(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

boise,
cayden likes to walk around naked too. he loves to see those triump/wacoal ads in the mailer. is that normal? hehehehe...

he will kick his legs, bangs the hands, lie head down on the floor when he does not get what he wants. I am running out of energy, so i just ignore him. dun know if i am doing the right thing. The more i try to console him, or stop him for throwing his tantrums, the more he refuses to give in. So leave it lor. But my mom thought i should not cos it will develop into habits.

any comments?

aidanee.. zephan has not been given sweet drinks before, except milk. not even gripe water! imagine my "horror" when i saw ribena and horlicks on the cc menu.. :p

zephan has no prob poo poo.. in fact, he poos on average 2-3 times a day. not sure if it's excessive, cos it's mostly soft but not watery.

yah, now the kids have a mind of their own already right.. zephan's fav activities now are to read books (i.e. someone to read to him), and must switch on both fans in the living room! oh, and he'll always ask for pull up pants instead of adhesive diapers.

re: milk
zephan drinks using a straw. if ur kiddo doesnt like to drink, can give substitutes like cheese, yoghurt. milk is mainly for the calcium.

boise,

usually cartoons shld be a better choice than dramas? i have doraemon in mandarin, though the opening song is in jap. so zephan goes "an an an..." whenever the last part of the song comes up. (also, that last verse is the only one i can sing! haha..) can check out kinokuniya for ideas? maybe sometime next year i'll try to get some jap videos for him.

Sea, is YC better liao?

Potty training : aidanee, haha.. nick also see potty machiam like see ghost.. We pull down his pants to pee, he will just stand there and not pee.. Pull up, 1 min later, he pee in his pants liao..

Nick also now has this terrible habit of sitting on the floor in the shopping centre and cry. I'm always "armed" with a rubber band on my hand so if he does that, i will tell him i'll "shoot" him if he doesn;t gets up. 1st 2 times, he not scared cos he dunno how painful it is, so i really had to shoot him. Now, just need to mention rubber band, everything is so automatic.. haha.. Policeman didn't work for nick but rubber band does.

Nicky's mom,
wow, your rubber band tactics sound abit sadistic to me leh... hahahaha, but it works! So far Cayden has not "performed" out of domestic zone yet. I hope it will be confined within. Well, i guess, sooon i have to use the rubber band too. My hubby doesnt like to use fear as a weapon.. so how ah?

nicky's mom,
Wow shoot with rubberband? Err.. will he copy and do the same? You shot him where?

yakult/vitagen:
My gal tried yakult and she got cough leh... anyone else will cough drinking those?

nicky's mom
u so funny! husband and i will use our fingers to flick isaac, like flicking carrom. We call it the "Beat Beat Friend". Isaac will say "Beat Beat Friend go away!" Then we'll make him say "Sorry" then he'll behave.

aidanee
yes smtimes when i'm just exhausted, i'll ignore him but keep him within eyesight la. He'll usually inch his way across the hall towards me, wailing pitifully..

boise, seems like ur gal is gg thru tis stage of asserting her independence. my tots, let her do wat she wans coz d more u force her, d more tt she's gg 2 resist. bt if u dun do anything, she might find tt it's nt so 'fun' 2 kick up a fuss anymore & listen 2 u.

aidanee, when my boy throws his tantrums, i wld aso ignore him. after a while, when he gets tired, then he wld behave himself.

cakey, i find tt yakult is a bit 2 sweet, mayb u wanna try vitagen?

boise
may need to change tactic to get your girl to start wearing clothes, or to get her to let u help her to wear.
eg threaten:
if u dun wear clothes the ants/cockroaches/mosquitoes will bite u very painful etc, or
policeman will catch u etc
eg carrot:
wear your clothes quickly so that we can go out and play! or
wear clothes quickly and mummy will give u a sticker!

it's abit heartpain to see him cry so hard (with tears). but the moment we give in, he will smile sooooo broadly! So obviously it is not genuine! Cayden will cry n do all the stunts until he is tired. Then he will walk towards me and say Sorry. It's getting more and more often these days. i am getting immuned! But my mom thinks i should not! So it gets tougher to discipline him back home.

aiya, just checked my hubby's schedule. he will not be in town! sianz. still waiting for the fengshui master to give a move-in date.

ok i will listen out for all the lion dance and dragon dance, then i know it's aidanee moving to new house. hahahaha

no good date in may. must wait till june. i will inform you. cos lion dance n dragon dance abit costly. maybe just fire works will do. :p

they will start fighting lor.. push and shove.
whoever can't get his way will wail.
all the mummies will disappear to go shopping and all the daddies will be playing xbox.
So good luck to the kids la.

Aidanee, haha.. rubber band sounds terrible but it's easy to bring out.. U cannot expect me to bring the cane out right.. hehe.. Rubber band action in public is small.. if i use my hand and hit him, a lot of pple will see..

Cakey, he will try to play with the rubber band from time to time, but then, when he let go, he will shoot himself. So after awhile, he stop playing with it. I usually shoot the leg where there is some meat so it's not painful.

Wendyg, nick not scared of policeman.. Once i told him "u see, policeman coming if u don't be good, he will catch u away" and when the policeman stand infront of him, nick say "handsome", the policeman said "oh, maybe u cannot see my nice uniform properly.." with that, he took off his jacket and showed-off his uniform. Nick afterthat smiled and said "handsome" again.. How?

nicky's mom
*pengz*
what abt grasscutter? They're all covered up head to toe and carry an impressive weapon. Maybe look more scary than policeman

WEndyg, havent thought of that leh.. haha. Maybe can try.. hehe..

Nick's afraid of Ronald Macdonalds.. His daddy sometimes also bully him.. Daddy will tell him if u want to eat the fries, got to go high 5 with ronald macdonalds first.. so he bo piao.. tears want to drop out liao also got to high 5 with him then get to eat.

aidanee, i stopped bfg totally for about 3 months liao.. that time i was on antibiotics and since i was already down to 1 feed a day, might as well cut it out. it felt like i've stopped for ages though.. :eek: Looking forward to ur shifting over to punggol!

zephan hasn't gotten into tantrums yet, thank God! but if he's upset tht he doesn't get his way, usually i'll pull him to one side and talk to him in a calm manner. We dont move on until he agrees to comply (e.g. to hold hands when walking, follow parents, etc). we dun like "scare" tactics like policemen, ants, cockroaches, etc cos we feel that it's not good for him to develop such fears. But he also doesn't like Ronald Macdonald. Maybe too plastic-looking? haha...

we shld really get them together one day huh... will be interesting to see how they interact now. anybody wants to organise something?

Wendy,
"they will start fighting lor.. push and shove.
whoever can't get his way will wail.
all the mummies will disappear to go shopping and all the daddies will be playing xbox.
So good luck to the kids la."

Good script. I can see it in my mind now!!! So scary!

Tingting, talk about holding hands.. i saw a boy about the same size as nick (so i supposed he should not be older than 2yo) the other day at Vivo city. he was running down the travelator.. The dad and mum didn't hold him.. so dangerous.. cannot understand y the parents did not insist to hold on to his hand. Even Sam till so old now, we will hold on to him when he;s on the escalator / travelator!

wow...i salute you for bfg soooo long. didnt you feel " jie3 tuo1" after that? hahaha.....Zephan is a good boy. We should meet up to get some positive influence. hehehhe...He has always been a very calm boy.

I would love to offer my place. but must take queue no. to enter cos the place is soooooo small, at most 3 couples wtih 3 kids at any one time. Then got to BYO toys cos Cayden does not have much things to play.....but got puzzles n books lah.... hahaha.... not really an idea venue.

Nicky's mom,
i saw a case like what you described at Jurong Point last week . He ran down the travelator, n fell flat on his nose n hit the end of the travelator. It's a mistake!

aidanee, my hb is in the elavator / escalator line.. he's seen children running down, tripping, shoes get stuck etc.. Some parent just never think. just need that 1 sec, they fall.. It's a lifetime of regret for the parent. Of cos after that, they complain to the company say this is not safe that is not good.. but they just never think that if they had hold on to their own child, all those would have been avoided. Felt so angry that day when i saw the boy running down. Wanted to tell the parents off, then hb stopped me.. He say wait pple scold me for being kaypo.

Nick kok-ed his head on the FM tin, went for stitches.. Now recover liao, but everytime we see the line on the eyebrow, it sends chills down the spine again.. He i'm sure has forgotten the incident, but not for his daddy and me.

nicky's mum

yar i agree with you ... i always carry yc when we go onto the escalator but now he likes to inmitate us and hold the railing of the escalator as well. but sometimes i see liao oso v scared cos scare it will trap his little thumb

yc got scarred by the iron that day ... i went into the room to get some stuff and didnt realise that the maid just finish ironing the clothes. then my hubby saw yc withdraw his hand aft touching the iron only then we realise that it was still hot. but yc didnt cry and just pointed to the iron and say 'hot'

so i tot he was alright but 15 mins later i saw a big red patch on his wrist. so heartache lor ... but when i apply the cream on his he was laughing away *faint* wonder if it was so badly burnt that he dun have any feeling or what lor

now still got a brown scar ... hope it goes away soon

aidanee ...

still must BYO toy ... must BYO plate/chair anot heehee

escalator

i agree.. parents should teach their children to be careful or to hold them instead of blaming the mall, escalator company or even crocs wen anything happen..

ayl
when my boy was on TBF @ 5m, he didn't poo for 11 days. PD insert suppository and lotsa poo came out. All along my boy got poo problm..
PD says max to wait is 1 week.

oh no sea.. i hope the scar won't stay too.. poor YC..

I think nick's stitches scar will stay.. sob sob.. it still got no signs of fading away.. Even that part of the eyebrow don't have any "hair"..

nicky's mom

PD ever say kids will recover bt may take a longer time... maybe u wan to check wif the PD whether there is any cream to apply??

nicky's mom, aiyo, nick is so poor thing...

sea, poor yc... hv u gt d CB aloe vera cream? u can try 2 apply on his wound. it'll help.

Wendy, haha.. i never heard of that before leh.. haha

ayl0212, PD says best leave it alone.. somemore nick got itchy fingers, i prefer not to rub anything on his face. Even when i put vicks on his feet, he touches it and then rub on his eyes.. then cry..

vone ...

i use the CB cream too but the yellow colour one. Q good lar cos the redness went off by the next morning excpet for the brown scar. Guess it will go away lar ...

seabreeze, zephan also seems to have a higher tolerance for pain. he can knock himself until a bruise appears, but no indication of pain. but at least he shows signs of pain at other times, else i'd think there's something wrong with his nerves!

nicky's mom, zephan will hold our hand (either 1 or 2 of us) while travelling on escalator. if he tries to pull away we'll carry him instead. i agree that parents need to take some responsibility for their kids' safety lah..

aidanee, i quite enjoyed after the initial teething months. the subsequent weaning process was all incidental, not planned. i think it first started when i couldn't express properly in office, so his afternoon feed went FM. then i had to work late on some days, leaving only morning feeds.. haha..

i can offer my place too, but no aircon in living room plus i have a dog. zephan also does not have much toys to play with.. mainly boxes n books.. cos he likes to rummage our stuff more than his toy box, so we figured no point wasting $$! :p

tingting, oh.. nick's a great pretender.. he knocks onto something, he will scream "pain".. then he will ask us to call "ambulance" and then he will come with his mighty book of vehicles and point to the stretcher to us.

vone ...

really ar ... ok then i better go and buy it quick since the scar is like 3 day old heehee

nicky's mom ...

so drama ar he hahahahahaha

gathering

or u all wan me to book the ever famous function room?

Seabreeze,
can tong pang the cream too? Cayden has alot of mozzie marks....so which one is better? got sample to try?

Ting,
You are so lucky.....but i admire your perseverance. i can vaguely remember how it feels to nurse liao.....but it's gonna start all over again!! hehehe..

Gathering
So we can expect some stage performance by Nick n YC??? heheehhe.....Cayden can role play as a flight attendant cos his fav pastime now is "pull his cute mini trolley bag (from Japan)" and say " bye bye. I go Airport." hahaha....

wow, would be fun to have a gathering

Tricia can participate in the performance in singing her newly learnt nursery rhythms 'xiao lao shu, shang deng1 tai2' hehe...

sea, yup. tried & tested on my little emperor. :p

aidanee, haha... cayden is so cute... nt flight attendant lah, can groom him 2 b a pilot. haha...

Wow, all your children can speak so well already? That's so cool.
Kai can only say a few words. Car, bird, ball, bom, ma, da and all the grumblings which i don't understand what he is talking about.
Sigh..
When we went for the injection, the doc said that he might need to go for speech therapy. So sad.