(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi tingting,
True to say that peer pressure quite a big issue now. I visited one of the Kindergarden school recently and was totally shocked when i found out that they teaching those little kid Primary 1 stuffs. OMG. Sigh... Actually, children nowadays very poor thing. I have a few cases in school where the parents don't stress the children, but the children stress themselves. Sigh. I think that's where peer pressure play a big part.
Therefore, I want my kid to enjoy his 1-7 years first. Hehehe...

Wow, u all so fast already think tat far.
For me, just take things one at a time.

HI TingTing, LIb, Timie,

Wow, time really flies hor, will be popping soon! Nervous or not? I'm having panic attacks once in a while, especially at night, when nothing much to do except lie and think and ponder, and i get scared of all the responsibilities involved in taking care of a child!

HI Cat_tail,

I heard that our boobs usually shrink after child birth, as in , even smaller than original size!

mummytobe,
dun frighten urself....let the nature take its course....

hey, i notice bb also got mood swing...like todae, think he is in gd mood...so active n kicks so much! hee...but i like.... ;o) like the feelin when he kick me...like tellin u..." mummy mummy, i very bored inside, play wit me!" haha....

Hi mummytobe,
U dun scare me leh! My original boob size is already tat small. I can't imagine it to shrink further.. oh no..

mummytobe, dun tink so much. jus do wat u can. sometimes if we tink 2 much, we'll b veri stressed.
ya, i aso heard tat our boobs will shrink after giving birth. but i tink it depends on d individual. i got 1 fren whose boobs incr after she had given birth.

yvonne, ya, our bb got mood now. so cute rite.

Hi Cat_tail,

really leh..one of my friends was a C cup, then became B cup after child birth..and Mrs Wong from our antenatal class also said that asian girls tend to lose one cup after child birth cause we are of leaner built, so the fats in the breast milk (for the baby) will be drawn from our breasts if the rest of the body cannot supply. or something like that..

btw mummies, i read that talcum powder is not good for babies? Johnson baby powder is made of talc right? so what brands of baby powder is not made from talc? i think the alternative is powder containing corn starch or use liquid powder? i tried the avent liquid talc, but the smell is so strong! like perfume..i smell already feel giddy, can't imagine the baby!

"...However, after decades of use, powders have fallen out of favor by the medical community for a few reasons:

Talcum powder is usually made up of various combinations of zinc stearate, magnesium silicates, as well as other silicates which are finely ground. The size of particles is so small that they are both easily carried in the air like dust and can reach even the smallest areas of the lung.
There have been numerous reports of babies having life-threatening episodes from inhaling the powder. And in fact, there have been many deaths reported from aspiration of the powder. A good number of these cases occurred during a diaper change when adult supervision is usually very high. But as every parent knows (including myself), infants and toddlers can be awfully quick sometimes, so reaching for and spilling the powder bottle is not such a hard thing to do for the little ones.
The feeling from many dermatologists is that there isn't much advantage of powders as compared to ointments when it comes to preventing and treating diaper rash.
So, clearly talc can cause pneumonia, inflammation (or swelling) of the airways of babies, and even death. But what about cancer? When the link to asbestos and cancer came to light, it was noticed that a lot of the exposure to asbestos was accompanied by other inhalable fibers and dust including talc. However, a specific link to talc exposure and lung cancer has not been established. On the other hand, there has been some interesting research into a possible link of talc to ovarian cancer."

Oh no mummytobe,
I am a A cup then if shrink, isn't it become no cup? Aiyoo.. I better dun think too much..freak me out..

Ya ya, nowadays could feel the bb's kickings are getting stronger. I like tat cos at least I know she's doing fine inside. Normally she kciks more often in the morn & evening. How's the rest?

cat_tail, mayb urs will incr after u give birth, like my fren. she went fr A to B. u dun worry so much okie.

mine kicks more in d evening & nite. hopefully he's not an nite owl when he's born. if not tink i wld b veri exhausted.

Hi cat_tail,
Think don't worry too much. heard of fren sis going from C cup before birth to A cup after birth, but also heard of pp increase by 1 cup. So depends on you heng or suay, i think. see how, at the moment, so long the bb is healthy and got enough milk to drink, it doesn't matter. at most next time use push up bra...hehe...

Vone,
I asked my gynae the other day about bb kicking in the night. I was telling him hopefully it won't continue like that when he is born, but my gynae says normally bb brings with him the habit. so have to be prepared.

mummytobe, ya lor, seeing my tummie grow bigger each day, i can't help feel dat time really passes fast. sometimes wonder if i can be gd mom, but i guess it's a natural process & my hb always say the maternal instinct will come along naturally..i hope. good thing we still can learn/share with each other in tis forum
i do get panick attacks once in a while, but try to focus on the warmth feelin of seein my bb soon

hmm..does doing the chest exercises fr mrs wong's class help to at least maintain our boob size??

Hi vone & Samantha,
I still wish my boobs can remain tat big..haha.. no need add pads mah..

Rgd abt bb bringing their habit when out, I do heard abt it too. Guess most of us are having a nite baby. I already tell my hubby in advance to get ready for his nite shift & I do day shift..keke

Today my bb super active! She kicks me whole day even now still kicking!

Hi Samantha,
U so lucky! BB only kick at tat time. Mine kicks anytime she like especially when everyone is asleep. Lucky, I can sleep like a log.

Tell u all ah.. we will change our mindset as our kids grow. We want the best for them. I used to think like what you all are thinking now, let my kids enjoy their childhood years etc.. recently I enrolled my son in some enrichment classes. Though it's only from 9.30 am to 11 am, daily.. but tot he could learn and play at the same time rather than cooping at my in law's plc and learning nothing at all. hehe..

As for bb powder, I dun use it at all for ds cos saw somewhere tt it's not gd for bb, will trigger asthma.

My fren warn me not take any medication to relieve engorgement as the medicine will shrink our boobs.

wow so fast start talking abt enrichment class ar ... ladies really think far ahead ar heehee ....

eileenp ...

i bough the sling from moms in mind one .. but if you get from kiddy palace now ... got 20% off ... dun think there is such discount from MIM itself ....

vone ...

mine too ... he is very active at night oso ... esp when I am trying to zzzz ... not sure was it cos I was pressing against him thats why he protest by kicking ar ...

Wah.. I'm an A cup before pregnant, now also A cup leh. Hahaha... Still wearing my pre-preg bras.

For the kickings, my baby kicks at certain timing. Like when I wake up, then about 4pm, then about 9pm like that. Think the rest of the time he's sleeping.

just to ask u for those into 3rd trimester, are u easily get tired now? and anyone here hav wholedae sickness durin 1st trimester?

i had it during my 1st trimester n alwaz feel so slpy n tired...only after reach 15wks onward i feel my energy recuperate...

SeaBreeze,
I read from somewhere that when we are walking around in the day, there is a rocking rhythm, therefore, they tend to fall asleep easily during the day. Then when we are resting, they will wake up and start their kickboxing. Hahaha.

Hi Cat_tail, Vone, Samantha,

Ya my baby kicks mostly in the evening and at night. And when i sleep on my side, she is wriggling, like trying to adjust herself..so the whole night i am tossing and turning from left to right side just to accommodate her..oh no..does that mean she is a night baby also?

Hi Miso,

So what do you use in place of powder? Liquid
powder?

Hi Ixwong,
Ya i also heard that taking medicine for engorgement will harden the breast and make it shrink..

seabreeze, kiddy palace got sell sling meh?? how come i nvr c?? which branch did u c it at?? hehe... our boy boy r veri notti hor. if u change positions, does he still kick u?? mine does even though i change positions.

yvonne ...

think i am one of the worst suffer-er of the MS ... mine lasted for 2 tri .... in fact i couldn't work for almost 4-5 mths ... luckily i work in the public sector ... otherwise think i sure ganna sack one ....

i was vomiting so badly that i vomited blood ... had to do a scope to see whats wrong lor ... and always on a roller coaster ride ... one day good then the next day like SHIT ....

thats why when ppl ask me when I plan to have the second child ... I actually shiver at such tot cos my first 2 tri was TERRIBLE ... I need at least 2 years break before I will consider a second child ...

me only started shopping for stuff recently and trying to buy as much as possible ... very scared that my cond will roller coaster again *touchwood*

yvonne, i m now in my 3rd tri. yes, i do get tired veri easily. cannot stand or walk 4 2 long.
in my 1st tri, mine was whole day sickness. gosh, d thot of it still makes me shudder.

eileen, yes, i aso read tat. but mine doesn't seem 2 conform 2 tat theory.

mummytobe, seems like it. welcome 2 d club.

vone ... yap they do carry it ... you can always check at the counter ... of cos they do not have the full range ... like the latest silk one ... they dun carry ... but I think with the 20% discount i dun mind the 'normal' range lor ...

anyway the VCD is like a home-made VCD ... not v professional ... so dun have a too high expectation of it ....

eileenp ...

think so ... when I go shopping or what ... he is quite quiet ... but my tummy usually feel very tight when I walk too much or too fast ... do you ladies feel the same way too?

seabreeze, tks. will keep my eyes open big big when i go thr d nxt time.

4 me, mine feels veri heavy when i walked 2 much.

hi seabreeze
i also feel that my tummy gets a little stressed up when i walk too much or too fast. anyway, though i m at 26weeks, i am not as active as some preggies who can shop for more than 2 hrs. My tolerance level is 30-45mins, then i must rest cos my whole body feels like it is going to break down soon! better take precaution.

check with all of u, is your tummy low? mine like low, abit worried that it will go lower as the bb gets heavier.

I heard about the rocking rythmn theory as well. think it is quite true. my boy doesn't really move a lot during the day. only after lunch he moves a bit, but at night, when I watch TV, he starts to move and when I lie down to sleep, he also seem to "slide" to the side...hehe...So far, still enjoy his kicking.... feel more at ease when he kicks at usual pace.

Eileen, you still can wear your pre-preggie bras, then at least save some $$$...hehe
I changed mine to the mothercare maternity bra about 1 month ago. bra still a bit loose. think my A cup haven't successfully upgraded to cup B yet.

Hi seabreeze,
Mine condition during first month not that bad. just had a lot of stomach wind, don't feel like eating and always feel like vomitting (but nothing comes out). Symptoms gradually disappear in my 2nd trimester. but now, i am getting back my heartburn and stomach wind... feel bad again...just that no more feeling of vomitting. Now, I don't dare to eat a lot of non-easily digested things. A few nights before, I was eating rice dumpling....wow, it felt so bad. think I had too much stomach wind that I keep burping the whole night and my stomach is very tight. it is a nightmare ....

aidanee ...

mine is quite low according to my frens although my gynae keep telling me that mine is normal .... but i oso think its low when i compare my tummy to other preg woman .... think its our body structure ar ...

Hi aidanee,
I think my stamina so far is still quite good. I was outstationed last week and during weekend I shopped like for more than 8 hours....haha.... after that I got so scared because my boy did not move a lot... i think he got tired out.

My tummy is also low, but i remember my gynae tell me my placenta is now higher up (i used to have low lying placenta), so i guess should be alright.

samantha ...

me very careful with the type of food that I eat until my hubby finds me very boring to have meal with =p

I avoid durian oso ... nice to eat but at night really feels so terrible ... burping away the whole night and stomach full of wind ...

think in 3rd tri ... heartburn will come back ... cos baby getting bigger ... must take care ar ...

Hi mummytobe, I din use any powders at all. And also becos during tt time, was June, the hottest mth of the year.. so by applying powder, he will get rashes easily as the powder will clog. So I make do without.

Hi seabreeze, my tummy started to feel low too. It's normal.

Hi Seabreeze,
You same as me... can't eat too much durian too. Sometimes i just eat and suffer later. still very stubborn mah.
I am still in my 2nd tri and it's already coming back. think i just enjoyed 2 months of more comfortable preggie life.

Samantha ...

me still in 2nd tri too ... going to 27 weeks only .... think 2 to 3 more weeks then will exp the real effect of 3rd tri ....

thats why i keep telling everyone that I can't wait to give birth even though they tell me that I will miss my baby kicking inside me ...

SeaBreeze,
Yes, sometimes, after walking a while or when I get up from sitting for a while, my stomach feel like dropping. It was so uncomfortable that I had to hold on to my tummy.

May I ask what supplements are you all taking now?

many friends commented that mine is low for a 25weeker. maybe i got long body! hahaha..anyway, mine was low to begin with cos my implantation of sac was lower than normal.....so my 1st tri, i practically bed rested!

Hi miso, how old is your ds now?

my friends n relatives send their children to enrichment schools too. Some are as young as 6months old. I am not sure if i would do the same, but if you were to look at how much these kids progress in terms of their speech and social skills, it is so amazing.....not because these parents are kiasu, but they just want to provide the best to their kids (of course, if they have the means lah).

Guess, we wont know how till the day comes that we need to make assessment.

super busy since mid morning... sigh... so many pple on leave n mc...

i think i'm really one of the lucky few... no MS during 1st tri at all, no weight loss/gain until recent months... no medical problems... bb only active during day time...

no particular supplements except calcium, multi vits as prescribed by gynae, n fish oil...

Really dunno how I can survive without durains. Just had 2 boxes of it yesterday and gonna finish the 2 more boxes in the fridge tonight

The same goes for coconut. Been drinking coconut juice and eating the flesh throughout my pregnancy. Yummy, yummy! And then the coke and burger ... Only thing I have to bear is the constant nagging from my hubby. That day I was eating the coconut flesh when my hubby kept reminding me that it's too heaty and not to eat too much. I was so pissed off, I turn to him and say "If you not gonna stop nagging, I am going to get heat up!" Hahaha ...

This morning I was having bread when my hubby said "Baby not kicking you, right?" (baby always kicks when I am eating). I was so surprised how he guessed it correctly till he told me ... "Baby obviously doesn't like bread cos papa doesn't like it too". Hahaha ... I always 'force' my hubby to have bread with me you see. I love bread but can't finish one whole loaf myself!

These days my hubby sent me to work every day. Feel a little guilty. ERP comes up to $6.50 each time. Keep telling him that I can take a train but he always jumps up from bed when he sees me getting dressed.

Miso, wow...so fast hor...will you be bringing him to the party?

Ting Ting, you r really lucky. can have a few more...

Hi yvonne,
My stamina drops drastically after I enter into 3rd trimester. Can only walk for half ah hour & then need to rest for a while. Before tat, I still can walk liek feather now walking like penguin. So far no morn sickness from beginning until now heng~

Hi mummytobe,
Its kind of funny feeling when the bb wriggle around to make space during the nite..heehee..

Hi vone,
I saw the baby sling at Toa Payohs Kiddy Palace. Got 20% discount & the only set back is they dun carry full range. Colors also very limited.

Hi Seabreeze,
I still eat durians once a week. My MIL keep stuffing me these things & I just simply cant control it.. *slurps

Today this thread is really moving fast. Was out to shop at compasspoint today, weather is really hot!!! So no choice, me & hb went to CP to borrow aircon.. hehe...

Tingting, same same, i oso one of the lucky ones that suffered no vomitting during the 1st-tri. Still able to eat most of the things but gets tired very easily. Though at times will feel nausea but considering vomit every food intake, really lucky. I oso didnt really put on much weight only till i reach 3-tri. So far has reached the 10kg at week 31.

Mummytobe, dun give yrself too much pressure. in fact if u ask me if i'm excited, think time is still quite far so not much feelings..

Just went to look around for nursing bra, gosh i was telling my hb can't imagine me wearing tat for the next few months.. during my bf period.. no wired, no lace.. is juz a plain bra.. haiz

Hi tingting,
Then your bb must be very easy to take care! SO guai guai!

Ok, here's the latest update since there are no more follow up.

<font size="-1">
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>timie</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cmy</TD><TD>1st Aug</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lib</TD><TD>7th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chemistry</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>9th Aug</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>everafter</TD><TD>12th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>16th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummytobe</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulip</TD><TD>19th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>20th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD>GEH/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>23rd Aug</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>26/27th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>28th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>29th Aug</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>30th Aug</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anissa</TD><TD>3rd Sept</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>4th Sept</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aidanee</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>christina</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ilmare</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne</TD><TD>11th Sept</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Samantha</TD><TD>12th Sept</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ameliaa</TD><TD>13th Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>seabreeze</TD><TD>13th Sept</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoopy</TD><TD>17th Sept</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinkcitron</TD><TD>18th Sept</TD><TD>MAH/MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eileenp</TD><TD>29th Sept</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>
<font color="0000ff"> Boy = 16 </font>
<font color="ff0000"> Girl = 13 </font>