(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

christina: my hubby bought the elle sport bag @ S$81 wif 10% disc.. no point buying a branded bag lar.. and quite like tat, no big tho.. but got a few compartments.. Cos i told him bfg bb no nid to carry so many things out..

Reenie: i noe which nite wear u refer to. actualli i saw those silky types from chinatown but didnt want to buy that.. and moreover those in pants style now suitable for me leh.. so i bought the dress type.. I've oredi packed my hospital bag since last week sound ks rite? no choice my hb dun like me to do things last min..

As for lunch today, i cook ketchup prawn, dark soya pork & fried spinach wif white porridge..

yar tingting, me too lor.. those kind of pull feeling wif a little cramp.. tink is lightening..

lib ..

wow you can cook man ... me can only cook rice and those 1 dish type of meal like fried rice, pasta etc ...

me bought this organiser bag that musicgal recommended ... the link is here ...

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/diaperbags.html

looks good ... its A4 size ... so can easily fit into most bags ... selling $19.90 at centerpoint robinson

seabreeze, i love to cook.. but can oni cook normal oriental meals loh.. special meals sometimes got to seek for professional advise.. hehe.. now more lazy liao.. sometimes will teach my hb how to cook so tat he cooks & i watch tv.. hehe.. "gu ruo ji #1: to tell him tat bb doesn't like hot.. when u stand near the stove, bb kicks u real hard" hehe

Thanks for your concern. i am better now. the bruises are fading off but still feeling abit insecure on and off about the cramps/constipation/pulling.....somehow, alot of funny feelings! Maybe too early to say, but so far, i have not experienced any leg cramps yet. I am not looking forward to it either. Hope can stay this way till delivery.

I am still driving.....maybe i will stop when i hit 32/33weeks. Mentioned to hubby that i do not want to be caught having leg cramp during the drive. can be very dangerous. so he said he would give me allowance to take cab when i stop driving.

i appeared on Simply Her mag on the article about what little thing your loved one does for you....tiny pix taken before preg.

we are most likely going to name our boy CAYDEN. but still looking for something more meaningful.

BTW, are you ladies seeking external help taking care of the bb after maternity leave? i may be asking my mom, but if she is not able to, i may consider an infant care......headache ah...

lib ...

i enjoy cooking and bought alot of cook book thinking that i wan to pick up more dishes after I get married ... but too bad the baby came soon after my wedding ... so the books are sitting on my shelf collecting dust ....

aidanee ...

me haven't drive since preg ... hope that i still dare to drive after i give birth heehee ...

hi seabreeze,
i will take the car when hubby not in town...and he is always not in town. got car, dun use, like abit sayang....somemore i stay so far away!

is your appetite better these days?

hi aidanee, what does Cayden mean?

my mum has agreed to help out when i go back to work, only for daytime n we'll bring bb back at night.. will have to increase the allowance for her cos in that case me n hb will be having dinner there every night..keke... but i've also shopped around for infant care in case she cannot handle.. happened to some of my friends n they were caught in a fix cos it's so last minute..

lib, what's dark soya pork? i also like ketchup prawns...
it's quite tedious to cook for only 1 person right? if i eat alone will most prob be macaroni in seafood n toufu soup... only when eating with hb then will cook different dishes..

hi ting ting,
oh, from what i gather, it means he is a companion, a great fighter and has the spirit of battle. my hubby hopes that he will be a strong leader with lotsa determination...cos it's gonna be a virgo bb.
We thought of ASHER (happy, blessed), Aiden etc....

The good infant care centres are really expensive, but i am concerned about the ratio of caregiver to bbs..... hope my mom agrees, but her health isnt that good also...n i dun trust the maid at my inlaw's place. really in a fix.

tingting i used sesame oil instead of oil, and dark soya sauce as seasoning to stir-fry the pork..

me too lor if i'm alone will juz cook simple meal like noodles/porridge.. oni when hubby is ard then will start to stir-fryl.. hehe

lib, hmm.. i do something similar also... i marinate the pork slices in dark soya sauce plus other condiments, then stir fry with shredded ginger...

aidenee, sound like a good name! for me, i want to spread out the multiple wishes i have for bb, so christian name will have different meaning from chinese name... cover more areas mah... hehe..

is ur mum currently working? u may want to consider engaging part time helper/maid to tackle the housework... cheaper n better than putting bb in infant care. Think the MCYS guideline is a max ratio of 1 caregiver to 4 or 6 babies.

tingting ...

it was $14.80 the last time i saw it ... even cheaper than sheng shiong ... the softener was at $5.50 i think ... but dunno if the discount is still on now ... might have ended ...

seabreeze, i also start to eat more....i think i should be able to put on more weight by the next checkup.
but if eat something not right, i feel nauseous....

tingting, mum is not working but alot of socialising!!! hehehe...yah..maybe will engage parttime helper. but then looking after a bb is quite tiring.... my neighbour puts her bb at Pat's school house. very personalised...n very good program too...BUT so expensive!!!!! so got to do the sums first.

my father in law will give the chinese name...he has 2 in mind, but will only share wiht us after the bb is born. he wants to double check the timing with a shi-fu!

allo reenie

Don't feel so lousy abt yourself. Preggies are more emotional due to hormones so it's not our fault. Recently, I've been 'scolding' my hubby too for not showing enough care, love & concern. Just yesterday had a fight with him over nothing but I think he chin chye and didn't take it to heart. Once bb is born, you may not feel the same way over your MIL visiting anymore. Did you give her a set of keys?

allo girls
I just passed my final theory today!!! yay yay!! Very happy. Finally, I can take my practical test date but I cannot prebook a test date in Oct. If i book a test date now, it would be 16 Sep. I've also cut down my driving lessons since I can only take my test after my confinement. Now left with module 3, parallel parking, reverse parking, slope and emergency brake (it was in module 2 but my instructor said not safe for me and want to do it after I've given birth) I'm enjoying my lessons now... it's so fun to drive but scary at the same time. Most car drivers are very impatient with L plate drivers and will overtake suddenly in front which kindof terrified me. hehe

allo girls

If you don't mind having a stranger stay with you, having a maid is a good idea. My maid arrived abt 2 weeks ago and she is great! My friends said she is good because she is so new and might slack after a while... It is possible and I will monitor very carefully. :eek:) But so far, so good. Her cooking is nice too.

She used to work as a midwife in Philippines and is a very staunt Christian. Think she is more holy moly than my parents in law. Had a short chat with her over lunch last weekend, she spend the whole day in church on her off day (she is a transfer maid) and send most of her money back home for her husband and 9 year old daughter.

I guess it's truly God's grace and blessings that we got a good girl as my domestic helper.

hallo, i'm having bad insomnia. bb anxieties perhaps, cuz i'm flipping ikea catalog and cracking my head on where to put the baby cot, her clothes etc at 12.30 in the morning....

was at robinsons and john little (orchard) earlier, got quite good deal for nursing bras. they were marked down from 29.90 to 9 to 4.50 and finally 2.70 (!!!!) i couldnt believe my eyes oso. there were only few pieces left and i grabbed 3...so you might want to check out the other JL branches.

angel, CONGRATS!!! my sister flunked her final theory 2 weeks ago and she was really upset. heheheh, glad it went smooth for u. *jia you* almost there!!

reenie, i've issues with MIL. and most of my fights with hubby involves her. she's not an easy person to get along with. i've posted some complaints in the forum before..heheh

i get emotional everytime hubby flies out every 2 weeks for work oso. i guess its better to cry out loud sometimes than to bottle those stale feelings in our heart. i usually apologise to my bb secretly after crying. to keep my emotions at bay these days, i'm trying to close one eye on everything and act blur. cheer up and take it easy okie?

Good morning all mummies!
its so good to know its FRIDAY! badly need some rest after this tiring week. Hope everyone will have a fantastic and super good weekends!

hi christina,
me too! most of my arguments with hubby is due to her!! i always say to my hubby, i don't know to sour our relationship b'cos of her. Sigh...actually i respect her because she is my husband mother but sometimes its hard to control my emotion. Me too, always say "bb so sorry...mummy is so sorry..." closing an eye sometimes helps, sometimes don't...especially during this stage, like becoming more vulnerable..
you not sleeping well? try taking a hot or warm milk or milo before going to bed, it does help. Also, cut down on brain activity before sleeping cos' it will make u more alert
If u have been taking afternoon naps, sometimes its hard to fall asleep at nite too. I used to have this problem but now its better.

hi angel,
congratsSS on passing your final theory!
thanks so much for your concern too, we didn't give her an extra set of keys, my goodness..i cannot imagine if she has one set...

hi Lib,
its good to know you have packed your bag, no lah, u not ks ok? u should be packing or pack oreldi, because your bb going to pop earlier than expected right? Your lunch certainly sounds good! i used to cook alot but now seldom, except occasionally bake or prepare over weekends like western meal or something grilled with my oven. Most of the time, i get my mum to prepare after i write out the ingredients. Actually its true that my bb don't like to be near the stove, the other day i was cooking pasta sauce, i felt tummy really hot and bb might not be comfortable.
Its so nice to have your hubby accompany you for lunch, can he come back often from workplace? My hubby work in Jurong, so its impossible...hehehe

hi vone,
thanks for your recommendation for the bra, will take a look
as for hubby, i think he is a good listener, just that i don't wish to keep complaining or talk about his mum in front of him, afterall, she is his mother, i must spare a thot for him as well...

reenie, you're early today! I only had 4 hours of sleep last night, feeling cranky now. Cannot nap now cuz my part time maid is here...so i'll be zombified till 12pm!

next time when we meet up i'll share with you my MIL stories, very drama one, like tv show. heheheh. one time i got so feddup i posted in the Crazy MIL thread under Matters of The Heart. Now i bochap her liao for bb's sake, though she still takes chance to make my life miserable. a lot better liao, esp after she found out that i'm expecting bb gal instead of boy. she's oso bo-chaping me. (she's super educated one...but bitter divorcee)

Christina,
me always have super early meeting on Friday, so bopian got to wake up early
now super sleepy
kao_yawn.gif

u need more sleep...really, i heard its good for mummy to rest more, u mean your part time maid work till very late at your place? i thot they come in for only like 4 hours.

Seems like your MIL is not an easy person to be with..but no matter what, we really should try to keep ourselves positive and happy now
I'm so glad to have you girls to share my problems.

Did she react differently after knowing u are having girl? how come? Lucky you are not staying with her, else could be worst =P

reenie, in a way i'm very lucky that we dun stay under the same roof. she wanted a boy very badly cuz my BIL oredi has a gal last year.

my part time helper comes in at 8.30am every fri, 3 hours per visit. this is her 2nd time at my house so we're still trying to get used to each other. i'm oso new to hiring helper..used to be very gungho with housework until i pulled a muscle while mopping the floor lately...

Dear ladies,
It's Friday! Can't wait for the day to end. I'm so sleepy today.

Aidanee/Seabreeze, I'm still driving leh. Probably will drive till the day I pop unless I can no longer fit behind the steering wheel. Just be careful and don't force yourself if you are not feeling up to it.

Angel,

I'm planning to let my MIL take care of bb when I go back to work. She had been taking care of SIL's daughter for past 3 years and is now keen to look after her 1st grandson. Only thing is my hb is not sure if his mum is up to it cos she has bad rheumatism (legs)so can't carry bb for long, whatmore now got 2 kids to handle. I'm getting a bit apprehensive and thinking if I should look around for an infant care centre for standby.....

christina,
i think you shld take a nap later after she left, let your brain rest and don't think too much
u not working previously? its quite tiring to do housework especially now with a big tummy right? i am not a housework person, perhaps all the while i got mum staying with me, although i do washing, sweeping and mopping occassionally. I think i am more of a cook than a housework peson :p

ixwong, u very strong leh! I'm very lazy with driving already. it takes me 45mins to drive from sembawang to orchard, i used to find it a joy now its sheer torture. heheh. i'm getting more and more 'domestic' these days, i'm giving myself house arrest hahah.

reenie, i definitely need a nap. feeling light-headed already. i'm a SAHM, quit my job last oct.. talking about housework i think magic mop is the best invention for the house

Christina,
to me, the best invention is air con! it keeps me cool and comfortable....i am living like a polar bear these days.......

btw, did u manage to eat walnut cake? i am going to buy my pandan cake today! Tonite having durians...i am looking forward!

Yesterday although alot of work, i still managed to snack alot, my colleagues offered me HK dim sum, cookies....potato chips
think i ate alot..And during meeting, i had a piece of birthday cake, my boss was saying "Please go ahead and eat the cakes while i talk..." so i really enjoyed my piece of cake while he is busy going thru powerpoint slides

hahaha, reenie, that day when we were talking about walnut cake, i went out in the afternoon and bought the whole cake. i ate a quarter that day...now almost gone. hubby total opposite from me, he's very very health conscious, doesnt snack and doesnt like cake, so i've the cake all by myself.

ur meeting so shiok can eat, i miss that! my previous bosses love to combine afternoon tea with meeting, i always fall asleep after the pastries hehehh

me having durians tonight oso. my family bought 5, and i'm gonna go over to pick it up later *yay*

hi galz,
am back! was down wit fever for the past 2 daez..now feelin better liao esplly had enough of Zzzz.....

reenie,
hee...ur boss so nice...can let u guys snack durin meetin! yum yum....

btw, can i ask u galz, r u galz gog to switch on the aircon or fan for u baby durin nite time?

angel, CONGRATS!!
now u r 1 step closer 2 driving!! so glad 2 hear tat u got a gd maid. hopefully mine wld b as gd as urs.

chris, dun do anything 'stimulating' b4 bedtime, if not u wld find it veri difficult 2 sleep. u better take a nap later okie.

reenie, i understand ur feelings. but i dun bothered, always complained 2 hb abt his mother. he noes her pattern so he let me complained. coz usually after i vent it out, i wld feel better.

i aso hv issues wif my mil. luckily she's not staying wif me. tell u gals abt it d nxt time coz i dun wanna get my BP up today. not feeling 2 gd. got veri bad cramps tis am. so now trying 2 take things easy.

skippy, glad 2 hear tat u r better. u take care okie.

hi ladies ...

TGIF!! FINALLY ... ...

think MIL are usually not easy to manage cos they are mothers of our hubby ... own mum is always better i guess heehee ...

angel ..

yap saw your maid hanging out the laundry the other day ... she look pretty decent ... good that you got someone that you can trust ... btw the TMC talk is on 12 Jul @ 7pm @ SCGS hor ...

hello seabreeze

thanks for your reminder... if not, I surely will forget.. hehe

she is a very decent girl, not those type who will wear sexily and put on lots of makeup on their off days.

I totally agree with you. MILs are not easy. Or rather, PIL are not easy and I live with them. sigh

Remember Mrs Wong during the breast feeding class talked abt how she cope with her MIL (at that moment, i went to the restroom)and when I came back my husband was telling me that even Mrs Wong open one eye and close one eye towards in laws. But this I cannot or won't do it, I will speak to my in laws directly re some disagreement and not go through my husband cos to him, his parents can do no wrong.

I have to 'show' them that I am the owner of the house and they are staying WITH me and need to abide by MY living lifestyle.

Once that idea is grilled into their brain, it will be easier to live together.

angel, i hope tat i can 'grilled' tat idea into my FIL's brain coz he might b coming 2 stay wif us. sigh... i really didn't want tat but no choice.

hi christina,
like your hubby, my hubby also don't snack that much last time, but ever since he stays with me, somehow his lifestyle change! now he enjoy snacks, junk food like me..hahahaha...
Hey...enjoy your durians ok! 5 is really good enuff!!! Make sure you save some space after dinner for the durians..

vone,
u having cramps? are u better now? i had tummyache this 2 days....something wrong leh, could be the food i take, the lime and chilli. Your FIL coming to stay with you? that's weird..how about your MIL? its certainly not easy been a DIL these days...

girls,
don't envy lah, this meeting can snack is because one of our teammate birthday lor...so we hv excuse to eat
Otherwise, eat paper and pen...or just stare at our notebook.

Congrats angel for passing yr final theory & getting yrself a good maid..

Reenie: my hubby has juz finished his contract in the air force, will be starting his new job soon. Remembered i mentioned earlier tat he is on super long leave? He has cleared his leave since end may to keep me accompany plus finding a new job.. At least we have some time to "guo er ren shi jie" b4 bb is out..

Reenie & Christina: I noe is very hard to control the emotional part, i myself too at times will break into tears for no reson, but realli try to control it, if not we all 3 will have a grumpy bb girl.. hehe..

Christina: dun tell me u r going to finish all 5 durians by yrself? dun take too much, it is quite heaty & high in sugar level hor..

Malt: So far i hve packed the followings:
1) 1 new set of bb clothings & mittens/booties
2) 2 nite wear
3) disposable panties/ sanitary pads
4) bedroom slippers
5) 1 set of going home wear
6) Cardigan

reenie, still a bit crampy. so monitoring & c how. tks 4 ur concern.

haiya... it's a long story. my FIL shifted out many yrs back 2 stay wif another woman. as 4 my MIL, she stays wif 1 of my BIL. however, my FIL & tat woman dun get along oledi, so he's tinking of moving out & severing all ties wif her. he's been 'hinting' tis 2 his sons 4 d past 2 yrs oledi. understand fr hb tat his situation is so bad now tat he doesn't wan 2 stay at hm & takes all his meals outside. he's not an easy person 2 live with, thus he 'offended' all his DILs, including me. so none of my BILs can take him in, except hb. hb is quite chin chye so he discussed wif me d other day as 2 whether we can take him in. he's after all hb's father, so i can't say no rite?? hopefully if he comes 2 stay wif us, he can b more mellowed. if not, i can't imagine wat wld happened.

My 1st posting here, I'm due in mid-sep. Just want to check with you ladies, did your weight gain slow down? So far my weight gain from week 16 onwards has been 2~2.5kg per month. But for the past 3 weeks (27~30 weeks), i've gained less than 1 kg. Wondering if there's any issue..

Also, do you ladies feel any startle from your baby when there're loud noises? Cos I understand they supposedly can hear and will startle at loud noises.

Getting paranoid nowadays..

hallo, i just woke up from my nap

regarding MIL, i have to include her into my birth plan because she is oso a nurse with mt e, where im delivering. so i dun want her to wheel my bb out or show her to the whole world without my permission, which she is highly capable of doing. if i do get post natal depression *choychoy* it'll be due to her because generally im a cheerful gal, until i meet her....

we were at a relative's wedding a few weeks back, she came over and rubbed my stomach then shouted in front of all the relatives "hallo there!". i said hallo back, thinking that it was addressed to me. she replied "i'm not talking to u, im talking to the bb". one of her sisters heard and defended me saying "shouldnt u be saying hi to the mother first, how come u only care about the baby". she yelled with her lungs again "of course! i only care about the bb, she's more important" nut case right? i'm just a birth vessel in her eyes

my BIL, her son, expecting 2nd bb in dec (already got 1 year old daughter) and she said "i hope its a son this time so they can stop having children" what kind of a warped idea is that?? they are still so young, and all she cares is about herself...2nd daughter oso human being mah...that coming from an educated woman *sigh*

btw i dunno what to do with so many durians oso, many eat 4-5 seeds a day until they turn sour...

rainsintan, i stopped checking my weight long long time ago, since i hit my 15kg mark...have u been eating regularly? i guess only ur gynae can tell u if the weight gain is acceptable.

MIL aside, i've to admit that my FIL treats me better than his own children. he left MIL and remarried. thats y MIL became nutcase and does not want people around her to be happy.....so while i have a kookoo MIL, i oso have the most wonderful FIL...extreme opposite

miso, long time to hear!!! how are u? like vone, my BP will go up at every mention of her. now i take it that she's training my patience and i should be nice for the sake of my bb...i still respect her and laugh at her insults...if it makes her happy to bring me to tears..for good kharma heheh

but hubby poor thing, kenna kiap in the middle

Hi christina, wow yr mil realli so bad.. reading some of yr stories, is realli jia jia you ben nan yan de jing.. Though u r not staying a if yr mil, u still hve to face her at times.. **hugz

dun worri lar, after u have given birth can always come online or call us to have a chat.. dun kip things to yrself ok..

hey miso, u MIA for quite sometime liao leh.. hehe..

christina, yalah.. bz bz with work ma.. and clear things b4 i go on ML! haha.. anyway, anyone got friends wanna do temp job? basically secretarial work to cover my job during my ML.

christina, take it easy for sake of bb. Good u know how to handle ur MIL, if all the more she wants to agitate u, the more u should 'smile' back at her. get what i mean? hiak hiak..

Hi lib, 2mlr hor after gg to the cc, still hv to go pasir ris to pass the Energy tickets to a buyer. Kinda rush and later on in the day, need to go see gynae for check up. dunno if i can drop by 2mlr to get the clothings from you.. but will let u know k?!

miso, i c, u going on ML soon? ask u har, based on your experience, is it necessary to buy a diaper changing station? very tempted to get one cuz it looks so neat...can dump all bb's toiletries underneath...but extra cost leh...where did u change/ clean little reon when he was an infant?

lib, thanks, i'm very yakky wann...i usually collect MIL stories to entertain my friends heheh

christina, no.. I did not get one. I just change reon on the bed. Will usually put those things I need on the bed first b4 washing/changing him.
But you may wish to get one if you hv to bend down to do the changing cos long term wise not good for ur back.

miso, i c...okay looks like it'll be one of those "buy if strike lottery" list of items. heheh...

cuz i kept thinking it'll be of little use when bb gets older. so the use-ratio will only be 4-5mths