(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi passing guest,
OH I See!!! haha.. miss out the picture cos my browser is doesnt' d/l pict hehe...
She'll wake up at 8+pm cos quite impossible to keep down the noise, light level till similar to night time as that period is 'prime time'

We visit her abt 8+ and will watch TV, chit-chat with hubby's family so quite rowdy in the living room lar. Anyway it's diff if we can only visit her so late.
Weekend I'll try to let her sleep earlier abt 9.30 -10pm.

cakey, after zephan sleeps we try to keep noise to minimum. always scold my hb cos he speaks v loudly into the phone. as for light, can't avoid that cos we're not asleep at that time, and our bedroom doors are frosted glass. even when he wakes up in the middle, we dun go to him unless he cries loudly, then we'll go in to pat him. that's quite seldom.

true that when someone else is taking care of ur kid it's difficult to enforce your own rules.

triniti
is the Horizon cheese salty? Issit adult cheese?

cakey
if living room is gonna be noisy, we'll close the door to Isaac's room. Everyone creeps around when Isaac is asleep, whether for naps or at night.

wendyg
The sodium is 7% per stick
but I try not to give him on a regular basis...more like once every week...
Actually I just bought one packet last week...and he only tried like a tiny bit hehe

Oh, so it's adult cheese la...
Available from where... Tanglin Mall again?

I gave Isaac a Laughing Cow cheese cube once, but i thought it was so salty, it's been sitting in my fridge since then

wendyg
nono hehe I got it from Market Place Paragon.Tanglin Mall is quite inaccessible for me. I agree the cheese is way too salty...Anton dun really like it actually but he likes the cheese sauce for mac and cheese

PG
her hubby was at my place fixing my hubby's computer. She went back first to put Zeph to bed

sharon
so u are grace's mum or sabrina's mum? Or u hv 2 girls?
I wanted to get such a strider for Isaac but he beat me to it - he practises his steps by pushing a large plastic chair.. Save me some $$ also la

haha, wendy, i was surprised when ben told me about jane reserving the dog food. that's the fastest response i've got for a post! :p

jane, still available. in the end i counted, only about 3 packs left, cos i threw away those that have been opened but not finished. you can come by to pick it up from me anytime

Halo

I know some of u gals let ur babies eat yogurt. And someone ever mentioned it's the Petit Maim brand right...but I go look for it and the package says for kids, is that the one or do they have another type for babies?

hi zaczac, i think the main concern that the products u feed zac should have little or no sugar, salt, and cow's milk (for below 1 year old).

wendyg
Hehe no..I made the cheese sauce for his pasta..

Add cheese and milk and some rice flour and mix..to make cheese sauce
Much healthier and no preservatives

hi triniti
what milk do u add into the cheese sauce? FM?

SAHMs... how do u keep your child entertained during the day? Now that my boy is taking shorter naps, I'm finding it hard to keep him entertained. I try introducing a reading time to him. But each time i hold a book in my hands, ryan will want to grab the book. really scratching my head on how to keep him entertained.

Hi Emmie
For cooking I use organic full fat cow's milk. It is permissible to use cows milk for cooking but not for direct consumption for the baby ( according to Gina Ford recipe)

A good variety of toys do keep them busy esp those with music movement and lights...you can play with them together with the toys...

I play interactive games like peek a boo and If you 're happy and u know it and the tickling games hehe
Singing songs with lotsa rhythms also entertain your kids but implement with actions and dances

Hi guys...smthing I came upon today...very touching...Now that I've become a parent, I actually feel closer to my parents, knwing that as we grow, they become old. As I view the slides, knwing the fact that one day they will leave us, bring tears to my eyes. We shd cherish them while we can, learn frm their mistakes and be a better parent to our kids.

http://parentswish.com/

emmie
let him crawl around, practise standing up. Carry him & let him fly like aeroplane/ superman (but very chuan4 la)
Bring him downstairs when it's not too hot - let him look at dogs, bicycles, cars etc.

Normally, my MIL will let Ethan plays the tin (FM tin ), the containers etc.... Coz it got sounds so sometimes baby can play that for quite sometimes. I found out he plays that longer than toys (save $$$..haha). My MIL also taught him how to close and open the container and tins. Now my boy even can differenciate which tin and containers' cover should closed with....Else you also can teach him open/close the zip. My boy likes to play with it.

Hi sharon,

Sabrina looks so cute and can stand so steady...
I have a similar strider..looking toward to the day my boi can use it...haha

Hi vone,

aiyo..u din managed to escape in time huh...kena bitten until blue black...nvr mind cj sayang u hor...btw my mum is the only victim who get the bites from cj...dun know why he like to bite his granny...hehe

cmy
good idea!

ineedmilk
ever since his top teeth grew more & more, i had pain latching him on. So now he takes bottle even for his final feed.. no more latching on. And only drain breasts once a day by pumping. Gonna dry up sooooooonnnnnn

vone
dun let him bite la.. if isaac bites/ pulls my hair, i'll scold. We've got a book - Teeth Are Not For Biting.. teeth are for smiling.. say cheese!

re: vicks

there is a baby version of vicks, call baby snuffle. my HB bought from guardian and can use on bb 3mths onwards.

re: yogurt

the Petit Maim brand is for kids. i bought for my ds, the 6 pack type. he will be fed 1/2 pack 2-3 times per week. he seems to quite like it, then again, he likes new stuff.

sorry, i dun log on everyday, so bit slow in replying.

now, whenever ds refused to finish his cereals or solids food, we will use the adult spoon to feed and he will eat. see lah, food the same but spoon different then want to eat... ...

vone, my ds bit my maid yesterday and maid complained that very pain. i am not going to confirm that myself!

cmy, thanks for the toys tips! i will let ds try. will really save lots of money!! i bought quite a few cloth books but he is only interested in tasting the books and any removeable parts.

triniti
oh...i didn't know cow's milk can be used for cooking baby food. Duh! I actually drank it up the other day when i used it to cook dinner for hubby and me. i sung the song "If You R Happy" so many times that my hubby says he has nightmares. haha...

wendyg
ryan is crawling all over the place and is now into climbing tv consoles or whatever low ledges. trying to teach him to get down from my bed.

cmy, have been trying your idea... now trying to find some drumstick for him to hit the tins as an instrument.

Wendyg.
Me only one BB liao, Sabrina.my Username gracemum
is because i that time want to name her as grace la,

SYen,
The time will come very soon..haha.
how much you brought it?

Vone,
mine gal still no teeth liao. izzit normal ha

aidanee,
glad to know that Cayden is drinking more milk. sometimes i kiasu, want to say more than two suggestion. Then realise that it does not work, so kept it short.

passing guest,
Annette is soooo sexy!

Emmie,
Just continue reading even if Ryan grab the book as he will be listening. It is good to let him have a feel of the book and learn how to turn the pages.

Normally i borrow lots of board books (some have touch and feel) from national library. For june holiday period, each person can borrow up to 8 books and can also get a card for baby. Just need to give the birth cert no. to librarian and they will give a card. Plus hubby card, can borrow total 24 books each visit.

re:lib
Yap I got my gal a lib card as well and the first time you borrowed 4 books got a free cotton bag
Also found out that my gal is fasinated with books that have shinny stuff.

small bell,
It's diff to read when bb grabing the books leh..Cos can't see the words clearly and diff to keep a nice tone hehe..
Btw thanks for the CDs.. It's good

re:flipping
dd just learnt something new.. instead of having bedtime stories, she's using her thick bedtime story book to practice quick flipping with thumb..

hv seen the board books in the library - quite scruffy right? And Isaac likes to eat his books... so i guess the previous babies who 'read' the books also like to eat la?

i'm a mummy, i'ce checked out the price for the pampers all night.. it's RM38.90 (M 62pcs, L 56pcs & XL 50pcs). will be coming back end of june...

wendyg,
will choose those newer ones for bb lar. And somehow the pictures are captivating enuff so at least she only touches them instead of tasting them..

cakey
welllll all the more Isaac will eat them..
my husband also prefer not to borrow library books for baby yet.. until he's old enuf not to chew on everything!

i need milk, tt's y i m veri thkful tt i had stop bf.

shao yen, ya lor. then my irritating hb instead of sayanging me, he said tt i gt tofu flesh. coz when my boy bites him, he dun kena it. argh!

wendy, issac is a gd boy, mine is nt.

ilmare, i seriously dun recommend tt u do it.

sharon, ya, it's normal. some bb dun hv teeth yet aso. dun worry k.

vone, u r lucky already, zac keeps biting my nipple when he latches on at night. He thinks its fun, he bites and pull...so painful. I screamed once and he got a shock and end up crying very loudly.

re: yogurt
I went to a few cold Storage to look for yogurt for babies leh but can't find. Any idea, where exactly can I get some?

I jus realise that Zac can tahan not sleeping/napping from 2pm to 10pm. He really can tahan man as long as u bring him jalan jalan in his stroller then he can jus go on and on like duracell!!! hahaha

re: sleeping thru
Zac now sleeps from 9pm to 230am. wake up a while for milk then sleep till 6am. Is this consider sleeping thru the night? Or must I train him until he sleeps thru the whole stretch 9pm to 6am?

Zac went for his 9months assessment 2 weeks ago and he only measures 73cm, hahaha is he consider a shortie? Anyway we were told not to put him in a walker cos he can't put his right foot flat on the ground, he's always tip toeing on his right.He still can't crawl...

zaczac
to some, sleeping thru the night means sleeping for 5-6hr at a stretch.
So i guess u made it! Congrats... CIO works after all? Did u try not going to him at 2.30am? How much does he drink at that time?

Coz for Isaac, he used to wake abt 12 midnight, & i'd give him abt 120ml milk, which he sometimes finishes, sometimes not. One night before i could get the milk ready, he fell back to sleep again. So i realised i dun hv to attend to him at that time...

zaczac, sleep thru means not waking up in the middle. according to some schedules, it means 7pm to 7am! but i'm already v happy that zephan sleeps fr 8pm to 6am.

zac not shortie lah, zephan at 10m only 76cm.. quite ok already i feel.. some babies skip the crawling stage and go on to walk. u may find urself happy that u need not keep the floor clean all the time for him to crawl!

re: biting
when zephan first got his teeth, he also bit me during feeding. at first i screamed in shock n he cried in fright. after that i learnt to keep my calm and slapped his thigh when he did that, and tell him a stern no. after a while he stopped it. sometimes can feel that he wants to bite, but seemed to remember something n stopped.

re: books
i'm also hesitant to borrow from library as yet. cos he bites his own books too.

<font color="0000ff">An older man is on the operating table awaiting surgery. He has insisted that his son, a renowned surgeon, perform the operation. He is about to receive the anesthesia when he asks to speak to his son.

"Yes, Dad, what is it?"

"Don't be nervous, do your best, and just remember, if it doesn't go well, if something happens to me, your mother is going to come and live with you and your wife." </font>

vone,
you poor thing. saiyang! Haowen also like to bite me. I scolded him quite fiercely yesterday and he pretend to cry like so pitiful...nowadays he's very manja!

zaczac
if u stay in the north, can get the yoghurt from Northpoint cold storage.

cmy
PM you liao.

Hi Phoebe,

Ok thanks so much! will Pm or email you on my order towards end june. Btw, will you be driving back or by bus? cause the diapers quite heavy leh..if inconvenient, let me know hor!

re : books

same here... very hard to maintain the same reading tone with ryan grabbing the book. Plus can't see the words. He's quite happy flipping the big board book by himself. But thought would be more useful if someone actually reads to him.

re : baby einstein
anyone here bought the set? does your baby like it? hubby commented that I seem to be the one watching rather than ryan.

emmie
my boy can't sit still &amp; watch TV for long.. whether it's Baby Einstein or other programs..

jkids
i gave him yoghurt when he was 7m i think.. served cold from fridge.

re: baby einstein
i have got 1 vcd, but zephan doesn't seem interested in it as well. think they'll be more interested in tv after they turn 1. anyway, i dun let him watch much tv, cos he likes to stand next to it!

re: tv

Ethan watched TV but only MOPIKO advertisement. He will automatically crawl near to TV whenever the song started and laughing alone there till end of the show. After finsihed he will crawl away. Don't know why he loves the mosquito so much ..

re TV
haowen gets quite excited when he sees the BB Einstein's caterpillar and puppets but he's not interested in the rest. Right now, I'm showing him the Baby Signing Times DVDs, and he seems to recognise certain signs such as milk, daddy and mummy cos he would stare at us quite intensely when we sign.