(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi Miso,

Thanks for the advice. before that, i thought can put the froze breastmilk into warm water direct. luckily you tell me earlier....if not my poor son may have to drink breastmilk defroze directly from freezer.
For the Ikea clips... under which section should I be looking for them?

aiyoh, I am so full from lunch. till now haven't digested my spaghetti and pizza yet.

hi miso,
hug hug, thanks...its so comforting to hear you mentioning about breastfeeding experiences. Actually i am very keen and encourage on breastfeeding, but i am worried that i might not do a good job :p I'm sure we will have alot to exchange when babies comes!

hi samantha,
me too would have placed the frozen milk directly into hot water :p anyway, i will try to feed baby with fresh milk if possible....don't think i will have so much excess to freeze! haahahaha....
Drink yakult, helps to digest

miso, thanx for the bf info..ya, heard many stories fr frenz dat bf is so tough, and there are ppl ard u who tend to give discouraging comments + 'fight' with u to feed bb..haiz, not easy. good to get tips & learn fr each other

seabreeze, tink ur bb doesn't like wat u ate 4 dinner last nite.
u better take care, dun eat 2 much okie.

Lib,

I also want to handwash all my baby's clothings but I have feeling I will just give up and throw everything into the washing machine. Hahaha ...

hehehhe,, just took the chui kwey!!! now feeling pretty satisfied! oily though. my col ate the pao....very nice too......

Seabreeze, hope you are feeling ok....*Hugs*!!

THanks for all the tips. well, i know that it is best no formula milk in the initial period..and YES MISO, you got what i wanted to say, the few points that will put you down in the initial period. so we just ignore the old folks n the wailing of bb and constantly let bb suckle? my auntie already told my in law that first few days sure no milk, so must standby FM. I told them i attended the class and have read that if bb dun suckle during the first few days, surely nothing will come out after that!!!! My auntie also tell my inlaw to ask the CL to take care of the bb at night and feed FM so that mother can rest....that's not my plan. I am prepared to get the CL n bb to sleep with me at night so that i can latch on anytime. Not easy hor....i wished they can just leave me with the CL. if everyone wants to have a say, then i might as well dun get the CL. I called my CL and told her to stand firm of what she usually practices....tries not to give in to them cos i only want to take instruction from one person. else, sure kena postnatal depression! EH, how did i digress to here? sorry...while i really appreciate their advice, i just get abit edgy easily.

All Mummies-to-be,

The get-together on 2nd July maybe I can't make it liao cos I have a gynae appt at 3pm that day. May I just check what time it ends??

Went to the gynae yesterday. I am now 58.5 kg at 28 weeks. My baby is 935g. Just wanna do a comparison, those mummies who are in their 28th week pregnancy, how heavy is your baby??

My colleague told me today that her friend was admitted to the hospital 1 week before delivery cos the baby didn't hit 2.5kg. According to her, babies have to be 2.5kg or above before gynae will allow delivery? Can someone pls verify this cos my next gynae visit is 2nd July. Thanks!

Another thing is, someone told me that your menses will not come if you breastfeed your baby. Is that true??

Aidanee,
How come you get CL and also your mother in law at the same time? Thought you only need CL? Luckily, for my case, I be staying with my mum during confinement. Think at most I will quarrel with mum only.

Miso,
The first few days not much milk right? In that case, will bb be very hungry since he do not have much to digest?

Samantha, that's because we are staying with inlaws and my inlaw works in the day time.....i din ask her to help, i straight away booked a CL cos i know sure have alot of disagreement later on.... at least with CL around, i will try to follow CL's practices cos she is no matter what more experienced then my inlaw.Also, my sis used this CL for all her 4 confinements and she is very reliable lor.

dun worri anissa, now u will be very excited to wash all the clothings.. instead of washing the whole lot, break into diff lots to wash.. will not be tedious for u oso

re clips for milk bags... not sure what the Ikea clips look like, but i'm hoping for something that's tight enough to allow the bags to be placed sideways instead of upright.

Read somewhere that as a guage, if ice-cream is rock hard in your freezer, the milk stored at same place can last for 3 months. if it's soft, 1 month. at fridge, 1 week. Only deep freezers (i.e. those industrial type) can store for 6 months.

Wrt to defrosting milk, the rule seems to be the same as defrosting meat.. bring down to fidge the night before or in the morning for that night's use...
think for initial phase will use only fridge level... EBM is more for hb to do night feeds at this time anyway. we won't be using bottle much to avoid nipple confusion.

i had a fren who was unable to bf her bb during the first few days. bb was given FM, not from bottle but licking from a spoon. This is to discourage bb from getting the milk too easily n later when bb is brought to the breast, she wont get fustrated too easily.

Actually the most impt part of bfg.. is to prepare urself mentally. It's v. tedious. Try to get help/info from the lactation consultant (LC) as much as possible while you are in the hospital. Make full use of her! hahaha.. the LC will teach you how to carry bb while bfg and how to ensure and/or chk that ur bb is suckling well.

Hi aidanee, dun let ur auntie 'defeats' u! Must persevere ok!

Hi anissa, initially after u deliver, u will start to hv heavy flow for may be 2 weeks.. it depends on individual. Then when it stops and u still continue to bf, mense will not come mthly. And depending on individual as well, some who are bfg and no mense, will still get preggie. hehe..

hi annisa,

jus went to my gynae check on monday, at 27 weeks, my boy is 1.1kg. but gynae say although on e big side, but still ok.

hi miso....yah meh! i am going to be very firm. i told me hubby too that if he does not want me to fall into depression, better support me all the way!!! hahahah....he also thought must supplement with FM until he read about the SS vs DD thingy.
Thanks.....it's comforting to have a mom here to provide real life experience to us-the first time, kan cheong mummies to be!

Wow ... with baby sucking the milk and the mense lasting for 2 wks, how to tahan? Plus we r not supposed to shower for 1 mth? God, kill me! Hahaha ...

Anissa, dun worry cos different bbs grow at diff rates. as long as your gynae says he is progressing at the right rate, you are fine cos i heard bbs grow very fast from week28 onwards. just continue to eat healthily.

looking forward to see my bb again in 2 weeks' time.

mommies with long hair, are u all gonna chomp off yr hair?? me still tinking leh.. many advised better cut, coz after deliver will drop hair & tying it will put additional strain on the roots..oso, harder to dry after washing + take care bb, no time...etc. how huh?? any advice?

Hi Aidanee,
What is the SS vs DD thing? means for the first few days, bb can feed on the little milk that we produce? will he be hungry? Why don't need to supplement with FM har?

Hi Anissa,
Don't worry. my colleague who is 8 month pregnant went for her check up also. her bb was initially 900g at 7th month, but by the 8th month when she checks, bb become 2kg (gynae was telling her too heavy liao).

hi timie,
my hair touches below bra line and i will wait till 8th month then cut to below shoulder. i still wanna tie up during confinement cos i feel cooler this way. N i do not intend to wash it for the entire month.....i asked around my gfs who have given birth and most said tat their hair start to drop after 3rd month. so you still have time to decide after the fullmonth.

Hi timie,
tying hair will put strain on hair meh? aiyoh...me still trying to grow my hair. maybe in that case, i shouldn't after all.

ya aidanee, i was tinkin of not cuttin & bundle up leh. my mom says no washing for 12days.. my hb warned dat scarly i can't tahan during confinement then how? told him mebe ask my mom come & cut for me lor..so droppin of hair starts after 3rd mth..hmm..

samantha, datz wat i heard lor..

sorry ah, what i meant is that he realised it is based on supply n demand. like what Miso said, just let the bb suckle as frequent as possible.

i think by aug should not be that hot....usually rain during National Day period. So for me who is likely to deliver in end Aug/early Sep, should be ok lor. The most use the powder shampoo lor. No washing of hair is something i believe cos i do get migrane before preg, so i really do not want to aggravate it by not taking care during confinement.

ladies ...

thanks for the concern .... dunno whats wrong recently ... my gastric been giving me alot of prob ....

boss oso hinting that me getting abit laid back for my work (which is true cos so tired and drained most of the time) .... so sianzzzz ....

really hope that time will fly by faster so that I can deliver and let my life resume to normal or at least I feel better physically ....

Hi Miso, no prob.. anyway i hasnt log out at MSN juz now..

Ladies, i will not be cutting away my hair for my confinement. As I have gotten the understanding from my mum that, i can still bathe & wash my hair but got to blow dry right after washing. Juz have to use the special herbs to bath..

Hi Anissa,

Think babies grow at different rates, and depends whether girl or boy. When i was at 28 weeks, my girl girl was 1.24kg...

Hi Aidanee,
Me same as you, have migraine one..so probably will try to tahan not washing. Powder shampoo doesn't work to be very frank, its like coating oily hair with powder, all the powder will cake on the hair.. but i think i can only tahan at most one week without washing. After that, maybe wash once every few days? so gross leh, can't imagine. I bought the No-Rinse type of shampoo, so just shampoo, wipe dry then blow dry lor..

Samantha,

Are you serious? From 900g can balloon up to 2 kg in 1 mth? WOW!

Btw, when you go scanning, can you actually see the baby's face shape? My hubby said our son has a squarish face
Dunno whether he bluffs me or not.

Hi mummytobe,
where did you find the no-rinse shampoo? was trying to find it leh... can't find. Give me some direction pls

Hi Anissa,
Yah. She is shocked herself. So her gynae told her cannot eat that much liao. She only gain about 1kg during the whole month, so bb must have absorbed all her nutrients....
My gynae uses the 3D scan. Can see the bb's features. but my boy didn't want to show us the last round we went, so we saw nothing.

hello Anissa

i juz did a scan 2 days ago (Tuesday), went to see my gynae as I am down with sinusitis. Pointless seeing my ENT doctor as he will call my gynae to ask what type of antibiotics & painkiller to prescribe (both docs from Raffles).

I am in my 28/29wks and my bb is 1.14kg. The progress seems to be slow down a lot. My weight gain (haven't been eating regularly) is only 1 kg for 2 weeks. It looks like my weight gain is relative to bb weight gain. Therefore, went to eat full meal yesterday with fish, meat n lots of veggies and some really expensive durians (1 box 6 seeds abt $20)!!!!

Hi Samantha,

this online shop sells it.. BB shop http://www.bbshop.com.sg/Prod_Info/Pg-MomCare.htm

btw, those looking for pigeon disposable breast pads, i saw it at robinsons centrepoint last week ..the online shop BB shop (url above) also sells pigeon disposable breast pads. not sure about the price though..

and for those looking for drapolene nappy rash cream, so far i find it to be cheapest at watsons. Normal price is $3.40 (compared to NTUC $4.25) and these few weeks watsons having 20% discount storewide. So the drapolene cream is only $2.70 after discount

oh, i heard from some people that we are not supposed to drink plain water during confinement? is this true?? they say drinking plain boiled water will cause puffiness and water retention. according to them, we must drink water boiled with longan and red date only? won' that be very sweet?

hi mummytobe, yes, datz wat my mom & CL say oso, to drink only red dates+longan. oso can't imagine not drinking plain water..
will be veri thirsty for sure.
drapolene is to use everyday to prevent nappy rash?

Hi timie,

Yup drapolene is to apply on baby's bottom when changing diapers to prevent nappy rash. there is another brand Desitin which is supposed to be more effective for nappy rash, but people usually use that only when baby already has nappy rash. to prevent nappy rash on a daily basis, drapolene is good enough, so i heard

Hi Timie, me not gg to cut my hair.. will prefer to bun it up during my confinement. And I have ordered online the Warm Shampoo and Bath to use during confinement.. not gg to use the herbs too.

Hi mummytobe, yes.. it's true.. no water. Only the longan red dates drink. My mil will also add in ginger to get rid of the wind in my body. My mil will start to make tt the moment I 'check in' hospital! hahaha.. Lucky i am allowed to drink kopi.. else dunno how man!

angel, u okie?? how come u hv not been eating well?? u take care okie.

mummytobe, tks 4 d tip on d nappy cream. tink i wld go & buy later. i really hv 2 start buying bb stuff oledi. if not, tink i wld b 2 tired 2 do any shopping in my later stage.

allo vone

It's all my fault and nothing serious. I've been too lazy to find food if I am at home. I am not hungry most of the time and my appetite been v small due to the increasingly limiting space in my stomach.

For eg, ate half a bowl of porridge yesterday and I am full. If I snack on a piece of bread, it will last me for a couple of hours.

Hi Mummytobe
thanks for the lead on the nappy cream. i also bought the AVENT bags at JL Plaza Sing. ALOT! it's at 20% too.

hi angel, are you expected to put on more? i thought 1kg for 2 weeks is quite reasonable? oh dear, i must be seriously "bochap". I eat only 3 meals, with occasional teabreaks. I eat only when i am hungry. My last indulgence is 10 seeds of fresh durians from Malaysia plantation. That's all. Now at 27 weeks, i think i only put on 0.5kg (from 25week) Wonder if my bb is growing fine.

allo aidanee
don't let me worry you. For the past few weeks, I gained lots of weight and my bb weight gain is fine. But for past 2 weeks, I gain little weight and my bb gain little weight as well. I guess it depends on individual.

I am worse, I eat nly 2 meals a day.. sometimes only one meal. Yesterday I ate 5 red bean buns (those 6-buns in packet type selling for $1.30 in 7 eleven) and then half bowl of porridge dinner and I am super full but force myself to eat another 3 durian seeds. Kept the rest in the fridge. Hope my MIL doesn't steal them.

angel, you can tahan meh? only 1 meal? wont your bb be kicking you and screaming away???? hahaha...
so fast you are seeing your gynae every 2 weeks. eat well and continue with your durian feasting.....
my hubby always buys the more expensive but of higher quality ones....dun need too much, just a few seeds enuff to satisfy us!

Gals, do you take bird's nest? my mil add Korean ginseng too (Ko Lei)....is it ok?

Hi angel, aidanee,

I also find that my appetite since late 2nd trimester and now entering 3rd trimester has waned. I only eat when hungry, apart from the 3 regular meals. especially dinner, not much appetite. But around 11pm plus will be hungry, so will end up eating supper, hiaz..

to think that in my first trimester and early second trimester, i ate like a pig. For lunch, i could eat one regular pizza by myself, plus six drumlets and half a loaf of garlic bread!