(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

esther, hehe.. ok, will seriously consider your suggestion. i also think it's better for him to socialise more. since i went back to work 1 year plus ago he seldom plays alongside other kids except during sunday church service.

zephan sleeps in aircon every night, even when weather is cool. temp changes at night, and he can stir quite easily when he perspires. also, have to be wary of mosquitoes during raining nights. so simple way is to have constant temp throughout n i dunnid to worry abt him being too warm/cold or being fed to mosquitoes. lazy mum here.. :p

oh..

my hse at nite rather cool... if open window and bedroom door... i use this candle to scent the whole room before we sleep.. suppose to keep mosquitoes away.. of coz there are times it doesn't work as well... bt if i tink there are mosquitoes, i will use the mosquitoes patch.. plus mopiko.. i will put some on the baby cot, the smell prevent the mosquitoes from cuming, den i put some on myself and xavier... xavier got eczema, so if kena mosquitoes bites, the spot will blister and it will break, of cos the spot will oso swell...

oni switch on air-con if its really dry, humid, cos hubby got sensitive nose... xavier oso got sinus...

RE: CC or any other playgroup
Think the most impt is that the team is caring and attentive to the needs of our kids...So be it for the brand, or convenience, as long as our kids are happy, i m happy.

Ting,
Bring Zephan for a full trial, then you can have a better idea of the centre's philosophy and values. I think that's impt.

aidanee, no lah, cannot afford 2 semi-retire. it's jus tt i m wking fr hm, thus d part-time sahm.
m still tinking whether i wanna send Daryl 2 cc. hb feels tt it's 2 early as he's so young. in addition, we gt a maid 2 look after him. so he doesn't c y we hv 2 send Daryl 2 d cc.

Happy Mother's Day!! time passes by so fast. it's oledi d 2nd mother's day tat we r celebrating wif our kiddos.

Ting,
vone is right. Some do provide trials b4 full enrolment. Some dont. Mine gave me 2 trials before i put down deposit and register.

Vone,
Oh, of course, if you have a good maid, then Daryl needs not go to CC. My case here is because my mom needs time off, n i am back to office. N also we are preparing him for the arrival of his brother. It is easier for the centre to teach sharing and turn-taking cos more children there. hehehe...However, we are also exploring the idea of having a domestic helper before the bb arrives so that she can help out with the chores.

Happy Belated Mother's Day!

talk abt CC...
i oso jus registered Keyon to a CC near my mum's plc.
Starting him with half-day(am) in Jun...then full day in Jul, hopefully, by end Jul, when I give birth to mei mei, he'll get used to CC.

Glad, that when i tok to the director & teacher-in-charge, they seems very caring.
The CC oso very clean & organised. Director told me they keep small grp so she can concentrate on kids. They also toilet-trained the toddlers who are still on diapers...

Hmm...hope they r not putting an act to lure me to register.. * fingers crossed*..:p

aidanee, tt's true aso. i m tinking more of backups jus in case my maid decides nt 2 wk 4 me anymore or if she dun wan 2 renew her contract which is expiring in feb 2008, depending on which comes earlier. :p

hving a maid gt it's pros & cons. so u need 2 tink abt it carefully. 2 b honest, if i can, i rather do w/o. hving a maid can b such a headache at times.

vone...
haha, in fact, i'm sending my hubby to do tomorrow/thur cos he's on leave :p hee hee.

aidanee..
me oso think they go CC can learn more things.

mummies on 2nd preg..
chk wif u, how much weight u gain for ur 2nd baby? i oni gain 7kg so far. kinda worried..
issit bb gals usu smaller?

Happy belated mother's day

Applejuz
Actually it doesn't matter how much u put on, its more of how much the bb takes from..The gynae will let u know if the bb is of the right weight so dun worry too much about it

hi applejuz,
Dun worry, I only gain abt 9kg thruout compare to abt 13kg or more last time. Bb came out smaller at 2.8kg. but yrs is gal so ok to be smaller in size

re: CC,
I told my MIL hope to put my gal in 1/2 day CC when she's 24mth but she rejected the idea leh... She keep saying no problem for her to handle 2 and dun waste money. Also say they'll get sick and not much things to learn... It's true lar... but seems like my gal will miss out enjoying group life and learn lesser compare to others since everyone starts at such young age... kiasu mummy here :p

re: jealous
My gal starts to fight for attention with her bro... whenever me or MIL is feeding/carrying bb she'll complaint either her 'pi gu tong' or 'ya chi tong' or leg itch, ear itch want us to scratch etc... If she in good mood she's ok after a hug, otherwise will cry and wants us to put down didi to attend to her...
She even complain her shirt is too tight need to change when seeing MIL bathing bb!
Whenever I told her didi need something she also want. Eg. when told her didi 'poo' I can't read to her, she also says she want to poo.
These starts to happen now cos MIL starts to take care of bb too since I gg back to work soon... Really need to be very creative to 'hong' her as she's giving more creative excueses to get attention...

applejuz, mus ask hb 2 go at dif timings 2 spot chk. hehe...

cakey, tink u shld monitor d situation & c hw. it might b a gd idea 2 send tricia 2 CC since she's getting 2 b more clingy.

hi gals..
thanks for ur feedback.

my gynae told me last week, by date bb is 28wks, by size she's 27 wks, so smaller than estimated, but its just right for my size... easier to deliver.
but i wan a chubby bb leh... think i'll go eat some durians... heehee

cakey,
haha, Trisha is so creative har... lotsa excuses to get attention! So Cute!
ya, i agree wif vone, try to persuade ur mil to let her go CC, lesser chance 4 her seeing more attention on bro => lesser jealousy (??) ... but then as now bro oredi arrived, oso afraid she might think u all wan didi dun wan her liao ... hmm tough decision. :>

Hi Cakey,

Your situation sounds familiar as mine. Ethan also very cranky. We purposely arraged him to cc before I give birth. Somehow, every evening when he reached home, he will cry and wants our attention. Want ppl to hug him, carry him. Else he will cry without any reason. A bit "ba dao" loh...Really hoping he will change his attitude coz very tiring to taking care baby especially I started work already. It's triple up the stress and tired.

vone,applejuz
Thanks for your advice. Maybe i'll go take a look at what's the good cc around first before attempting to discuss with MIL again.

esther,
Can understand yr stress... Sometime felt like our time & energy all given to the kids and 0 to ourselves. I'll be busy non-stop for 1.5hr before a trip with packing, bathing, hong the kids running here and there. Not even have time for a sip of water (bad for bf hehe..).
My hubby even have phobie feeling on every Friday when weekend is approaching hehe...
Anyway we engage a part-time cleaner for house cleaning and that reduces part of the stress.

Applejuz,
Dun worry abt the wt...when i had cayden, i only put on 9kg, n he was 3kg when i gave birth at 38weeks. as long as it's a healthy bb...u can always BU after she arrives....with your powerful BM!!! hehehehe....

Cakey,
please do not think that way....there are many reasons y we have to send our children to early pre-school/alternative care-giver. YOu have a good support from your MIL, so maybe there is really no hurry to send her to CC. Personally, it may not be a good idea to send her "away" now cos you wouldnt want to make her feel like she is not wanted. Maybe if you can, send her to a weekly playgroup like tumbletots,GUG,Baby Jumper Gym etc or anything that suits your timing/convenience/finances so that she gets to mingle with other children n know that she can still have some private time with either you or your hubby during the class.

Re:Clingy
I think it's pretty natural for our tots to be clingy to us during this period (whether we are preg or not) cos at this age, they are beginning to understand who are dearest to them, and hate to see us leave. So we have to be extra patient.I can forsee it's gonna be bad for me too in a couple of months, but no choice lah, that's the challenge we got to face when we have no.2 close to the 1st.

RE:Falling sick
So far, touch wood. Cayden has been ok since the start of the CC. Hope he will continue to be strong!!!!

hi aidanee,
It's true that i'm fortunate that my MIL is able to handle my kids. Am considering CC instead of weekly playgroup cos concern that MIL will object even more since it's more expensive (not so value for money in terms of $/hr).
So far my gal doesn't feel unwanted... only that she's not used to seeing us dotes on other bb besides her...
Well, although she has lesser of our attention now, but she will have her little brother to play with next time

hi cakey,
post some pix of your bb leh...
does he look like your gal when she was a bb? what's his name?

Hi angel,
saw Megan on TV yesterday. She has grown up so much!

hi mummies ...

long time no chat heehee

wan to ask you all ... is your baby (no so baby anymore actually hiak) refusing milk now? YC is refusing water and milk after he recovered last week - not sure cos if he was traumatised from the medicine feeding (it was WAR man ... the scariest time of the day for him and ME!)

i tried feeding him milk this morning from the sippy cup and he took a sip and say 'HOT' *faint* then refuse to drink ... so i had to pour it back into the milk bottle (machaim like milk-terak like that) and force him to drink. but he took like 100ml only and refuse to take anymore

sianz ... wonder whats wrong

was toying with the idea of sending yc to childcare vs playgroup due to the cost factor too but in the end my mum 'bu she de' to see yc go into child care at such a 'young tender' age so she say that just send him to pre-nursery next year first while i continue his weekend class for now. i was thinking of sending him somewhere to learn everyday cos i find that his verbal skill is abite lacking - has improved lots but still lacking hiak cos lazy mum too lazy to teach after work and the ah-ma only like to watch korean drama instead of teaching him. so till now his vocab v limited but def he is a drama baby hahahahaha

hello..

my sis kena a veri bad strain of virus, causing her to had sore throat, headache, ear ache... flu i think, now xavier got the running nose.. so worried, skali koen oso get the flu... sian.. xavier still taking medicine for his rash.... and he seems not to want to take it anymore...

seabreeze
hey, YC can learn Korean la? kekekeke

my husband not keen on young child taking too much medicine.. he say let the body build immunity by fighting the germs naturally. How??

wendyg ...

hahahahaha can learn all the drama-mama stuff more like it .. he will find one corner and put his head on his hand to cry

if you take something and walk away .. he will purposely fall down on the floor and 'cry' on the floor *faint*

i actually have the same school of thought as your hubby ... usually for cough and flu (unless its real bad) i will just let him drink more water and let him recover on his own

but this time round got high fever ler ... so no choice got to take anti-biotics + all the medicine so damn sianz

i was so happy when he finish his course of anti-biotics that I brought him to the rubbish bin and have a 'throw away medicine' ceremony hahahahahah

seabreeze

so cute... so ur boy veri happy wen he throw away the medicine bottle?

i so sian, my boy was recovering from his rash.. suppose to take medicine till tomorrow, now he got flu, den he veri fussy bout taking medicine, at 1st he say sweet water... now he dun wan.. put in milk, he will refuse the whole bottle of milk, mix wif water he oso dun wan...

any1 got any idea how to make ur kid drink medicine??

wendyg ...

yar maybe i can become a 'xin ma' hahahahahaha

ayl0212 ...

think i was happier than him lor

my fren suggested to give the medicine in a spoon and ask the child to feed himself but my boy see the medicine already make so much noise that he just refuse to be anywhere near me hiak

bluff him lor.. the other time i pour some vitagen into the spoon with medicine, he reluctantly took.
recently, prepared 2 syringes: 1 with his medicine, another filled with orange juice. Papa drank the one with OJ & said medicine made him stronger so that ants wun bite him.. so isaac must also drink the medicine and be strong boy.

other times, i just dump the medicine into his milk.. he's used to having 1 additional flavor in his milk so doesn't make a fuss.

sea, poor YC... since he doesn't wan 2 drink milk, then dun force him. give him some time 2 get used 2 it again. anyway, since they r taking solid food nw, milk is oni a supplement.

Sea, haha.. then my boys must be medicine lovers.. Nick sucks the medicine out from the syringe even before i start pressing on it. Afterthat he will chase me and then cry to ask for more. Maybe can try keeping the medication in the fridge? Nick loves the medicine cold..

vone ...

dunno ler my boss suggested for me to try giving him fresh milk instead since he is so 'old' liao hahahahaha but i am wondering if he is teething thats why he is refusing milk.

can you imagine ... until now still that miserable EIGHT teeth hahahahaha

nicky's mum

hey when u popping? cold medicine doesnt work too cos his fever med all in the fridge one oso make noise

Sea, anytime now loh.. hope it's soon.. So tired liao..

Medicine : Hmm.. then dunno leh, cos both my boys seems to "enjoy" taking medicine.. haha..

nicky's mom, i thought Cayden was weird too. He is just like Nick! Obsessed with Med.

Sorry me also no idea how to bluff them to drink med.

Wendy
is vitagen/yakut better than yoghurt? do you dilute it before offering? have not given any other drinks other than water, gripe water, milk!

i wouldn't know if it's better than yoghurt... subjective la. But some people may find it sweet. I dun give him Vitagen unless he really can't poo or little poo for days.. then he only gets a sip. So far i haven't diluted coz he takes so little anyway. Ya now i remember: there was once husband was in a shop having prolonged discussion with the boss, then the lady boss out of the kindness of her heart gave isaac a bottle straight out of the fridge, and he drank half the bottle at 1 shot. Next few days loose & frequent bowels...

it's sweet and cold and full of bacteria... surely some mums will steer clear of it for as long as they can..

sea, giving fresh milk is a great idea. u shld try tt.

aidanee, i hv given my boy vitagen whenever he wans it. he seems 2 like it. bt he usually can't finished 1 btl. so either me or hb will drink d bal.

Ethan will asked for yakult everyday. He just loves it! After dinner, sure he will stand next to fridge and scream "AH KUT"..He can fisnied one bottle alone. Although he drinks yakult everyday his poo poo still very hard.hmm...

cmy
does he drink enuf water thru the day? isaac drinks quite a lot of water (in my opinion) but his pee still yellow..

temple..

pocoyo not much singing... its like watching another kid exploring things.. veri cute... u go check the website www.pocoyo.com got a few episode can watch... popular got sell the disc if not the disney playhouse will show it from mon - fri late mornings...
they have plush toys bt not available in singapore, u go check www.bandai.uk.co ( tink its correct) i got my sis to get it for my son wen she went to london...

xavier drinks bout half a bottle of yakult a day, PD says good for intestines esp if having diahorrea...

hi wendyg,
Ethan can drinks and eats a lotssssss. He really a food monster! Even the teacher shake head. Everyday he finished up his water at CC and teacher will replenish the water. His pee not yellow. Oldies say maybe his body is very heaty so not matter how much water he drinks his poo still hard hard, sometimes even bleed.

Any mummies toilet train their kid already? Ethan is toilet trained on poo. He will say "ng" whenever he wants to poo. But hor he don't knw how to say "shh" or "jio" (teochew) before he pee. Everytime after pee then he will scream and stand there and said "jio". How ah? Those fully toilet train, how to train at night time then?

same here, isaac sometimes will only announce that he peed when it's too late... He'll stand rooted coz he knows if he moves, he may slip on his pee!

wow so fast you all toilet train your bb liao ... i must see yc face change then i faster put him on his potty

but he got this v funny habit of going under the table, cot, chair etc and 'gek sia' hahahahaha so whenever I see him lying down under the table, cot etc I faster pull him out and put on the potty

but got misses sometimes lar ...

esther ...

my boss's son already 4yr, toilet trained, they will still let him wear diaper at night.

my aunty's maid have to wake the child up at regular interavl at night in order to toilet train them for the night.

esther, if tt's d case, mayb u can boil china barley water 4 ethan 2 drink once a wk. it helps 2 reduce d heatiness.

sea, haha... my boy is aso like tt. if nt, he'll find 1 corner 2 do his biz.

my colleague mentioned that for her 4YO, she set her alarm 3am every night and gently carry her girl to pee. After 1 week the girl went on her own.

Re: VCD (audio music and for watching) in Chinese or Japanese
Any mummies let their children watch VCD in Chinese or Japanese? What's good, and where to buy? Thanks.

Anyone here has toddlers refusing to wear clothes? My girl has not been wearing clothes for majority of the time (unless we go out, I'll force it on her) for the past 2 weeks. She wants to wear her own clothes, but not doing it correctly, and she doesn't want us to help her or teach her.
Even when she's deep asleep, and I try to wear it for her, her hands can pull it off, and she'll start to cry.

Anyone has "terrible 2s" stories to share on their toddlers? How do you handle?

RE: Vitagen/Yakut
Cayden went on an excursion to Giant with the cc 2 weeks back. I received some pic of the happenings that morning. To my surprise, in one of the pix, he was munching a sandwich and on the floor, there was a half unfinished a bot of vitagen. Paisey, i never knew we can give tots that! So i asked the sch, n they told me that was a treat from Giant- with lesser sugar, and they said that all the tots finished the bot in a gulp except for Cayden. Me sua ku lah! Have never given him that before. think no harm to take once in a while hor...but i will definitely dilute it cos i still find this version abit sweet.

Sometimes he also gets loose stools from yoghurt. So i try to not to give too often. The most 3 times a week. 60ml each time.

To help in bowel movements, so far avocado works the best for Cayden.

Seabreeze,
YC is so cute....sometimes when Cayden has difficulty passing motion, he will want me to hold both of his hands, n "help me" n we will do the NG NG NG together....me no energy to potty train now too. He used to tell me ng ng before big business comes, then he would signal that he needed the potty. Now when he sees the potty, like seeing ghost! Sigh. N something weird. He only wants to wear PET PET! No other diapers! He will shout for Pet Pet if he sees pampers n refuse to wear anything. weirdo!!!!