(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

snoopy!
u r back! im sure u had a great holidae!!! (hmmm...wonder when can i go travel...?? )

travellin with bb, is not easy right...gotta bring alotsa stuff for them... :|

btw, nicole enjoy her flight? im kinda worry if bb will hav any sickness when bring them on plane...like ernest he has seasick when on cruise... :|

Snoopy
hehe....your trip sounds fun but at least you have your in-laws to help you take care of Nicole when u are tired or when u take a breather..I was wondering if it is just me and my hubby with Anton...how tiring it will be...hehe

almcaleb
You do not need to have everything organic for your children.Like I said, it is really a personal choice. Actually chicken is tougher than fish,you can try to steam your fish then blend it. if you want it to be even smoother, u can blend it with 30ml of milk powder.

I am not weida haha...I still bought some stuff from the GSS cos the offer is too good to be missed. Actually alot of meat is injected with artificail growth hormones and antibiotics so if you can afford it, try to get organic meat too but if not, normal meat is fine as well

hi snoopy, envy your trip! can't wait to bring zephan away too, but he doesnt smile as readily as nicole here, so i think he may look grouchy in most pics.. :p

lessen learnt: never conclude too early about fever. just as i was rejoicing about the lower temperature, it shot up again last night, and I couldnt sleep cos his fever hit 40 deg again. kept sponging him until medicine took effect. so today back at work like a zombie.. hb can't help much cos he's v clingy to me.

well, apparently, kids their age (till 6-7 years old) will have such yoyo fevers when it hits, so must really be careful in monitoring.

tingting
I remembered when I was 5 years old,I was hit with very high fever and admitted to hospital and was thrown into an ice-cold bath...My mum was so worried cos the doc said that the high fever might affect my brain and my kidneys...Even after I recovered from my fever, I still have to go to the hospital to check if my kidneys are being affected for 5 years!!ekks..Yeah, please take care of Zephan...and please take care of yourself even more

Hello everyone I come in Kpo on CIO as I always being reading this thread but didn't post...

Yesterday we try the CIO on Justen, he cry for 1hr after knowing we will not attend to him he stop but didn't really go into deep sleep... So after he stop I told him only he don't fuss mommy will carry him and nurse him. And He didn't wake up for nite feed yesterday, guess he is super tired after the 1 hour crying. Today when he wake up he still smile to us so think he didn't take it into heart. But both of us was super heart pain. As he really cry and cry and trying to crawl to us. Poor Boi got such cruel parents 8( But no choice as really need to let him know crying can't get what he wants... As recently he trying to make noise and cry in the bus when we bring him home as we guess the journey (Nanny's house is 2 bus stop away from my house) is a bit boring.

(manage to change in time

Ting Ting
Hope that Zephan get well soon... According to old pple they say feeding them with porridge water might help and my mom say the water of the 1st cook need to be thrown before consumption. Don't know will it help. Keep him cool as well.

all the old wives tales..
just heard of another one: my granny says to wipe Isaac's mouth with a dishcloth, then he'll stop drooling. All my aunts were quite disgusted with the idea, they say it's very dirty! But i did it anyway to please her. But he didn't stop drooling. haha.

almcaleb, it depends on her mood, sometimes she will smile readily, sometimes we will need to coax her to get a smile. Once she smiles, we have to be quick with the camera to snap it, cos sometimes she gets distracted and will turn away before i snap the pic, and end up i get her side/back view. The shots you see are the ones selected from the many shots taken. Hence the smiles in the the pics. hehe

skippy10, when can you go for your trip? I would say just go for it! Plan one and go! Yep, we brought more stuff for Nicole than hb and i combined! As for airsickness, i am not sure if Ernest will be affected. Maybe you can get some medicine on standby from the PD in case that happens.

triniti, in fact my inlaws hardly helped out at all. My parents were the ones helping me to carry the luggages etc. But with so many people along, i ended up looking after 1 bb and 5 adults. And that was stressful! So, do think hb and i wld have managed fine w/o the additional people as well.

Tingting, your turn will come and you'll be posting your pics up here to share with us too. Do continue to monitor Zephan, if he is not getting better, best to bring him back to see the PD again. And do take care of yourself too, Zephan needs you to be well to take care of him.

hi poko, i've also heard about the porridge/rice water, but didn't know got to throw away the first cook leh.. usually for porridge they also drink it up right, since it's part of the porridge given to them?

my grandmother wants me to give him ling yang (antelope's horn drink - or something like that la), but i'm hesitant cos he's not supposed to take certain herbs. and dunno if so young can take?

thanks for your concern mummies. glad i read a bit about fevers in this forum else will get more panicky..

snoopy, can i ask whether u n ur hb paid for the travelling expenses of your ILs and parents? we're thinking of going on a trip with them, cos easier to manage baby, and also to let parents have a R&R time. but to pay for all their expenses will burn a big hole in our pockets, and we'd probably end up only in Genting.

tingting
hey, Genting's great! I want to go again... I paid for my parents' expenses the other time.. not much la, coz company chalet. hee.

wendy, my ILs will be bored stiff, cos they like to move around during trips, so will be quite stifled up in the mountains... :p and if i go Genting with my parents but go exp places like Europe/America with ILs not v fair also right...

ting2
but actually do u hv to go holiday with both sets of parents?
My ILs go holiday on their own (cruise, M'sia), so when we went Genting with my parents, they didn't feel jealous or anything..

no need to go with both sets at the same time, but if i split, will have to spend more in the end cos ben, zephan and i will incur double costs.. :p wonder if can strike a bargain for them to pay for their own travel n accommodation and we foot the dining and shopping..haha..

well, my FIL has got a leisure boat, so u can see they're not really the conventional type of people. My MIL's dream vacation is a trip to the North Pole! If whole family go, sure broke liao!

tingting
fwaaaahhh!!!! bring me bring me

no, what i meant was - let your ILs go on their own la... then u bring your own parents for short trip. Just to try try, venture a bit, not too far. Actually the drive up can be quite tiring for the driver. And baby.

think my ILs will be jealous... remembered last time during cny we went to my parents' place first before going to theirs, and they not v happy. we did that cos it's more "on the way" and bcos of timing issues..

tingting:
my ILs go holiday with my parents! That's the best.. so they don't come and bother me and i don't pay for anything... Although downside is they complained abt me and hb during their trip!

snoopy
Looking at your pix makes me drool...can't wait for my Oct trip to Perth!

tingting
I'm bring my mum on the trip. Got my brothers to sponsor her airfare and tax, only paying for her accomodation & food so not too bad lah. That's the advantage of having siblings!!!

Hi Ting Ting I also don't know the story behind the porridge water but nanny do consistantly give Justen when he got flu as he don't take much solid during that period of time...

Snoopy is your girl handling well with the cool weather? What do you give her during the trip just milk or any other stuff? I am also planning for a trip to Japan in Aug but a bit worry of their weather and his makan session... One more reason is he fall sick after our cruise trip recently. So me still thinking...

tingting, hb paid for the airfare, accomodations & car rental for both set of parents. But if you cannot afford to do that, can always just offer to pay for one item as a good will gesture?

ixwong, don't need to drool, your turn is coming soon! Do post your pics up after you come back.

wendyg, we were there for 2 wks. Left on the night of May13 and back on May28 night.

Poko, my girl was fine with the cold weather. During the trip, she was still being BFed and had jar food mixed w cereal. For lunch, nicole will had jar fruit puree with cereal, for dinner, she had jar vege puree with cereal. I do not heat up her fruit puree, so she has that at room temperature. Her vege puree, i will heat it up, so i brought my avent food warmer along for the trip.

hmm, just thought of a good idea... wait till they propose a trip and suggest that we join.. haha.. since we did not initiate then no need to pay lor... but offer to pay for extra expenses along the trip... hmm...

Poko, Japan is great! went tokyo and osaka for my honeymoon n totally loved it!

ineedmilk, what, ur ILs and parents go on trips together? wah... this is the 2nd time i heard both sets of parents on such good terms!

hey wendy, maybe we shld plan to go on a trip together.. hehe..

a joke to share:

<font color="0000ff">When little Johnny received his plate he started eating right away.

"Johnny wait until we say our prayer."

"I don't have to."

The boy replied. "Of course, you do," his mother insisted. "We say a prayer before eating at our house."

"That's our house," Johnny explained. "But this is Grandma's house, and she knows how to cook!" </font>

wow, snoopy,
envy envy...must have enjoyed yourself.

ting,
zephan ok now? been so busy at agd...dun even have time to surf net. kinda sad.

haha wendy, was thinking of everybody, but the 2 of us can leave them for father-son bonding time while we go for a spa session?

samantha, hope u're enjoying ur work there though? sometimes it's difficult to adjust fr private sector to public, cos a lot of funny rules to follow.

yesterday zephan's temp was pretty good, no fever during the day and slight one (38.5 deg) in the evening. he was also ok earlier part of the night, though at about 6am this morning it went back to 38.3 deg. compared to the previous days of 39-40 deg, it's much better. Sleepwise, he was fussy from 8pm-12mn, but did not wake up again until 6am this morning. (or i was too tired to hear it!) think he'll need some time to get back to his usual routine. but at least this morning he was willing to do some dancing (bounce up n down while standing) as when he was well, so i take it as a good sign!

ting2
i'm so keen to go Genting again... i was thinking of Aug. But depending on when Deric's new course starts &amp; which days. Aiya, i think difficult, coz he can't get leave on weekends coz it's his busiest time of the week.

wendyg
me going for 9 days.

Poko
I love Japan too, especially Kyoto!

Snoopy
will definitely post pix when back. But that's still long way to go. meanwhile, here's an appetiser - haowen's "super-big boy" pix taken last weekend....realised his head v big hoh. :p

435830.jpg

ixwong ...

haowen sure looks v grown up ar ... like toddler liao man!! so fast hor heehee ... your perth trip will be here soon lar ... me oso looking forward to my BKK trip heehee

Hi ixwong,

Very soon ..oct will be here and u will be off to your perth trip. I would like to go again too ..feels so long since I last went :p

Hmm...HW looks like a big boy
very cute...

ting2
saw the thread.
do u think they'll deliver for a few leaves of vege? Heh heh. I buy little bit from Budget &amp; it costs $0.05... enuf for 1 pot of porridge. Then few days later i went NTUC &amp; bought less than $2 of brocolli..

wendy, i think got min order of $24 right? u mean budget sells in such small quantities? if i do buy veggies usually it's at NTUC.. one bag of veggies can last about 5-6 meals. of course at the last few meals got to pluck off the more yellowed outer leaves.

budget sells $4-$5 for 1kg. I just pick a few fresher looking leaves instead of a whole bunch. The cashier looked at me dunno whether to laugh, she said it's only $0.05. I think i'm paying more for the plastic bag than the vege..

$24 worth of organic vege, aiyo, Isaac only eats a bit a day.. most of it won't be fresh by the time he gets to it. If u're game to take part, i can chip in my order of abt $5 worth of vege?

hi triniti, i went to supernature yesterday and got the salmon fish. you mention, to freeze correctly..can you share with me how you store it? right now we are giving vern only porridge, will you have few recipes to share that we can use salmon. btw, do you give anton the chicken from supernature - if so, what's his reaction so far? TIA!

Hi Amz
ok I usually bake my salmon so won't lose the nutrients through boilingthen I will dry mil or blend them. Take out the quantities u need for the day and freeze the rest...whenever you need it, just scoop the desired amt and put it back to fridge. Yeap I also buy chicken from there and cook it the same way as the fish...but breast meat is tougher than fish, so in order to have a smoother texture..u can blend it with 30ml of formula milk

Triniti.. i'm from the oct thread.. can share on how to dry mill? sorry .. never heard of this before so don't know how.. as in put the meat in frozen? or at a fridged texture? so after you mill it, the meat is a dry powder?.. thanks
right now i get my organic food mainly fr redhill and cold storage.. but realise that no organic meats there.. so probably have to go make a trip to supernature to look see..

also.. i'm gonna start my 8m old baby on tofu.. can someone tell me how much to give as in in tablespoons? or cm? thanks

Hi fushiastar
Welcome to our thread. Dry mill just mean semi-powder form( not as fine as powder). After u dry mill after cooking, you can put it in the freezer and scoop accordingly when u need to feed ur child for the day.

hi triniti
After freezing will it solidify and stick together? If so isn't it diff to scope w/o defroze? Otherwise how do u take out some portion nicely w/o disturbing the rest? thanks.

hi cakey, what my dad does is to split them into daily portions. We bought those small plastic bags that can contain a single serving. alternatively, u can put them in a container in separate "lumps". just remove one each day and put in a bowl to defrost in the fridge.

wendy, u feed ur boy every day n only take $5? I'm only a weekend cook leh.. hehe.. if only they have website so that we can see the selection...

cakey
Yeah it will take abit of effort to take it out but so far it is the best way..
You can stil scoop some out when it is frozen...u just have to scrape at the sides