(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi rennie

Once you are in your third trimester or 6th month onwards, your company cannot fire you WITHOUT a very very good reason. If they do, you can bring it up to MOM and ask them to ask for your maternity benefits, ie 3 months salary.

Now with the government so pro-creation, I am sure your company is also aware that they can't juz fire a pregnant at any whim and fancy.

hi girls and reenie

found this on MOM website

If my employer dismisses me during my pregnancy, will I still be entitled to my maternity benefits? What if I think I was unfairly dismissed?

If the notice of dismissal is carried out without sufficient reason within the 3 months before your delivery, your employer is still required to pay you the maternity benefits.
In the case of a dispute, you should first talk to your employer to understand the reason for dismissal. If you think that you have been unfairly dismissed, you should seek the union's help (if you belong to a union) or legal help. You may also submit an appeal to the Minister for Manpower within 2 months from the date of childbirth.

Unless employer's reason is very strong, they can't anyhow fire. My ex-boss told me that in Hong Kong, companies cannot fire a pregnant employee once the employee inform employer of her pregnancy.

reenie, can understand your worries, there are a lot of uncertainties. try not to let the management's decision affect you. angel is right, its very very unethical to dismiss preggies. so hang on there...

cheer up k. your new flat is about to be ready, u get to decorate the nursery. and ur parents will be around for you, everyone must be pretty excited about the bb's arrival. there are a lot of things to be happy about! *hugs*

hi angel and seabreeze,
actually in my case, this is not applicable cos' i am under contract terms, when they decided not to renew my contract, they can easily walk off without any problem. Thanks so much for your advices and concerns...huggies.

hi reenie

I think you might be entitled to maternity benefits even if you are in a one-year contract. I read somewhere in a magazine displayed at my gynae waiting room that even if the maternity clause is being omitted or phrase unfavourably in the contract, you might still be entitled.

Best to check with MOM. Don't miss out on the 3 months salary if you are entitled.

hi chris,
u are right, i am trying to think outside of job, especially now i am pregnant. Don't want this to affect my baby nor myself or family
HUGGIES.

hi reenie, that's right! glad to c a smiley face in your post! you're a strong gal, with all the bb luck everything will work out fine for us =)

hi seabreeze,
actually i should be notify by August, or late July. So right now, its all up to the management.

hi angel,
my contract terms are entitled to maternity leaves, however the HR told me that it can only be claim unless i am still with the company, else all benefit will ceased from the day my contract ends or no longer with the company.

reenie ...

true nothing is more important now then to take care of ourselves so that we deliver to a healthy and happy baby ...

hi reenie

That's the right attitude. I was pretty sad when my company decided to convert me to part-time after hearing of my pregnancy. I was 10 or 12 wks pregnant then. After that, it was difficult negotiating maternity terms with them and I almost threw in my resignation letter.

My ex-boss (now good friend) counselled me and told me that regardless what happen, my bb is my priority and I should be happy and grateful that I have a bb growing inside me. She told me to juz turn up for the days I am suppose to be at work, do whatever tasks assigned to me and in no time I will be on maternity leave. After that, I can then submit my resignation and look for another job.

reenie, thats not fair!!!! dun they dare terminate you or all the mummies to be here will write a petition and mah loo your company in straits times!

do u have any colleagues who got pregnant and came back?

reenie, my advise to you is check with MOM. Faxed them a copy of your contract and ask for their advise. Don't just listen to your HR as your company HR is acting for your company and not for you.

It will not take you very long to find out from MOM whether you are entitled or not. If you are entitled, then you can set your heart at rest.

reenie

when are you due? if you are due 1st week of August, maybe can ask your gynae if can induce by end of July. It's not a problem if babies are born 3 weeks before due date. Most of my friend give birth 3 weeks earlier for their first child. One even gave birth 6 weeks early. All children born are healthy and intelligent.

If you go on maternity leave BEFORE they have a chance to speak to you then you are entitled to the benefits. :eek:)

reenie don't think so much ya, most importantly is to stay positive for our bb sake. I know it's not easy but at the end of the day, having a bb is really not easy and not everyone has the chance to conceive, so it's really more important than any other thing at this moment. Take gd care and we are here for you ya.

Christina, tks for yr sms! Sorry, just now was pretty tied up. Ya hope my tooth will get better. sigh.
yr dream very cute leh, don't worry, yr hubby will be back yr side one lah. =P wah, u watch CSI, me like to watch those 'bimbo' type of shows, e.g. desperate housewives and sex and the city!! ekekkeek...

hi seabreeze
yup, nothing is more important than my baby now...so i am trying my best to stay positive..i have talked to my hubby about it too, certainly feel much better to talk it out.

hi angel,
its really nice of your company to still give maternity benefits even u are part-time with them, my case, its a big "NO" throw to me after i asked. They just say "sorry, once your contract ends, all benefits will ceased since we are no longer able to pay u".
i guess its true we should be grateful that a baby is growing inside us and it certainly brings me more strength and will to carry on....if i am not renew, i will just have to look for another job after my one month confinement. Life goes on

hi chris,
some perm staff did come back to work after their confinement, but i am not sure after those contract like mine case, cos' my group are mainly make up of males and those females are very quite young and new to here.

girls,
i am so touched by all the concerns and advices.....without you all, i don't know who else to share this feeling with, especially we are all mummies to be. Many thanks...

angel,
my due date is end of August! haahahahah...guess i won't have the chance to do it :p Anyway, i prefer my baby to come out when she's ready....she is more important than anyting else

reenie, no prob, we're all here for each other. i've my ups and downs too. hope your management gives u a positive answer soon so you dont have to live with the stress. meantime, enjoy the bb's remaining months in our tummy! i think i'm gonna miss the kicks when mine comes out.

erowen, i love watching sex and the city too...it was the only thing that kept me sane when i was staying in the States. i went through a vintage dresses phase because of the show! caught a few episodes of desperate housewives but have to give the show up because dh dun like...so end up watching csi instead heheh.

take care, no more sweet pastries for u for the next few days!

erowen, just remembered a funny incident. i was in JB and wanted to get the box dvd set for sex and the city. my FIL was around and told the guy to show me the porn collection. soooo mah looooo!!!! we were in the secret chamber surrounded tonnes of porn dvd. dunno whether to think that my FIL is narrow minded for thinking that sex & d city is pornography or that he's so kai fan...kekekek

hi angel, the kiddy palace price of pigeon steriliser $87 is before or after the 20% discount? aiyah, too late for me.. i just bought the steriliser at Robinson's today.. they are selling at $87 so i just bought it without much thinking... think cannot possibly compare so many places... can't walk that much already.. :p btw, Robinson's sale is until this weekend.. saw the avent express steriliser selling at $119, with some freebies thrown in. My pigeon one comes with 200ml bottle cleaning liquid & 2 small sized feeding bottles. Will get the avent manual breast pump at kiddy's palace cos still the cheapest so far.. they have quite a lot of items on sale.. go check it out...

reenie, hope you'll have a favourable outcome to your work issues... try not to let it affect your bb... we can't predict all things, just have to best manage them the way we can... cheer up!

just came back from my gynae visit today. bb is already at 1.4kg! wow! and that's normal! according to my gynae, BHC will not lead to preterm labour. Also, bb is actually in vertical position though we tend to feel kicks/punches at our sides. Can instead imagine bb to be moving their arms n legs sideways

hello tingting

The pigeon steriliser sold in kiddy palace cost $87 before discount and it also comes with a cleanser and 2 bottles. I opened up the box to see the inside of the steriliser on Sunday.

wah.. yr bb is so heavy liao. how many wks are you now? I read that bb boys will be heavier than bb girls.

I am really clueless on handling the bb after she is born so I am going to buy, What to expect during the 1st year.

hi angel, i heard thats a good book. i've been reading What To Expect When You're Expecting. How's your driving classes getting along?

tingting, your ankles better oredi? your bb is so heavy liao. may i know how much u weigh now? just to get myself prepared when my bb weighs that heavy heheh...i agree with you on bb buys, think we'll get some good bargains and some not-so-good ones. im lazy to go to so many places to hunt for the best deal oso...cost time and money for travelling.

Hi mummytobe/ hoshi, my sis said the hospital will provide us with a pack of the loop maternity pads so we might want to buy one more pack to to stand by. She told me actually it was the nurse who help her to tie the pad around her as after delivery she was just simply too tired, and also dun knw how to wear the pad. She herself din bring any string, can ask it from the nurses.

Talking abt GTT test, I did mine when I was ard 22 weeks. I have to fast from 10pm the day before and reached the lab by 8.30am. They will actually take the blood and urine 1st, then provide you with a bottle of glucose. It taste like those normal orange soft drinks, just that it is 5 to 6 times sweeter. You have the option to choose between normal room temperature or chilled. My advise is to take the chilled drink because the room temperature version really taste horrible!!! I almost puke after a few sips. We have to finish the drink within 15 mins and make sure you dun vomit because if you do, will have to come back and redo another day. After that, the nurse will tell you to wait for one hr before they will take your urine and your blood. We are not allowed go shopping or walk ard as increase in actitives will burn off the sugar and the test wouldn't be accurate. So pls do bring a book to kill the waiting time. In total, we will have to take 3 blood and urine test with a gap of 1 hr each. So total time taken will be abt 2.5 - 3hrs. Hope this helps!

allo christina

I haven't started on my driving yet. I booked all my lessons at Ubi driving centre only starting 2 June because that's their first available empty slot. My tummy is bigger compared to my tummy then at the time I signed up so I really wonder how I can learn driving with a huge tummy.. hehe

christina, I am also reading 'what to expect when you are expecting'.. good book! Very informative!! As this book doesn't have many pictures, I bought another job which go by month or weeks (can't remember) just for the pictures.. hehe

angel, i heard from some mummies that we can buy a seatbelt extender for preggies. i'm looking for one too, if i do find any, i'll let u know. take care, drive slow and dun kan cheong k....just take ur time. have fun at your lessons!

angel, my dh calls that book my bible. it seems to be able to answer every question that i have...now that book a bit kiam chye liao. hahahha.... i dun dare to c pictures of actual delivery, thats y i'm sticking to the book instead. nowadays i'm quite lazy to read and have been using it as a coaster =P

christina, yr book kiam chye ah.. my book still v new but I flipped it all the time. Maybe not as much as u.. hehe I have amniotic band but I can't find it in the book. :eek:( Maybe it's really that rare.

hi angel, thanks. guess i bought a more expensive steriliser.. :p but i have the $5 discount voucher as a card member, plus some little discount on bill... well, at least the "loss" isn't that much...haha... v Ah Q hor?

hi christina, thanks. ankle's much better, but still on ankle guard to stabilise it..

i've so far gained 11kg.. at 61kg now.. a bit scary, but at least for the last month i only gained about 2kg, which is normal rate.. hopefully it stays that way...think out of this 2kg, about 600g is on bb weight.. then maybe some on placenta etc.. hopefully not much on me! but then i'm guilty of ice-cream binges so hehe... somehow i can't feel stomach getting full.. i'm now in 29 weeks.

am thinking of getting a book to read too... but dunno what to get? I saw the "What to expect" book, but it seems v wordy... like a dictionary? looks difficult to plough through...

angel, think the practical test queue is quite long... my friend just registered for his test date, and it's end Oct... he's queuing for the auto car test...

Hi Chemistry,
nono.gif
those leftover diaper from the hospital may only last you for a few days if you r BF yr NB. Cos if u BF yr NB, you don't be surprise tat u have to change the diaper almost every feed..

Erowen.. yes i will be giving birth in TMC. According to the nurses.. we need not pack aniting for our NB during the stay. However, I will still pack the brand new set of clothings which my hb bought for the bb when discharge.. Dunno wats the taboo.. but juz follow lor.. Not too sure on how many diapers to use per day.. some friends don't use that many cos bb on formula milk, some friends said 1 pkt of drypers (S) can only last them about 10 days.

Hey Ix, Yes safely said i'm 95% done wif my shopping liao.. except for my bb's mattress & beansprout pillow which i have ordered from beansprout.com and has yet to see the artwork.. Carseat right, i have 2 friends using Pierre CArdin carseat selling ard S$150 at John Little only. According to them, this carseat can use it from NB up to a certain age..

Hi Reenie, sorry to hear abt yr company. Remembered, i was asked to leave when my company knew tat i was preganat? and i even wrote a letter to our Dear Prime Minister. As far as i know from the MOM is we are still entitled to the maternity benefits if 1) we have worked 180 days for this company 2) 3 mths b4 due.. but tink u still have to call MOM to double-confirmed.

** btw, juz side-tracked.. the beansprout pillow is meant to act as a YA4 Jing4 effect. Cos young bb tends to get frightened easily during their sleep. With the pillow yr bb will get to feel more "secured" in the sense.. Anyway.. later yr bb can use it to be their chou chou..

ting2
yeah the book is quite wordy, but just scan thru & read the parts that u're really concerned with.. eg i skip the parts abt smoking during pregnancy coz that doesn't apply to me.

christina, wat a concidence. tat's 1 of d shows tat hb wld watch together wif me aso.

reenie, i m sorry 2 hear of ur problems at wk. but dun worry or tink so much okie. i always believe tat gd things will follow after tat. if u r feeling sad, do come in & talk 2 us okie. *hugz*

tingting, wow... ur bb is really big now. can't imagine if mine is at tat weight. i m pretty breathless these days carrying my 800g bb oledi.

gd morning all pretty mummies to be...

kathy,
thanks for the info on GTT. i gog for GTT next mth.... ;o| kinda worry...dunno watz will happen to my result...

tingting,
im not sure the BHC will lead to preterm labour or not. but my gynae said it will lor...so, she gave me some contraction pill to take whenever i hav my BHC... ;o(

did anyone here can see ur bb's hand print or foot print on tummy?

im now into my 25wkz, can only feel my bb's kickin but cant see any from the tummy... my tummy is still very small...like only 4mthz preggie....

morning yvonne, dun worry abt d GTT, tink ur gynae jus wanna make sure tat everything is okie wif u & bb.
i hvn't seen bb's hand or foot print yet. looking 4ward 2 seeing it.

Morning gals.

yvonne, my sis says tat if we are tested positive for gestational diabetics, then we will have to prick our finger 2 times a day to check the glucose level. And we will have to stick to a strictly controlled diet... very mah fun one... a lot of things also cannot eat...

vone, i also didn't see my bb's hand/foot print. But I noticed tat my stomach 'tilted' to the right side once, making it very unbalanced... hehe.. dunno if it's the head or the butt tat shifted.... kkeke...

Vone & hoshi, thankz...

i started my "controlled diet" ever since my gynae told my hubby tat i need to go for GTT...now my hubby band me from eating too much starchie stuff like rice, chip ...n desert...n ice cream n chocolate! ;o(

dunno why i hav the cravin for ice cream ever since i started my 2nd trimester! b4 preggie i seldom take it...but now...only can see ice cream but i cannot eat!! ;o(

yvonne, i also have craving for ice-cream... esp Magnum!!... haha... everytime after dinner my hubby will bring me out for a walk... so, everytime walk walk, want to eat ice-cream coz very hot mah.. now, dun dare to go for walks already.... haha..

Gals, now that we are into (or almost) 3rd trimester, do u feel more and more tired?... I felt so tired nowadays as though back to 1st trimester days... always feel like sleeping. Or could it be coz of lack of proper sleep at night?..

hello girls

i am v happy today!! My hubby coming back from Beijing tonight!!! yay~~ *dance around*

Although he will be going to BJ again to train the new manager once he/she is on board but it will be max 1 or 2 weeks and I've told him that he can't travel in August as it is close to my due date liaoz. My hubby doesn't sound v happy that I restricted his travelling but dun care la.. He will definitely regret if he is not around to witness the birth of his first child so I am trying to prevent that from happening.. hehe

is 25wkz into 3rd trimester? i hav been feelin tired ever since i preggie...not so hyperactive/energetic as compare to last time...

hoshi, i tink it aso depends on d severity of d diabetics. my ex boss's wife had 2 inject herself 3x/day in order 2 control it. so terrifying.
really ah, ur tummy is tilted 2 d rite side. so funny. mine looks okie, but it looks huge 2 me. but my colleague who's abt 4 mths preggie, her tummy is bigger than min. gosh...

yvonne, u can take those ice cream which does not contain a lot of sugar. 1 of my fav is d 1 sold at tangs' basement. yum yum...
3rd tri is fr 28 wks onwards. but since u r going into 3rd tri, u tend 2 feel more tired.

angel, so happy 4 u!!

tingting, you're right. its kinda wordy. i used the book only when problem arises. in short, i used it like a dictionary...go straight to the index section, then find my needs. if u like to c pictures, i wun recommend the book.

angel, glad that ur dh is coming home!!! i'm restricting my dh's travel in sept oso and he's quite disappointed about it...men har, can be so career minded sometimes.....

hoshi, i can have as many as 10 magnums in my freezer!! the magnum boys will come to my flat, gimme the doe eye look and we'll end up buying lots. my fav past time is to watch csi and eat ice cream hehehehheh...looks like we all have the same cravings!

Hi Yvonne, dun worry too much abt the GTT, usually the chances are higher if you have diabetics history in the family. For me, my mum had diabetics and my sis too, during her pregnancy. So my gynae and hubby actually send me for GTT very early. Lucky my result turned out fine, but I also try to cut down on sugar stuffs after my sis told me what she went thro' during her pregnancy. Everyday she have to prick her finger twice to check for sugar level and kept to a very strict controlled diet. She loves ice-cream and coke during her pregnancy but for the whole five mths, she was totally on a sugar-less diet. Even for biscuits, she can only eat those made frm wheat, not even those plain flour biscuits. Her gynae warned her if the diet is still not able to control her condition, then she will have to inject herself 3x everyday to bring the sugar level down.*Scary* Lucky for her, her diet is good enough to control eventually.
Angel...really envy you that your hubby is back tonite. My hubby has been away for the past 2 weeks, and sometimes can't help feeling a bit lost. Esp these days when my back is really aching like hell. Wished he's ard to give me a good massage but gotta wait for another 2 weeks....sian. I also warned him not to travel during August when I'm due for deliver, if not I will disappear with the bb...hehe...

allo kathy

don't envy me la.. my hubby went to BJ for 3 months leh!! I went to visit him 1.5 mths ago for 2.5 weeks... hehe. 2 weeks will pass v fast, hang in there.

Seems like most of our hubby need to travel for biz and almost all of us restricted our hubby travel in a way.. so I am not alone. hehe

hi ladies, any of you got swelling/bloated feet huh? A colleague saw my swelling feet and told me it's strange to swell so early.. usually is nearer to delivery date. She ask me to inform gynae. Is it true? I thot this is norm? actually I feel no pain and din even notice until pple told me... Anyone in 20+ week got swell in foot?

Thanks Angel...Wow! 3 mths is a long time! I dun knw what I will do if its my hubby. You are a very strong mummy : )

Hi Cakey, I just experience my 1st swelling last week when I was 26 weeks. I went to my gynae on Wed and ask him abt that and he said its normal to have swelling around this time. Swelling is due to poor blood circulation and water retention. Usually happen when one sit too much or walk too much. Just lift up your legs whenever you can, esp when sleeping at night.

Kathy,
Glad to hear that it's normal... cos I ask another colleague whom also say 'adnormal'... i tried before to lift my legs during sleep but it's not 'shun4 jiao3' if i'm sleeping sideway..
Also not enuff pillow liao.. 2pillows beneath my head, one at side, 1 boster at the other side and now maybe need to add one more beneath leg... wow... hubby gonna 'say' me again hehe..