(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Well, i should say, it's not a must-buy item. My playpen comes with a bassinet and a changing area but I also did not use tt cos when reon was a bit older and would turn arnd, I find it dangerous to put him on that to change. Feels so much safer to put on the bed lor.. just my 2 cents opinion.

hi raisintan, chk wif ur gynae. he/she wld b d best pax 2 tell u whether ur weight gain is okie or not. as 4 d loud noises, so far i tink d 1 getting startled is d mummy not d bb.

chris, seems like ur mil got 'prob' hor. but dun bothered okie. jus tuned her out. tink mine is similar 2 urs. since my FIL left her, she became quite a bitter person. even her own daughter mentioned tat. i've kinda of learnt 2 tune her out. if not, tink i wld go crazy. if u need some1 2 talk 2, can come in & post ur frustrations or call me okie.

miso, so fast u planning ur temp oledi. okie, i keep a lookout 4 u okie.

hi vone

I feel that if you can avoid staying with in-laws, try to do so as much as possible. Once you let your FIL into your house, there is no way you can ask him to leave if there are any conflict.

I also regretted that I agreed to stay with my in-laws. Should hv insisted on buying a tiny 4 room flat in Punggol or Sengkang. Now my friends are all saying, "I told you so".

hi Lib,
yeah lor, keep telling myself not to cry too much, wait bb will be affected and cry often....
Its really so sweet to spend sometimes with your hubby
after the bb comes, private hours might be lesser.

hi Chris,
your MIL really very "different" and abit drama...but lucky your FIL is good good...heheeheh....don't worry too much ok, i certainly hope i won't fall into depression too after birth, especially when my MIL comes into the picture...i decided not to inform her until my girl is born and everything is settle down in the hospital, else i cannot imagine! She has a very different set of thinking and speaks her own set of language, not even aware that people might feel offend or uneasy...Sometimes my hubby will just say "don't be too bother, she is not educated like us", but somehow it becomes a barrier in between us. My own mum is not super educated too, but she doesn't think or say like what my MIL does. Perhaps is just different family value that causes the problem.

Talking about durians, i think try not to keep it in fridge for too long, it will turn watery right? i think mine will finish by tonite while watching Dvd

Oky, better stop talking about MIL, weekends!!!! I am looking forward to durians!!

Hi chris and vone,

Thanks, will continue to monitor my weight and call gynae if need be. Appetite has actually lessened but not drastic leh, so was really puzzled why not much weight gain.

As for loud noises, I guess I shouldnt get too paranoid if I cant really feel baby startle right? As the date is drawing near, I get more worried...

angel, i noe. but seeing his situation, if we dun ask him 2 stay wif us, dun tink he wld hv a plc 2 stay. tink sooner or later, d woman is going 2 drive him out of d hse. yrs of 'marriage' gone jus like tat.

reenie, njoy ur durians.

raisintan, my appetite has kinda of lessen 2. but as long as bb is growing, i m okie wif it. dun b 2 paranoid, jus njoy ur pregnancy okie.

hiya, went for an early checkup yesterday...cos had a minor "show"... had a bit of brownish discharge, so was concerned... but no dilation, so prob not due anytime soon...
bb is now 2.1kg...

also finally know what checking cervis n vaginal swab feels like. for the first, it's similar to a vaginal scan, just that gynae's fingers are inserted this time, n it's slightly uncomfortable.. for vaginal swab, they actually have an apparatus to open the vagina up first, which is the uncomfortable part... glad that won't have to do this many times...

Just went to the gynae today. He said my baby is too small at 32 weeks
He ordered me to have more rest and to eat properly else there may be probs. Really dunno how I am supposed to cope, what with my workload and all.

Care to share how heavy your baby is at 32 weeks?

ting, u take care k. hv more rest.

anissa, mine was abt 1.7kg at 31 wks. my gynae didn't say anything abt d weight, so i presumed tat it's okie. y dun u try 2 take things easy? sometimes u got 2 tink abt ur bb instead of ur wkload. 2 put it bluntly, can u b sure tat u wld b wking in ur current co 4 d rest of ur life?? but ur bb is going 2 b wif u 4 d rest of ur life. so which is more impt?? have more rest, eat more meals & delegate ur wk 2 some1 if u can't cope okie.

hi anissa,

mine at 33 weeks was 1.8kg, and 2.1kg at 35 weeks. in fact, my gynae said she's glad bb's slightly below average for my case cos if too big i may need a c-section. if you're too busy to take proper meals, at least keep crackers and milo packs at hand so that you eat some nutritious snacks at hand. take care...

vone, i was also surprised.. thinking can't be going into labour so early right? havent even bought my stuff for hospital stay!

My baby is only barely 1.5kg at 31.5 weeks (to be exact). All along my gynae kept saying it's ok, later stage baby will put on weight very quickly. I last saw him when my baby was 28 weeks and at that time, the weight was 935g. He still said it was ok. Today then he told me there is a cause for concern. According to him, baby has to be at least 2.2kg at birth time. He may have to put me on bed rest at the rate I am going ...

I am so worried now ... but if it means his brain is not developing properly???

Hi vone, thank you so much.. yes, my boss require a temp to come in 1 week b4 i go off for ML and 1 wk later after I am bk from ML.

As for the issue of staying with in laws, I kinda agree with angel. Like what they say, 'xiang chu rong yi, tong zhu nan'. My sil and her family and another bil just recently moved out from our place, I can totally understand what it is like when u hv other ppl staying over your hse.

Today went to see my gynae for check-up. I am now 34 wks 2 days and bb weighs 2.2 kg. Gynae says just nice. And her head is still in the down position. I asked the gynae.. "won't the bb feels giddy with this position all these while? hahaha" Also did a ctg today and everything seems fine. Cost me $70 today for ctg and consultation. No med given today.. those I had from last appt still can last me till the appt 2 weeks ltr.

Hi Anissa, my bb only weighed 1.5 kg 3 weeks ago.. ie. at 31 weeks. So I think you shouldn't feel overly concerned.. hm, I dunno y ur gynae would say tt though..

Hi Anissa,

Not to worry..when i'm in 29weeks my bb only 1.1kg. At 32 weeks my bb suddenly boom up to 2.2kg, 34 weeks 2.5kg and now 36 weeks bb is 2.7kg. Doctor said the bb growth start to slow down..dun know why....

Maybe you want to try to take beef ...it'll help to grow your bb bigger and faster.

hi anissa, heard that durians also help... but dun take too much at one go.. still got to moderate so that ur bb doesn't boom in weight all of a sudden... but i think ur bb still has time to develop... don't worry too much... bb weight and brain development usually has no co-relation

Hi Ting ting,

The apparatus is is metal one? think that's the 'clamps' i was talking about heh..gross hor...

Thanks for the assurance. I certainly feel much better now. Will be visiting my gynae in another 2 weeks' time. In the meantime, I will drink milk every morning and eat lots of chocolates, durian and red meat. Hahaha ...

hi anissa, dun take too much durians. must be moderate.
i took too much until my surgar level quite high. my gynae told me to stop taking durians.

hey ladies, beside trembling,back aches & vomitting, what other things you ladies hear from others abt epidural?

hi anissa,
i went for a checkup at 32weeks, my baby is weighing 1.6kg. My gynae says average weight but others says abit too small, i have been eating durians for 3 days, since friday =P But don't do it too often and try to eat in moderation

I guess your workload is pretty heavy, try to relax after work, hv a balance meal, snack in between, i did that quite often
Actually 1.5 at week 31.5 is quite ok to me.....i believe my girl is close to your baby weight as well..

Snoopy73!
Its you! Glad to see your posting, hope everything is well with you and sarah, send my warmest regards to her! Btw, has your baby been putting on weight? Heard from Sarah that baby is not gaining alot.

hi mummytobe, the one my gynae used is a plastic one leh.. looks a bit like a wedge... dunno how she uses it also... good thing i was forewarned in this thread, else will also experience shock at seeing such stuff...hehe..

yesterday had another durian feast... wanted to continue eating, but scared bb weight booming... so kept some in the fridge to eat over the week... hehe..

ting, u better finished buying all d stuff required. me aso starting 2 make sure tat i completed my shopping soon as i've got a feeling tat mine wld b early.

anissa, no lah, it's jus tat it's a little bit on d small side. it doesn't mean tat his brain is not developing properly. u hv more rest & eat more, then it shld b okie. dun worry so much.

miso, tks 4 ur concern, but noeing my FIL's situation, hb can't possibly do nothing. so i tink i got no choice. spoke 2 hb during d wkend. he's still tinking abt it. however, he assured me tat it wld b after i had give birth as we need 2 prepare d rm 4 him. a lot of wk needs 2 b done, thus we r kinda of hesitating.

good morning.

christina, dun let your MIL affect you too much ya, i remembered last time you post abt yr MIL. But good that at least yr FIL is not bad. And of course most importantly your hubby treats you well. =))

miso, how are you?
Btw with regards to the CTG scan, is it all gynae will have this machine? Do we request for the scan or our gynae will do it for us nearer the EDD?

Anissa, actually baby small is still okie, better than too big. Mine is 2kg at 32weeks and i personally find it too big. If you are really concerned, you can seek a second opinion or visit yr gynae again. Most importantly is that yr baby must be increasing in weight at every visit. Cos we are still in early last tri, baby should still be growing bits by bits.

reenie, how was yr weekend? Me today super no mood to work. sian.

vone, dun think too much ya, now concentrate on yr coming bb. take gd care

hi vone, i'm left with nursing bras n slippers for hospital stay.. then got to select a set of clothes to go home in.. had actually wanted to pack my bag last weekend, but we got the aircon servicing n cleaning service over the weekend n forgot abt it... :p

hi ladies, looks like most of us feasted on durians over the weekend. me too!!! i think its the actual season now, so durians taste especially yummy.

tingting, i went john little (causeway pt) to check out nursing bras again. the 2.70 deals no more, but i found some 9.90 deals for Eternity brand, quality seems not bad. u might want to check it out

ting, tat's not 2 bad. can do it 1 of d wkdays when u r free.
me still got some bb stuff 2 buy. jus heard fr hb yesterday tat his colleague played us out. he's supposed 2 give us his bb cot, but he changed his mind at d last min. so now we need 2 buy 1. sian...

vone, oh dear, u'll have to start looking for a cot pretty soon! especially before GSS ends. most department stalls stopped giving discounts liao, eg pigeon avent...i still have some small items to buy, been collecting bits and pieces over the weekend. sometimes i get pretty good deals, recently at the actual retail price =(

hi tingting and christina!!
speaking of nursing bra, i went down to seiyu at J8 to looking for it, it cost 7.90! so cheap, i bot 2. Now i regret buying those 39.90 ones from perfect mum, i feel a bit rip off leh. Why such a huge price difference har?

Btw how many nursing bra do we need?

vone, it's okie lah, buy a new one for your bb. Mine is 279bucks from kiddy palace, dun wanna spend so much. It came on sat and my hb and i pretty excited at the sight of the baby cot!!

chris, ya lor. i actually had a feeling tat he wld played us out. but since he didn't say anything, so we presumed tat he wld really give it 2 us. i wish tat he wld tell us earlier tat he's not giving us or dun promised tat he wld give us. now we r in a fix. feel like strangling him when i heard tat.

vone, can understand how u feel, esp when its so last minute. hope u find an ideal cot soon, dun forget extra bedding sets.

erowen, i kenna ripped off for buying triumph maternity bras too. i think being a first time mother i was a bit goon, didnt mind paying extra...till i found unbelievable discounted bras at JL!!! i've got 5 so far, dun think i'm getting anymore liao...since i'm oso using dispoable nursing pads.

Hi erowen, my gynae suggested putting me on ctg to see bb's movements, contractions and heartbeat cos I complained to him abt very frequent BH. haha.. but nearer to ur EDD, usually ur gynae will put you on that machine.

hi erowen,
weekends was great!!! how i wish its always "sunday"...hahahaha..went MIM with Lib to shop shop, managed to get my nursing bra from there
actually i got one piece from Triump but comparing the price, MIM is cheaper and nicer in design. Now i have a total of 3 pieces to start off.

hi vone,
don't be too upset..better go shop for one now
i got mine from kiddy palace, those that can convert to toddler bed, $299.

hi chris,
me too, eat durians like crazy over the weekends...haahahah..finally finished off yesterday afternoon.

vone, i just remembered, when u buy the cot, make sure they throw in free mattress and bedding set (should include bumper). mothercare doesnt...a lot of hidden costs. i bought mine from robinsons few weeks ago in the end. it din come with bedding set, last weekend when i went back, they were offering bedding set for the same cot. i made noise and got them to include it f.o.c. it'll save u a lot of money

hi christina/erowen, do the bras have lace? i can't quite stand lace, so am looking for plain ones...

erowen, pricing mostly due to brand names lor... and also the materials may be more comfortable n doesn't go out of shape as easily? like for our normal bras... prices differ a lot depending on whether it's a felancy or triumph... but i do prefer triumph cos it's more comfy n better fit for me...

i'm intending to get about 5... to give some breathing space for washing..

vone, quite bad of ur fren... but u still have time.. remember the chinatown shop tht one of the gals mentioned at upper cross street? they also sell bb cots, but u only view from catalogues. they provide delivery, and the models are also similar to those found in other shops. i bought mine from kiddy palace at $169 excl mattress (add'l $35), and found the same model at the chinatown shop selling same price also. Mine's non convertible to toddler bed though.

chris, tks.
keeping my fingers crossed now. yes, it's better if u clean it b4 bb uses it. more hygenic.

mmm... seems like u ladies got pretty gd bargains 4 ur nursing bras. i need 2 go shopping oledi.

tingting, the one i saw in JL, eternity brand, is made of cotton, no lace. it's very soft, the material feels durable and good too. in fact quite similar to the triumph bra i brought earlier, so its a really good deal at 9.90

vone, i c..thanks. i'm very lazy despite being a sahm. havent even cut off the price tags from my bb's clothes (very proud of my GSS collection), let alone washing bb clothes. heheheh. i deliberately asked the shops to deliver my cot, pram, car seat etc in aug, just few weeks before i give birth to buy time...

chris, can understand ur situation.
tink u can start washing ur gal's clothes oledi. then when d rest of d stuff comes, u can take ur time 2 wipe them. MIM stands 4 moms in mind, it's a plc tat sells bb stuff. u can chk out their website at www.momsinmind.com.sg.

seabreeze, i dun know the brand leh, but kekek, nevermind i wearing now, i go washroom and check the brand. =PP

ting ting and christina, my 2 first nursing bra was from perfect mum, they told me that nursing bra all abt same price one, so i also gong gong buy lor. 39.90 x 2 leh!!! =(
tingting, maybe the material is different lor, but now i feel very comfortable wearing the 7.90 one. I think i will buy 2 more lor.
nope, mine has no lace.

christina, ya they are very soft and no wire, i feel very comfy wearing them. kekeke
wah christina, you quite fierce leh, make noise for the bedding. =)) Kan Bu Chu Lai. You look very gentle. =))

yes vone when you buy the cot, usually it will come with a full set of bedding with bumper.
For mine at kiddy palace, it was like this, but i top up to buy the latex mattress cos it can last longer and it's washable.

reenie and vone, thanks. i'm very bad with abbreviations heheh. havent tried shopping with MIM yet. im glad that i only have a few months to go before i can say bye bye to my very worn maternity wear!! husband has been complaining why i kept wearing the same dresses every weekend. expensive mah...i havent bought any new maternity clothes for the past few months liao....very proud of myself to tahan this long