(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Thanks gals....hubby had been away for 10 days, and will be back tomorrow. just feel alittle down these few days...no one to talk to in my inlaw's family....

Sorry to affect your happy moods here.

Christina, i hope you are feeling better today. Take care!

christina, tat's wat happened to me aso. luckily mine occurred in the early hrs, so i 'ren' til 9am 2 c my gynae. he initially suspected premature labour, so prescribed medicine & bed rest 4 me. but d pain came back a few days later, tat's when he suspected appendicitis, was referred 2 a specialist. luckily after monitoring 4 a few days, d specialist ruled tat out. as i still hv d pain on & off, i was told 2 monitor d situation. u hv lots of rest & dun over exert urself. u take care okie.

aidanee, dun tink so much. if u r feeling down, can always come in & chit chat wif us okie.

cakey, same here... tat explains our sudden explosion in weight gain... haha... not too sure whether will attend the ceremony... do u think we can fit into the gown?... haha... for u, maybe can lah, coz u so small-built...
I think shld be quite ok for normal delivery, juz need to take care, and maybe like wat u told ur MIL, cut down on tonics lor..

christina, do take care... $$ gone never mind, coz baby is safe and sound... treat it as 'po4 chai2 xiao1 zai1' lor... do rest more okie?

samantha, the recommended weight gain is 10-12kg.. tat's wat my sis told me coz she's a paedetrician dietician at NUH... so it shld be quite accurate. the booklets one may be more for ang-mos size, etc..

Thanks thanks vone, reading your msg got me so emotional....is this what they call pregnancy blues? I am feeling much better now. Sometimes dun know y feel abit lost and insecure.maybe i really think too much!

thanks again....i shouldnt allow this to affect anyone, esp my bb!

Long time very post in this thread already. Time really pass very fast, me 29 weeks liao put on about 6.5kg. Baby is est 1kg during the scan last week. My gynae start arranging me to see him every fortnight liao. Me start to feel the day coming real soon!

Hi Lib,

Do u think Petpet "S" is too big for newborn? I bot i pack during JL sales and was wondering if there is a need to buy NB size? Most hospital will give us 1 pack of NB size, right?

Hi hoshi,

Since your sis is a pd dietician, can check with her which brand of infant formula is good? Tot of getting a small can to standby in case breast milk not enough. I see so many brands on the shelf and price can vary really very widely! Check their content and seem that the main diff is on the amount of DHA.

Hi christina/vone,

Take care and rest well.

aidanee, sometimes i aso feel down. so wat i did was 2 do something which i like, eg surfing d forum, reading, watching tv, etc. d most impt thing is 2 keep urself happy. remember if u r feeling unhappy, u'll affect ur bb in some way okie.

chemistry, tks 4 ur concern.

hi mummytobe, cakey has answered your question on my behalf

my BHC is not that serious as some of you have described, but i find myself having loose stools more frequently... not sure whether it's bcos of diet or effect of pregnancy...

oh btw, remember to walk more carefully now that we've got extra weight on us. remember that i sprained my ankle last week? it's still in healing process today, n reason why it's taking so long is bcos of our additional weight, plus we are prone to get swelling at this stage. So try not to hurt ur ankle n take care.

hi all, thanks for your concern. im still in pain but at least not hunching like an old lady anymore. vone, so scary right? im glad that u shared your experience with me...my pregnancy now seems to have more hiccups leh, probably moving into the 3rd tri, thats y....cramps lah, swollen feet lah....im scared to tell my hubby sometimes in case he thinks that i'm mah fan....

aidanee, i completely understand what u're going through. my hubby has to travel 2 weeks a mth for work. hang on there, tomorrow can see hubby liao!!! hope he has bought lotsa pressies for u!!

I was 26 weeks at my last gynae check-up. Put on 6kg so far and baby weighs 800g. Now going into 28 weeks and will be due for checkup again 2 weeks later. My gynae did not comment on my wt gain cos I'm on the bigger side (1.66m), was 59kg now 65 kg liao.

I'm also starting to put together all the must-buys. Left some more items to go. Good that sales are going on at so many places. But must wait till hubby is back next week to have someone carry my shopping bag..

Hi Christina and Vone,
pls take care and rest well.

hello girls

my gynae told me that smaller-built girls will gain more weight than bigger-built girls during pregnancy. He said that for my size, I should gain approximately 15kg!!!!

I think he is quite right as I am approaching 26wks and already gained 9kg with no extra meals/snacks. I ate only my normal meals at normal portions.

Wonder where all the weight come from??

aidanee, dun worry 2 much. think all the preggies will face tiz problem "BHC" just a matter of sooner or later... for me i guess it is bcoz of constipation tatz cause the BHC for me... gynae gave me the ventolin med 2...to be taken 3 timez a dae if i hav BHC...

the way she described to me like very scary will cause premature labor...but i tell myself n bb, we will be fine and bb will be healthy... hee....silly right...

so, be positive gal!

Hi Angel,

We are the same! I am at wk 26 & I had already gained 9kg with normal 3 meals only.
Now my back is aching everyday .... *sigh

tingting, u take care & dun walk so much k.

christina, i can imagine how u feel. it's so terrifying coz u dun noe wat's going on. luckily my gynae is veri reassuring, so i can rest assured. u dun worry so much k. jus monitor d situation & feedback 2 ur gynae whenever u go 4 ur chkup. dun worry abt mah funing ur hb, i dun tink he wld find u a bother. sometimes it's gd 2 talk 2 him abt it okie. i always tell my hb abt how i feel. at least thr's some1 2 share my worries.

ixwong, tks 4 ur concern.

Sob Sob** Seabreeze, Vone, Christina, Yvonne, thanks for the encouragement. Very touched!

usually i am quite independent cos hubby travels very often in a month...but this 2 weeks, feel abit funny leh....

Tomorrow will be a better day....going back soon...will take a hot shower and rest!

Thanks gals, have a great evening!

Hi Christina, pls do take care. No wonder, Snoopy sms juz now to say tat u r on bed rest. U may wan to try the following methods:
1) avoid waking too much, and on heels
2) sleep sideways wif yr legs elevated slightly
3) cover yr legs when u r in aircon room.. esp during yr sleep
4) try not to stretch yr body when u r on bed.
* These are the few things that i am now practising.. at least it does help abit..

Hey Chemistry, to your surprise Petpet "s" is really small.. comparing to other brands like Fitti, Drypers etc. Most of my friends mentioned tat their bb outgrown "s" when they reach the 1st mth.. Though the hospital will provide u wif 1pkt of diapers, but usually is the remaining of wat our NB has used upon discharge.

hi yvonne

my girl is 680g at wk23.5. Going to see gynae next week which is my wk 26.5wk. Wonder how heavy is my bb now. My tummy is so stretched out and tight I really doubt it can stretch anymore.

Hi cat_tail
Till now, I have no backache and my sciatica is getting better. The only problem I have is sleeping at night. Can't seem to sleep v well nowadays. Turn and toss whole night but just can't settle into a comfortable position.

hi angel... wow! 23.5wkz @ 680g! tatz huge! isnt it? my bb only 650 at 24wkz... do u apply the stretch mark cream? i didnt...

i can understand tat feelin esp when ur tummy stretched out so tight. n esp at nite! very uncomfortable... can u see ur baby elbow print on tummy?

can i ask you something? when you all mention about feeding your daughter or son, some of you use the termDS..what is ds? just curious heh

Hi Lib,

thanks. Tot S is big cos it state on the pack that up to 6kg. A NB is usually 3kg+ only mah. So u think 1 pack with those leftovers from hospital enough to last for 1 month or not? I'm intending to use disposable diapers only at night or when going out.

christina, i hope you are feeling better now. Glad that nothing serious happen. Take gd care of yourself gal. 'hugz'
So are you still leaving for shanghai or you came back liao?

Lib! tks for sharing abt the diapers ya, i haven't go and take a good look yet. Roughly how many do we need to buy? Btw you delivering at TMC also right? I understand that we do not need to pack any newborn diapers during our hospital stay leh.

vone, glad to know you are better now. Sometimes i find pregnancy really not easy, that's stress anxiety and certain degree of fear. sigh......

yesterday i went to see my dentist and it was so so so PAINFUL!!! Luckily i couldn't scream, if not people might think that this is a labour ward. Today still hurts a little. sian. sigh.

hoshi, i not drinking annum, but what u said is true, women who drink annum are more prone to tooth decay. i promised myself i will seriously take care of my teeth if the pain will just go away!!! sob sob sob

I'm looking forward to my visit to gynae tomo, wonder how heavy is my baby now. Last time my baby weighs 680g at 24th week.

Btw does your gynae tells you what position yr baby is in now? And at our 28th week, does our bb need to be head down liao? I feel that my bb is lying across my tummy, cos i always feel the kick at the right side of my tummy.

Christina, pls take care.

Erowen,
At my last checkup 26 week, my gynae told me my bb is in breech position. I read somewhere that bb will sometimes turn only nearer to 32 weeks. I think bb still have some room to play around as I sometimes felt his kicks at the left side, sometimes lower....I hope bb will guay guay turn eventually cos I prefer a natural delivery.

Mummytobe,
DS stands for "Dear Son", DD "Dear Daughter".

Lib,
sound like you are all done with your shopping? I still got quite a fair bit to go, was waiting for GSS. You have any research on carseat? Can share?

morning ladies ...

me going for my check up tom too ... wonder how big is my baby now ...

cant zzz well at night too cos non of the position seem to be comfy ... so now v tired *yawn*

hi ixwong, i see...yes i also hope for natural delivery.

seabreeze, you are not alone, i have been sleeping 3 or 4 hours a day only, lying in bed head very active but can't sleep well. I miss sleeping on my back.....

morning ladies

cool weather again, raining in the west region...
yesterday, my little girl move so violently inside my tummy for near 10mins or so, i am so scared, nearly rush down to gynae.....but she stops when i wanted to pick up the phone to call.....am i being paranoid here? I am so worried that she might be feeling uncomfortable or what inside....i wish i can see!

Getting really tired these days....i am worrying about my job and also about baby, hope i am not into depression..

hi erowen,
good to see postings frm u again!!! how u doing? i am looking forward to my next checkup, which is 6/6, will be my 28th week then.....my gynae did not tell me how heavy my baby is during the last checkup and also the position....Somehow i feel that my baby is still lying horizontal, cos' the kick or movement is on my right tummy.

hi yvonne n all gals

gd morning. my gynae said my bb is slightly above average in size. however none in my family nor my hubby's family is big sized, except that my hubby and his brothers are tall averaging at 1.78m but all skinny.

I think I look like I am 8 months instead of 6 months preggie. My tummy is so hugggeeee. I remember complaining to my gynae that my tummy is not showing at 4 months and then suddenly from 5th months onwards, tummy just grew and grew and my weight gain went up and up and up.

Thank God so far still no stretchmarks or only light/few stretchmarks which are not obvious and I've been applying stretchmarks creams faithfully once or twice a day juz after shower.

Hi erowen, seabreeze, angel,

Add me in to the insomniacs club heh, also can't sleep at night..tossing and turning the whole night from left to right, right to left, and keep waking up to go to the toilet. I look like a panda

Hi reenie,

i also feel that baby is lying horizontally leh, cause she can kick both the left and ride side at the same time. Maybe using both her hands and legs...so my tummy is moving up and down on the left and right side simultaneously hee but then sometimes she will be kicking below and above my belly button at the same time..so i really don't know what position she is in heh

Hi erowen, seabreeze, angel,

Add me in to the insomniacs club heh, also can't sleep at night..tossing and turning the whole night from left to right, right to left, and keep waking up to go to the toilet. I look like a panda

Hi reenie,

i also feel that baby is lying horizontally leh, cause she can kick both the left and ride side at the same time. Maybe using both her hands and legs...so my tummy is moving up and down on the left and right side simultaneously hee but then sometimes she will be kicking below and above my belly button at the same time..so i really don't know what position she is in heh

seems like we are all in the same boat. It's so difficult to get to sleep at night.. worse still, need to find a position comfortable enuff for us, and make sure bb is not 'squashed'... now I have to sleep flat on my back, which I'm really not used to. If sleep on my left side (which is supposedly better), my back will ache... and once turn, really hard to turn to the other side...

We are all turning into panda bear...

erowen, ya i agree wif u. d things we hv 2 go thru in order 2 procreate d nxt generation.

so how's ur tooth now?? did ur dentist give u something 2 curb d pain??
4 me, my gynae wld do a scan 4 my every visit. thus i can c which position my bb is in. in addition, i can aso roughly gauge his position according 2 d severity of his kicks. if it's veri hard & painful, then it's prob his legs.

seabreeze, me aso. hvn't been sleeping well these nites. my bb is always kicking me at nite when i m trying 2 sleep. last nite oni managed 2 get abt 4 hrs of sleep.

reenie, dun tink so much okie. if u need 2 get something off ur chest, remember 2 come in & chit chat wif us.

have you bought your sterilizers or decided what brand to buy yet?

I heard avent can only take their own bottles etc right? but pigeon can fit and sterilize other brands as well? does anyone know if the avent isis breast pump can fit inside the pigeon sterilizer?

mummytobe ...

pigeon steraliser can take any brand of bottle and pump ....

avent can only use for its own brand ... that is what I understand so far ...

anyway heard good review for the pigeon steraliser ... will likely get that at the coming GSS ....

anyone know anything about the beansprout husk pillow? seem like highly recommended to buy/make it ... but my mum say no need cos she didn't use it oso ....

if wan buy ... buy from where?

hi mummytobe

the pigeon rapid sterilize is actually a big container with no slots or dividers and u can put anything inside to sterilise as long as it can fit.. so it is pretty useful.

Now kiddy palace selling at $87 with 20% discount valid until end June I think. I wanted to buy the pigeons steriliser last Sunday but cos my friend is giving me her avent steriliser.. I will decide upon seeing the used steriliser

mummytobe, i dun tink i wld b buying any sterilizer. hb plans 2 use a big saucepan 2 sterilize d bottles. can save $$ tis way.

seabreeze, tink u can go 2 a website 2 buy. but i can't remember d website addy, mayb miso can advise?? but dun tink tat i wld b getting aso. planning 2 use a blanket or pillow 2 subsitute.

vone ...

just spoke to my mum again ... she suddenly remember that got such a thing hahahaha .... anyway she say she will make the pillow for the baby heehee ....

reenie
ya i also think my bb gal is lying horizontal across my tummy...she kick me just now. kekeke
today weather so nice! I sooo lazy to wake up, jus wanna nuan and nuan in bed. =P
Now looking forward to my maternity leave liao. ahhaha, what abt u? how's work and stuff?
Have you bought yr BB products?

angel, seabreeze and mummytobe!!
arghh, we are in the same boat, really jia lak hor, can't sleep at night and cannot anyhow toss and turn. I know sleeping on our left side is better but sometimes i can only doze off when i turn on my right side. And every morning waking up is such a chore!!!! I am always counting down the weekends.

vone, no, the dentist said i preggie, so she play safe, never give me the 'ane...' , sorry forgot the spelling before she start to 'operate' on my tooth! really hurts, i thot i will faint.
for the bb movements, sometimes it's very light and fluffy type, like she's running her fingers thru my womb. oops, now she kick me again.

btw anyone using avent steam steriliser?
cos i planning to get that........is it gd?

I realised when I tried to sleep on my side, my bb always kick me. But he usually quieted down in 10-15 mins if I remains unchanged in my sleep position (think he gives up...
) You may want to try this out.

Lib, erowen and ixwong, thanks for your concern. No joke leh, appendicitis during pregnancy....probably one of the worse things that can happen. luckily false alarm. my dad told me to write in to straits times to complain about the MO who wanted to take my appendix out hahhahah.

these days i cannot sleep oso. if i do fall asleep, i'm easily woken up by light sounds like birds chirping....very sad...recently kept having strange dreams oso. last silly dream was about dh leaving me for another sweet young thing cuz i'm so fat and ugly now...wahh felt so intense and real i wanna cry heheh

seabreeze, so nice of ur mum.

erowen, omg, tat must hv hurt a lot. gosh... then u better take care, no eating of pork ribs 4 d time being.
ya, can understand tat feeling, feels like she's sayanging u rite?? mine sometimes do tat aso. i feel so loved then.
kao_love.gif

ixwong, tink dif bb got dif temperments. mine usually kicks til i shift.

christina, i told hb abt ur case. he said tat d MO on duty is usually those fresh grads, thus sometimes, they can mis-diagnosed. if u were 2 write 2 ST, dun tink u wld hv much of a case coz they sure wld hv something 2 cover their own backside.
i aso hv these funny dreams more frequently these days. read somewhr tat we wld hv more dreams these days due 2 our pregnancy. however, i find tat my dreams can b quite disturbing at times. so dun worry or tink so much abt them okie.

my baby will kick until i touch my tummy and tell him to stop kicking and that i wan to zzz heehee ... but he can be quite stubborn sometimes ... so must shift abit to give him space ....

vone, i agreed with u...the MO disappeared into thin air as soon as my gynae arrived and told me to go home. i think he's red about making the wrong diagnosis. my advise is, no one understands our bodies better than our gynae...our organs, appendix etc are no longer in the same position as preg-preggie state. MO didnt know that...

talking about dreams, mine can get quite disturbing too. horror, supernatural etc being a die-hard CSI fan from Mon-Wed does not help heheheh

seabreeze, ur bb is so cute.

christina, c wat i meant abt fresh grads. he didn't even hv d decency 2 stick around 2 admit his mistakes. wat u said abt our organs shifting is true. when i had d pain, i thot something is wrong wif bb as d pain was somewhr near my waist. come 2 tink of it, it's quite funny noeing tat our bodies r changing wif d presence of our bb.
oh, u csi fan aso. me 2!! i always tell bb tat i m watching csi so tat he wldn't get 2 grossed out wif d some of d scenes.

erowen,
i'm not sure about my maternity leave anymore.....depending if my work is going to continue. Sigh....i can only hope for the best, pray that i still have my job so that i can be entitle to maternity benefits.
I have not started buying BB products, think will wait till my house is settle, target to shift in by end June.

Nowadays, my girl is so active inside, sometimes she moves very violently, i get so worried.

vone, me n hubby faithfully stuck by the tv for csi on mon tues and wed, cuz axn channel oso showing. i call it bonding because its the only show we watch together. we have very very different tastes in tv programmes besides csi. heheh

reenie, u sounded sad. r u stressed up with work?

Hi seabreeze,

What is this beansprout pillow used for? heard people mentioning it, but i have no idea leh..for baby?

seabreeze,
i'm not sure too, but i guess its kind of political at the management level. Though my direct boss sounds ok ok, but will have to wait till July/Aug before i get a confirm answer
this is what i have been told. In the mean time, i just do my work, document down everything if someone is taking over.

chris,
yeah...abit affected cos' my job is not very secure now, other than that, i am coping well with the workload, u see, its not the workload that bothers me, its more like will i get replace??? Sigh.....i am not very prepared for such things, cos' alot of things are happening now, my baby coming, new house just come and more financial to take on since my parents is going to stay with me and they both retired.