(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Greetings from a cold South Africa.

Have any of you had the flu since you are pregnant? I am 29 weeks and I am down with a very bad cough, nasal congestion, fever, ear ache and my whole body feels it's gonna fall apart. My doc gave me Pennicillan. Is this ok? Also, bb seems to be moving so much more since I am sick, anybody know why? I am really worried here..

hi newmumsa, long time nvr c ur postings oledi. gosh... ur flu sounds serious. u better hv more rest & drink lots of water. did ur gynae gave u pencilin?? if so, then i tink it shld b okie. if ur bb is moving, then i tink it's a gd sign. dun worry so much abt it. jus concentrate on getting well okie. u take care!!

hi newmumsa,
don't worry too much, if your medicine is given by your gynae, i'm sure its safe to eat
take care and get well soon.
As for baby movement, its normal as we approach later stage, baby will become more and more active, that's what my gynae told me, my girl has been kicking and moving alot. But if the space gets smaller near our EDD, baby will have lesser space to move.

morning! weather's been really stuffy n humid these days... have to keep ourselves cool n well-hydrated.. i find myself showering twice per day during weekends... if u think using too much shower gel can dry ur skin, either buy the moisturising type or just use water for your "extra" showers. I boil either chrysanthemum or barley during weekends. Good time to drink coconut juice too!

sunday went to kiddy palace to buy the bb cot... will be coming next week...
recently made a lot of purchases... really heart pain! we've spent so much over the weekend, and most of it are on bb stuff...

i couldn't find the avent disposable storage bags in kiddy palace yesterday... think they've sold out already... hopefully they'll replenish stocks soon... anyone knows where they're available?

not quite sure whether will be buying the breast shields cum shells... maybe wait till there's a need then send hb to buy... must show him the pic so that he won't get the wrong thing! haha...

this weekend i shall aim to reorganise my kitchen cabinets so that bb supplies can be stacked properly...

Thanks Vone and Reenie for the kind wishes.

My Gp gave it to me. I am only going to be able to call my Gynae later this morning. At what stage will they send you to hospital for flu?

tingting, wat a concidence. i aso went kiddy palace on sun. but didn't buy anything. was 2 tired & cldn't made up my mind abt wat & which 1 2 buy.
u take care not 2 over exert urself when u r reorganising okie. stop if u feel 2 tired.

i m aso starting 2 clear space in my hse 2 put bb's stuff. i jus reorganised my wardrobe yesterday nite. but tink i reorganised 2 late at nite, so my mind was veri 'active', was veri tired physically, but i can't get 2 sleep. oni managed 2 sleep at abt 2am, but woke up at 5am.
now feeling veri tired.

newmumsa, if u dun feel okie, then chk wif ur gynae okie. i feel tat they r in a better position 2 advise us at tis stage. dun tink tat they wld send u 2 d hosiptal, unless it's a real emergency eg, u r unable 2 hold ur liquids down, etc. so u dun worry so much okie.

mmm, ok, thanks vone.

anyway, i am gonna get back into bed. it's only 5:55am here. feeling really weak now. hope to catch up with you all again soon.

take care of yourselves and those bundles of joy growing inside you...till next time then.

Wow Snoopy, u sounded like touch & go in Sin leh.. Enjoy yr trip.. Good to travel now b4 yr bb pops out next time u will not be so Free & Easy.

Yes Vone, like tat magazine very much, even demanded my hb to read that.. I called to the magazine the other day, they said if u sign up online u will get 3mths free subscription, dunno how true...

Hi newmumsa, long time no see u online.. Hope things are fine at yr side.. Do take good care of yrself & yr little one..

Reenie & all MTBS attending the gathering, seems like this gathering is a great hit,.. Looking forward for that day yar..

hi vone,
do rest well and sleep early tonite
i have been waking up around 4am these 2 days to pee, after tat cannot sleep.....eyes open wide like gold fish. I am also feeling tired in the day time, i wish weekends comes soon! i told my hubby i got no energy to unpack all the stuffs after shifting in.. just unpack those essential ones.

hi vone, i also went kiddy's late evening, abt 8 plus.. had wanted to buy more stuff in addition to the cot, but forgot to bring shopping list in my haste... :p hb n i earlier agreed to buy a lower-end cot, but at the shop itself he was attracted to another one that costs $100 more... had to argue n rationalise all over again n by the time we placed our order, i was too tired to check out other items... will prob pop by another day to shop for the rest...

hey, remember our shopping date? msg me to set a date k?

Yar Cant imagine tat thr are so many preggies meeting.. hehe.. btw, gals i also got a friend EDD in aug, not in this thread, if she interested can she join in too?

lib, really?? i didn't noe tat. anyway, i went 2 register at d website. but nothing was mentioned.

reenie, tks. will try 2 sleep early tonite.
dun bothered so much abt unpacking. leave all d hard work 2 ur hb okie. jus make sure tat ur boxes r labelled properly so tat u can find wat u wan.

tingting, oh, i went in d afternoon, after visiting ikea. was a bit disappointed wif ikea's choice of bb cots. but d high chair & bb bathtub was cheap. might consider buying tat. ya, i remembered. will try 2 meet up wif u soon.

lib, ur fren is most welcome.

I oso didnt see it from the webby, vone.. according to the lady whom i spoke to tat day.. WEll..anyway if u register online, thr is still some free gift.

Thx.. will ask her if she keen to join us..

Hi Vone,

How much is the ikea bath tub? does it have a drainage plug/stopper at the base of the tub? i haven't bought a bathtub yet..the mothercare ones look very nice but so expensive! ($89) and the kiddy palace ones are too big and no non-slip padding inside..sigh, bathtub also so many choices tsk tsk

btw, do you ladies have the feeling that you are squashing your baby sometimes? Now i must sit straight all the time..if i bend or hunch over my stomach, baby will kick or wriggle the area under my boobs (where i hunch over) think her legs are under my boobs area heh ..wah i cannot tahan leh..like when eating or working on computer, sure lean forward one mah

Hi Vone,

Yah, my skin seems sensitive leh... was out for lunch just now and now sweating so badly again. Can't imagine the one month confinement.

Newmumsa,
Take care of yourself. Should be ok to take medicine from GP. My gynae always says that for minor aliments, can go to GP. They will know what to give you. Generally, they gave milder medicine that make you drowsy.

lib, okie, tks, will chk it out. i hv registered oledi, now waiting 4 d free gift.

mummytobe, it's oni $12, but it comes oni in blue. it's jus a plastic tub, so dun hv drainage plug/stopper. but it's got non-slip lines inside d tub, so can save on buying a non-slip mat. u can c d pic here: http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/product_display.asp?id=159 i agree wif u on mothercare & kiddy palace's bathtubs. tat's y i find ikea's bathtub is veri gd value 4 $$.

ya, i aso hv tat feeling 2. our bb is veri 'stringent on our sitting positions hor.

samantha, me aso. i honestly dun tink i can tahan my 1 mth confinement. hope tat it either rains everyday or d weather is cooling.

Hi mummytobe, i bought my bathtub from Kiddy palace, about S$25 comes wif a support stand. with drainage as well (white with blue)

For ladies who are giving birth in Mount A, thr is a free bath tub given to u... is green in colour

speaking of bathtubs, does anyone know what is the loading weight of a vanity top? was contemplating placing the bathtub on the vanity top so that it's easier to bathe bb... my bathroom no place for a stand leh...

Hi tingting,

i was also wondering the same thing..but in the end, i think we will just put the bath tub on the floor, sit on a small stool and wash the baby. That way, safer for the baby also i think..

tingting, i was planning 2 do wat mummytobe is doing. tink it's not so taxing on us when we bathe our bb.

Thanks vone, yvonne and Samantha for your advise. I'll try applying moisturiser tonight. Have been applying medicated oil thinking it will work.

Hi Cat_tail, how did you do the pic thingy? I tried to copy the address over but ended up as a html. Hehehe...

Hi newmumsa,
So sorry to hear tat u r sick, pls get well soon. As for Pennicillan, it's safe to eat but try not to exceed the recommended intake amount.

I haven't buy a bathtub yet. Was quite tempted to buy the nappy changing table cos I can change my baby's nappy, bath & store all the necessary items. Somemore my bathroom is really damn small. Now still pondering..

Oh yah,
I went to Ikea too last Sat. Wanted to buy some bb stuff but in the end bot others. The cot tat u all mentioning is the one tat cost abt $339? I just find it too much to pay for. :p

Hi mummytobe,
My baby keeps on wriggling & kicking me from the whole morn until now. Dun noe why, but she's just getting very active nowadays.

Hi Reenie,

I've been waking up at about 4am these 2 days as well. Couldn't sleep after that. Due to the itchy feet.

The Ikea bathtub looks good. Think I will get that too.

Got to save the image as jpeg in yor harddisk & then upload attachment. Too bad, here have to go the long winded way
290707.jpg

hmm, ok.. i also think it's safer to put the tub on the floor, but bcos my bathroom has a glass shower stall the area is quite cramped... may have to put up some hooks for the towels n toiletories within reach then... but until the umbilical cord drops off, i think i wont be bathing him... just do the top n tail cleaning (hope i got the name right.. it's the one when we use the cotton balls to clean the face n limbs)

btw, i was looking at books teaching us how to bathe the bb... do we need to rinse the baby bath lotion off? if we're using the tub, not possible to change the water right?

eileen, medicated oil can oni help 2 stop d itch temporarily. u must go 2 d root of d prob & solve it.

seabreeze, me 2.

cat_tail, i m aso tempted 2 buy d changing table. some more i find d ikea 1 is quite cheap. still tinking abt it. ya. tat's d 1 which i saw. veri ex hor. tink i can get cheaper 1 in kiddy palace.

Hi tingting,
So far the brand I am aware of tat need not rinse off is Johnson Top to Toe. Am getting one.

Hi vone,
If u r looking at baby cot, can get from Robinson, it's cheaper! They sell at $219 & can be convertable to bed.

vone,
Hmm... Initially, thought something wrong with my feet. Cause it was itchy and I couldn't seem to scratch the right places. That's why have been suffering for a couple of days already. I will try your method tonight.
Thanks for the advise.

let me try again ...

yap couting down everyday ler .... everyone was telling me that very fast I will see him ... but I was telling everyone that to me its quite a drag ... how I wish that time will just FLY ....

290716.jpg

cat_tail ...

me go and take a look again ... the only one I saw is the fruity one .... maybe its meant for the older kids lar ....

290722.jpg

cat_tail, yeah, true.

seabreeze, d 1 which u r tinking abt is 4 kids. it works like a normal shower gel. personally i dun really like d smell. u chk out d other 1.

Dear ladies,

I read from the other thread that Robinsons having a good deal on BabySafe Mattress. Original price $169, got 25%+5% discount, so costs only $120 in the end for Robinson member. Those interested may want to check it out.

I'll not be getting any changing table/bathtub stand. Have gotten a small stool so that can bath bb on floor.

vone ...

dunno ler ... me read from the due in june thread ... most of them getting the johnson one ... my fren's SIL oso recommended the johnson one .... so I think I will just follow the crowd lor ....

anyway those you who are buying the pampers premium NB for standby ... the cheapest I find so far is Sheng Siong @ $15 ... Kiddy selling @ $15.60 and NTUC @ $15.40