(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

tingting, cat tail, kathy:
agree that have more friction since baby came along... but working does not help to reduce the friction. Instead prob more friction cos feel so tired already and less patience with hb.

hey lib,

congrats! u got urself a job! take care and don't worry too much. Take one step at a time n stay happy!

Tingting,
I think you are too used to having zephan latching on. Pumping requires technique. U have to try to create letdown yourself. Some mums can do that by looking at their bb's pic when they pump. zephan is so cute... he realised that he has a "competitor", so he tries to snatch the handle?
BTW, any nursing mums have nursing rm in office?

samantha
my offc has a 'Relax Rm' that i use for pumping.. it has a sofa, cushions, carpet.. whoever doesn't feel well can go lie down for a while.. sometimes during lunch break people snooze on the sofa instd of eating!
I can breastfeed there if i want.. the problem is... i can't bring baby to work.. =PP

wendyg,

Wow, your office very good leh. Got relax room somemore.
kao_drool.gif
Envy wor...

ok....ON spree closed!! Will go place orders now. I will try to place one order 1st since amount is less than US$200. If order is cancelled....then I will split into 2 orders.

Hi moulinmum, cakey, triniti, rayray & wendyg,

I will recap the ON spree. Shipping will be aportioned based on value of merchandise.

My orders amount to US$63.

Moulinmum: Have ordered the following
1. Item name: Heart Knit Capris for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6316&pid=360556
Size: 12 - 18 M
Color: Multi White
Quantity: 1
Price: $2.99

2. Item name: Heart Print Bikinis for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6326&pid=360463
Color: Puff Pink
Price: $8.99

3. Item name: Denim Floppy-Brim Hats for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6304&pid=359395
Size: M
Color: Denim

Total : USD 14.97 x 1.73 x 1.09 = SGD 28.23

cakey: have ordered the following
1. Item name: Heart Knit Capris for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6316&pid=360556
Color: White Multi

2. Item name:Heart Shirts for Baby
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6314&pid=359830&vid=1
Size: 6 - 12 M
Color: White
Price: $5.99

Total : USD8.98 x 1.73 x 1.09 = SGD 16.93

triniti: have ordered the following
1. Item name: Raglan Muscle Tees for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=9621&pid=385402
Size:6-12M
Color: 2 White. 1 Navy Blue.1 Golden Glow
Quantity: 4
Price: $6.50 x 4 = USD 26.00
Calculation formula: 26.00 x 1.73 x1.09 = SGD49.02

rayray: have ordered the following
1)Item name: Tiger Baseball Caps for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6239&pid=359408
Size: S
Color: Ranger Red
Price: $3.99

2))Item name: Poplin Shirts for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=7630&pid=359758
Size: 6-12 mths
Color: White
Price: $10.50

Total : USD 14.49 x 1.73 x 1.09 = SGD 27.32

Item removed from ON website
1)Item name: Women's Tweed Sash Skirts
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=5570&pid=350223
Size: 14
Color: Khaki Tweed
Price: $12.99
Calculation formula: 12.99 x 1.73 x1.09 = SGD 24.50

Overpayment of SGD24.50. Please let me know if you want me to refund this amount to you now or to refund you after settling the shipping charges. If refund now, please PM me you account no.

wendyg: Item has been removed from website
Item name: Performance Fleece Booties for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6239&pid=326254
Color: Color: Dark Sea Blue
Size: 6
Price: $2.49
Calculation formula: 2.49x 1.73 x1.09 (US sales tax) = SGD4.695

Please do not transfer $$ to me tomorrow.

Many thanks

samantha,

maybe what u said is true. cannot achieve a letdown with a pump anymore.. anyway, my original intention was to bf zephan till i go back to work.. so anything beyond this can be considered a bonus. but now i'm sort of reluctant to let go, cos it's quite nice to hold him in this way.. esp now that i have less time for him..

ineedmilk, i guess after i start work i'm more willing to take care of baby when possible cos spending less time with him now, so in that sense, i'm not so upset when hb doesn't help out as much. also, now that house windows are closed most of the time, no need to clean house so frequently..

lib, family support is indeed important in raising a child. glad that you now have a choice to work. remember to let kylie get acquiainted with ur mum well, cos around this time, they'll get stranger anxiety and u wouldn't want to bear the scene of tears when u leave for work every morning. so far zephan didn't cry when i leave for work.. dunno whether to be sad or happy.. :p

i've set up a play area for zephan.. hehe.. not much toys inside yet cos haven't stock up..

my office doesnt have a pumping room, i used the meeting room instead.

Wendyg, your company is so good! Still can r&r at lunchtime. But if you use the room, then the rest of your colleagues will not have the room for r & r? They are ok with it?
Hmm... seems like workplace is not so pro-bfg after all. My company also has no nursing room. I got to pump in the server room cos meeting rooms are full of windows. :p

can I join in the gathering at Bishan Loft? If not, please squeeze me in the next gathering.
I have a problem though... baby denzel don't drink milk unless he is in semi-sleeping state. Anywhere i can feed him during his feeding time? He requires peace and quiet to get to sleep though. I really hope to bring him to gathering as I have missed quite a few since I didn't dare to bring him out because of his feeding problem.

tingting,
i have the same thoughts as u! originally i only planned to bf for 3 mths but i just can't bear to let go of bf.. really like the bonding feeling of holding my girl close to me.

samantha:
i use meeting room to pump and it has windows and frosted glass doors! But no choice lah, just face the wall...

My office has a lactation room where there are sofas with small coffee tables / mini fridge / water dispenser for nursing mummies to go pump milk but I don't make use of it becos gotta take a lift up to 5th floor very inconvenient lah so I bought a nursing bib and do the pumping at my work station. I can save the travelling time to pump more hehehe

tingting, I also have difficulty getting the let down when pumping but when I latched on, it's maybe around 30second then I will have a let down. The amount of milk I bring home very evening is not sufficient for Zac's daytime feed, so he takes 1-2 formula feeds per day. Haiz
didn't manage to do TBF!

samantha
my offc mostly women, many mummies... there were times when i had to pump with someone else in the rm, another pumping mummy, or someone who wants to snooze.. they just dun look lor..

Hi tingting/i need milk/cat tail,
Its frustrating sometimes to see that my hubby and I dun see eye to eye in some bb issues. To him, he dun really get the idea that life will be pretty much different after bb comes along.He just come hm everyday to play with bb for that 2 to 3 hrs everyday, whereas for me, its a 24 7 job. I try to prioritise and put my gal in the 1st place, which means rushing hm becoz bb wants to sleep and also no more late nites or outings. It doesn't help that I've quited my job to become a SAHM and has a maid and my mum to help out. Somehow I still feels very stressed out and thats when friction occurs.

Can I join in e gathering on 4 Mar too? Couldn't confirm earlier cos my hubby may need to work..now managed to get off so we can join in e fun!

Hv missed out alot of fun as couldn't joined in previous gatherings. I only get to know a few mummies & their bb...

Hope can still squeeze us in...

Samanthan and everafter,
do join us at the gathering!

Wah, next Sat gathering sure happening huh!? So many mummies, daddies and babies, sure v noisy and squeezy but that's the fun!

lib, u poor thing. can understd hw u feel. u take care k.

sam, come & join us lah. then u can try 2 c if denzel will feed in a dif environment.

Hi I'm bringing Zac to see his great grandparents...any idea how to prepare him for a flight? I heard I must make him drink water so can take the pressure off his ears...

Hi vone, ixwong,
See you all at the gathering. Hope denzel can adapt, if not, he will just skip his meal lor. Today I brought him to mac party cos one of his cousin is celebrating his birthday there. He just keep looking around. Didn't bother to even cry for milk....dunno whether he is hungry or not.

so weird to have people pump in the same room. I not used to it. zaczac idea is good leh...pump at workstation. Too bad I got a colleague sitting behind me so a bit awkward.

Haiz...kathy, i empathise with you. My problem is slightly different. I have a maid and mil looking after denzel in the day, then when i get home in the night, I have to look after him myself. I don't even have time to do the work i bring home. Somehow or rather, mil seems to think that once i m home, she can pass the baton to me. Maybe I am a lazy pig lah....but quite siong leh. no personal time and it's like doing second shift. Are all working mummies like me?

zaczac, basically the swallowing action will break the ear pressure, so drinking water is one good way. ur pumping problem same as mine... makes me glad that i took leave to be with him for 6 mths n he could tbf during this time... dun be too hard on yourself.. just do ur best..

kathy... hmm, ur story sounds so familiar! i think hbs have this impression that SAHMs can do the caregiving n they just play play when they want to... if u cannot tahan even with help fr mum n maid, what more me who is alone.. though i'm still doing most of the caring n housework even though i've gone back to work, he seems to now recognise that he needs to help out more.. so situation is better. maybe he can relate to work-type of stress better. i've learnt to curb my displeasure bcos it is reflected in my mood towards my son. whenever i think he may pick up the resentment in me, i'll feel guilty n try to neutralise myself before carrying him. somehow that makes me more calm.

ineedmilk, apologies abt the price difference in the jackets u bought. i was so caught up with getting the order through that i forgot to double-check on any changes in pricing. If u dowan them anymore, i can try to sell them or buy over fr u... can give to frens' kids as prezzies..

tingting:
its alright.. i figured out that u were probably too kan cheong abt getting the order thru... :p i still want the jackets though.. i already opened them!! ha! But i think ON quite bad leh.. they keep updating/changing their prices so fast....

kathy/tingting:
i tink having a baby for me brought a major change in my marriage.. cos my priorities changed. Like kathy, elizabeth is now my 1st priority but my hb always tell me that i should not live my life round my baby.. he say i gotta hve my own life too. Which i think he is right but its quite difficult for me to leave my bb at home and i go out and have fun..... The good thing is that my hb is helping out a lot more these days.. he does more housework than me! So i don't have to worry abt housework........can jus focus on taking care of baby..

re: gathering on 4 March at Bishan Loft

hmm too lazy to cut and paste the list liao ... anyway anyone who can make it ... just come k ... u are welcome =)

angle has kindly opened her house as well if my house is too squeezy for 40 adults + 20 bbs heehee so I guess should be fine right

i will prep the drinks and some finger food like nuggets and sandwich (if I have time & energy)...and hope that more of you can bring food lar ... but bring enough for just 20 pax will do k ... if not i will have to eat the left over food for breakfast, lunch and dinner for the next week

so can PM me for address and contact no just in case you are lost .. oso if you are bringing any food so tt i can QC and make sure no repeats heehee

kathy ..

its normal lar to have more friction ... in fact I just finished washing the toilets before coming to the forum hahahaha cos can see my hubby face black black when he saw me napping with YC while he was cleaning the house ...

but then hor that terror need ppl to pat him one lor and he loves to spot check me one ... sigh

re: contributions for bb Jadon

mummies who like to contribute to bb Jadon in cash or in kinds can do so at the gathering. I will collect everything and pass it to her at KKH.

I have spoken to her and the money they need are meant for Jadon out patient bill in the future when he is discharged as those bills cannot be paid using Medi Save.

Cheques to be issued to Priscilla Chan

brought bb got hep b jab this morning n cos mum feedback that heard a couple of coughs fm bb, went to c doc b4 the jab. the polyclinic doc informed that bbs shouldn't be given cough syrups n i should just give water when i hear her cough. is it true? when then can we start given cough syrups to bbs?

jh, sometimes when babies cough they may not be sick. more like they're interested in the sounds they make. unless it's persistent n regular.

innedmilk, good that ur hb cleans house lor.. i always have to refrain myself fr "nagging" at mine to do some housework... :p

Hi seabreeze,

Can I know what the other mummies are bringing first? I got no idea what to get now... will think of something and PM u.
BTW, what's with baby Jadon? haven't been following the thread.

Samantha,
yes, working mummies always got to clock 2nd shift. My bb is with babysitter during the day, so after I fetch him home in the evening, need to take care of him by ourselves. I have since come to term that there is no point bringing work home cos will never touch it....Luckily for me, my boy sleeps quite early by 8.30pm, so after he slept I still got 2-3 hrs of private time to spend w hubby or web surfing...

jh, i agree wif ting. sometimes bb will cough 4 attention, mine does tt sometimes, dun worry okie.

ixwong, we r in d same situation. if i bring wk hm, i'll prob b 2 tired 2 wk after entertaining my boy. hehe...

I may have the opportunity to bring in some Strawberry Shortcake apparels for girls, such as tops, pants, skirts, dress, etc.

Will like to find out if mummies here will buy them for your girls?

Example of pricing for this is about $30

Hope to hear your feedback.

376714.jpg

hi cookies

I won't pay $30 for something like this.. maybe $20 I will consider. Please take into consideration that I don't have young children so no experience buying kid's clothes.

For babies, definitely not over $20.

Hope it helps.

Hi jh
My zac coughs too but I also think he does it for attention. No cause for concern unless the cough is regular and chesty/continuous.

my gal also cough for attention, cos she knows mummy will come running when she cough.. i scared she choke on her own saliva..
then when she sneeze, she will laugh.. like very amusing like that..

cookies, too exp leh.. $30 for top n skirt...

morning! yest zephan woke up for a night feed... hmm, think i'm feeding him too little during the day.. he doesn't do that when he's at my mum's place.. maybe i should start cooking porridge too.. :p

nowadays he doesn't like to nap much.. think he's cutting down to 2 naps per day already.. but he was v funny in the car yest. he was v tired n wanted to sleep, but we tried to keep him awake cos reaching home soon n dowan him to cat-nap. but he really cannot tahan n eyelids kept drooping until shake him also dowan to wake up.. :p

kathy,
Sometimes we really have to "kan kai" a bit. Like it or not, it's always a woman role to handle every little details of our baby's needs while hubby can just get away easily with "play" only. Maybe u will feel better if u think this way tat u are lucky to get some help while other mummies like me are all handling alone.

I wonder whether your hubby is also a BIG BABY but mine is! Every nite he can just play his War Craft while I am busying doing the housework & do some logistic planning for baby. Grr....

cat tail
War Craft!! Haiyo... all hubbies like to play the same game huh... not to mention XBOX...
i was so glad when the computer crashed & his game also gone... but few months later a neighbour lent him & reinstalled again...
but he limit his time lah..

haha wendy, oops, was it my hb who lent it to deric? i also quite mad with one fren of his who keeps asking him to play games online, and introducing new games to him. i call him the "zhu peng gou you", and my mandarin-challenged hb didn't realise how "degrading" this term is, and finds it amusing instead... haiz...

Hmm.. ladies, are these guys, the ones playing WARCRAFT together every nite!!??

I just dun get it, this game fun meh? He just keep shooting.... whole nite!! I shall curse the PC crash oso..haha

went to PD for Keyon's 6-mth jab. PD introduce the pheumonia jab to be taken at 7, 8 & 9mths.. must take right? Anyone knows the price of this jab at GP or Polyclinic?

hee... recently, i apply on-line passport for Keyon, using the photo image in the cutestkid contest. My hubby even spend so much time removing the leaves... & in the end got rejected! Reason: "In appropriate Attire" ha ha. so difficult to take a proper baby IC photo.. haiz...

cat_tail,
My hb not only BIG Baby, but a Naughty Big Baby, he like to play his downloaded Nokia HP games in the TOILET! He so used to it, that without his HP, he can't shit... OMG!

HI mummies,

Do you know where i can find nice/formal dresses for my baby girl? my sister is getting married, and i want to buy my girl a nice nice dress to wear for her wedding dinner, and with matching hat or headband if possible, cause my girl is quite botak hehe any shops/places to recommend? thks

i'm a mummy!, i saw a shop at United Sq last time selling nice dresses for girls. looks appropriate for formal events. but not sure if they carry baby sizes though...

cat tail, when i feel super fed up, i'm tempted to pull out the wires behind his pc! or let my boy go there on his walker..hehe... but then dangerous for my boy ... :p

applejuz, this is not a compulsory jab leh.. cos my PD just asked us to consider. There are 3 jabs? wow... i thought only 1. havent thought abt bringing him for it though... so poor thing, kanna jabbed almost every once a month.. not sure whether it's that necessary to vaccine agst pneumonia.. what u gals think?