, finally born on 3-Aug (overdue 4 days!) at 10.50am.

Below's my birth story:
-------------------------------------
1-Aug : Went Gynae checkup, due to contraction pain prev. nite.
Only 2 cm dilate, monitored but only 1 mini contraction.
Was sent back home. Gynae says if i worry, i can admit for induction.

2-Aug, 9.00pm : Admitted GEH - planned to induce.
Gynae says, i'm already 3cm. contraction very regular.
Advice to sleep thru' the night, he'll see whether to induce the next morning.
Meanwhile, on epidural & Zzzz in delivery ward. (contraction carries on)

3-Aug, 8.30am : Dilated 5-6cm, Gynae breaks water-bag, & induce to speed up.
Estmated to deliver before lunch.

3-Aug, 10.00am onwards : Push ... Push ... Push ... Quickly inform Gynae to come.

3-Aug, 10.50am : Baby Kecia is Born!

--------------------------------------

Seems easier than Keyon. At least no need vacuum this time, & her head round round.. hee hee..

But she's an angel in day & monster at night!
Sleeps many hrs in afternoon, & wakes up almost every hr, dunno wat she wan... grrr...

hi hoshi,
thanks alot for your offer... will check out this sambucol with the GP later on (bring her to GP tonight) and let you know again.
Btw what's the quatity and price?

congrats applejuz! i have forgotten how a newborn is like! :p delivery sounds smooth.. and kecia is exactly 2 years younger than zephan.

Applejuz,
Kecia is such an angel!!!!!!!! Well done!

Action City is having 20% storewide from 2day till sun!!!!!!! heeheh.....shopping spree this long holiday season.....................(oops!)

Thanks for ur compliments... actually i think Kecia got lesser hair, smaller eyes,
flatter nose than her bro... hee hee.. bad mummy, tends to compare.. :p

tingting,
oh, Zephan was born on 3-Aug too? so co-incident.. hey, think tis date very popular...
i almost got no delivery ward when i got to hospital.

wendyg,
what have u been buying? must chio chio okie?

I am looking for comfortable bfg chair....anyone has any lobang? or can rent/borrow for 2months Sep-Nov?

Very funny
917835.gif

Q. Should I have a baby after 35?
A. No, 35 children is enough.

Q. When will my baby move?
A. With any luck, right after he finishes high school.

Q. How will I know if my vomiting is morning sickness or the flu?
A. If it's the flu, you'll get better.

Q. Since I became pregnant, my breasts, rear-end, and even my feet have grown. Is there anything that gets smaller during pregnancy?
A. Yes, your bladder.

Q. What is the most common pregnancy craving?
A. For men to be the ones who get pregnant.

Q. What is the most reliable method to determine a baby's sex?
A. Childbirth.

Q. The more pregnant I get, the more often strangers smile at me. Why?
A. 'Cause you're fatter than they are.

Q. My wife is five months pregnant and so moody that sometimes she's borderline irrational.
A. So what's your question?

Q. What's the difference between a nine-month pregnant woman and a model?
A. Nothing, if the pregnant woman's husband knows what's good for him.

Q. How long is the average woman in labor?
A. Whatever she says, divided by two.

Q. My childbirth instructor says it's not pain I'll feel during labor, but pressure. Is she right?
A. Yes, in the same way that a tornado might be called an air current.

Q. When is the best time to get an epidural?
A. Right after you find out you're pregnant.

Q. Is there any reason I have to be in the delivery room while my wife is in labor?
A. Not unless the word "alimony" means anything to you.

Q. What does it mean when the baby's head is crowning?
A. It means you feel as though not only a crown but the entire throne is trying to make its way out of you.

Q. Is there anything I should avoid while recovering from childbirth?
A. Yes, pregnancy.

Q. Does pregnancy cause hemorrhoids?
A. Pregnancy causes anything you want to blame it for.

Q. Where is the best place to store breast milk?
A. In your breasts.

Q. Is there a safe alternative to breast pumps?
A. Yes, baby lips.

Q. What does it mean when a baby is born with teeth?
A. It means that the baby's mother may want to rethink her plans to nurse.

Q. How does one sanitize nipples?
A. Bathe daily and wear a clean bra. It beats boiling them in a saucepan.

Q. What are the terrible twos?
A. Your breasts after baby stops nursing cold turkey.

Q. What is the best time to wean the baby from nursing?
A. When you see teeth marks.

Q. Do I have to have a baby shower?
A. Not if you change the baby's diaper very quickly.

Q. Our baby was born last week. When will my wife begin to feel and act normal again?
A. When the kids are in college.

seabreeze
oh dear oh dear.... *pengsan*
how was YC's bday celebration?

aidanee
i shop online for toys, clothes, food etc, joining bulk purchase & sprees everywhere.
where got time to go shopping..

wendyg ...

the jokes v funny hor ... my hunnby cant understand and sya that those are stupid jokes - men just cant get it

YC is a 9-11 terror not a goody national day bb heehee still thinking to celebrate anot =p

wendy, nick also.. national day bb.. But then, almost had no cake cos secret recipe queue was so long and by then time we were at the cashier, sold out liao..

Pat's patrick also national day bb..

ting,
hapy belated bdae 2 zephan.

sea,
d jokes r so funny.

sng's mummy,
happy belated bdae 2 nick. so in d end, wat cake did u buy 4 him?

thanks vone! today zephan starts childcare. me sneaking some time off to log on at my parent's place... haha..

applejuz, yah, the last time when i delivered, also v crowded.. apparently heard it's bcos pple wanted to avoid the lunar 7th month, so arrange to induce/c-section before that...

hi vone,

zephan's adjusting great! from 1st day he was quite happy to stay there by himself actually. i went off for abt 2 hrs on the 1st day morning n he had no problems. today i left the centre at noon. tomorrow will be leaving him there for the whole day.

he took a while to settle down to sleep though, cos of unfamiliar env i think.. kept wanting to play. but today the teachers said he slept quite quickly, perhaps bcos they had water play today so was a bit tired out.

overall i'm quite happy with the centre. bcos their enrolment is currently small, it's nearly a 1 to 1 attention by the teachers and centre staff.

my funny boy...
this was what he sang the other day..

old mac donald had a farm
e-i-e-i-o
and on his farm he had a 'ba'
e-i-e-i-o
with a 'ba ba' here and a 'ba ba' there
here 'ba' there 'ba' everywhere 'ba ba' ......

aiyo dunno whether to laugh or cry...

ting ting,
Great that Zephan likes his CC. so 1 worry off-loaded :p

cakey & wendy,
guess wat, my boy saw his ah yi putting on her white facial mask... & he pointed to her saying "woof woof"... cos we had a white puppy soft-toy.. haha..

how u all celebrating your toddler's 2nd birthday? share share leh...

cakey
only in that song does a sheep become a "ba"
maybe i ask him again tonight and see what he sings.

applejuz
cut cake celebration @ my granny's. sing song, receive presents & ang pow. dat's all!

applejuz,

yah, i think i'm the one who's more reluctant to leave him behind instead.. :p

zephan didn't even have a cake.. we went to the zoo in the morning and had dinner at Globetrotters at night. both daddy n mummy took leave to be with him that day. that's our gift. haha...

Applejuz
our plan on 1 Sep, will be a breakfast party (EAT MAC'S by the seaside) at East coast park wiht my family and nieces/nephews....... Will have a cake at my inlaw's place maybe on the eve.

wow.. your birthdays sound so happening.

sob sob, Keyon's birthday next monday I'm still on confinement, so gotta be at home... guess will just have a simple party with my family & In-laws. hmm... & i'm going to sneak out to buy present for him... hee hee...

Will also be buying a cake & cupcakes for him to celebrate at child care ctr.

hi all...

haven posted for a while..

Just a mini birthday celebration at home.. got his fav Tom & Jerry cake from polar...

applejuz.

where to buy cupcakes??

tot buy abit for his class oso....

just him n all adults... hahahahaaaa...

like to ask.. do u gals gif fresh milk to your toddlers.. i gav him HL milk... is it ok huh?? anyone knows?

ting,
good 2 hear tt zephan is adapting well 2 cc.

wendy,
isaac is so cute...

applejuz,
we r planning 2 hv a dinner wif family members oni, then buy a cake 2 celebrate.

wendy,
bfg is slightly better than last time.. now manage to pump 50ml but
still cannot satisty Kecia's 90ml demand...so supplement w FM.

ayl0212,
I ordered the cupcakes from a shop in Tg. Pagar Plaza.
Assorted ones, without customisation.
Its cheaper ($1.20 each w individual box).
I'll just print "happy birthday" wordings & paste on the box. :p

Now me headache on the cake... need 1 for CC & 1 for home celebration.

When you're distributing cakes at the CC/ class, will you be present during the distribution or celebration, if any?

I'm thinking of distributing some cup cakes at my girl's class as well but I'm on course the whole week and cant take leave to be present with her. I dunno if it's funny for my girl to distribute herself with the help of teachers

some of ur kids go cc already rite? i'm gonna send my son (23mths). Can I find out the following from u guys?

1. How u label the milk btl? Use permanant marker can? like tat cannot sterilise bottle already right?

2. Eh... how u label shirt & shorts & cushion covers all the cloth stuff....

3. How long did the cc allow u to sit in & ntro' ur kid

re: childcare

how did you prepare your ds or dd before the first day of school? read books about school, or show dvd about first day of school etc? if so, can recommend which book or dvd? my girl supersticky now, can't leave me out of her sight. i go to the toilet she also follow me in and watch me pee! if i close the toilet door, she will bang and cry and wail outside...I'm letting her start half day cc in sept.. dunno if she's going scream and cry her head off or not. cause the cc i'm sending her to, doesn't let parents sit in with the kid first few days. First day of school will be cold turkey liao, hand over dd to teacher then she will bring her in. They told me i can wait in the office, but i worried i cannot tahan hearing her cry so pitifully

hi ojx, i bought some personalised stickers that's printed with his name. Think there's a business thread somewhere here. If u can't find it let me know. i haven't sterilised bottles since my son was 1 year old liao. just washed well with soap n water.

for shirts etc, they're kept in e kids' school bags, so teachers will just take them out for 1 kid at a time. dirty ones are placed in a plastic bag in into the school bag immediately. as for pillow/bolster, which my son brings to school, there's a designated box/pigeon hole for each kid.

my boy's cc recommends parents to be around only 3 times: 1st day whole day, 2nd day 1/2 day, 3rd day 2hrs.

i'm a mummy,

can try to bring her to the school before she starts proper to familiarise with the surrounding? for zephan, we brought him there on the previous sat, and for the rest of sat & sunday reminded him of the fun things to do in school on monday (e.g. "u enjoyed playing the mini piano at school just now? we're going back to school on monday to play that again", etc) If your kid is sticky, may want to do that a few more times.. hope that helps.

to share, there's 1 boy in zephan's class who was also supersticky.. if his caregivers are out of sight for a moment he'll cry badly. h/w, can see that he's slowly getting absorbed in school activities, and the period of distraction before he looks for his caregivers get slightly longer each day, as he gets familiar with the teachers.

hi raisintan,
i called up my son's CC & the teacher told me we could send in the cakes in the morning when u send ur kid there.
celebration will start at 3pm, but my boi oni half day CC, so will be done at 12pm after their lunch.
Parents presence is optional. i think i'll be there. wan to take photo leh...

ojx,
for bottles, i just write on a paper & use transparent tape.
cloth stuff, use marker to write underneath, somewhere not visible.
cc gave parents 3 days to sit in. Our case, since my boy quite ok on 1st day, 2nd day, just watch outside. 3rd day, he's on his own.
I'm a mummy,
hmm, i din really prepare Keyon leh... guess boys more independent..:p

applejuz
not true for mine... he took a month to get used to the teachers.. every morning cried & din want to go. But actually when he was there, he settled quite fast coz 1 of the teachers sayang him & knew how to distract him. Had to deposit him at 18m due to some family situation. He was the youngest at the centre then.

i'm a mummy
if u can't tahan her crying, then just deposit her and leave. If the teachers need u, they hv your phone number right?

Hi tingting,
dun think i can bring my girl down often before class start to the school, cause its those big bungalow type of house which they convert to playschool. So if bring her, can only be outside the garden. if bring her inside, will distract the other kids, cause once go in, is the living room/reception area where kiddies their age are. So not sure if just bringing her outside around the garden will help or not... argh... maybe i call and ask the principal and see how

Hi wendyg,
Ya that's what the teacher suggested. She say if i cannot tahan, best i go home first ( i stay just 3 streets away).. but they suggested staggering the first few days. First day, let her stay 1 hour only, second day, let her stay 2 hours, 3rd day, stay full 3.5 hours.. hope it works out..

I'm not regular here. Happen to bump into this thread and saw the birthday cake posted by Esther. Very nice. Esther, may I ask which cake shop is it from cos my boy is turning two soon!

All mummies here, anyone has recommendation for a good montesorri school or any school/kindergarten for 2 years old?

wow, wendyg, your tot can sing the whole song when he's only two! Mine still talking baby language!

Wendyg

I'm really impressed. Are most of the tots here talking and singing full sentences already? What did you do with your bbs such that they speak so soon? Attend special program? A lot of reading? Hope someone can share with me so I can help my little one. TIA!

Hi prissy,

The cake is from ecreative. They provide free delivery. www.ecreative.com.sg chose plane coz Ethan loves aeroplane sooo much.

As the winnie the pooh actually is Jelly Cake. It is house made by Mr Chan, got the contact number from SM mother. The price quite reasonable, depend on the size. Mine, this one is $36. They got more than 100 kind of cartoons. If you want maybe I can pm you the file. THey provide free delivery too.

hi applejuz,
How's the little one coming along? Looks like you're recovering and coping fast and great

Keyon turning 2 this sunday?

ixwong,
HW's bd is today? Happy BD to him

Planning to bring my gal to the zoo on her BD...still remember alot of the mummies here bring the kid to zoo on their 1yr BD. It'll be her first trip to the zoo this coming heehee..

Will also get 2 cakes and celebrate at my mum and inlaw place tomorrow (2 sessions in 1 day!)