(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

agree with eileenp.. me also no tonics whatsoever... what to do, both my mum n mil didn't have them during their pregnancies, so they think it's not necessary at all. Dun even have the bottled instant type... I'm eating only normal food. The other day when i went to a chinese sinseh for my ankle n he took my pulse n said my body constitution not good n asked me to get mother or mil to take care of me... dunno whether to laugh or cry... sigh..

Samantha, I have bought a Farlin maternity belt (abt $20) to help with my aching back. Quite helpful except that my skin nowadays very sensitive so cannot wear the belt directly against my skin nor as often as I would want to.

I just read from one website (quite useful http://www.parentingjoy.com) that we should not be attempt to seriously pump our bm in the first month as it would affect supply. So still have time to decide if you want to invest in an expensive breast pump.

hm.. maybe can just buy those bottled bird's nest to consume? It works just as well. For this pregnancy, I din consume too much cordyceps and/or bird's nest.. MIL's been bz.. so I sometimes will take chicken essence lor to 'bu' myself. hehe.. but anyway, with the multivits we got from our gynae, think should be sufficient la. STAY HAPPY!

Another day has passed.. c u all 2mlr gals!

tingting, me oso no one brew tonic, mil oni made birdnest once. most of the time, i brew my own dongcongcao & take the bottled birdnest. get hb to buy..keke..it's ok lor, understd my mil veri thrifty type & like wat u say during their preg, her mil probably dun make for her oso.. my mom is more concerned cos she says last time she nvr "bu" so we were borned quite weak, & during her own confinement oso nvr take care, so she gets all the aches. so now she hopes i can take better care so dat i dun take after her lor..

hi timie, "sadly" my mum's still healthy with no aches, n both me n my sister were just fine.. :p guess it's not much of an issue to buy pre-mades, but wld be nice to be pampered mah.. hehe.. even my hb is not the fussing kind, so i still have to do my share of housework like ironing n hanging clothes (on racks only type). Bcos he's going to be my "confinement nanny" i recently drew up a list of duties he's supposed to do... he baulked at the amount of housework he has to do... :p I tell him at least he only has to endure only 1 month... i have to do for the rest of the time! From his reaction one would think that his idea of helping is only to carry baby... :p

timie and ting ting ...

think pre-made ones are fine ... for me is cos my mum believes firmly in tonic ... even before i was preg ... she will make tonic once in a while for the family ... and since she is a house-maker ... she has more time to make tonic for me lor ...

in fact i wanted to stop buying to eat cos I told her that me nearing my 3rd tri and ppl say that 3rd tri shouldn't pu ... and very heartache ler the $$$ .... but she insist so .... got to buy lor ...

Hi miso, Nicole is very cute!

Tingting,
pei fu you not getting any extra help. Heard it's very important for you to rest during confinement and breastfeeding bb is quite a full-time job. So take care and don't stress yourself out as a supermummy, ok?

I very ks. Have arranged for my part-time maid to continue to continue to come in once-a-week to do my housework even after bb is borned. They do everything for me, even the folding of my dry clothes. I only need to do laundry which I use washing machine.
My mum would be helping out part time during the confinement - mainly marketing, cooking (I love her cooking), washing of bb clothing (with help from washing machine).

Even so, my hubby still worry about me not getting enough rest during confinement, so he will be taking 2 weeks' leave to hang around. He very scare I ganna post-natal depresssion...

tingting, ya, agree it's nice to be pampered, but sometimes can be quite "irritating". like my fil keep tellin me tis tonic can eat, dat can't eat, must do tis & dat..sigh.
seems like u'll need to do more "brainwahsing" on ur hb, so dat he can still cont to do some chores even after 1st mth..keke..the other day i was suggestin to my hb dat p'haps we shd get those part-time domestic help to clean the hse since nowadays he's so bz with work + hsework (he took over some of the hsework + change new job & lamented a bit)& in future will be worse. immed he said it's ok, he can cope. prob u need to try communicate/hint to him dat he shd play more "active" role in takin care of the hse + bb instead of supportin role. but i believe his paternal instincts will surface when he sees bb & dat u r so tired out with bf, etc. the soft approach normally works

Hi all MTBs,
This is the article that I had taken out from Dumex rgd abt our weight gain. Pls take it for reference purpose only.

291839.jpg

its Friday!!! Hope everyone will have hv a super great weekends! I have 2 kaya and butter toast again! ahaaha...and one cup of hot milo, now still sipping a cup of teh guni..*burp*

angel,
if u saying one meal per day for you, i think its really too little...u don't feel hungry at all?? i hv tried 2 meals a day before, like late breakfast and a dinner....other days i am sticking to 3 basic meals a day, but somehow....now i am in 3rd trimester, i seems to eat more???? i need an extra after tea-break or nite time i need a lite supper when my stomach make noise...hehehehe...
my usual meal time is: 7plus breakfast, 12 plus lunch then 7plus dinner. Snack is around 3-4pm. Supper 11 plus if any.

ixwong,
your hubby so nice to you...take 2 weeks leave to take care u. I wish my hubby can afford that much of leaves...he probably think i got my mother to watch over me so should be ok, i hope i can cope well without having any blues....

hi girls,
i thot in 3rd trimester, our weight gain shld be the most signficant one? i realise how big my tummy has ballloon! And also the breast.....getting heavier and difficult to walk a long distant now, feel aching pain around tummy area.

Morning mummies....
finally this week don't have to work on sat... but have to do so next week. sianz....

Just took a whole packet of fried bee hoon for breakfast. now too full liao.... really regretted it. feel like burping again. i think my heartburn and stomach wind will act up soon.

Reenie,
I same the same thought as you. 3rd trimester gain most right? but on 2nd thoughts, maybe not cos you stomach will be squashed by the growing tummy, so less space for food ....hehe

Samantha,
good morning
i took fried beehoon and mee with liao, like chicky wings and fishcake for breakfast too, one week several times..heheheh.. my fave is chicky wings!(tommorow eating again :p) I don't think my growing tummy is hindering the appetitie...rather my breathing! i find it hard to breathe like before, i pant pant very easily, lack of oxygen.

Hi reenie,
Did you go for brisk walk ? I had this symptom when i am in my first trimester. but now no more....keeping my fingers crossed.
Gynae says maybe due to the lack of exercise and suggested that I go for brisk walk everyday for 30 minutes. So far, i only managed brisk walk 30 minutes for a few days... but I try to walk as much as possible during the day and it really helps. Don't know whether it works for you since you are now in third trimester.

hi angel, read that even if mummies dun feel hungry, the bb will, so try to eat small meals throughout the day to ensure ur bb gets the nutrients ok?

timie, ixwong, guess for my hb it's already a big improvement, cos before marriage he doesn't need to do housework at home... they have the part-time domestic helper n my mil is not particular abt keeping hse clean at all times. We had contemplated hiring such domestic help also, but somehow it seems wasteful to spend money on help bcos we're "lazy" to do it, not bcos we have no time...

ixwong, think ur hb v kan cheong abt u, which is good! i keep drilling into my hb's mind about potential post natal blues n he doesn't seem to be anxious abt it leh... maybe i've been too independent for him to "lian xiang xi yu".... :p

looking forward to the weekend!

morning MTBs! friday is here again!

reenie, me feel the same too, my breathing is so heavy dat my hb & colleagues wonder if i'm ok. walk a short distance oredi pantin like anything, feel like some old woman..

samantha, sometimes after eatin certain food, i burp & burp oso then feel so urgkky & bloated. tink it's true our stomach kana squashed out by bb inside. bb oso tend to kick there oso..now i try to identify wat food make me bloated..

tis wk, there were few days i started to feel a bit queasy (like 1st tri but not as bad), not much appetite oso. but i still kinda forced myself to eat something for the sake of bb..tomoro's my gynae appt, will then see if i've gained much wt or not..
hope not, find myself so clumsy oredi..

Good morning everyone.
Samantha, I heard walking and swimming helps alot. I wanted to start swimming, but shy leh. With this big tummy and fat thighs, I think I will look horrible in the costume. Hehehe..

Good morn all MTBs,
It's Friday!! Robinson got additional 15% storewide sale for cardholders!

Well.. most of us tot tat we supposed to gain much weight during the last trimester bearing the reason tat baby is increasing their own weight. But in actual fact it doesn't seem to be lor. Currently my wt gain has already slowed down, not so much during the 2nd trimester.
Anyway, I think the average additional wt bb can gain is another 2 to 3 kg till their birth.

Samantha,
serious? i didn't engage into any exercise since i am preggie (even before i don't..hahahaha), i think i should try to walk like u....must tell my hubby, he don't really allow me to go anywhere, except work without him now, cos' i have fainting/giddy problem in my 2nd trimester.

Timie,
my hubby always hear my breathing, he very concern but i told him its normal...i cannot even climb stairs, like an old lady..hahaha...i walk super slow, abit like "going market"....

cat_tail,
u mean robinson, on top of 20% normal discount for GSS, they added 15% more for thier cardmember? So nice!!!!!!!!!! i wish i am their card member.....
u know? i got a ang-moh colleague just gave birth to bb girl, weighing 3.75kg!!!! somemore natural birth leh, only induced.

Hi reenie,
Yeah! Add together & we get 35% discount in total! Think tonite must go for a walk there liao...kekeke..

Pai sek, I shopping siao one. Although can't walk tat much for now, I still can struggle for some shopping. Somemore can buy the pastry from the Hotel Phoenix with 50% disc! *lol

Wow, what did the ang mo eat? There was a time I saw a Ang Mo doing breastfeeding for twins at the same time!! One each for each breast! My jaws really drop & I am so impressed~

Hi reenie,
Serious... gynae says do brisk walking and swimming be good. it helps in delivery too.
I don't know how to swim, so can only brisk walk.
So eileen, can't help you... cos i won't be wearing any swim suit. but some people whom i talk to says swimming is quite shiok cos no sweat + feel very light in water.

Cat_tail,
very envy you, can get such a good discount! i have not gotten all the bb stuff too =P Pastry from Hotel Phoenix? nice???
Actually what my angmoh colleague eat is quite normal....maybe its BEEF???? she loves beef stir fried...hahahahaa.....

Hi cat_tail,
when will the discount end? Robinson got things to buy for bb or not har? Paiseh.... long time never go downtown liao... disadvantage of working at uloo place.

morning mummies.
yipee... it's fri again... finally d wkend is coming.

reenie, i aso thot 3rd tri wld hv d most weight gain as bb is growing veri fast now.

Samantha,
i also cannot swim! hahahaha....if i can, i will put on my bikinis!!!! not sure if i will still look good in them after giving birth
i go sun tanning though i don't swim

Hi Samantha,
I know. Only I can help myself. Must have thick skin to swim now. Hehehe...

Wow! 35% discount is ALOT leh. Too bad I don't have the card as well.

Vone,
i certainly feel my tummy ballooning...even my hubby says that! And my food intake abit more....Cool, its friday!

Cat_tail,
do the card holder need to be present at the spot? if i borrow from someone, can i use it for the discount?

hi reenie, Robinsons card is a charge card, and the OCBC Robinsons card is a credit card. Both will be eligible for the discount, but signature is required when making payment. So cannot transfer.

thanks Tingting,
because i think my SIL has the Robinson Credit Card...so can borrow and show for discount..heheheeh....don't want to trouble her to travel and shop with me.

I oso dun noe how to swim, so I walk lor. I think if we are in the pool, we probably float on top...*lol

The Robinson sale starts today till Sun & I just get a quick glimpse of the paper today. They have a no. of products like breast pump, sterilizer, bb cot etc. Anyway, tonite I am going down, so after tat I feedback to you all whether worth or not.

Hi Reenie,
Maybe it's normal for ang mo to deliver big baby. If it's me, I think I will faint..kekeke..

Personally, I find the pastry from Phoenix not bad, especially durian puff & muffins. But the disc only starts from 6pm, so normally around 5:30pm got ppl queueing up liao.

Hi reenie,
U still have to bring yor SIL down to Robinson to sign the payment. Maybe u treat her some makan after so tat u won't feel so pai sek.

just called Robinsons, the PIS is

$699 - 15% = $594.15 (1st 15%)
$594.15 - 15% = $505.03 (2nd 15% for Rob card holder from 17 to 19 June 2005)
$505.03 - 5% = $479.78 (5% discount for Rob card holder)

Wah.. cheap cheap. I am going to buy the PIS as PIS has a resale price of $400-$450

hehe... so glad that so many of us don't know how to swim. i thought i am the only one...

Hi cat_tail,
must feedback leh. then I know whether should go down or not.

hi cat_tail,
thanks for the information! actually pai sey to make her walk around with me, treating her to meal is no problem, but maybe its my character, scare to trouble others :p
Oh..i see, the discount for pastry starts after 6pm, are u working nearby city? i think some hotels like Raffles, also sell their makan items half price after certain hours, quite a good catch.

Come to think about it, quite envy your jobs. Mostly office work. Can just sit down and work.
When my school reopens, I'm gonna have a really hard time man. Cannot imagine how tired I'm gonna be. My poor students are gonna suffer. Hehehe...

eileen,
take it easy ok? are u teaching primary level? if so, can be real tiring, cos' handling the kids can be quite a challenge! i did a temporary teaching job with student care centre before, oh my god, i feel totally drained out, kids nowadays are difficult to handle. But its fun working with them!

Can u apply for leave, like no pay leave if you have to? i have a friend who teach, apply for a year no pay leave to go overseas with her hubby.

Ya reenie,
Understand tat. I oso feel pai sek to ask. Maybe can check around those ppl u r comfortable with like colleagues or frds.

I am working at the Outram plus I knock off at 5pm today, so can rush down for anything.

Hi mummytobe,
I think discount only for Robinson. The card is only useful for the 5% rebate at JL.

Nay eileen,
I am not doing desk work. I need to walk around a lot & doing hard work. It's only my tummy getting bigger tat I have the chance to chit chat with u all.
Actually teacher oso not bad, can have a long holidays!

cat_tail,
its oky lah, i will just give it a miss
Wow, u working at Outram, that's quite central! U have to walk alot at work? my current job allows me to sit sit sit sit....no wonder my butt getting big big big big
kao_embarrassed.gif
, i only walk to toliet or go makan or to meeting room, where else?? Sitting too long also got problem u know? recently my tummy ache whenever i sit for too long, i think because the big tummy is resting and i'm pressing on it with my sitting posture when i bend over to type.
Oh mine god, i heard my stomach making noise! so loud....pai sey

hi cat_tail,
The bb cot you saw at Robinson is at City hall or centre point? Can you remember is it standard size or smaller one huh? thanks.
I think i'll be getting the stroller ixwong had bought but wonder can get from Robinson or not if its' not on display...
Btw. anyone getting any toys? Saw from other thread that bb loves the bb gym or bb playground.. Wonder is it too early to buy toys.. but now got discount so tempted..