(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

aidanee ...

I order from here

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/799409.html?1179500230

only need 1 bottle ... too lazy to join spree or organise one hiak

vone ...

thanks for the tips!

eileenp ...

dun worry lar ... kai is end sept baby right ... yc oso started picking up more words recently ... before that only know how to say - GOAL!

my boss's son started to talk when he was 22mths only and v soon he moved on to speak in sentances and now he can TALK v well hiak she is hoping that he will just talk less man ... so no worries lar

anyway u go polyclinic for his jab too right? the drs there v crap one lar! only say things to make us panic only - I had my fair share of experience with all their nonesense

so whatever they say ... i always go back to verify with the PD.

gathering

so when do you all want to have a gathering? i can go check out the function room

eileen, dun worry k. dif babies develop at dif rates. jus njoy d 'silence' while it lasts. :p

sea, u r welcome.
yc is so cute... he mus hv learnt it fr ur hb rite? haha...

eileen, agree.. don't panic.. my SIL's son also start speaking when he;s almost 4yo..

aidanee, ya.. pilot better.. better pay too.. keke.. Performance, haha.. nick cannot make it.. infront of others, he's a timid mouse.. He bullies his gorgor at home but kanna bully in school.. Other kids snatch his toy and he just cry.. argh..

Mummies, not sure y, but nick is not a bb who offers hugs or kiss mummy and daddy.. very sad.. unlike sam who always kiss and hug us, nick runs away when we ask for hugs and kisses.. Even when we go up to him to hug or kiss him, he will push us away and run off.. sob sob..

nicky's mom
haha, instd of making nick kiss Ronald MacDonald, why not kiss papa & mama instead before he gets his fries?

eileenp
my fren's girl didn't spk much when she was 1+, taken care of by her grandparents. But when she was nearly 2YO, her mummy became her full-time caregiver coz relocated to HK. Suddenly she could recite alphabet, sing songs etc. So her mummy was worried over nothing... all the time she understood what was spoken, she just took her time to open her golden mouth. Maybe school also helped.

Thanks alot for all your reassurances. Actually, I wasn't really worried until the doc told me about the speech therapy. Kaos.. really got me worried there.
Seabreeze, yup. i went to the polyclinic for his jab.
My grandma also scare me lah. She said that there is a triplet at her block, younger than Kai. Now can call everyone in the family already. Hahaha...
Ok. I will wait patiently and 'enjoy the silence' for now. Hehehe...

wendyg,
Yup, he is attending half-day childcare at the moment. Think he's enjoying himself there. So, I'm quite happy about that.

eileenp
Hehe, dun worry. Anton also dun talk much but I know that he understand everything has been said and can carry out instructions very efficiently so I am also quite glad that he is not speaking so I can 'pretend' not to understand him when I need to hee
But he is pretty good in his phonics and he can recognise all the letters when I say the sound of each letter. So even when he saw the magazines, he would say the phonetic sound of each letter...He is more fascinated with sounds than talking like he is very good at imitating the sounds of animals and vehicles. Abit weird, this child of mine hee

haha.. triniti, think zephan is abt the same. can understand what we say, but stubbonly clams up when we want him to vocalise something. still, he's babbling happily over the phone (just like mummy last time!) and can point and name things when he feels like it. i also act blur when i dowan to respond to his request for tv! haha... he's beginning to recite the numbers and alphabets though.

aidanee, i sometimes use mopiko or the CB calming moisturizing cream. if he already scratched and there's a wound, i will also apply this thing called "swedish bitters" that's my MIL's "miracle cure" for everything.. hehe.. u can drink it for health, or apply to wounds/skin irritations. since this is an "edible" liquid, less worry if zephan scratches the wound and subsequently puts his hand into his mouth..

nicky's mom, zephan is also not a hugs n kisses boy. abt half the time he doesnt come to the door to greet us when we come home, esp if he's watching tv or doing something interesting. though sometimes he'll come up to us for "bao bao" or just lean against us.. guess that's the extent of his affection.. :p

seabreeze, i'm on for a gathering too! most sats are fine with me (except 30 Jun). would prefer afternoon timing. ur fn room is the perfect place! and we don't need to bring down the play yard this time round...
talking abt the play yard, zephan has torn off most of the teddy bear stickers by now, as well as stickers on his exersaucer.. :p

gathering

I have checked with the function room and its fully booked for the month of June.

Unless you all dun mind squeezing into my not so big house then we can have the gathering earlier otherwise have to wait till July

yayaya.... pilot is better. 6months bonus = min 30K!!!! excluding allowances.

Seabreeze,
Thanks. I just placed an order with the store. Ordered both Aloe Vera and calendular. Kiasu.

Cayden totally does not want milk anymore. how? at least yours still drink 100ml. Everytime he sees the milk (in bottle or in cup) he will say dun want. So i drop them totally! but how much yoghurt or cheese can he eat right? he still takes about 120ml of milk + oatmeal every morning. he takes other solids though. Tempted to intro pediasure which i heard is very sweet or even flavoured milk....but his hyperactivity has been quite well-controlled for many months now....

Speech
Some say more words earlier because of better jaw muscle development. Dun think it has to do with the IQ? Some can jump already at this stage (which Cayden cant, obviously cos his motor skills are not so refined.) Eileen, if yours is 5yo and not speaking much, then maybe speech therapy is needed. I think your Kai is doing fine... Please enjoy the peacefulness while you can.....once they start, cant stop!!!

Cakey,
it's quite cute to hear them sing. Cayden can sing the entire Twinkle Twinkle little star. But only my family can figure out what he sings lah. hahahaha....

aidanee
sometimes it's only me who can figure what isaac is saying/ singing etc..
even dh will give me a puzzled look... *pengz*

aidanee, pediasure is more of a meal supplement, not calcium replacement. u wanna try soya bean milk? else, will have to get supplements fr PD. for their age they need abt 3 milk servings a day. say u add 1 serving's worth of milk powder into his oatmeal, 1 slice of cheese, 1 cup of yoghurt, that adds up to their daily intake. can sometimes substitute w soya products?

much as i hate to say it, but i think the sesame st alphabets cum numbers dvd played an important role in zephan learning them... :p

hi aidanee,

Agree that the speech dev depends on their jaw, tongue structure. DD also can't kick, throw, chew much, but can speak well.
Dunno why she suddenly starts to be able to sing and recite rhythms last week!?!
She suddenly can sing twinkle star, ke ren lai, first part of barney song, and can recite xiao lao shu, teochew rhythms within 2-3 days. And she's trying to learn more songs... Its really out of the blue. Previously can only recite only 2 statements although she can already speak.

eileenp,
maybe you can teach him signing first? It helps when their speech is not clear. I think it increases their confident to speak if you show that you can understand them (when they uses speech + signing).

Cakey/Wendy,
It's like ang mo (no offence) in ear phones trying to sing a chinese pop song. You just have to figure out the lyrics. But some parts are quite clear. How i encourage him to sing or recite rhymes? EG,

Mom: Bah Bah Black ______? (prompt him to sing)
Cayen: Sheep
Mom: Have u any _________?
Cayden: Wool
Mom: Yes Sir _________?
Cayden: Yes Sir
Mom: 3 bags' _________?
Cayden: Full

But of course, must sing the whole song many times before can try out this method so as not to kill his confidence. After a week, he can sing the entire song (w/o prompting n assistance) with great confidence n accuracy.

This works for Cayden....

wah, your kid can sing liao ah? Ethan till now only speak "wu, boh, mai, ai"...

wendgy,
Isaac speaks teochew right? maybe can let them meet up. Sure very funny! haha..

esther
not as much as i'd like...
he only says a few words like "niam ti ti" and addresses all my relatives in teochew eg lao ma, lao gou, lao dioh.
He can't form sentences in teochew.. hv to blame us adults la... we didn't teach him that much.

wendy
sorry, me hakka...cayden can say wash backside in hakka. count 1-5 in malay. my dialect is also pte ltd. hehehe... only know one teochew: teo chew nang, ka chng ang ang? ehehehe...

alamak why u everything is backside backside...
hakka we're teaching isaac how to say "ho sit" as in "delicious!" Must teach him how to compliment my MIL cooking so that she's motivated to cook more yummy stuff for him. kekeke.
oh ya, he can greet relatives in hakka too..
tai tai, neh neh, da da, man sook gong, man sook po, tai ba, tai ba mei

wah, u gals are so chim in teaching dialects! i'm happy just having him learn english and mandarin, and may i be so ambitious to include japanese?! zephan can understand teochew, but definitely not speaking it. my parents only speak to him in mandarin, my ILs in english, so his exposure to dialect is limited to 2 hrs with my grandmother once a fortnight.

sometimes i wished my mom could just stick to one language. her mandarin not pure n english cannot make it. hakka ok. so i reckon she should just speak hakka to him.

i was shocked yesterday when i asked him where ah mah went. he said "ah ma see LOCTOR." wao biang....my mom taught him LOCTOR instead of DOCTOR. hahaha....so that's y i m thinking of sending him to some phonics school to correct all the misteaching!

Wendy,
I like bb's backside!!! hehehe...so smooth n round!

vone,

haha, no super baby lah, but i feel languages are lifelong skills that will stay with u forever, just like ability to play musical instruments. so worthwhile investing in these...

aidanee, same here.. i plan to send zephan for "correcting" lessons esp in the intonations for Mandarin! even i sometimes make mistakes in grammer n have to correct myself... :p

Havent been posting for a long time. Something bothered me recently and I must admit I'm biased to start off with. I got very bothered recently after seeing how my in-laws feed my girl from their spoons. Anyone had similar experience? How did you feel?

raisintan
yes my ILs frequently do that!!!
Thank God we only visit once a week at most.
I dun raise issue of hygiene when they do that, but will always remind them if they're coughing/ sick, pls use another spoon. Or if isaac is coughing/sick, he may spread to them!
If everyone is well, i just close one eye.. it's their way of showing love to their grandchild - feeding him with all sorts of things at whatever time of the day. *sigh*
great grandma raised 3 strong sons,
grandma & grandpa raised 5 strong children...
so i dowan to challenge them la.

wendy
Hehe, tarzan is hunky and handsome so dun mind if he is tarzan hehe. I am happy the way he is cos he is always smiling. Now in the morning, he will come and look for me and manja. FAINT

Aidanee
I went for my detail scan today and the doc says that the second child might be bigger than anton!!FAINT!! I thought I dun have to go thru episotomy but I think this time still have to go thru...sigh

raisintan
My parents also do that but I will give them a new spoon and ask them to feed anton using the other spoon. Usually they are fine with it.

hi raisintan,
Ya can trying passing them a new spoon. I suppose they did that out of convenient not really mean to 'share' the spoon.
Last time I use to be unhappy abt all these but now I 'kan kai' already cos. i reckon the kid will be happier in a family with harmony.

re: rhythm,
Wendyg, shld ask esther to teach teochew rhythm lar... I only know half-half not accurate one

esther,
Btw. which CC is ethan attending? Saw you carrying him when collecting the FM. you on c-section can carry toddler?

Em,
I feed kai with my spoon. Hee...

He's been having high fever for about 5 days already. Quite persistent this time. Dunno what's wrong. Seen a doc twice. Does this always happen after their 18 month injection?

It's temperature hovers around 38-39.5 degrees leh. Like quite high hor? Should I take him to KKH?

gathering

the earliest date that i got is 14 July (sat) noon so see whether you all wan wait till then or perfer a earlier date?

the earliest date for my house would then likely to be 16 June ...

sharing spoon

well i am guilty of that too hahahahaha raisintan ... i think cos its PIL lar .. if own parents can close 1 eye right *wink*

these day when my MIL and SIL see yc ... got nothing better to say so just keep saying: why you cant talk? so lousy untill now still cant talk *faint*

so fed up that day that i told them: enough! dun keep making that comment, if he wants to talk, he will.

actually i realise that he talks q abit but when he is at my MIL's place ... suddenly he just dun wan to talk hiak hiak wonder why?!?

fever

eileenp .. did ur PD give him the nurofen or something similar? I find that thats the best medicine to keep high fever at bay!

aidanee ...

me called the CC liao ... q friendly the lady but she say that the school bus will only be avail in June (earliest) ... will find 1 day to go down for the trial =) and oso to convince the ah-ma heehee

Cakey,

Aiyo, my teochew pte ltd too. Can't even find one teochew rhythm sing to him. haha...

ya. I started carry Ethan since back to work which is 6 wks after C-section. Aiyo, he wants me to carry since I fetch him back to cc. So boh bian loh... *touchwood* so far my woud still ok. His cc is at blok 658. Sunnytots Schoolhouse.

Sea, My Mil also kept on mentioned Ethan "useless" coz can't talk yet! Actually, am quite angry leh.

Hi Triniti,
wow, bigger than Anton? how much have you put on now? Must be looking very good!

AS i was sharing with Seabreeze this morning, we both agree the virgo babies, esp boys are very manja n loving......same goes to my bil, my bro, my nephews......

Seabreeze,
try to pick tues (free kindermusik in your trial, heheheh...that's what i did)if you wanna go for trial....but before that, just go once to see the place n how the teachers handle the kids. And if u are not confident after the trial, request for a second trial. hehehe....can mention i recommend....most of the teachers are members of my shops. hehehehe...

Eileen,
my niece is also down with fever for a week liao. has to keep taking med to keep it at bay. She just took her MMR n Pneu. jab.Could be due to the injection.

Re: Gathering
If my hubby is outstationed, i wun be able to attend. So KIV my attendence unless i get a maid. I am not like supermom, nicky's mom who can go solo with heavy-wt Nick to Japan!!

Oh, nicky's mom, have you popped????? no sound no picture for 2 days liao..

vone,
that's y have to be conscious at all times. Kids these days pick up anything and everything. Out of no where, he can blurt out ALAMAK cos my hubby likes to use that. I make sure we do not swear infront of him.

aidanee.. not yet leh.. still here.. doc says to hold on for another 2-3weeks when i was admitted to the "hotel" last friday. He say bb quite small in size and if i were to pop now, most likely bb will have to be warded into special care unit..

Eileen, Kai went for the FOC jab at poly? if it's that one, usually will have quite high fever after that. but fever tends to subside after 3-4 days. If fever hits 39.5 for the ear thermometer or 38.8 degrees for the nomal thermometer, i prefer to bring the boy to KKH at least let doc see liao i feel better.. U feeding Kai panodol? if yes, 30mins after medicine, fever should go down. bout 4-6hours after the medicine, fever should come back.. that's pretty norm. use a wet towel and wipe him if he's having fever loh.. important places are the forehead, back of the head, neck, slightly above the backside where the kidneys are.. i think if i never remember wrongly, doc did mention these are the places that will get "overheated" faster.. hehe

aidanee ...

ok i try to go on tues then ... yap i gave her your name and she went ... oooorrrrrrrr ... i oso wan member card ler hiak hiak

maybe when she cfm her bus services first then i will send him there heehee

come for the gathering if its on lar ... we can help u mar ...

yap virgo bb v manja and not forgetting VAIN! super vain lor ... yc LOVES trying out new clothes and shoes ... he will walk around and model for you one v vain ... when we stick the fever patch thing for him .. got to tell him CUTE & HANDSOME then he put on ... otherwise cry and scream

esther ...

yar ... v irritating hor

haha.. sea.. yaya.. virgos are super vain! nick likes to look at the mirror and call himself "handsome".. BTW, 9aug is virgo not? haha..

esther, my MIL also like that.. to them, saying negative things will help to make the situation positive.. i get pissed also cos i also like to tell my kids nice things like "so clever" etc..

nicky's mom,
u mean your actual due date is 2-3 weeks' time? or wat? be patient lor, most imptly must be a healthy bb okie....so eat well n rest well now. We are expecting another sumo-bb!!

nicky's mom,

He went for the 5 in 1 jab at the polyclinic. Gave him the paracetemol bottle type one every 6 hours lor. Hope that i will end soon. Getting sleepless nights lor. Super tired.

aidanee, if u're ard punggol i can give u a ride to the gathering

so are we set for 14 July? gotta jot down in my calendar! i think better to be in function rm so that we dun mess up seabreeze's house too much.. :p

ting,
thanks for the offer. i will need to bring many bags of rubber bands to shoot him if he does creat a scene n daddy is not there to carry n remove him.

Aidanee
I am now 50.2 at 20 weeks. When I had anton I was 47.8 but thats also because I was super skinny before I had anton. But this pregnancy I put on slower and eat much less junk food and carbo so I think most of it went to the bb. My tummy still looks small and lot of ppl din think I m preggie.The bb is 364g and all in good range.

Triniti,
hello! I think i am the reverse this time. I put on faster cos i eat more junk n fried stuff as compared to the first. I was 45.6kg. At 21 weeks, i was 51kg. Now at 24weeks, i m 52kg. To many, my tummy looks small but it is def bigger compared to my previous preg. hehehe...i am walking like a penguin now. My face and arms are slightly fleshier...looks better i think.

I think that's the nice things about carrying a boy. We dont change too much, n in fact my skin is glowing (if i take care lah).

aidanee ..

are u sure? i tot carry boy look like SAI hahahahahaha maybe for your case is different .. i look terrible when i had YC

gathering

i am ok with both my hse or function room =)

as long as most ppl can make it