(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

How to do the massage? I want to learn.

I think I have some leak when I am asleep, but dun noe izzit the colustrum. Those tiny round patches look like some kind of dry gel sticking on my Ts. No color one.

hey.
Me too leh. I sometimes have something hard hard like crystals stuck on the nipple. Then can peel out one. Is that it?

Triniti and mummytobe,
Do share how to massage. I also want to learn.

Cat_tail,
Also want to enjoy my time with hubby, but with tummy so big and unwieldy, it's getting v difficult to enjoy life....

hi ladies..
so many MTB delivered liao one by one.. Congrats to all new mummies! Wonder how long I've to wait... don't have any symtom yet. Btw saw on the pizza hut leftlet that bb born during National Day got free 40 pizzas!
Hoshi, you can treat us to pizza liao hehe..

ixwong, i'm also tempting to take ML soon but scare will 'balloon' somemore if I stay at home and nothing to do.. But also becos my trip to/fro coy is managable so still can cont to work.

ilmare, I don't have GDM. Just that my height is short hence can only have natural birth if Bb is small. I tried to eat little but the thot of bb may also feel hungary make me xin1 tong4 leh..

hi cakey, i tink if we r delivering, then we can b exempted. however, if doing confinement, tink we still hv 2 vote.

Wow haven't log in for 2 days & 2 mummies has pop!

cmy & taurbear,
Congratulations!
cmy, Little Ethan muz be very chubby...

taurbear, Little Tobias has a unique name!

pinkrose,
Yes.. I'm going for natural birth.. in fact prepared to take epidural, but gynae says
my cervix is soft & dun seems tense during cervix chk.. so he say i could go without epi.
hey, today ur EDD... how's evrything?

miso,
So envy u.. at least u ahve 1 cm dilation already!.. so baby will pop within next few day?

tingting,
Thanks for ur birth story.
I could imagine the joy to see babies' facial expression.

Meanwhile, take care! Heard cabbage helps in engorgement.

mummytobe,
me too in 38 wks, i found yellowish-like particles on my nip..
I always scratch it off.. dunno whether its solidified colotrum or not...

Visited my gynae on Saturday (38th wk).. he said my boy at least ~3.3kg now!
but he din say wan to induce leh... guess he's pro-natural birth..

I went shopping at Taka toy fair on sat, Robinsons & OG on Sun! Hopefully,
the walking can speed up contraction...
then last night, i had tummy ache & my left hip cramps until left feet very 'suan',
thought its contraction... though no bleeding/water burst... took AL today..
sigh, its actually diarrhoea. now no more pain.. a bit dissapointed.

(coz i had BBQ stingray/sotong last night.. hee hee.. naughty me)

hi ixwong,
thanks for e info. no wonder, how i dig, also cannot find a bigger size...
as for PD, i also heard of tmc, 5th level. btw, u probably give birth earlier than me, maybe u can feedback about them after yr delivery, thanks.

any1 happen to know where to get bigger size nursing bras at such reasonable price??

cmy, taurbear, congrats on the arrival of yr babies.. its getting more n more exciting for all here... soon our time will arrive too.

regarding e milk leaking, how's e feeling like? does that mean that if u do not leak pre-delivery, u'll hv problem breast feeding after birth???

applejuz ...

hows the robinson sale? me thinking of going down after work today to take a look ...

think the next few mum to pop is hoshi and pinkroses right?

wow.. looking at the list.. so exciting.. so b4 me are pinkroses and everafter.

today feeling my hips 'sng sng'.. and feels wet down there too.. dunno if it's a sign. Gynae says if feel pain, got show or water bag burst, must admit immediately. Ask him how's the pain like? He says the other time u go w/o epidural right? I say.. yea.. aiyo.. remember the pain for wat?? hahahaaaa...

Hi eileenp,
Thanks! That's a good motivation

Hi Seabreeze,
Robinson sale quite ok lah.. 20% + 5% rebate (card members)...
I juz went down to see if i missed out any items or not.. ended up din buy any.:p
But I think the Mothercare at centre point is worth visiting..
toys at 20%, & other stuff ~30%. Hee.. me bought a development toy for bb..

Hi miso...
and b4 me are u, prinkroses & everafter... so excited!
My gynae told me contraction, will feel pain on whole stomach.
Btw, u r not first-time mummy? Share ur experience leh...

hi Skippy,
i just gave the lady a call to order, she has some other designs like disney characters, u can check with her
She will email you the picts to chose, but really nothing much. I chose 2 design, one is teddy bear and another one is baby bugs bunny for my little girl....

hi ladies!
its so exciting!!!! All the best to those who are going to pop soon!!!! Huggies...

Me has been quite busy lately with work, so seldom drop in, hope everyone is doing well
I am also counting down to my EDD!!! Another 3 weeks to go!

Miso,
i think the sign of labour can varies from one to another, some people just waterbag burst, some feel contractions and tummyache first.....and some will have brownish discharge, so watch out for the sign
I am really happy for you!!! seems like you are ready to pop anytime!Remember to sms or update us ok??

i have a question not related to pregnancy. Was wondering if you gals order tea or kopi from coffee shop before? i know there is Teh-O and Teh-Si, but is there such thing as Teh-Ni? If yes, what kind of tea is it? i heard someone order in the coffeeshop that day, and i was thinking what kind of drink is that? sound so obscene! but my hubby say i heard wrongly, no such thing. but i 90% sure i heard him say Teh-Ni leh!

Hi all who is interested in the messaging techniques,
I hope I can explain clearly here as to how to massage according to my gynae.
-First, start with one breasts using your four fingers (excluding your thumb)and massage towards your nipple. Continue for about 45secs.
-Secondly,squeeze your aerola with both your index finger and thumb of your both hands towards your nipple as hard as you can.
-Lastly, pull as hard as you can and squeeze your nipples upwards as you finish your last squeeze of your aerola. Repeat the procedure with the other breast.

P.S: It is quite painful as you squeeze your aerola. If you do find colustrum flowing out, do use some warm water with cotton wool to wipe it off.

Doing this massage will prevent the milk ducts from being blocked, therefore will have less problems if you want to start breastfeeding right away. As I am in my 36 weeks as from today, the gynae told me that I could breastfeed the very first day once the baby is born

Hi mummytobe,
Maybe you should start massaging your breasts daily and try to squeeze your nipples as hard as you can? You should be able to see little white dots on your aerola by now. I think that is where my colustrum flowed out from. I will try massaging tommorow since Wk Tan has massaged for me today

triniti, so its actually okay to lose colostrum? Always thought it is the "first flow" of breast milk, supposedly best for baby when we begin breastfeeding, so didnt dare to squeeze it out yet...

Let me just add on to what triniti has explained on the breast massage. Basically, you use your hand to 'push' from the outer edge of your breast, towards your aerola. perhaps this link might give you a better idea

http://www.midwivesonline.com/breastfeeding_guidelines_0601.htm

Hi triniti,
Ya i started massage for the past few days liao, still no sign. but my friend's gynae says that different women react differently. some don't product colustrum until after baby is born. Keeping my fingers crossed heh

hi mummytobe,
hee hee.. i think teh-ni is tea with milk. i heard pple order too... :p

Hi trinit,
Wow, thanks for the massaging procedure.
but the white dot will appear from aerola? Aiyo.. my aerola area like 'extinct volcano'.. hmm.. think a lot of work to be done. :p

Hi Christina,
Well, apparently by doing the massage will prevent your milk ducts being blocked. Anyway, only a bit of the colustrum will flow out so just wipe it off with some cotton wool with warm water. I don't think it will leak like breastmilk.

Hi Applejuz
Hmm actually there should be white dots by now to prepare for breastfeeding. But like what mummytobe said, different women have different nipples so no worries. As long you have a good lactaction consultant to teach you how to latch your baby on your breasts for breastfeeding, the supply will take time to built up but you have to have lots of patience if it is not as smooth sailing as you want it to be. We are not cows with full udders

Hi Mummytobe
Yap, but I do know by massaging your breasts, it helps to prevent engorgement and blocking of the milk ducts so no harm following the massaging techniques faitfully
You are right, some women only produce colustrum after bith but who knows if you stimulate your milk ducts regulary from now, it might come out even before the birth of your child

Hi triniti,
I did exactly what u say & I can see a little liquid on my nipple so I stop immediately.

Got a silly question. I see my liquid coming out not exactly at the center of nipple. Can it be anywhere of the position of te nipple?

if u planning to buy pigeon wet wipes(30x82) or breast pad, NTUC has good bargain. 20% off. wet wipes selling $9.90 n pad $8.90 b4 discount. think both are already at discounted price if u buy at other dept stores,but NTUC will give u another 20%. till tml only.

Went to the kiddy palace at Compass Point and spotted the Avent Milk Disposible Bags that comes in 100s. Is that the one that you all are looking for? It's selling at $17+ if i remember correctly.
It says if you are freezing, must use double bag leh. Is that true?

Hi cat_tail,
When the gynae squeezed my nipples, it did not exactly come out of the centre of my nipple too, infact it came out of those white dots on the aerola. Yap, those are your colustrum. As long you massaged your breasts for 45 secs to one minute and squeeze your nipples as instructed once a day, you should have no problem breastfeeding the first day after your baby is born

triniti,
During which week of your pregnancy did the white spots appear from your aerola? I'm now at 33 weeks. But I still don't see any white dots there.

Morning Ladies..
Yawn.. post-holiday blues..
yawn.gif

So sian.. me still working despite my EDD next Thurs... sigh...

Hi cookies,
Oh.. NTUC got 20% disc! Thanks for info.
Btw, I've already bought 2 boxes of Pigeon Disp Breast Pad...
do u think I shld get somemore to store since there's discount?

Hi eileenp,
I also bought 1 packet of the 100pcs Avent Disposable Milk Liners..
coz its cheaper than others like Madela etc, even if its to use 2pc per freeze.
But I didn't get the travel bottle.. only bought the clips for the bags..
Hope it won't leak... my hb's colleague is using it & finds it ok.

Hi chemistry,
Juliette is sooo cute & lovely features!
Hey.. got pix with eyes open?

Hi Chemistry,

Juliette is so sweet! do post more photos hee hee
Btw, did you experience colustrum leaking before giving birth, or only after juliette was born?

Vone/Snoopy
Thanks for your advice. I think I will proceed as plan and go on leave from next Monday onwards, 5 days before my EDD. Hopefully my gynae has good news for me on when bb is 'popping' when I see him this Saturday. But if still no sign, thinking whether I shd go for inducement...

Mummytobe/Triniti
I also tried the breast massage but nothing leh...except damn pain. Now a bit worried about whether can BF or not...

hi triniti, thanks a lot on the breast massage instructions. Guess having a female gynae has its advantages, i would have freaked out if my male gynae taught me that!

Good morn all MTBs.

Hi triniti,
I also can't see any white dot on my nipple. Anyway, as long as got some leak, think I should be ok for bf.

Hi chemistry,
Your gal is so sweet! She really sleep very soundly like a sleeping beauty.

Hi christina,
My gynae is a male. Very pai sek to ask him abt breastfeeding too..heehee..

Hi Christina,
Parentcraft called n said tonight's class is full so i have be told to attend tomorrow's n next thursday's. gonna miss you ladies in class. SIAN!!!all prepared to go tonight.

will the massaging of breast cause contraction? The best time to start is at week 36?

aidanee, oh no! cuz snoopy, angel and myself r gonna be there tonight. never mind, we can meet up after we popped. so far the mtb gatherings have been quite successful.

cat_tail, heheh, luckily we we have this forum to exchange such initimate and girlie talk. male gynae has limitations..

gd mornin gals,

chemistry,
ur princess looks so adorable! i wonder when can i see my bb soon....

aidanee,
u mean we can start breast massage now? dunno whether it ll cause early labor or not... btw, how's ur boy? when r u going to start ur ML? im in dilemma...my hubby wants me to start my ML in 22 aug...which i think is too early for me...sigh... he keep sayin tt is not too early since the gynae said will be 1-2 wkz early from the edd...

ixwong, stepping nearer and nearer to your edd liao. jia you jia you. We're looking forward to your good news next week!

Chemistry, your baby is big, i love how comfortable she looks in your arms

Hi Christina,
we might see each other during delivery then. hahaha...

Skippy,
not sure if massaging now will cause early labour or not. will check with Mrs Wong next week.

I will see my gynae again next week. if all is well, i may delay my ML....feel bored alone at home.....the only thing i can think off is to DIY flash cards for my ah boy.....

aidanee,
agree wit u. was on AL on monday. really so bored being alone at hm... told my hubby tt see how the situation goes, then decide on ML. u mean u r still attendin ur antenatal class now? u started on 2 wkly visit now?

lib,
how's thing with u n ur nb? u told me tt u hav back to ur prenatal weight? wow! tat's fast! is tt the miracle of BF!? hopefully i can do it...keep me posted on ur status.

hello gals
din login for quite sometime. so sian...

taurbear! congrats!! u have the same EDD as me and you have popped! =))

lib, wow, u back to yr prenatal weight? gosh, that's so good. I think i will take months before i can fit into my old clothes.

anyway gals, just to share, my rashes are still as terrible and as red and as itchy and my last visit to my gynae saw my notti gal's hand still besides her head, like sleeping. My gynae said this very difficult to have natural delivery. he gave me 2 options:

- if i can tahan the rash, wait for her hand to come down but no guarentee that she will kwai kwai and be in position.
- if cannot tahan rash and by then baby's hand still there, he will have to do c section on me.
if i wanna go ahead with c section, i can do it anytime this week, cos baby full term liao and gynae said can be deliver anytime.

he give me sometime to consider, he wants me to decide for myself. At this point in time, frankly i am very impatient and upset liao, at my rashes and at my gal, i just really want my gal to be in my arms...and hopefully my rashes will subside after labour but my hubby prefer to wait!! arghhh......

oh ya my EDD is 23 - 25 august

erowen, i was just thinking about u today! Was wondering if u've given birth cuz u went quiet for a while. I'm sorry to hear about the rashes. i chanced upon this website yesterday (while sourcing out information on heat rashes) and found out that many mtbs develop sudden bad rashes in the final weeks of the last trimester. As for me, i'm suffering from prickly heat rashes on my back. Its reacting very badly to this hot and humid weather...after bath i've to apply stretch mark oil on my tummy and talcum powder on my back, so strange...

guess u r currently torn btwn c-section or natural delivery...a lot of pros and cons for either decision. anyway hope all goes well for u. do keep us dated on your progress k.

Hi everafter, Miso, Applejuz, tulip, ixwong,

i guess we are next on the list...how are you feeling now? baby less movement or same same? did you gynae say or indicate when you will 'pop'? will be earlier than edd? when i saw my gyane last week, she was quite certain that mine will be around edd, the most maybe one or two days earlier only leh see what she say this friday when i see her again..

Hi SKippy,
i missed 2 classes, so will be the make up classes these 2 weeks. Yap, after next week will be weekly visit to the gynae ....

Hi Erowen,
Sorry to hear about the rash. Do make yourself as comfortable as possible. To have a viable natural birth, guess you have to monitor bb's hand...when are you going back to see your gynae again?

Hi erowen,
Ya, can understand the urge to hold ur gal in ur arms...
discuss with ur hubby & try to compromise on either options, c-sect oso not bad, can choose a nice date & plan everything before-hand. Not like us, wait for dunno wat... :p wanted to plan some activities oso gotta keep our fingers crossed... sigh...

Hi mummytobe,
Feeling very 'sian' now, suppose to be my last wk of work.. will start leave next mon. (EDD next thurs)
Baby movement is lesser too, dunno becoz less space or engaged (??). Gynae din say when he'll pop, think i'll question him this sat... :p

ladies ...

for the breast massage ... mrs wong did say that start from 37 weeks onwards as it will induce contraction ... so anytime earlier is 'dangerous' ...

aidanee ...

me contacted noor but she didn't tell me how much she charging for the massage ler ... you got any idea what is the price range? my fren int oso ...

Hi Seabreeze,
i think she charges S$45 for 2 hrs each time? Actually, i am also not too sure cos i just let her know i am due in SEp and ask her to standby for me. forgot to reconfirm the price!!!

aidanee ...

ours abt the same time ler heehee ...

she oso just said that she standby for me ... sms her when i give birth thats all ... when i ask her how much she charging she neber reply ler ...

Seabreeze, where do you stay? dun know if she can cope or not....but she quite good (rich) lah...take taxi one...hehehe...