(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Thanks Seabreeze.

Can't wait to go back home soon. Heehee...

I heard tat we shouldn't eat too much "pu" now or else bb grow too big & we have hard time deliver.

Yvonne,
1 bottle costs about $138. Quite concentrated one with almost no liquid. The taste ok lah, like shredded agar agar.

ixwong,
Wow, quite ex hor. I drink already will heartache leh.. Hehehe...

cat_tail,
U should take care u know? Can ask your colleague to help you carry. Don't do everything yourself. I was like you. Everything do myself during the 1st trimester. Even lead a mass workout in school. End up with spotting. Then I dare not already.
So pleeease take care ok? A few more weeks to go!!!

Hi ladies, sorry i have missed the chance to tok to u in msn after lunch.. Was at my MIL's place, my pc is still down, cant use the msn & yahoo.. sobsob..

Vone, man is like that.. that move by manual gear not auto gear.. sometimes told my hb how nice if u guys can experience menstrual cramps, pregnancy and birth of child.. so that u can understand wat we are going thru *hehe..

Wow ixwong, yr bird nest sounds Ex to me leh.. so how long can 1 bottle last?

CAt_tail do take care of yrself leh.. if thr a nid be get yr colleagues to help u loh..

Have been long time didn't post any msgs here...
Just went for my check up just now. Doctor told me my bb head is about 9.1cm...a bit too big.. anyone have any idea about this? A bit worried. Bb estimated weight now is 2.5kg. Compared from 2 weeks ago bb increased about 300gms.

FYI,I went to visit my GP last week, my GP asked me to stop Neurogain (Fish oil capsule) intake. He said pregnant mum shouldn't take this medicine at last stage. As it is high in EPA, it will cause increased blood loss at the time of delivery.

hi cmy, did u ask your gynae abt neurogain then? i'm also planning to stop, but it's more bcos i think bb brain development is already more or less completed, so no need to take it anymore... will check with gynae during my checkup this week... can't remember when's ur EDD?

usually gynaes will instruct mothers to push when dilation hits 7cm... maybe if head too big got to wait till further dilation... how many weeks are you now?

hehe ixwong... that's v expensive agar agar... if ur MIL prepared it she'll be v heartbroken to hear that u compared bird's nest with agar agar..

I forgot to ask my gynae about the neurogain after hearing about my bb head is too big....

Initially my EDD should be 1/08/05... this week should be 34weeks 2 days

cat_tail, gosh... u okie?? u shldn't b carrying heavy stuff now. rest more okie.

lib, true. guess we must 'teach' them a bit.

hi cmy. how hv u been?? dun worry abt bb's head. wait til ur nxt chkup & c how. mayb it wld b okie.

Hi cmy, my gynae says to continue with Neurogain even after I deliver, during bfg to take too.. he says it's good for boosting supply of breast milk.

talking abt breastmilk supply... a lot of people say papaya can help boost milk production... but can we take it in raw form or do we have to cook it in fish soup? i'm fine taking it as a fruit, but i'm adverse to fruits cooked in anyway (except apple pie..hehe..)

hi cmy, i tink yr EDD is the same as mine - 1/8/05. my gynae mentioned to con't with neurogain. my bb wt measured last sat was 2.3kg. as for head measurement, she says it'll still change, so she'll tell me later. since she dun wan tell me, then i asked her if any problems with natural delivery (hee..anxious to know), she said dun see any problem at tis point.. dun worry too much abt bb's head, sometimes measurements mebe estimates only..

tingting, according to the recipe i've seen, it's unripe papaya cooked with fish/chicken. mebe can just take the soup?

tingting ...

my boss ate alot of fish and vege while she was bf ... think fish helps alot ler ...

pinkcitron ...

me oso suffered from loose stool this morning ler ... *worry worry*

Morning ladies....
i am down with slight running nose again. last night got up to pee at about 4am, and accidentally hit the bed kerb and tripped. luckily hubby woke up in time to catch hold of me and my hands landed on the bed. aiyoh, so clumsy, or i think iwas abit drowsy after taking the tab.

so many postings the last few days....

wow..libs, you very chio leh...just like Angel.

I dreamt last night that i was holding bb in my arms and trying to breastfeed him for the first time......the feeling was so real, so wonderful!!!! While bb was suckling on one breast, the other was leaking...hahaha...

Of late, he has been kicking more n more vigourously......it's becoming more real that we are having a bb!!!!! hahaha, dun laugh at us, cos hubby n i still cannot get over the idea that we are expecting a bb in 2.5mths' time.

btw, i bought the drapolene nappy cream at S$3.40 and further 20% discount...so S$2.70 per tube from Watson's.

I just called my gynae...he said my neurogain intake should be ok as that is special for pregnant mum.

tingting,
I attended the antenatal class the trainer also said drink papaya soup is good to boost up BF supply leh....heee... anyone have the receipe?

Vone,
Me not really good leh..having flu, sore throat haiz....terrible.

Mrning ladies, today this thread is moving abit slower then usual.

Hi CMYesther, long time no see.. my edd is 7 aug, my gynae till now still prescribe me with neurogain leh..

Tingting, other then papaya, u can oso take lots of fish according to my mil, is cod-fish..

seabreeze, dun worry on yr loose stool. so long as is not those serious kind, like frequent visit to toilet tat shld be fine...

Ladies, to share wif u gals a good news. Hehe.. my swollen gum has almost recovered... Thx for yr concerns recently.. It is juz another wisdom tooth eruption.. haiz.. tink after birth will have to arrange for extraction..

Aidanee, r u alrite? maybe u can consider having one dim light in yr room juz in case.. better for u now, as we tend to frequent toilet more in the middle of nite, next time can oso use it to nurse yr bb in future.

And also i have been dreaming of giving birth lately. 2 nites ago, i oso dreamt of my water bag leaks, time to give birth.. I oso ever dream of bringing my bb to shop in Seiyu wif my hb, carrying her in the sling.. Hehe...

cmy, got to take care.. REst well & have lots of water..

thanks gals, think fish is gonna be my staple from now on... hope it doesn't over-supply to give me engorgement... :p

i think flu bug is flying around these days... getting runny nose also... better take good care of ourselves...

aidanee, gosh, u better take care & b more careful okie.

cmy & tingting, u 2 aso better take care. drink lots of water okie.

seems like a few mummies here kena d flu bug.

lib, glad 2 hear tat ur tooth is okie oledi.

thanks libs, i am ok, but i bruise quite easily...

i think my immune system drops cos i have been taking too heaty stuffs...durians- the main culprit...cannot resist. then, we had steamboat on Father's day and din know MIL added some "bu" stuff into the soup. drank so much...and i had my weekly dose of bird's nest with korean ginseng...too overwhelming! luckily nose never bleed!

*sigh, i'm still figuring wats happening to my 2 chatlines, both msn & yahoo... seems like thr is not oni a flu bug for human, and virus bug for chatlines..

aidanee, then u take some cooling stuff 2 balance ur system.

lib, u try 2 uninstall & install d 2 programs again.

When will our breasts start leaking colustrum? i read in some books they say as early as 2nd trimester, some pregnant women will experience colustrum leakage..but ihaven't yet leh (now me 31 weeks)..

Gals ah.. pls do not try to boost ur milk supply at this stage ok. Only drink the papaya soup after u deliver to boost the supply if not will cause engorgement.

hello ladies

I am looking for car seats. Any recommendations?

I am looking at Britax First Class SI from Mothercare which cost $420 before 10% discount for certain credit cards OR the Chicco Vector which cost $279 from Robinsons.

Both are convertible car seats and can seat from newborn to 18kg (abt 4 years old).

Singapore doesn't carry Britax Roundabout or Marathon which have the best non-crash ratings from US Consumer guide

Btw.. some of the interesting facts which i found in babycenter to ease our mind.

Question: I'm 32 weeks pregnant and I'm beginning to feel my breasts getting ready for breastfeeding. Is it normal for them to leak a bit after I get out of the shower?

Answer: Many mothers begin to leak colostrum (sometimes called premilk) while they're pregnant, typically sometime in the third trimester. Other expectant moms don't. Either way, it's normal. You might want to wear nursing pads in your bra to protect your clothes if you're leaking. You can buy these at most drugstores.

Colostrum is a thick, yellowish fluid that contains antibodies that help protect new babies from infections. If you choose to breastfeed, this precious liquid will nourish your baby until your milk comes in. Colostrum has more protein, but less carbohydrate and fat than mature breast milk. It's easy to digest and has just the right amount of nutrients a baby needs in the first few days after birth.

Question: How much milk does a baby need in the first few days?

Answer: A breastfed baby takes small but increasing amounts of milk over the first few days. Studies of large numbers of breastfed babies suggest that on average they consume about 1/2 ounce of colostrum per feeding in the first 24 hours, 2/3 ounce per feeding by 48 hours, and one ounce per feeding by 72 hours, when mature milk production begins. At four days of age, most breastfed babies are taking about an ounce and a half at each feeding, and by five days two and a half ounces or more.

Of course, when you're nursing, it's impossible to know the precise amount of milk that your baby gets at each feeding. The most reassuring signs of adequate intake in the early days include the passing of meconium and transitional stools. Babies urinate very little in the first few days. Your milk production should begin by 72 hours postpartum starting with a noticeable change in your breast fullness.

Hearing your baby swallow and feeling your breasts soften during feedings are reassuring signs. By his fifth day of life, your baby should be having yellow or mustard-colored stools and wet diapers every few hours. Babies normally shed ounces in the first few days of life, but weight loss should be no more than 10 percent of the baby's birth weight. By five days of age, a baby begins gaining weight, at least an ounce a day. By 10 to 14 days of age, most babies have regained their birth weight.

Question: Should I give my newborn water or sugar water?

Answer: It isn't necessary to give your newborn water. Most babies get enough fluids from breast milk or infant formula. Even when a mother's milk supply is just coming in during the first few days after delivery, the baby is getting colostrum,which is enough to keep the baby well hydrated. Because a newborn's kidneys are immature, she has a difficult time concentrating her urine, and if given too much plain water, may have trouble excreting it. This could lead to dangerous changes in the concentrations of sodium and potassium in her bloodstream. For these reasons, infants should not be given extra fluids unless their pediatrician recommends it.

Lib,
No wonder just now MSN you online, u never reply.
Can I check with you all how much is the cost for anenatal courses? Is it too late to start taking now?

hi samantha, when's ur EDD? i just finished my 2nd class, n will complete my course 3 weeks before EDD... think it's safer to complete 1 month before EDD, cos we may deliver ard 38 weeks.. my course at MAH is $126 for MTBs delivering there... think it's $10-20 more for non-future patients...

samantha ...

you abt same time as me ... think still can be in time ... but must start finding out when is the earliest date to fo for the course already ...

me attending the weekend class at TMC ... $189 (including GST) ... its more exp cos its weekend and that i will not be delivery there ...

Hi ladies, what u all had for lunch?

I had Zhu Zha Tang + rice and Black Sesame with 2 riceballs. hehe..

I think most of us are in the 3rd trimester.. a gentle reminder, pls do drink lotsa water! Amongst the other good things, it is especially important in the third trimester to drink more more water when dehydration can actually cause contractions that can trigger preterm labor.

i had chicken pasta prepared from home... lazy to walk out n buy even though hawker centre is nearby... in fact, lazy to walk anywhere n been chalking up cab fares... only time when i can be persuaded to walk is to shop for bb stuff!

the high carbo meal is making me sleepy...zzzz...

I today got homecooked spaghetti for lunch. My colleague cooked the sauce. yummy... had salad too... then had tiramisu cake....now superfull.

My back hurts... muscle aching again. now both side aching. Yesterday still ok cos one side aching can tahan. Hope that it won't continue throughout my 3rd trimester.

samantha, think u're in comfortable time if u start early july.. at least if u miss some classes there's a chance to go for make up..

Tingting,

I think we met before... I attend M.Alvernia antenatal classs too...my last class was your first class on two weeks ago. But in diff room.. you and your hubby went to wrong class and ur hubby still hanging around the BK plastic which you mentioned earlier....heeeeee......

Miso,

Thanks for you infos...Your lunch sounds good to me but now don't have much appetite to eat as running nose and sore throat.

Lib,
Think maybe you can try to unistall the yahoo and msn msg and reinstall back again.

Sorry samantha, juz now i was using the web version, can't use it oso.. tink my pc has some virus that doesnt allow me to use any of the chatlines.. haiz..

Even uninstall & reinstall does not help at all.. dunno wat happen.

hehe cmy... such a coincidence! the plasma display was misleading lah... the instructor doesn't look pleased at all.. did a lot of people enter the class by mistake? both me n my hb felt she's quite fierce...

samantha, total 6 classes, one per week.. think MAH prices doesn't differentiate bet weekday / sat classes, but sat classes are popular.. u can check out the website to see the topics being taught...

tingting, ur pasta sounds nice. hvn't had pasta 4 a long time oledi coz hb doesn't like it.
me 2, i m so lazy these days tat i take cab wherever i go. spent so much on cab fares. sigh... being pregnant is not cheap hor.

samantha, ur lunch sounds yummy... tiramisu... try 2 get more rest. after a while, d pain wld subside.

lib, d funny thing is i can't used d web version when i m at hm. did u install some kind of anti virus software recently?? it cld b d prob.

vone, dunno leh.. since last week liao.. all the while i'm using version 7.0, tried to update the latest version, then now the whole chat can't use liao..

I now trying to log in to web messenger, can online but cant chat..