(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hello mummies, my boi has a running nose and cough. Keeps getting up from his sleep and crying. poor thing. any of you has tips to help him feel better. threw up milk too... has seen doc.. sad sad

ixwong & aidanee,
Wow, you two can read personality, eh? Yeah, I am not one who can live with a routine job. Job satisfaction is very impt to me. I maintain a high standard when it comes to my work. Guess you can say I am a perfectionist. I must excel in everything I do.

It's so difficult being a mum. It's a constant struggle how I shld allocate my time.

Maybe you are right, I shld not jump into this new job if I feel uncomfortable abt it. My boss actually had a 'heart-to-heart' talk with me that day. He said though he has been retrenching pple, I have never been near his 'radar' so guess I am quite 'safe' in my current position.

Went for 3 job interviews last week and all 3 (including the learning center) are interested in employing me. Guess the job market is indeed picking up.

Thanks for all the advices. I feel much better now!

hi featherG

ds just recovered from flu, my PD gave a nose drop to help dry up the mucus so ds can breath better. also elevate his pillow higher, that will help the phlegm and mucus to flow down and not accumlated at back of throat. and we put snuffle(baby vicks) on his chest, throat and back.

PD also suggest that feed cereals cos can't breath and may not want to suck milk.

anissa
you thinking of changing job? me too. my job is shift and have to work weekends and public hols, but have weekdays off.

now praying for a office work or something that is fixed hours... ... but scare that bit difficult cos i been working in my current job for 8yrs, so think kinda of not marketable.

Hi ilmare,
Office job is quite easy to find. The job market is picking up. No harm giving it a try.

I'm thinking of changing job not cos of anything but cos I think my boss doesn't value my services. Other than that I really have nothing to complain abt. The job scoop is allows lots of flexibility and offers great challenge

Ya, I do agree with the Job portfolio concern when you downgrade your position.

BUt I treat that as a scarific for my daughter.just like some mum who choose to stay home wihout income.

Hi all mummies
I wanna ask if any of you have 3G phones? If you do, do u know if it is possible to use a 3G phone without using a 3G SIM card ( if we dun use the 3G service?

re:free BOSCH microwave oven
I have a 4 year old microwave oven to be given free. It is still in working condition just that it looks abit old. We are thinking of changing into a new microwave oven cos we got a new oven and the colour don't match now. Please pm me for those mummy who wants the free microwave oven. First come first serve basis. Self collect at Andrew Road near Mediacorp

coffeedrinker,
I know where you are coming frm. I used to be very career-minded and would not hesitate working till the wee hrs. Now if I work late, I start to feel guilty...

triniti,
I believe you can.

hi aidanee, zephan's fully recovered now, thanks. but he's still clingy and a bit whine-y, my dad says kids who just recovered fr sickness will be like that for a week or so.. :p

i'm also on L size diaper liao. both pet pet n PP.. getting expensive but no choice.. maybe should start potty training soon.. haha..

ting ting,
good to hear that Zephan is well!

ilmare,
is your bb drinking milk well?
aiyo,
cayden has been refusing milk since last week. dun think got blocked nose....Tried to feed enfapro, dun want. tried similac, dun want. Gave enfalac, drank abit...served him my last packet of frozen ebm, took only 30ml! now, he is surviving on cereal, porridge and biscuit. lost abit of his chubbiness liao....abit heartpain. wondering what's wrong? cant be the teat cos he drinks water from it too. when we try to spoonfeed or use syringe, he will take abit, but after realising that it is milk, he will push it away. tried using cup too, but also no use. hope it is just one of those days....

Anissa, i am sure your boss thinks highly of you lah...take your time to "shop" around.

wendyg, i think 1st time offence is ok.. anyway, dun think those items are taxable..

anissa, seems your boss is not totally heartless then.. still bother to have a good talk with you. no matter what job you're in, as long as you're happy and comfortable with it. i was with my last jab for more than 5 years.. tho my boss also those type dat never show his appreciation but i was happy doing what i did and ended working there for so long...hehehe

tingting, good to hear dat..

aidanee, daryll used to be like dat and the PD said it could be due to their appetite.. just have to monitor and as lng as the weight do not keep on going down should be fine. in no time they will eat as per normal.. asked me not to use any force as it will lead them to reject totally..

aidanee, zephan sometimes also rejects his porridge, taking only 50% of his usual intake. cant comment on milk cos he latches on, but sometimes i also noticed that he rushes through his feeds too. at least his cereal will have milk, so he's taking some. is he old enough to try cow's milk yet? they've got chocolate n honey flavours, which may entice cayden to take them.

triniti
yes, can use the phone for the usual functions even if u dun change SIM Card. Change the SIM Card la, then Anton can 3G to Isaac. M1 to M1 FOC within 5min.

ting2
cow's milk = 1yr old right? Coming soon la... u just can't wait for Zeph to grow up right.

Halow all,
Looong time din post liao. Been super busy with my job until can't even
clear my annual leave even though suppose to clear by end Jun.. so depress.

Aidanee,
Thanks for the Similac!

Hope Cayden's appetite gets better... & aiyo, dun worry abt chubbiness,
heehee, usu babies gets thinner as they grow older, more exercise mah...:p

Any bb started to walk oredi?
Keyon can now stand without support & taking his 1st step! So cute.

hopefully before his birthday, he could 'ti ta ti ta' ard the hse.

And 1st birthdays... oh no, 2 more mths, can't even decide
to hold at home or chalet. Deco's, invitations, bd cake, bd suit etc.
Aiyo..getting stress now, anyone getting those 3-D Cakes?

thanks for all your advice.

Cayden's appetite is better today. he could drink 100ml in the morning (using spoon), 120ml in the afternoon (from bottle) and just before bed, another 130ml (from bottle). I am giving Enfalac cos he seems to be able to drink better.... not forcing him anymore....my hubby tried to feed him this morning...he reacted so strongly, like we are feeding him poison!hahahaha.....

Applejuz,
your boy is very cool. must bring him over for a swim okie? can stand now. HURRAY!!!!! Cayden can stand abit without support, but then his creeping needs alot of work!

Birthday celebration....i have no creative ideas. i dun want to just book a function room and then cater from neo garden (like first month celebration)..sigh!

Seabreeze is very good at organizing parties...i am sure she will have alot of ideas for me. hehehehe...

ting2,
cow's milk? hehehe, my mom says Cayden takes after me cos i rejected milk the day i hit 1 yo. Even during pregnancy, i only drank enfamama with milo & chocolate fresh milk....no other milk or dairy pdts!

aidanee
same... i can't stand the smell of white milk.
but i drank forumla until i was 7yr old i think... from bottle!!! *hiakz* Coz the bottle could neutralise the smell of white milk. Once the bottle was taken away from me, i didn't drink white milk liaoz. Now, i only take chocolate milk. haha.

wendyg,
wow, drank till 7yr old? must be chubby chubby then...

missed the ON spree by Tuffy...now got to look for alternative.

re: BUMWEAR
Mummies who are using Bumwear, please advise. Is it really good? I am thinking of switching to cloth diaper in the day cos the diaper cost is getting very high and my son pees alot and he likes it dry! Imagine PP can only last for 2-3hrs?! He poos in the potty now so it's not that dirty.

I may sound silly, but do we have to change each time the bb pees? if that is so, then very tedious.

aidanee
then? sad to say, now still... =P
wish i had half of your genes - lose weight as u bf!
Last night I asked Tuffy to SMS her bank info to me, as i know i hv no chance to surf internet coz go out since morning, and she quite kancheong abt 5pm deadline... i found ATM in the afternoon & managed to tf the $$ to her b4 5pm.

wendyg, i almost didnt make it coz by the time i logged in today was already coming to 5pm. so i pm tuffy to let her know on the delay.

featherg, there's no baby vicks coz when i bought it last time i was told by the sales person that only got one type of vicks.

tingting:
yeah, babies who got sick tends 2b super clingy to mummies. Eliz had running nose for the past 1.5 weeks n she is super duper the clingy to me.. feel that she wants to be glued to me.. until my hb feels rejected by her. I hope yr dad is rite - that this clingy phase will be over in a week.

wah wendy, ON spree again? who was the one who said cannot buy clothes anymore? :p

re: milk
as far as i can remember, i always took milo with milk powder. also cannot stand plain milk, but during pregnancy days, i forced myself to take plain cold milk, cos chocolate flavour got more calories mah.. haha.. guess only vanity can push our limits.. but still cannot tahan the warm ones, cos got the smell.

applejuz, congrats on Keyon taking the first step! Zephan still cant stand without support, cos he seems to be the kan cheong type and likes to be moving all the time. so when we let go of our hands he'll want to lurge forward immediately. guess it'll be some time before he walks.

tingting
this time is buy 1 pc for myself, with Deric's approval. He was next to me when i placed the order =P

U saw the GD flash cards? So huge right... u still want to make yourself?
I made those dot cards myself. Then when i rcv'd the GD dot cards, those were 'retired'. Coz GD got 0-100... i only made 1-20. Very shiong to colour the dots ley.. couldn't find red dot stickers in Popular at that time.

Hey, u hv bottle insulator that holds Avent 260ml bottle? Mine can only hold the 125ml ones.

Wendyg
hehe cos I bought the Nokia6289 for my hubby bday ...he is so lazy , don't want to change the SIM card! My phone has no 3G function so cannot zoom from Anton to Isaac hehe....

wendy, i showed zephan the flash cards this morning, but he's totally uninterested in it! focus for 2-3 cards then switched off liao. not sure if i really want to invest it the set liao. i think picture cards work better for him. He's more interested in them.

but it's true that red words attract them. i wrote and pasted names of items around the house, red in english and black in chinese, and he pointed to the red words at first sight. or maybe my chinese handwriting is too ugly.. haha..

my bottle insulator is Pigeon brand, can hold the 260ml avent bottles. u thinking of getting one?

oh yah, i bought the straw cup for zephan, but he only chews at it n tries to dismantle the cap! any tips on getting him to use it the proper way?

wow so many posting ...

YC fever went off almost immed after we saw the PD on Sat ... seem like the PD got some special healing power ... YC always seem to get so so much better after seeing the PD *faint*

aidanee ...

yar ... gotta keep all the ideas for YC unless you wan 'rejected' ideas hahahaha

re: vicks

i think our bb are still too young to use vicks cos i read there say from 2YO onwards

anissa ...

always do what you are comfy with esp if u do intend to stay in the job for quite a while ... i always have this theory that 3 factors will make a person stay or leave the job:

1) People/Environment
2) Job scope
3) Pay

As long as 2 out of 3 of the follow are still present, the person will stay in the job ... once none or only 1 of the 3 are present ... the person will leave the job liao ... so you ask yourself lor ... heehee sounds like some HR theory right hahahaha

seabreeze
it's not the PD power... it's the $$ power... *hiak*

ting2
how much did u buy the Pigeon bottle insulator?
As for the Magmag, Isaac takes small sips, then will try to bite the cap. Initially at 8m+ he was biting the straw all the time... but we still gave him the cup every few days... then one fine day he discovered how to suck fr the straw. Voila!

wendy, the insulator is prob about $10+. can't quite remember but it's definitely cheaper than the avent one! now kiddy palace got 20% off, so good time to buy. but if u get the twin bottle holder it's a bit bulky to bring out, esp if u have only 1 bottle to bring. i'm just too stingy to get the single one.. haha...

hi wendyg,
hehehe, managed to catch another ON boat last night....
actually bought a bb gal sweater for him...hahaha, cheap and cute... a white one so not so obvious.

Cayden's milk intake is better this morning. 120ml at 8am, then 170ml at 10.45am. PHEW!

Small Bell,
i have been "talking" to him just before he goes into deep sleep every night that he is a good boy and will drink and finish all his milk. hehehe, think it is working! Keep my fingers crossed.

Seabreeze,
eh, yc is 11 days apart...so no worries lah...ideas can share share... hehehehe....

Anyone who can comment on BUMWEAR? Please share your experience....talked to my mum this morning and we will most likely switch to cloth diaper in the day.

How's the going for all? Annette just learnt to pull herself up to standing position. Since then, she seems to be very hyperactive and does not want to sleep at her usual bedtime of 8.30pm. Other than spiking her milk with alcohol (don't panic first, I'm just kidding...), what else can I do to make her feel tired?!

hi aidanee

Bumwear is lousy. Fuzzi bunz is better. I have both and bumwear leaks as there are not enough snaps to secure it properly. Luckily I bought only 2 pcs of bumwear to try.

Hi Jane

I think there's nothing we can do to make them sleep earlier other than spike their milk with alcohol.. hehe I have the same problem with Megan. Now she sleeps at 10+ to 11+pm. Even if we switch off ALL the lights, she can play in the dark.. hehehe

hi jane, try not to let her engage in exciting activities (by her standards!) before bedtime? ie if standing up n down makes her excited, try other things instead.

hi snoopy,
Abt yr trip, abt for how long a stretch you can carry nicole on the ergo carrier during yr trip? Btw what's her weight then? thanks..

aidanee,
heard that the newer bumwear material is more leakproof. I tried once and gave up cos of the effect needed to wash diaper
But bb's bum sure feel very dry even when everthing else is soak... Good if you've got help to wash them.

Draw water from a straw
Initially Justen don't have enough strenght to draw the water out from the mag mag cup, and I press the water up a bit until he is able to cope with it and slowly he is able to drink by himself... BTW I also show him his mouth need to be "tu tu" when drinking from it as he tense to bite the straw initially...

Angel/Cakey,

if bb pees every half hour, does that mean we got to change every half hour? Silly question cos silly mummy! hehehe

passing guest
haha anton skipped his morning nap when he first learn to crawl and when he pulled himself to standing position. Night is usually alright but only once he slept at 830pm. Maybe u can try cutting her nap into max an hour during the afternoon and maybe only 30min in the morning?

So far Bumwear fits Anton perfectly but if your baby is on the small side, it might leak. Anton has pretty chubby thighs so I think so far no problems..

Thanks for the suggestions. I don't think Zephan and Isaac want a drug addict girlfriend lor...We can't seem to stop her from going up and down. It must be exhilarating for her to finally have a different view. Not so exhilarating for mommy though.

BTW, are you mommies still doing milk feeds using bottles? I am and should I be changing to cup feeding during milktime?

One more problem, I fear that Annette could be developing faster than usual. I hope that's normal....

438749.jpg

haha, annette looks, ahem, mature!

i'm still using bottles, but u may want to train her with cup using water first, to minimise the mess to clean up. i tried letting zephan use the cup a few times. he could manage it, but will dribble a bit at the sides.

passing guest
*pengzzzzzz*
i'm still using bottle for Isaac's milk...
hey, i drank from bottle until i was 7 yrs old..
hahaha.

hi passing guest,
Just curious.. what do you mean by developing faster then usual?
My gal also sleep quite late nowadays at 10 - 11pm. (I think most of the cause is because her last feed is 10-11pm so that she can sleep throughout). Initially she could sleeps at 8.30 then gradually later and later as that time is 'family prime time' (with us visiting her and TV tunning on). So now she took a nap at 7-8pm then bedtime at 10-11pm. My ideal bb sleeptime is 7-7 but guess it's diff since bb is not looked after by me at night.

cakey
If your gal sleeps at 7pm, does she cry for attention when she wakes at 8pm? Maybe if you do not pick her up, she might continue to sleep thru. That's what we have been doing.

Usually at 11plus, we would be reading or watching TV in the bedroom (Annette sleeps in playpen next to us), she would suddenly get up from sleep and look for us. Then my hubby and I have to quickly pretend to be asleep. Even if she cries, we will ignore. After a while, Annette will give up on her parents. You can try this trick :p

HI mummies

re-solids

have you started giving your bb yoghurt and cheese yet? what type would be better to start with?

passing guest
hehe..actually annette smiles very much like u!!More and more like u actually

I'm a mummy
I feed anton organic cheese and yogurt from this brand called Horizon organic. It is available at market place.