(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

moulinmum
it's yellowish... not too thick lah. I dun think it's to clear milk deposits... it's for cooling purposes. last time when i was a baby, my granny used to add it into my bottle of formula. I tried adding into EBM, but found that it changed the taste. So i added into water instd

moulinmum..
tks for ur advise

im not BF oredi... bo milk after 1 mth leh.. fully on FM now..
re honey.. i oso heard abt those reactions to pollen but my mum says to buy organic ones wor..

wendy..
besides guniliang/ gripe water.. apple prune juice fr gerber is oso suitable for gemma if she doesnt poo? or muz i wait til she's slightly older?

celest
gemma so young, maybe her digestive system can't handle fruit juices yet? As a rule of thumb, infants 4m or less should be having their nutritional requirements met by only BM or formula... Ask your bb doc?

celest, ur bb only 2mths plus rite? can feed commerical food meh?? u better check with the doc just in case. I tot most juice or puree are for 6mths and above. Minimum also must be 4mths.

wendyg, peas not legumes meh?

moulinmum
yeah peas are legumes... dat's why i edited my earlier post. *hiak*
ok gonna zzz... hv a good night ladies... hope your babies are co-operative & grant us undisturbed sleep =))

ineedmilk, yah, i know heinz rice cereal is good cos it's no sugar, but my boy just refuses to eat it leh... if it's not too sweet i let him have it lor. maybe i'll just try one last time. though it's a bit unfair to ask him to take something so bland when even BM got some sweetness in it.. (havent tasted myself, but that's what i heard n read).

moulinmum, dumexkids rice cereal is for 4 mths n above. The wheat cereal is for 6 mths n above. But i find dumex smells quite sweet. Nestle doesn't smell as sweet.

wendy, no leh, the PD didn't give me anything at 5 mth check. What brand did she give u? Nestle?

wah, so fast talking abt primary schools? but i've already got one in mind.. hehe... it's also my alma mater, and not really far fr punggol.

Hi Mummies... need yr help to vote for my son : Tam Jun Rong : Model 6

Please vote for my baby Tam Jun Rong, Number 6. Thank you so much!

Use yr e-mail to vote for him just type >>

To : [email protected]
Subject : Model #6 Tam Jun Rong

And send will do !

** Please do not send an email with the same address more then once otherwise single vote will not be considered. Thanks !

Pls click this link:

http://www.arieljoy.com.sg/shop_new/index.php?main_page=product_music_info&cPath=100_102&products_id=786

Thank you so much!!

Hi wendyg,

The name on the box is calld Guniliang or niu nai liang? what colour is the box?

My girl also hates drinking water, so i mix 1 teaspoon of gripe with 50ml of water in her bottle and she will drink. but she very fussy one..if i add just a little bit more water, like 55ml, she dun wan to drink liao..so i must measure the water level at eye level, cannot have parallex error haha

i'm giving up on heinz rice cereal. he absolutely hates it! refuses to eat more than 10 spoonfuls. when i next prepared the brown rice cereal, he ate more.

tingting
PD gave Nestle samples.
Maybe Zephan is used to Dumex & refuses to settle for the tasteless Heinz. Isaac also makes a face when he eats Heinz, but he eats it anyway. I may try adding some bottled food into the Heinz if he really doesn't want to eat.

I'm a Mummy
the name on the box is Niu Nai Liang. Box is white & light blue.

Pls don't give your baby too much sweeten drinks like honeyed drinks n ribena. I'm one classic case. When I was a baby, my mum gave me ribena, honeyed drinks n juicies instead of plain water. As a result, I developed asthma at a young age (I'm the only one in the family that has asthma). Till this day, I still have to add stuff to my water else I don't dare to drink. Even mineral water tastes funny to me.

ineedmilk, wendyg
You are most welcome, glad you liked them. And wendyg, grateful for your "donation". My maid "bioy" your freezer that day, she said Isaac mommy took out so many still have so much balance. She is so envious and amazed by your "bank".

tingting
Are you feeding Si Sen brown rice? I have one packet with ikan bilis powder. Opened just before lunar new year. Would you like to have it? Or any mommies interested to try?

Re school
Anyone planning to send baby to Rosyth?

re school
i am going to send my girl to the primary school nearest my place or my MIL place. I wonder if going to a good reputable primary school will make a difference to my girl's PSLE's results?

tingting:
i tot if we mix the Heinz cereal with our EBM, it will also taste sweet?

cat_tail, gd 4 u. at least u found some1 2 take care of edna. me planning 2 change my maid liao. she's been making my blood boil 4 d past few wks. tink i had enough liao. rather take my chance wif d new maid.

triniti, wat happened?? u going back 2 d wkforce??

ting, mayb u can hv a schedule 4 zephan so tt he'll noe when it's time 2 sleep. 4 mine, i usually give him a wipedown at abt 7+ in d evening. then i'll feed him & put him down on his cot, dim d lights & on his mobile. after a while, he'll sleep on his own liao.

wendy, mayb u can try 2 feed issac more solids b4 bedtime so tt he can sleep thru??

nicky's mom, cannot change 2 nan 2 instantly. wat i plan 2 do is 2 subsitute 1 scoop of nan 1 wif nan 2. let him drink 4 3 days, then incr d scoops of nan 2 gradually. i heard tt thr's a dif btw sg's nan & malaysia's nan coz d country of mfg is dif. bt if ur boy is okie wif it, then it shld b no prob.

seabreeze, i m okie wif both options. tink hb will aso b coming along. my hb's b'day is in mar. if u need 2 use his name, let me noe okie.

adel, so nice tt u r going 2 batam. njoy uself okie.

amz, tink ur gal's weight is okie. mine is 8.5kg @ 5 mths.

i'm a mummy, grobag wif 1.0 tog is gd enough 4 bb sleeping in aircon rooms.

does anyone know where i can get nice cloth books? i saw some at kiddy palace but they're going for $20+ and they have detachable parts which are not suitable cos i'm sure j will stuff them in his mouth!

re: school
i don't think primary school makes *that* big a difference - most of my scholar friends and friends who do super well in school came from neighbourhood primary schools!

re: brown rice
my mil bought this brown rice with si sen and ginseng and dunno what else from a medical hall. j seems to like it well enough... if anyone's interested, i can ask my mil where she got it from...

passing guest, no thanks. Zephan cannot take Si Shen Fen, so got to make my own brown rice powder or let him eat the nestle cereal.

btw, thot ur supply shld be sufficient now that Annette is on solids? i'm super lazy on pumping to store... got to throw away most of the time bcos i always express fresh ones for zephan if i need to let my parents babysit for the day. i think by the time i go back to work, need to express only once if i manage to feed him before going to work n after work. for the remaining 3 feeds during daytime, will be 2 meals of cereal/porridge and 1 milk feed.

vone, he is on schedule, like bathe, feed, sleep, but prob is he'll need to feed to sleep, and nowadays doesn't even sleep after the feed. i want to reduce his dependence on nursing to sleep, cos will have to wean him one day n dowan to end up with a sleeping problem. am trying the cry-it-out method with modifications... hopefully will be able to succeed well.

btw, 6 mths is their growth spurt again right?

musicgal, i bought mine at kiddy palace (Galt). No detachable parts and zephan didn't manage to tear out anything despite his constant "chewing", though he's still pretty much "bo gay"...

ineedmilk, with Heinz, nothing works. I've tried EBM, FM, mixing with a sweeter cereal, etc.. i think although he's greedy, he's v discriminating towards food.

wendy, no, actually i gave him Heinz first. Only after i couldn't get him to eat it, then i introduced Dumex.

a lot depends on e kid actually. if he/she is in company of people who likes to study, then will do well regardless of school. If mischievous type, maybe a good school w emphasis on study can nudge him towards the better end.

vone: yea.. going batam to attend a friend's birthday bash.. plus a 3 days getaway with hubby to play golf.. and drink... eat.. keke.. too caught up with taking care of the bb tt i dun remember when was my last vacation even! haha...

vone,
Wat happen to yor maid? U sounds so frustrating.

moulinmum,
I used Eu Yan Seng brown rice btu it needs to be cooked. So far Edna luv it.

Finally managed to get my internet access up .. imagine ... just 2 weeks away and I already forgot 2 passwords hahahaha ... had to keep calling the helpdesk to reset them ...

re: BBQ cum Swimming gathering (4 March Sat) Swimming @ 4pm and BBQ @ 6pm

1. Seabreeze - hubby + YC (cater)
2. Anissa - 2 adults + bb (cater)
3. Small Bell - 1 adult n 1 baby (cater)
4. Lib - 1 adult + kylie cater
5. Ting Ting - 2 adults + zephan (cater)
6. Cakey - 2 adults + bb (cater)
7. Ixwong + hubby + haowen (cater)
8. Temple
9. Cookies + hubby + Ern Ray (ok with both options)
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp + hubby + bb Kai (fine with both)
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom
14. snoopy (fine with pot luck or catered BBQ)
15. Aidanee + hubby + Cayden (cater)

mummies ... pls vote on BBQ style or Buffet Style food ... if BBQ style then i will cater for the raw/uncooked food and book the BBQ pits ... if its the buffet style then i will book from Neo Garden and function room

applejuz ...

finally bought the infantino euro carrier ... taka having 20% off ... so it was $79.20 ... used the taka voucher so only had to pay $29.20 ... YC look funny in the carrier but think he like lor .. cos when we put him in ... he was smiling away

re: intro solid

hmmm think now its my turn to intro some food to my boy liao ... he is always looking at our food and behaving like goldfish ... open & close his mouth all the time ...

so here are a few questions and hope tt u ladies can advise ...

1) What brand & model of blender is best & most economical for making vege & fruit puree?
2) If I freeze the puree, how long can I keep them?

cat tail, will go and try it out. Just bought alot of stuff for my gal. Heniz rice cereals and some bottled juice and puree.. think shd last quite long cos can only try one thing at a time. heheehe.. this mummy ks!

vone, seems like u change alot of maids liao.. poor thing!

seabreeze, that's wat julia do too! haha... ah em ah em... Some more she just can't increase her milk intake, dun know why. Philips has a small blender especially for blending and pureeing baby food. Abt $50. Quite handy.

re: solids
Anyone tried avocado and tofu before?
Also when first introducing the cereals, do u feed with a spoon or in a bottle with a Y teat?? Which is better?

Hi seabreeze,

So your new carrier feels much more comfortable then the sling? It allow rear-facing? How is it compare to the ergo carrier?

Abt the gathering, if I'm not wrong the indication of 'cater' at the name list means 'Buffet catering'. So looks like most mummies prefer buffet type

moulinmum ...

okie me will look out for the blender then ... getting excited on trying food for him ... reading the gina ford book now ...

cakey ...

hmmm me just tried it on and walk around the house thats all ... but think it should be better than the sling cos the carrier uses both shoulders while the sling is on one shoulder ...

oso my hubby can use the carrier mar ... he refuse to use the sling as its too girly ...

yar it allows the baby to face the front ... me didnt try the ergo ... think so far the best price i see for the infantino carrier is at taka now cos of the 20% promotion ... in fact the one i bought its selling at 100++ at Mums & Babes ... $99 was like a discount price but taka gives 20% on top of the $99

actually me tot so but just wanted to cfm heehee ... so mummies pls vote k ...

seabreeze, the infantino carrier can use up to wat weight?? i think julia is abt 8kg now.. was also looking ard for carriers leh but most of them up to 10kg only.. no point. i tot the combi pouch one is quite cool but it's for 6mths up.

re:school
so co-incident... i was recently stressed by my fren asking me to start thinking of pri sch...eg. shifting hse to near the good sch, bla bla... alamak, isn't that too early? my bb oni 5 mths leh. maybe 7 yrs down the road, the syllabus will change or even sch will shift.. ha ha.

Seabreeze,
re:baby carrier
wow taka 20%! & with the vouchers, at least if YC outgrown, not so heartpain.
So far Keyon also like the Domaro carrier, when i carry him face out, he'll kick his hands & legs excitedly... sigh, but its cutting rather small, maybe very soon cannot use liao... luckily i oso bought with vouchers..:p

i hope my elizabeth is those studious type... then i can send her to neighbourhood school... convenient mah. I am most definitely NOT going to shift house just to stay near a reputable school, although i have a friend who did that!

seabreeze:
just buy those baby jar foods! More convenient.. don't have to puree, buy blender etc. :p

re : school
haha... the mummies here really plan very far ahead.. My big boy going to Primary 1 next year and this lazy mummy here haven't even started thinking of it..

8. Temple
10. Applejuz
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom + hubby + Nicholas (cater)

tingting
Annette takes 12oz EBM (~340ml) in the day when I'm at work. Now I can only pump 5oz max. May have to occasionally mix with formula milk if it's not enough. Btw, will pass on the spree. Thanks.

moulinmom
I read that avocado does not freeze well. I think most of us use spoon. Baby will slowly learn to eat from it.

triniti
Do you freeze your zucchini puree?

wendyg
I copied your method of freezing bottle fruit puree. But actually can it be frozen or are we just taking chances?

8. Temple
10. Applejuz
12. vone + hb + bb (fine wif both)

passing guest
actually i dun freeze the fruit puree, only the vege puree.. coz Isaac took so darned long to finish the carrot puree - i couldn't leave it in the regular fridge compartment. But he finished the PumpkinSweetCorn and SweetPotato very fast. For bottled fruits, i bought Gerber, so the jars are v small & he most definitely can finish within the recommended time.
And to set your mind at ease, my sis freezes the baby jar food coz she wants to give her boys variety (after testing for allergies), so she'll open several jars at once & give them a bit of each. Her older boy already 2yrs old, younger one is 10m.

vone
isaac is taking milk, cereal, vege & fruit for dinner liao... my hsbnd complain i feed him too full & he can't sleep. Argh...

musicgal, hw abt mothercare?? saw some thr when i was shopping thr d other day.

re. brown rice, tink i saw a few brands of brown rice at carrefour when i was thr during lunchtime. mayb u gals can chk it out??

ting, oic. then gd luck 2 u in weaning zephan off his sleeping habit.

adel, wah... shiok. me aso hvn't went on holiday 4 a long time liao.

cat_tail, he fed my boy hot milk again on d 1st day of cny!! i was so mad tt i nearly slapped her. told myself tt it's her last chance liao coz i had oledi warned her. then since i was on leave 4 d past 2 wks, i spot chked on her. it was then i found out tt watever instructions which we had given her, she didn't followed at all. so she had done all her chores wrongly 4 d past few wks. isn't it frustrating?? so hb & i decided tt we had enough liao. we r paying $$ 2 make our blood pressure incr. so we decided tt we r going 2 sack her & take our chances wif d new maid.

moulinmum, ya lor. dun noe y my luck is so bad in getting a gd maid. sigh... oh, when i 1st introduced solids 2 my boy, i use a spoon coz i wan him 2 get used 2 it.

applejuz, u r nt d oni 1 stressed by it. my fren aso asked me 2 tink abt d pri sch which i wanna send my boy 2 in future. *stressed*

wendy, huh?? then hw come he can't sleep thru?? funny...

HI mummies
I'm new here...so interesting to read all the postings. My Zac is 5.5 months now, weigh 7.8kg

My EBM ss has been dipping...not enough to sustain him already. I let him latched on but the ss still keeps dropping dunno why?

Zac keeps screaming and bending/arching his head backwards after 5 min of latching on. Any advice on y he does that?

Does the amount of ebm differs from latched on cos I usually can pump only 2oz every 2 hours.

Sorrie for being luo shuo...

zaczac
Annette is exactly 5.5 months! When was your boy born and where?

Apparently your baby will be able to yield more milk if he latches on. 2oz every 2 hours seems reasonable. I can only do 5-6 oz a day. Duh... Have you started on solids?

Oh my god vone,
How could she do that! She did tat purposely or is she just plain stupid! So u planning to get a babysitter or be a SAHM? For me, I dun wan to take chances on maid again, so better get a local babysitter.

moulinmum,
Me too, try a lot of funny things on my gal..haha...

Re: school
Applejuz,
Yor frd not exagerating! Btw, not necessary u stay near the gd sch, your child may get in. I already heard some parent even goes to the extend of doing volunteer works in the sch for many years just to "chop" a place ever since their child is 3, 4 yrs old! Then hor, our yr seems like a lot of babies around, so competition is quite fierce.

Welcome zaczac.

hi mommies

anybody interested in ordering from oldnavy? www.oldnavy.com

I am going to place an order but will include orders only from aug/sep thread mommies :eek:) Hope to keep the total amount of the spree under S$400 to avoid incurring 5% gst. Hence, order will close once total amt reach US$200

Exchange Rate: 1.73

Closing date: Wed 6 Feb by 6pm

Payment: Please make all payment to POSB savings 029-31641-1 and indicate your realname(nickname) used in the forum in your transfer. Your order will be void if your payment is not in by closing date/time. Transfer to be done immediately after you post and please update payment status.

Shipping: US shipping $5 flat applies from OldNavy to VpostUSA addresss, shipping to SG will be shipped from VpostUSA address to Singapore. Shipping cost to be divided accordingly to number of items and collected once items arrived.

Collection: Caltex house (next to Raffles Place mrt) on weekdays or Bishan St 11, Bishan Loft on weekends.

Pls post your individual orders in the following format:

EXAMPLE only

Item name: Pleated pique Polo Dresses for Baby
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=6287&pid=360581
Size: 12-18M
Color: White
Quantity: 1
Price: $12.50
Calculation formula: 12.50x 1.73 x1.09 (US sales tax) = SGD23.57

Please PM me your contact no and update on thread your payment status when it is done.

passing_guest, we were at hb's boss's hse 2 ba nian. so i asked her 2 make milk 4 my boy. she then passed d btl 2 me. i felt tt d btl was hot, so 2 b safe, i dripped some milk on2 my hand. imagine my shock!!

cat_tail, she's plain stupid!! she told me tt she's veri 4getful. bt she didn't or wldn't write down our instructions & rely soley on her pea brain 2 remember all our instructions. so fed up...

i don't have uob card but my hb has. I used to order from oldnavy using my maybank card and the every order went thru successfully each time so I am actually quite hesitant to use another card. I also encountered a lot of problem when I use my maybank card for the first time... oldnavy processed my order for 3 weeks and I had to communicate with them via email for 2 weeks to find out what's wrong with my order. When my maternity clothes arrived, I can't wear them anymore cos I have expanded. :eek:(

Also, any delay in the order will cause some popular items to go OOS.. that's y i want to close the spree by this Wed 6pm so that i can put in the order at abt 10pm once i settled Megan.

What do you all think?

vone, sad to hear that this maid didn't work out with you. Do take yr time to choose yr maid carefully. No pt rushing thru the selection process and then have to keep retraining new maids.

look out for testimonials $ from previous employers and no. of years the maid is with one employer if selecting transfer maid.

i can recommend my agency to you if you want. It's been 8 mths since I had my maid and the agency still do counselling when I need them to chat with my maid.

Birkenstock spree for aug/sep mommies! Any interest?

Order will close once we hit above 7 pairs of shoes to get the free shipping.

Exchange Rate: 1.73

Closing date: Thurs 9 Feb by 8pm

The website is https://www.german-shoes-online.com

Pls indicate your requirement in the following format :-

Name :
Category:
Model:
Colour:
Size:
Width:
Article no.:
Price in US$:
URL:
Price will be: US$47.10 x 1.73 = S$

Before indicating your order, please add item to shopping cart to ensure that item is available. Back-orders are not entertained as 7 pairs of shoes are needed for the free shipping.

Payment: Please make all payment to POSB savings 071-16634-1 and indicate your realname(nickname) used in the forum in your transfer. Your order will be void if your payment is not in by closing date/time. Please update payment status before closing date.

Payment amount in excess will be refunded and top up to be done if underpaid!

Collection: Either in Orchard or at 52 Sunset Way

Please PM me your contact no and update on thread your payment status when it is done.

8. Temple
10. Applejuz
12. vone
14. snoopy + hubby + Nicole (fine with both)

snoopy.. my neighbour is interested in getting one or two pairs and i am interested in getting one pair. Problem is german shoes website someimes can be quite a pain to access.. my neighbour tried for days to go into the site and in the end gave up... will ask her to try again.