(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi temple,
Poor boy, cry until like tat. And I need to tell you... "HE REALLY LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE U!"

Hi ineedmilk,
Same as you, putting my baby at my MIL side. Really cannot tell her off when she insists me to do this, do tat... "Wo Ren"...

re : shaving botak
any recommendations on a good barber near Sengkang? Though bu she de but think we will have to shave my boy's hair soon... he now have patches of blank spots on his head... like a balding old man.

dear all

my maid finally arrived in sg! i am really upset at the lousy service that i got from the agency. still need to wait for at least 7-10days for all the entry, medical, safety and in-house training to be completed. the agency offered to let me have the maid first while waiting for MOM safety test and bring her back to agency any time for in-house training. they really think i so darn free to ferry her to and fro, while arranging to be off/or take leave to look after ds.

so angry, called them countless times and left my contact but 9 out of 10 times never call me back! took nearly 1 1/2months to get the maid and i don't even have much time to let her be familiar with her work scope and ds. really headache!

another headache: ds is fussing a lot when drinking milk. he will not finish 150ml now, we are lucky if he finish most of it. there are feeds that he drinks about 60-100ml, with lots of struggles and crying. when he is fussing, i tried to burp him, sometimes got burp but he will still be unhappy.

i am losing so much sleep over his feeding pattern now, plus the maid, really really stressed out!

yesterday, i was feeding ds and he almost finished his milk when HB called my mobile. i tot later then call him back, settle ds first. you know what he say to me tat evening, he wanted to know why i never answer his call and wat if the call was urgent(ie he accident or wat). how can i answer when 1 hand holding ds, another hold bottle. somemore can say that if urgent call and i never answer, it is only his life at stake! that feed was the first in days that he finished his feed without much struggle.

he wants me to follow-up on the maid but not too aggressively, if i never lose my temper at the manager, agency would not have offered to cancel maid if she no-show at 3pm yesterday and let us have a temp transfer maid while re-select a new one. wants me to call agency to inform them to extend yesterday 3pm deadline to wed, since she already left home for philippines agency. i called sg agency from 10-11.30am and 12-2pm, just to ensure that they are noted of our decision. if i didn't call, later will kena from HB. i was alone at home with ds, i can't keep ds happy/rock him to sleep/prepare next feed/change nappy and still call agency.

sometimes i feel tat it is his upbringing, PILs one kind. buying ru yi oil, MIL can still commented loudly tat the shop is selling fake ru yi oil and got told off by the shop keeper. when choosing name for ds, FIL insisted that surname be written in the complicated/old chinese(only taiwan is still using) cos the easy chinese forms are "not the real thing" cos some joker wakes up one day and decided that it should be written that way. i was so angry, my chinese not very good but what utter rubbish! somemore can insisted that from woodlands till tanjiong pagar is malaysia land and why sg gov put sg checkpt at woodlands.

i really dun want to bring ds back to kl for visits cos their house is really dirty and messy, plus have pails of water(uncovered) in the garden to collect rainwater for watering of plants AND there are mosquitos larvae growing inside. it is amazing why no one has contracted dengue, and i was so worried when visited them when i was still preggy.

morning ladies ...

well my bb yicheng slept a record time from 12am to 7am this morning ... shiok!! but noticed that his bean sprout pillow was kicked away ... wonder isit cos i never hear him cry hahahahaha .... anyway my breast was so full that it was leaking away when i was brushing teeth and splashing on the creams on my face ... had to 'wake' him up for his milk heehee

hopefully he can stay this way so that all of us can zzzz in peace ...

temple ...

my boy cries like your boy hahahaha ... whole face red red one ... but he got a very ang-mo look in the 2nd photo ... yap agree with cat tail ... look like you ... but he v shy when i went to your place to pick up the book hor ...

i need milk ...

wow your MIL really help you save money ar ...

cookies ...

our bb abt the same 'age' right? yap his neck not that strong until he can support himself ... but he prefers to be carried upright now ... i always say that he performing bollywood dance heehee

he usually will only hold on to the thing if i stuff it into his hand ... think he is right handed cos he is better and more willing to hold things using his right hand ... but think they not much strength ... hold for a while then drop liao ...

think will go check out the book at the book store then ... at least i can see if i like the content of the book ... thanks for the info ...

ilmare ...

poor thing ... think you need to tell your HB tat u need to settle the little one first or you cant do anything for the rest of the day .... try letting him feed your bb over the weekend then he will know how tough it is to juggle so many things at 1 go ...

PIL ... think the lesson learnt for most of us is open 1 eye ... close 1 eye heehee ... use the excuse that your bb is still small ... cannot travel long journey lar ... me oso told my HB that cos i dun wan to bring my bb into JB during the CNY period ... dun bring your ds to make passport ...

for the name ... well take it easy cos some feng shui master out there oso use the 'complicated' chinese words sometimes to name the bb ... think the only ppl who will complain in the future is his teacher lar ... cannot find the word in the chinese prog heehee ...

Cat_tail/Reenie
To punch another hole in the teat, I just poke thru w a needle and then use a sharp scissors to cut and enlarge the hole.

Temple
your bb v cute. The 1st pic so fiece hoh...seem like all bbs turn v red when they cry. Mine too.

Cat_tail
thanks for the tips. Still struggling w myself when to stop bf. A bit "bu she de" cos it took so much effort to build up the supply, but on the other hand, quite tiring cos work are pouring in...

Reenie,
Denise so cute. U let her sleep on tummy huh? I tried putting Haowen on his tummy for his nap but he struggled and cried. Is it too late now at 3rd mth to train him to sleep this way?

seabreeze

HB knows that ds very difficult to feed but he still expect me to answer the call! my dad was so angry over tis, i still at my parents' place and he came over last evening.

FIL really expect ds to write his surname in complicated chinese when start school, somemore the surname is not common(although sound like Ou De Yang's surname but different character), ds sure to kena lots in school and from FIL next time. lucky his given name got no complicated forms or i will still be arguing with FIL. HB malay-ed, chinese worse than a K1, so chinese name was left to me.

applejuz ...

so cute ... me havent take out my mat to air yet ... find that its very smelly ler ... got the rubber smell ...

ilmare ...

aiyo ... ur FIL must be very stubborn ... does your HB writes his surname in the complicated way oso? If he does that no choice for your bb ... but if he doesent ... then why should your bb?

seabreeze,
HB writes his name in the complicated form. for ds, only surname got complicated form cos given name doesn't.

just want maid thingy to be smooth, no more delays. will have 2wks to observe/train her before i start work...

HB wants me to find out where to buy the infant car seat... am i really a superwoman to him?

ilmare ...

then guess your bb will have to carry on the tradition of writing his surname in the complicated form then ...

car seat can get from kiddy palace (bigger outlet), robinson & mothercare ... think those shops that specialise in bb item oso got sell carseat ...

re: names

i chose my boy's christian name with my hb, and my PIL first complained that it's too uncommon n difficult to pronounce/remember.. but now they have no problems w it..
(but i do notice that clinic nurses prefer to call him by his chinese name.) As for chinese name, i chose it myself cos hb's chinese is a pte ltd co.... :p didn't even think of running through w in-laws until my mother reminded me. But they Eng-ed so also bo chap... But my grandmother had problems pronouncing it in Teochew (nobody knows how to!) and we had to consult our entire family clan (nearly 100-strong) before someone finally knows.. keke...

applejuz, the playmat looks so big n nice! Keyon looks like he's in the forest himself!

i need milk, serious ah?? is ur mil who didn't change d diaper or pet pet is really absorbent??
sigh... i jus told my maid off tis morning coz she didn't change my son's diapers yesterday afternoon fr 2pm onwards. so when we brought him out in d evening at abt 6+, his diaper overflowed & wet his pants at abt 7+!! was so angry & fed up wif her!!

cookies, u r welcome.
gosh, if ur bb is dropping so much hair, then mayb it's better if u shave it off. re. grabbing toys, tink dif bb do it at dif times. mine oni does it when he feels like it. other times, even if i hold 4 him, he's aso not interested.

temple, ur boy is so cute!! i kinda of like d stress look. (so bad of me hor...) hehe...

ilmare, gosh... cool down okie. i can understd how u feel. how come ur agency is so irresponsible?? since they do tt 2 u, then request 4 a reduction in d agency fees. tell them tt they didn't do a gd job 4 u. so y do u hv 2 pay d full fees. as 4 ur hb, let him take care of ur bb during d wkend. let him noe how dif is it 2 look after a fussy bb. sometimes, they tink tt looking after a bb is so easy, so they dun understd how frustrated it is.

applejuz, keyon looks veri 'focused' in d pics. so adorable!!

Ixwong,
Thanks for the tips in punching holes!

Yes, i let Denise sleep on tummy during daytime....she has been on tummy since 2 months old..
ITs never too late! Its good for them to sleep on tummy, my PD suggested to us. It will help them sleep better, longer and get rid of tummy wind/upset. Plus, their neck and shoulders will be stronger since they have to look up and move about when they wake up.
I tried letting her on tummy while awake, but she doesn't enjoy much, only a short while.
Tips: i place her down on tummy to sleep after rocking her, not when she is awake.

Re: Grab things
i notice Denise can grab my fingers very hard and firm, also she can grab Pooh bear hands when i gave it to her. Rattle might not be the best toy to prove baby can grab firmly, u can try all sort of possible stuffs around you, i even realise she grabs the thermoscan when i am taking her temperature! She's quite strong at her hands and legs, able to bang the baby cot quite hard!

But co-ordination skills wise is still weak, her hands doesn't really grabs things sharply, always waving around although trying her best to grab. I placed her on fisher price Kick&Play bouncer to play, she will try to beat the toys dangling in front of her

Seabreeze, ting & vone,

Thanks for the compliments. Look like Anissa's boy or not.. hee hee...:p

Actually, i only wipe the playmat once with wet cloth, once dry, then quickly try on it..:p not much smell leh. I like the cartoons, very catchy! But material wise, i think a bit hard for baby, aiya shld have gotten the LG prime (but then LG prime is $$$$ leh). Seabreeze, u got one too right, how u find?

re: Names
Gee.. Keyon's name oso didn't run thru' wif PIL. They quite ok.
But then, we meant it to be 'Key'+'Yearn' (like ryan), but many pple read as 'Key'+'on' which sounds like crayon... alamak. hope he don't get teased next time...

re: car seat
ilmare, Baby Hyperstore also got many carseat, but dunno got ur brand or not, can chk it out.

Applejuz
The LG Chem Prime bumpermat is great!!it is soft and very colourful...

Hah, ppl pronounce Anton's name is An-tun but it should be pronounced as Ant-on haha

triniti,
i hinted my hb to get another one, the LG prime, to put at my mum's plc, guess the look on his face! But still better than hard floorings & ABC mat...:p
Yeah, i pronounce Anton's name correctly... as in 'end'+'Turn' right..

Cool down ilmare.
U need to thrash out things to your hubby tat u r not a superwoman! Got to make him known tat u r really piss off & upset or else he will take u for granted. Make it clear tat he helps u to settle the maid thingy ASAP cos I find 2 weeks to train the maid is too little. Yor PILs sounds so jia lat one. Maybe u think positively in another way tat they dun stay in Sg.

Hi Seabreeze,
It's a good sign when Yicheng can sleep thru out the night.

Hi ixwong,
Thanks for tips on punching hole on the teat. I try whether it works for mine. As for bf, u try to feed him as long as u can lor. For me is becos my workplace not so friendly in expressing milk so I stop it.

Hi Applejuz,
Your boy still looks so cute & his hair very bushy too.

hi ilmare,
Ya, guess you have to make known to him that sometime bb simply won't leave you with any free time to do other stuff.. Previously I also thot staying at home looking after bb shld have lotsa time to do other stuff hence planned quite a few things to do during maternity leave... End up whole day attending to bb and hardly any time for other stuff! So maybe yr hubby like me previously.. got wrong impression...

Ilmare, i bought my maxi cosi cabrio car seat from Baby Hyperstore. The shop is the sole distributor for maxi cosi, so you'll be able to find the entire range there. You can always call to check before going

Baby's Hyperstore:
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
tel: 68441123

hi ilmare,
i totally agree with cakey, having a baby around takes up so much of your time. Like Denise, she takes up 80% of my time! the other 20% she is sleeping.....and i get to breathe a little. It really depends on the child, like mine, she is the toughest baby in town, cranky for no reason, refuse to take milk and unpredictable but she is still my darling girl....
My hubby helps me in taking care of Denise over weekends and nite time, he find it fun yet tiring at times too.

Let your hubby have a try on his own, then he will understand your role as a mummy at home

wow, all the babies with bushy hair huh!!!
people keep asking me whether my baby's head shaved before... answer is NOT YET!! *hiak*

337824.jpg

337825.jpg

ilmare
my heart goes out to u... your husband is DEEPLY MISTAKEN - taking care of baby at home is many times more demanding than going to work. Tell him u wanna go do your hair/ facial/ shop for new clothes before starting work. Ask him to take leave & take care of baby. Guarantee that he'll wake up his idea after 3hrs.

Haha.. wendyg,
Your boy still looks cute even though no hair. Now I am wondering shall I shave my gal botak.

ilmare,
Ya man! Like wat wendg mentioned. Make him stay at home alone with baby & feel it.

cat tail
apparently there's a custom/ ritual to shave bb hair at 1 month or 4 months. Hubby & i din think anything abt it until my dad brought it up, seems to be insisting.. coz my bb 4 months tmr. We're Teochew, by the way... does this apply to other dialects too?

applejuz
hehe it should be pronounced as An-torn...different from the intended spelling of ur boy Keyon. I think ppl pronounce ur boy's name wrongly because of the letter 'Y'...cos it reminds them of the word Cra-yon, that is why the pronounce it the same way as they would pronounce 'Crayon'

wendyg
I am a teochew too but my dad did not say anything about shaving my boy's head...I mean what would happen if we dun shave their heads?

triniti
i dunno lor... aiya, that's what customs/ rituals are about. I mean, when WOULD happen if we didn't hold the full month celebration, if we didn't do confinement, if we used the scissors on our bed when we were pregnant?!

if i remember, i'll ask my dad tonite/ tmr & share the answer... in the meantime any bets??

wendy,
wait till you see my Denise, then you feel much better :p Denise doesn't have much hair since birth up till now, and i never shave her before!

Pro: Lesser shampoo needed
Con: No chance to buy clips for her

dear all

thanks for hearing me out. my parents are super angry with him now for pressuring me. the worst thing that he ever mentioned that i am to hold ds with 2 hands when bathing him, so as not to drop him. how to bath ds when i alone?

mum also mentioned that it is very tiring to care for ds alone, really need 2 persons. i feel very guilty sometimes especially when i need to go back for doc's appts.

ds drank all 150ml just now! i am so happy cos he didn't struggle, just "guai guai"drink with eyes closed, think he was half asleep. just pray hard that he will continue this drinking habit...

cat tail, i also know 2wks is very short but what to do now... the idiot agency played me out, so angry that i wrote an e-mail to them and as expected, no sound no picture from them.

wendyg, hokkien also got the same custom of cutting bb hair at either 1 or 4mth. ds hair quite long and the top part is standing out, like the zhou da di in tong xin yuan. born in yr of rooster, got rooster hair-do!

wendyg,
my boy also teochew. my MIL mention to shave at 4mths,since we did not do so at 1 mth. but i'm going to do it probably tis wkend or next. cos i really cannot tahan his hair dropping so much. i gonna take tonns of picture with him 1st b4 doing so.
btw, yr son so cute, he has a nice nose.

mummies, maybe shd start sharing photos online, so that we can look at each other's babies. its such a nice feeling to see baby's pictures.

Hi Applejuz,

I think your boy has more hair than mine :p he is sooooooooooooooooo cute!

Just brought my baby for his 6-in-1 jab. The clinic did an assessment on him. Looks like he is progressing as the other babies @3 mths. The doc said if he knows how to put his hands together and/or he knows how to grab the thing I hold in my hand then he is progressing faster than other babies. Anyway, he now weighs 6.5kg and stand at a height of 62cm
I'm a proud mummy today! Hahahaha...

anissa,good to hear that yr boy is progressing well. look forward to my boy's 3mths check too.

here's his pix taken yesterday.
337893.jpg

car ride to suntec

337894.jpg

daddy changing his diaper at e suntec nursing room

re: shave @ 4 mnths
i just asked my colleague... the tradition is the same as first month shaving, just that some babies may be too small at 1 month, so wait until 4 months.

reenie
yeah i saw your bb gal's online album. Cute baby with skinny mommy =)))

Hi Wendyg,
Your baby so chubby... makes me want to kiss his cheeks.. *muah* & head very round hor.. Keyon's head still irredular, so dare not shave. I'm Teochew too... cham lor, hope my MIL dun insist we shave...

reenie & wendy,
another pro, besides lesser shampoo, save money on hair cut too. :p
I've to spend $5 to cut that little bit of hair, if go kid's salon - $15! & so fast gotta trim again..

triniti,
Oops.. i pronounce 'Anton' wrong har... paisei.
haiz.. tot wld be the 'yon' in 'Grand Canyon'. :p

anissa,
Great! Its the happiest thingy to see baby progressing! So proud of u too!

cookies,
ur boy know how to pose for camera har... he got big eyes too! :D
ha ha, I've been to the Suntec nursing room too. & the BF cubicle is Sooo small.

cat_tail:
i also ren my MIL in the beginning but now trying trying trying to overlook small things cos after all she is making effort to look after my girl.

tingting:
yup, my bb seldom poo.. used to poo once or twice a day but recent week like poo once every 2 days! Somehow my bb buttock skin quite good leh.. wear diapers for long hours but havent got nappy rash yet. :p

re: shave hair
i am also wondering if i shld shave my girl botak too... my MIL say her hair some long some short so must shave to make it even..

applejuz,

not that he knows how to pose infront of camera lah, but he's looking at mummy. duno how come now he's always looking at me when someone else carries him. my hubby so angry that my boy do not look at him when he carries n play with him, cos my boy will jus turn n look at mummy..heee..

btw,tis nursing room is e new 1 at e new stretch of children's shops. its much nicer but e nursing cubicle very open, u need some1 to start n guard for u during nursing.

hi ilmare,

caring for a more demanding baby, like mine too, is more tedius than usual. i'm at home alone with Zephan most of the time, and i take care of him at night too. Half the time i'm almost tearing my hair out! We've started letting him stay at my parents' place for a day during weekends, so that i can get a breather and some time to relax. Of course, still got to do housework n express milk, but at least not as tedious.

sometimes i also feel that hb doesn't understand how tough it is to take care of a baby, bcos the only time he babysits are when he's well fed n asleep. But when he does help carry him once in a while, it's a good break for me.

about bathing, i bathe Zephan alone too... though it's a little tricky to juggle, but can be managed. which part of the bathing u find difficult to handle?

wendy, dunno whether ur method of "training" hb will work on mine, cos he operates on a "need-to" basis.. i.e. he doesn't pick up baby when he starts to cry.. only when it's persistent crying! I cannot tahan that arh... i must not be around else i'll definitely walk over to pick him up first.

but recently my hb began to discipline Zephan, like not giving in to his whims n fancy. Like when he cries to want to be walked around all the time, he just put him on his lap n looked at him calmly n after a while, the crying stopped.

ting2
yeah, Deric also recently started to scold Isaac. Talk to him sternly. I dunno whether it works coz i'm not at home ley. haha.
We both agree not to let baby cry too much. Traumatising... and wind gets into tummy!!

wendyg,
My MIL is a hokkien. Apparently she insisted me to to bring my gal to trim her hair before her full mth too. I oso dun noe why?

ilmare,
Better dun let your parents tell your hubby off cos most man dun like it. U try to blow up & let him know u r really mad.. Btw, what is the name of your maid agency?

cookies,
Your boy's eyes got "shen"! Like using his eyes to talk.

ineedmilk,
ya, it's always very hard to tell MIL off since she's doing us a favor. As long as it's not a big issue, we can just close our eyes.

re: shave hair
Anyone has shaved her baby botak? I think I better do cos every morn sure see a lot of hair drop on her pillow.

re: discipline
Hi ting2,
I am curious how did your hubby do it?

applejuz ...

i got the ipark piro ... they said that its similar to the LG one but think not as branded ... its oso quite soft and comfy ... like the vibrant colour too ...

cat tail ...

think i will shave my boy when he is 4mth old too ... cos his head the front like botak like that lor ... and they commented that he seem to be dropping hair already ... though not obvious to me lar ...

wendyg & cookies ...

both the bb so cute ... want go home and take photo of my son liao ...

re: HB

my HB is q ok but must agree tt he does not response to the bb as fast as me lor ... some times i hear the bb cry while am doing some stuff ... i tot my hubby already carry him up liao ... but when i walk in the room ... my hubby is sitting there looking at the bb and asking 'why are you crying?' ... aiyo cry so long liao carry first then ask lar ...

reenie ...

me started letting him zzz on tummy abt 2mth++ oso ... agree that he can zzz longer and sometimes even burp heehee

hi all..

seabreeze: taking care of brent's still tedious! sigh.. thought he would be better after a while.. but he became cranky again leh...

mummmies: how do u all re establish ur milk supply when they are running low? sigh.. mine is running low at the moment!

Wendyg,
your boy so cute!!! He look so intent in the 1st pix. Want to pinch his face....

Reenie
Thanks for the tummy tip, will try one of these days to put Haowen to sleep on his tummy.

Re shaving
I shaved my boy botak in his 1st mth cos his hair looks so bushy like grass. Will probably do it again at 4th mth cos his hair still grow quite unevenly. Even my nanny's 10-yr old daughter told me my boy's hair stand up like that of porcupine....

338017.jpg
my boy with his version of a victory sign

Applejuz,
i dun mind paying for haircut :p another good thing, hot weather not so smelly! haahahahhaa...

ixwong,
yes! u should try...but dun force him if he doesn't want ok...

seabreeze,
burp on tummy? hahaha...so cute! Denise only droool...wet my bed :p