(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Re- drying rack

anyone know where i can buy bottle drying racks from? something like the ones below from munchkin or first years...

board-post.cgi

cakey
not so good to reduce FM powder in the feeding (ie dilute the milk). Better to follow the instructions in the tin.
http://www.crha-health.ab.ca/hecomm/nal/Maternal/Formula.pdf#search='dilute%20infant%20formula'
Aiya this site also doesn't say WHY cannot dilute formula.. but i read it somewhere before.
This site also says not to add cereal in bottle.
take a look

i'm a mummy
bottle drying racks available in any major shpg ctr baby section... Robinsons, JL, Isetan etc. Seen Chicco ones quite frequently

TL,
my girl is 4.5mths old and i don't plan to give her solids till 6 mths....... read something abt not recommended to introduce solids too early cos will get allergic reaction. So she's still on milk...

Skippy,
Quite stressful to do course and take care of bb at same time..... cos when i was preg, i signed up for CFA exam but in the end, too stressed with work n preggie so didn't study & didn't turn up for the exam! Till now, i'm glad that i didn't subject myself to that stress.... Maybe u want to wait till yr bb is older...

re: Walker
Is it advisable to let our bb use the walker? Heard if let bbs walk too fast will get bow-legged?? My girl has been practising standing up these days.. she does the "Titanic" pose every time to balance herself.. dunno y she wanna stand when she hasn't even learnt how to flip or crawl!

Re: GroBag

Orders (before discount):
1) angel - 6to18 months, little ducks, tog: 1.0, S$77.50
2) angel - 6to18 months, sam bear, tog: 1.0, S$77.50
3) christina- 6to18 months, puppy love, tog: 1.0, $77.50
4) christina- 6to18 months, sam bear, tog: 1.0, $77.70

hmmmm very tempted to get one more for older age..

Re. gathering:-

25 jan (wed) @ 2pm - triniti's plc (near medicorp)
1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee
9. passing_guest
10.smallbell - chocolates
11.eileenp
12.nicky's mom
13.temple (to be confirmed)
14.cat_tail (2 b cfmed)
15. Anissa (let me know what you mummies prefer)
16. Christina (dunno what to bring yet)...

since we r meeting around lunch time, why don't we chip in and order pizza or macs...i know its awfully sinful but it saves a lot of trouble in transporting food, just a suggestion heheh

i need milk, all babies like to stand up.. not true abt the walker n bow leggedness. why walkers are not recommended are bcos they can cause injuries more easily (parents tend to leave them unattended in the walkers) and babies do not have a chance to see how their legs move when in walker.

for me, walker is a great gift cos it keeps zephan occupied. he loves chasing my dog in it! haha! but got to also spend time letting him walk the normal way, so he can figure out the leg coordination.

passing guest, his swells have gone down, and now still have a bit of redness... thanks!

ineedmilk
the bit abt bow-leggedness is an old wives tale.. i read it b4 in What To Expect (1st Yr). I think same applies to the "Crooked-spine-if-sit-in-Bumbo" theory..

tingting no worry on wat to call just stick to JT....as my earlier advise to ensure mummies here are aware that a daddy will be corresponding in here and not to frigthen u gers and close this thread.....hehe

Passing Guest,
My baby girl is 5 months this Sunday. We are giving her Heinz. Friso only add water because
there's milk in it. If that's the case, I think can substitute it for 1 milk feed. I gave her
Frisocream initially but found it rather sweet so change to Heinz which is plain. Also thought
that it's easier to add veg & fruits to plain cereal.

If your baby is finishing her milk feed after eating cereals, it may be fine to continue with it.
Take the cue from your bb, she knows best.

I'm a mummy,
I saw this for sale at Kiddy Palace, Compass Point & Toa Payoh.

TL,
Hi! Welcome to the forum! I'm also a newcomer compared to these mummies who have been "in contact"
since they were pregnant.

saw in the magazine abt the milk expresso machine that will sterilise and prepare the right amount for milk at the correct temperature anyone know of this equipment and comment.

also noted they are having a road show opposite the mandarain hotel from 5/jan to 17/jan

Huh, how come all mummies get so excited to know whether I am +ve or not.

Wah say Seabreeze,
I see so many "stress", now oso stress liao..keke..

JT,
Your boy's name really make ppl happy when u pronouce it. I like it.

Ok, I started my gal with Heinz rice cereal after her lunch feed. Just add a little FM & water to mix until it becomes smooth texture. Then I spoon feed her. If she dun like then stop & continue next day again. After 3 days, then u mix the rice cereal with pear puree or any root vegetables (organic is the best). Just add 1 at a time & try for a few days to see how's her reaction. Do not be eager to feed her too much cos now it's only the phase of food tasting. Have fun!
Oh yeah, this weekend I am going to let her try the Eu Yan Seng brown rice. Hope she like tat as much as the rice cereal cos very exp. Haha..

U mean to say your menses have already come back? No sign of mine at all!!! But thought it is normal for one not to have menses still bf.

Re: the grobag..I also bought a cheaper version (sleepsack from babies first..think was abt $390 for my son cos he too has the habit of kicking his blanket away. But he does not like the sleepsack..tries to kick it away whenever we put him in it and cos he can't , he gets frustrated and cries alot. So end up now we only use the sleepsack when bringing him out at night. So perhaps if you all can, try it first before buying...

cat_tail, pls note ZX is his name exclude family name which i need not indicate in it....wait mummies mistaken as zheng as his family name and xi is his name......

haha.....just as i thought......cos there is a gap in between the two word.....glad i clarify or else some one may start calling me Mr Zheng

christina: tts a very good suggestion actually.. quick and easy.. coz i do not know wat to bring too! haha... u have been mia'ing!! supposed to go out with me but where were u?!! hmmp! Brent calls auntie christina a liar! hiak hiak.

hi Jt, i nearly named my son Zheng Xi too! Until i found that it's difficult for a gal to have the middle name "Zheng".. cos want any siblings in future to have the same middle name..
also keen to know which "zheng" n which "xi" did u use for ur boy? I was looking at "zheng" (as in govt - zheng fu) n "xi" (either as in hope - xi wang; or kang xi).

re: food for gathering

i dun mind macs or pizza, but my mouth was drooling over the promises of cheesecake n durian puffs.. haha! the last time u gals had yummy chocolate cakes too right? :p

hee... maybe it's the korean drama wind....
in my case, i had to use the word Xi. The geomancer gave some characters that we could use. So Zheng Xi was one of them.

i need milk,
guess wat! i went for the CMFAS exam during my ML. then i fail for 3 subjects! haha.... aiya. also blame me tt i didnt study till the last min! :p geez.....so sianz....my bosses keep naggin at me todae! think their auntie visit! give me a break!

adel *LOLOL*
i've been super duper busy over the holidays..been going out and entertaining and i'm kinda burn out...i'm spending this whole week staying at home and clearing up the mess in my house and my life hahahahah. i owe so many people emails and long distance calls...arghhh! Just remembered that u are one of them! yeah i remember now we were supposed to go out that following week after ur sms, why didnt u remind me? oh dear..i TOTALLY forgot about it, its all coming back now....

my life is a mess..! with stale milk and poo

Sweetpea
no worry. My menses also nowhere in sight, and I'm not even TBF. Nowadays only express 2x a day.

Cat_tail
we are excited for u lah...can't wait to see who is the 1st mummy among us to preggie again

Seabreeze
welcome to the panda-eyed mummy club! Heng for me, last night was a gd night. Haowen only wakes up 1 for milk and 1 for dudu, which is almost normal for him. Praying things will get better and better....

Re solids
I also started haowen w cereal liao. My bbsitter now feeding him twice a day (lunch w spoon, and evening in a bottle). Thinking of letting him try some pumpkin/sweet potato puree this weekend. If ok, will add it to his cereal....

Vone
I dun mind meeting at adel's place. Have updated the responses as follows:
7 jan (sat) @ 2pm
1. vone & hb - cheesecake (ok with adel's)
2. ixwong & hb - tibits (ok with adel's)
3. amanda - drinks (not available)
4. anissa
5. cakey & hb - ice cream (ok with adel's)
6. smallbell - chocolates
7. temple - Mcdonald's nuggets (ok with adel's)

Small Bell, Anissa,
you ok with adel's place?

Cakey,
we shd still be around lah. Knowing us Singaporean, sure won't be on time and start at 2pm one...

Re: gathering on 7th Jan

Ok. shall probably call/sms adel to find out is the gathering still going on or not at 3.30 before rushing down. Thanks

mummies ...

my fren was telling me that if my bb has been zzzing thr the night and suddenly wake up for feed ... its a sign that he is ready for solid ... hmmm wonder if yicheng is telling me that .... but me not keen ler ... thinking of waiting until he is older first ....

cat tail ...

excited for you mar!!! see we so fren hahahaha ...

tingting.... zheng that i use is justice gong zheng also yong zheng ...we had also want to have the same character for sibling as such if the next is ger we may retain xi and choose a more femiine name for the middle one...

emmie....u mean your ds has the same name as my son.....we ever thought of letting a geomancer to select his name but when we come upon this name then we decide not to ask or else we may not use this name.....hehe

ya lot of people really mention that this name sound korean which me and wifey never watch K drama

seabreeze, when u say ZZZing...r u referring to snoring....cos ZX snore some time during sleep as wat wifey say and once wake up he want his milk

JT ...

my boy sometimes snore oso ... but i mean sleeping actually heehee ... and when he wakes up at night ... its usually for milk cos all the hugging in the world cant pacify him ...

no... my ds is called Jun Xi. We did consider Zheng Xi before we went to geomancer. And it so happens that the geomancer says Zheng and Jun are ok.

oic....seabreeze

emmie okie....nice name too

just wondering whether is there any chance mummies here deliver on the same date as since here ar aug and sep mummies right

heh....just wondering can my family join this sat gathering but subj to my wifey schedule first, will let her know

JT, dun think we have one same day as ur wife.. got 1 aug, 3 aug..

Zheng Xi was the name of a Korean character played by Terence Cao in a drama serial. Think the show ended not long ago when i started thinking about names.

Alamak,
U all mummies so notti! Make me so gan cheong until I get a test kit. The result is ... "-ve"! Hee~ Next time I better be careful, or else really cannot sleep well.

JT,
Your baby is on 2nd Aug?? I think there are some mummies delivering the same day as yours but not very active in the forum nowadays.

Suddenly remember gto a Korean star oso name like Zheng Xi rite?

Hi Cat_tail,
can share more info about the eu yan sang brown rice powder? is it specifically for babies? how to prepare and how much is it? what's the diff between the eu yan sang brown rice powder vs those that we can buy off the rack at supermarket or health store? hee, me also quite interested in this..

my boy was born on 2nd aug...

Been quite busy recently that's why seldom chat.

I started give rice cereal to my boy 2 weeks ago. He loves it. I spoon feed as he doesn't want to suck from bottle. Don't know why. I mixed 1.5 spoons of FM and 3 spoons of cereal. Twice a day. Recently, he can slept from 930pm till 6-7pm, think is because he is more filling.

hi cat_tail,
so you 'happy' with the test result?

Can bb before 6mth have brown rice? Will it more diff to digest then normal rice cereal?

hey cmy cool...same date which hospital?

current my zx is only on FM at 180ml six scoop interval abt 3.5hr to 4hrs the last usually aroung 10pm and he able to go in to sleep without waking till 6/7am.....so not sure i want to disrupt this pattern now by introducing semi solid

cakey, the brown rice cereal i have is fr 6 mths onwards... if comparing white rice vs brown rice that we adults eat, white rice is easier to swallow. maybe start w white then brown when ur kid is more used to swallowing?

7 jan (sat) @ 2pm
4. anissa
5. cakey & hb - ice cream (ok with adel's)
6. smallbell - chocolates (ok with adel's)
7. temple - Mcdonald's nuggets (ok with adel's)

I would like to join for this sat. Can PM me the address. Thanks

JT, mine is at Mt Alvernia.

Think if his sleeping pattern able to sleep thru out the night then should be ok. Mine is become more and more frequent. His last feed is 180ml but still wake up for milk, sometimes become twice. That's why we started solid food early.

Skippy10,

I think you don't need to worry too much. I have a friend who is currently a teacher, her baby is only 3 months old and she is going to do her master degree. You shld be fine.

Hi mummies, sorry, got to remove my name after all. Dun think I can make it to the wedding dinner @Sentosa if I were to turn up for the gathering. These days I need more time to doll myself. Hahaha ...

Anyway, below is an updated list of those attending the gathering on 7/1:

7 jan (sat) @ 2pm
4. cakey & hb - ice cream (ok with adel's)
5. smallbell - chocolates (ok with adel's)
6. temple - Mcdonald's nuggets (ok with adel's)

Regarding 25/1, mummies, sure you dun wanna go for tea buffet? The no. is getting bigger ... if we are going to bring food down, I really dunno how much servings I need to prepare (not to forget triniti mentioned she and hubby are food monsters). Hahaha ...

Seabreeze
Dun laugh at me about the word HOT ok:p

Wendyg
yeah, next time anton is going to have a gf...definitely going to be like jane fonda haha

Skippy
hehe that is so considerate of u
hehe...I think all the mummies here are very civilised hehe

I'm a mummy
Hey I can sell u my rack cos I dun use it at all!!I can sell it at 5 bucks..mine is the munchkin bottle rack

Hehe actually I dun mind going for tea buffet, someone said it is going to cost like 8 SGD per person but can ask them to come on time at 2 pm to my place or earlier..cos food monster wants to eat first before you ppl come so you mummies won't know how much I eat hehhehe....

Hey all,
Sad to say that my school ask me to go for a briefing on 25th Jan.

So i gotta give it a miss. Sorry!!!

Life have been crazy ever since i start work. Breaks are all spent on pumping. Sigh...
But happy thing is tt i manage to pump 100ml average per session from both sides already. Yeah!!! Hehe. Hopefully my bb dun increase his appetite.

Today's office like warzone.. Sigh.. So tired! Maybe it's time i should start thinking of ways to convince my husband to let me be a SAHM..

Now still in office struggling will the mountain of papers and files on my desk.. Worse, don't even feel like going home cos too tired to walk to the car park which is 10mins away.. sigh.

Eyes star star liao..

hi mummies, paiseh... was out 4 an appt in d afternoon jus now. so no chance 2 log on til now. tink tday is nt my day. kena arrowed in d ofc jus now, then when i came hm, hoping 2 find some solace in my boy, he decided tt tday is torture my mummy day. argh...

okie, since d mummies who r going 4 d 7 jan's gathering dun mind changing d venue, then i shall 're-open' it again. hehe... gives me something 2 look 4ward 2. will sms u gals d address later.

adel, tks again 4 offering ur plc!! really appreciate u saving my a**!!
thus pls prepare drinks 4 us okie.

mummies who r interested bt can't cfm whether u can make it, u can contact me @ 98710328 shld u decide 2 come.

looking 4ward 2 seeing u gals & bbs.

skippy,
sian to fail exam right? some more pay $$ already... since i didn't turn up for the exam, my exam fee kena forfeited. There goes like $500...

tingting,
all babies like to stand? i didnt know that.. i thought my girl was trying to be funny..

eileenp,
know what u mean by breaks all spent in pumping! I find that i'm pumping non-stop... work for 2-3 hours and then gotta go pump...plus, gotta forgo my 1 hr lunch break.

nicky's mom,
i'm still working now! Its 9pm! Sigh, so busy.. my poor baby waiting for me. I also got mountain of papers on my desk.. its forever messy! [i taking a short break now to rest by reading this forum! :p]

25 jan's gathering @ 2pm - triniti's plc (near medicorp)

1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee
9. passing_guest
10. smallbell - chocolates
11. eileenp
12. nicky's mom
13. temple (to be confirmed)
14. cat_tail (2 b cfmed)
15. Anissa (let me know what you mummies prefer)
16. Christina (dunno what to bring yet)...

since more mummies r coming, any objections if we were 2 order high tea buffet?? budget is abt $10/pax?