(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

cat tail:
i think recommended portion 150ml is for 5 feeds a day ie. every 4-5 hours. Since yours every 3 hours, 60-120ml shld be sufficient leh..

hi cat_tail,
My bb also drink 90 to 120ml per 3hr. And she's already near 3mth at 6.2kg, ~60cm ... But since she always spit milk so din try to increase her vol. Since she's growing every week, then it I just let her be lor..

Re: sudden fierce crying

Julia also sometimes do that.. she will be sitting there happily or lying in her sarong happily (awake), then suddenly very fierce crying! Not like those normal soft cry then slowly become louder kind. I also dun know wat's wrong??!! I just assume she got bored or tot of something upseting.. maybe like NO MILK?? hahahaa...
Anyways, i just pick her up and pacify her lor.. and tell her mummy loves her.

If she is sleeping, i just coax her back to sleep like juzapple and cookies. Then she will fall back asleep..

ixwong, how do you know if the baby got wind attack/ tummyache??? How to tell if he is not just upset?

hi mummies, i have a good news to share. My boy finally can flip at 3.5 mths. Once he can flips he will kept on flip whenever we lied him on the mattress. He just looks like wants to swim ..haha

hi cmy, congrats! i've been waiting for my boy to flip but nothing happens leh... quite disappointed cos PD said he'll flip soon at the 3rd month check. But he can turn over to his side, so that's considered a half-flip? haha...

re: crying
my boy arh, recently giving me a lot of problems at night. waking up more frequently n crying louder too...

ting2
yeah mine too.. last time used to be 3hrly... now it's 2 hrly or every hour. *concussedddd*

flip? Isaac hasn't flipped yet.. maybe he's too FAT. =P

moulincat
my baby does the same thing sometimes but once I comfort him he will be fine...

applejuz, cookies and ixwong
I really do not know what troubled him at that instant but it is definitely not tummyache cos I can tell the difference. when he has wind in the tummy, his crying is more dull and consistent but the sudden cry he executed is more like he is frightened.However, it is definitely not nightmares cos he was wide awake...

tingting
I think what your baby is experiencing is growth spurts. Don't worry, it just means he is growing well

moulincat, tks 4 ur suggestion.

cat_tail, my 2nd maid is d 1 tt can cook veri well. my 1st 1 can't really cook. as 4 milk, my boy is drinking abt 150ml every 4 hrs these days.

cmy, congrats!! must b so funny 2 c him do tt rite?? now waiting 4 my boy's turn.

mummies, my boy finally poo on his own jus now. me & his daddy r so happy!!
tks 4 all ur concern!!

Thanks, Applejuz. Will give HW a kiss on your behalf...

Moulincat
I know my bb is having tummyache when his crying is intermittent. He would calm down after all the sayang-ing, then suddenly start again....

Cat_tail
Recently my boy increases his milk intake again...he now take 6 feeds a day, 150-180 ml per feed. You can guage if your gal is taking enough by using the formula (wt in kg x 150ml per kg) divide by number of feeds per day. My boy is 7kg now and shd be taking abt 1050ml per day.

cmy,
congrats!! I'm looking forward to my boy sliping, so far nothing yet. When put him on tummy time, he too lazy to lift his head, maybe too heavy. His neck is not strong enough yet leh....

do any of ur babies "thump" their legs when lying on bed? mine recently likes to do that, lift both legs up n let them "free fall" back onto the bed. It's not playing for him cos he's not smiling, but rather when he's awake or fustrated. Aiyoh, i think he's gonna be a v fierce baby liao, bully mummy all the time... :p

wendy. triniti, hope this frequent waking stops soon, cos i get fustrated at being woken up so many times too.. :p dun really think it's growth spurt cos his feeding times are more or less the same, but he wakes up more frequently and usually putting the pacifier can make him sleep for 1/2 hr longer, then he wakes up again...

tingting
hmm if you have changed his nappy, fed him and the temp of the room is right..did you check his clothings, too tight or too loose etc? hmm if it happens for a couple of nights, maybe you should ask the PD to play safe...

re:- taking taxi
Hi mummies who take taxi with your baby, do you have to use a car seat? is it against the law not to use a car seat in a taxi? cause i have some friends here who don't use a car seat, taxi driver chin chai, but just wondering...i have a friend coming in from the US with his baby next week, and he's wondering whether need to lug his car seat from the US for use here or not.

HI vone,
glad to know your bb is fine!

re;- flipping
do you have to put bb on the front and let him flip or he will just roll from back lying to side and then flip to the front? my baby girl hates lying on her stomach..everytime we put her on her front, she will cry and scream, keep lifting her head and kicking her legs..the first few times we tried to let her cry it out, thought exhausted she will stop crying and rest on her tummy..but no leh, she cried for 10-15mins non stop until we surrender, nowadays only put her on her tummy like once every other day...i know tummy time is good for babies, especially strengthening of her neck and help her to learn to flip and crawl faster..but she won't stop crying or wailing leh..sigh.. so no choice, help her strengthen neck by carrying her in shoulder burp position more often...

to all mummies who have gone back to work:
do u have problems latching on bb on weekends during day time? I've been back to work for 2 weeks and this weekend like notice bb don't wanna latch on day time. But when we give her the bottle, she happily drink. Hmm.. wonder if its becos she program herself to only drink bottle during day time and latch on at night...

triniti, nothing seems to have changed leh,everything was as per normal.. if he's uncomfortable he'll scream the house down already, won't be so "ke qi" with u one... haha... maybe he wants to get up but cannot... :p will mention this to the PD at his next checkup.

ting2
re: tub-thumping
yeah isaac does that all the time. but he's not uncomfortable.. i thought he was just amusing himself with his newfound legs..

re: frequent waking
i think my baby wants to know there's someone nearby. He's not cold/hungry, doesn't need diaper change etc.. We're trying ways to break this habit & get him to sleep longer... so far no success =P So mommy goes to work with only 3hrs sleep, out of that 1hr was when i was carrying him 8)

ineedmilk
no probs for Isaac latching. I think he still takes less than necessary fr bottle. Coz dun hv mommy's smell =P

re:drinking milk
I think anton broke the record today by drinking 220ml!!Is that normal for a 2 mths and 2 weeks old baby??

re:drinking milk
dominic is taking 150ml too, usually will finish. i will remove bottle when i see that only left the bubbles, scare he later got wind. was feeding him 150ml/4hr, but HB scared overfeed him, so now trying to get him to drink every 5hr. he already "pre-programmed" to drink at the 4hr interval, so very drama to get him to wait 1hr longer!

triniti, wow that's a lot even for 1 feed! think anton is going thru a growth spurt!

wendyg, tingting
dominic also like that, loves to wake up at nite... i haven't go back to work, already stressed due to lack of sleep. hopefully he will outgrow this!

wendyg, good luck on the sleep training. my mum also suggested that, will try tonite. apparently, mum did that to me & bros when we were just passed 1mth and after a few nites, we stopped waking up.

re: infant car seat
can check with you what brand of infant car seat you have? what to look out for when choosing one. thanks

Re: FM
Hi cakey, my gal is also around 6kg. At least I feel assure tat yor baby drinks like the same amount as mine. I calculated her total volume intake as the recommended amount, and it's less. So a little gan cheong whether my gal drinks well.

Hi ixwong,
How old is your boy now?

Re: flipping
Hi cmy, well done for your boy! U must have do a lot of encouragement like tummy down rite?

Hi mummytobe, my gal oso super jia lat one, always cry when I put her tummy down. I try to put her fav toy infront of her also no use. I wonder is the gals like tat?

vone,
Glad tat yor boy can poo now. At least u feel much relief.

cmy: congrats!. .i hve been looking forward for this day to come.. <haiz> my ah girl still so lazy to lift up her head when lie on tummy.. everytime she will be very frustrated, kept crying.. when u carry her up will still grumble grumble.

inviting u gals to view my baobei's foto: www.babykylie.fotopic.net

temple ...

i dun think that if take cab need car seat .. if not we should be seeing alot of ppl carrying car seat and walking around ...

vone ...

thats good ... CONGRATS!! heehee

triniti ...

thats ALOT ... if my bb drinks like that ... my supply will be running low very soon ... my boy who is 2.5mth is now drinking abt 125ml ... hopefully it stays this way for a while ... v stress to make sure that he has 'fresh milk' to drink every day ...

cat tail ...

my boy like to sleep on this tummy these days ... when he is cranky &amp; sleepy ... i usually flip him over and he can zzz q fast and long ...

otherwsie he only like to be on his tummy when he is in a good mood ... wonder when can he flip oso ... but q fun to see him do mini push up ...

these day notice that my bb like to stare at his own hand ...

re: funny stuff to share

last night my bb yicheng gave out a very very LOUD fart and gave himself a scare ... then started crying very very loud ... hahahaha ... so funny ...

Hi triniti,
Wah! 220ml is a lot! BM or FM?how much does he normally drink?

Hi ilmare,
my baby girl also taking 150ml of FM, every 4 hourly heh but i don't think over feeding leh, cause according to the tin, 3mth baby should be taking 180ml per feed leh...

Hi wendyg,
How much is your baby taking during the last feed before sleeping at night? for my baby girl, normally after her last feed at around 10-11pm, she will be able to sleep through the night till 6 or 7am..once she slept from 9pm to 7am...she sometimes might fuss in her sleep around 3or 4am (just make noise but never open her eyes)..so i just give her the pacifier to pacify her hehe and she continue sleeping..for the night feed before her bedtime, i feed her as per normal during the day, 150ml FM...she has been sleeping through the night since she was 2.5mths..but my baby on FM, so more filling..your baby on BM right?prob get hungry more easily, so maybe water works better than pacifier hee

think there is another thread on this topic..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/329858.html?1132388296

ilmare and I'm a mummy
Hi there, he is drinking BM. Usually he drinks 180ml. I increased it to 220ml today because yesterday he woke up earlier than usual to have his feed and more frequent feeds. That is why I increased his last feed which is 7pm.He would usually wake up at 2am for his next feed. I feed ebm as his last feed and usually latches on him. I am quite sure that he does not drink that much when he latches cos he only drinks for 20-30 mins on both sides but for ebm of 220, he will take an hour!!

Seabreeze
Yeah, so far I am still able to supply and meet his daily needs but I dunno what will happen in a few months to come. I just hope when he takes solids , he will drink less in the night to last him through the night.

re:flip

I let my boy slept on his tummy about 2 mth old. That's when his neck is strong enough to change his head position. But recently after the 3rd mth jab he seems hate to tummy sleep. So i let him sleep at normal postion. I don't really let him have tummy position at normal time. Till this Wednesday I tried to let him tummy position then realise that he can hold his head very strong and without falling down. (like a tortoise) Then my MIL did one flip for him and suprisingly on next day he can flip by himself liao. Once he can flips he will keep continue practise and can see that become more and more easier and fast.

Actually lots of ppls comments that my boy quite strong. I think that is due to i ate lots of red meats during my pregnancy. Now when carried him he likes to stand and kept on twist his body.....SOoo naughty!!!

The attached photos are before he can flip. Think was taken 2 weeks ago when he just turn to 3 mth old. He is 7.4kg and 67cm height @ 3 mth old.

336869.jpg

336870.jpg

wah, cmy, ur boy quite big @ 3 months..
mine was 6.8kg n i already feel that he weighs a ton! i was actually tempted to "demo" 1 flip for him, but then i dunno how babies flip actually.. do they use their hands to support and turn, or they just roll over kind? i agree that letting them sleep face down develops their neck n arm muscles early. my boy also prefers to sleep face up around 3 months.. was quite surprised cos previously he didnt like it. maybe at this age they want to see more around them. he likes to lull himself to sleep with the cot mobile.

btw, ur boy still has a lot of hair..did u shave him? mine is dropping as quickly as his mummy's!

wow triniti,

Envy your milk supply leh. Mine is pathetic. Pump until wanna die oleadi only get max 50ml on one side. Kaos.

Worried not enough to feed my baby.

I'm also using the Maxi Cosi Cabrio. But my grandma told me the baby sitting in there like slouching like that. Not good for the back. But i see all the car seats also the same leh. Dunno how.

eileenp
Do not envy me cos I am also concerned one day I will just be depleted of milk for my boy...just praying for the day he hit 4 mths...!!It is amazing the amount of milk he can drink from the bottle. Last night he slept at 9am and wake up at 430am for his feed which is pretty good...I think from now on I have to stick on 220ml of ebm for his last feed.hope he can drink this amount till he is 4 mths old which is 5th of jan. haha

I think as long the baby is not in any long car trip it is fine...after the baby is 3mths, his bones are stronger anyway, so it should not be a problem

Hi Lib,
Yur gal is so sweet! Is she behaving well in the weding? I have one coming but dunnoe whether to bring my gal along.

Hi seabreeze,
At least your boy dun fuss when u turn him. My gal not very adventurous one. I try a lot of funny ways to turn her tummy down, but she always fuss &amp; cry!

Hi cmy,
Luv that smile of your boy! So sweet &amp; heart warming to see it in the Sun morn forum. Wow, your boy is 7.4kg! My gal is only 6.3kg at 3 mths old. Izzit boys tend to be heavier than gals?

Vone,
good to hear your boy has poo!! Mine did too on Sat and today again. Phew!

Cat_tail
My boy is 3 mth old, 7kg liao. His neck is still not strong enough. PD said he's a bit slow but no need to worry cos all babies are different. Whenever I put him on tummy time, he always end up licking the mattress....

cmy
your baby is so cute....he can lift his head v well hoh. Still waiting for mine to do the same so that I can let him sit in his bumbo...

Hi Cat_tail, lib,
Can i check, how heavy is your baby girl and how tall? i see CMY and Tingting's baby like very big leh, my girl only 6kg and 60cm when we weighed her at 11weeks old.dunno whether girls are lighter or my girl not growing fast enough? Now she's 3mth few days old..

Hi CMY,
my girl can change her head direction when on her tummy, but she just won't stop crying/wailing leh...dunno when she will like to be on her tummy..sigh how to learn to crawl if she is lying on her back?

Hi ixwong,
heh me also waiting for baby to support her neck/head well so that she can sit in her bumbo, and waiting for her to learn how to flip then can use her bumper platmat

shall we start a growth chart kind of thingy, so we can track our babies growth in terms of weight/height every month or so? at least can tell if baby is among the norm or not heh..how to create a table in here har?

re: water training
initially baby resisted coz it's WATER &amp; not MILK. Subsequently, he drinks quite a lot of water, so i was quite pleased. However, it didn't stop him fr waking in the night. In fact, he woke more often (from 3 hourly on BM to 2 hourly or every hour on water). After abt 2-3 wks of water treatment, we're giving up &amp; i latched him on last nite. But he still doesn't sleep as long as last time...

i'm a mummy
i dunno how much he drinks coz direct latch. 8pm after bath, he drink until "song" then sleep . 3 hours later 11pm he'll drink again. Then 2am, 4am, 5am, 6am. 7am he'll be up ready to play. I tried water treatment 2am-6am feeds. No pacifier, no sarong.. means no sleep for mommy too. Hee!

cmy
are you and/or your husband tall people? coz your boy seems quite long!

eileenp
you gave birth later than most of us.. your supply will take time to build up. Continue eating fish &amp; get enuf rest!

ladies, tks 4 ur concern. boy, am i glad 2 c my boy poo!! hehe...

btw, i got a car seat, rocker &amp; a playgym tt i wan 2 give away. pls pm me if u r interested.
d pics r as follows:

337058.jpg
337059.jpg
337060.jpg
337061.jpg
337062.jpg
337063.jpg

Wow ixwong,
7kg for your boy! This few days I try to change all my teats to bigger size &amp; my gal can finally drink more like 150ml! Phew~ seems like a lot of trial &amp; errors.

Hi mummytobe,
My gal is 3 mths 5 days old &amp; her "vital stats" are 6.3kg, 63cm. I think gals tend to be more on lighter weight, so dun worry. As for the chart, u need to input data in the excel &amp; put some commands in. U want me to forward the last chart we have for the birth &amp; then u can try to figure out. It's very easy.

Hi wendyg,
U mean your boy wakes up every hour in the nite? Tat's very siong!! If u dun mind, want to try FM for his last feed?

Heehee vone,
Sometimes I also scare when my gal dun poo for 1 day.
Wow, u lelong lelong ah? How come u dun need them?

cat_tail, ya lor, can undestd how u feel. so u can imagine how i feel when my boy dun poo 4 so many days.

oh, d above r actually hand me downs given 2 us by hb's frens. but i got 2 much liao. was clearing out my storerm these 2 days (in preparation 4 my fil's stay) &amp; realised tt we got 3 car seats, 2 rockers, 2 playgyms, etc, etc. so need 2 clear them. since they r given 2 us, so i thot of passing them on 2 some other mummies who needs it.

cat tail
hmmm... i guess i do mind =PP Even the FM tin states that BM is the BEST. I think i'll try other mthds. In the meantime... *panda eyes for mommy 8)*
At 3 months, my boy was 6.4kg! I find him *heavy* ley... out of breath when i carry him for long.

vone,
the items look to be still v good condition.. the mommy who rcvs them will be v blessed indeed.

HI mummies,

Heh tried letting my girl sit in her bumbo just now..still a bit wobbly..think maybe in 1-2 weeks time she should be able to sit properly in it liao hehe

337219.gif

wendyg,
so u up every other hour to feed your boy? how long has this been happening? my boy was once like this, now he sleeps thru e nite more frequently.

re: bottle feeding EBM
need some advise here. am preparing for this cos will be back for work some days in Dec. tried a few times (once a day), sometimes he drinks, sometimes dun, usually my hb will feed him n always about 60ml. i tried feeding him too, same outcome. i know that's very little for his age, but after that he'll cry to be latch on. wat can i do to ensure he drinks more from e bottle. cos worry my hb cannot handle when i go work.

Vone, I'm interested in your car seat, isit for 6mths n above? am actually looking around for a 2nd hand cos on quite tight budget now. Let me know if its available. Thanks.

wendy, if really cannot tahan can try pacifier? these 2 days Zephan seems to be stretching his feeding time.. daytime can be 4-hrly, and night 6 hrly. sometimes he wakes up but just wants suckling comfort. So i gave him the pacifier n he can sleep for another hour.

i've just ordered my bumbo too! coming this friday..

cookies
i can't remember ley.. about 1-2 months liaoz..
my boy also takes quite little from bottle. Is your bm flow fast during letdown? Can your baby cope? Try changing size of teat - faster flow.

ting2
hmmm.. so far we're trying other mthds - haven't resort to pacifier yet. What size Avent teat are u using for Zephan?

Cat_tail
ya, it's really trial n error. I bought a larger teat for my boy but the flow was too fast. End up I had to punch another hole in the smaller teat for my boy so that he can drink faster, but not choking...

U stop bf liao right? How did u go about ceasing huh? I'm thinking of stopping now that my boy is 3 mths and I'm back to work. V tiring and milk ss only meeting 50% of his dd...

i do believe that boy tend to be more bigger/heavier.

tingting,i haven't shave my boy's hair... going to shave him when he is 4 mth old. He drops lots of hair too. Can't wait to see him botak..
Hopefully, by the time CNY he will looks better ..

wendyg, my husband is 178cm and me only 165cm ...i think that is normal height.

hi ixwong,
i also brought a bigger teat for Denise but she choke on it! How to punch another hold in the teat? I end up using scissor to cut a cross over the original teat

wendyg, tks 4 ur compliments.

i'm a mummy, ur gal looks veri cute sitting in d bumbo seat. wah... her neck looks veri strong hor.

cookies, mayb u can try feeding him more frequently or wait til he's really hungry. it sounds kinda of hard-hearted, but no choice. yup, d car seat is 4 6 mths &amp; above &amp; it's still available. if u wan, u can drop by my plc 2 view it. let me noe.