(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

morning ladies,

my bb girl is abt 349g n i nw in my 21wk.I only put on abt 2.5kg i nw oni 48kg.

angel,
welcome back. c u on 11 Jun.

morning everyone,

today's a cold day! was woken up by the cold cos aircon was on...

been feeling drowsy most of the day recently... always look forward to night time..hehe...

anissa, any reason why u're on maternity leave so early before your EDD?

gd morning all pretty mtb...

tingting, yeah...i hav tat feelin too...indeed looking forward to nite time...

angel & anissa, u gals the edd is quite close... 4 & 5 Sept... heard alotz comments from my colleagues tat most of them deliver 1-2 wks b4 the edd... guess our bb will born in late august...

anyone here gog to buy the Avent breastpump, bottles and sterilizer? which is better for the breastpump ie. manual or electric dual pumps?

yvonne, i'm intending to buy advent manual breast pump n pigeon sterlizer, cos the gals here advised that pigeon ster is also compatible with other brands' bottles, but not for advent's ster.

tingting, i was thinkin of the buyin avent breast pump(but dunno whether shld i get the electric dual pumps) and pigeon sterilizer. my colleagues hardsell the avent sterilizer. big n good...

so hav u got it already or wait for the GSS?

this morning so nice to sleep in...me now still zzzz.....
These 2 days was on course, very relaxing. kekeke....really looking forward to my confinement leave leh.

lib how's yr leg these 2 days? Still got any more leg cramp?

aidanee! Wow u also durian lover ah! I heard D24 coming now or soon is it? Cos me and hubby always frequent the stall along upper serangoon rd, very familar with the seller there liao. That's what he said. But i think i have to stop durian now...sigh...
For the maternity swimwear, i bought from another mummy one, for 20bucks, used a few times only. I like the feeling of soaking and floating in the water but don't stay too long bcos of the chlorine, usually i swim for 20 mins only.

reenie! Aiya, me really forgetful leh. I forgot to bring the notes. =( so sorry. I will try to rem to bring tomo for you ya.
How are you this week btw?
i can't wait for tomo Friday come! kekeke.
As for my maternity leave, since it's actually calculated in days, i will take 66 days and the balance 10 + 2 days childleave i will take after i come back, to spread out.

timie, tks for sharing yr tips for attending Mrs Wong classes leh. I will bear in mind to sit in front. I also have been eating lotsa junk food. Chocolates almost everyday!

seabreeze, yes Mrs Wong classes really very crowded. But when classes starts, you will not mind liao. =)
Hey same as you, i also planning to take the balance of my maternity leave for overseas leh! But i don't know if my company is strict abt using ML for overseas leave leh.

angel ... welcome back ... think you prob missed my last question to you ... do you stay in bishan cos you look alot like my neighbour .... heehee ...

my fren recommended the Medela dual electric pump ... they were saying the best is the Medela Pump in Style but very exp ler ... $500++ ... dunno if should invest anot ....

me ate durian for the past 3 days ... think put on lots of weight liao ... suffered from indigestion ... think have to keep off durian for a while ...

hi yvonne, i have not bought it yet... hopefully can get good bargains for the stuff during GSS.. i'm not fussy abt steriliser, think it's better to get a universal one cos u don't know which bottles (more bcos of the teats) your bb will prefer when he/she gets older, n will be a waste to buy a new steriliser then...

seabreeze, Medela is really expensive... if u're thinking of that, maybe rent from hospital first? think most will have that service... at least make sure that u are comfortable using it before making the investment... i chose avent bcos it has good reviews, and price is more acceptable
dun really like electric pumps bcos i think i'll really feel like a cow using it.. :p

i also ate 1 whole durian by myself last weekend.. :p current weight gain is at 10kg (at 27 weeks).. funny thing is that i dun eat excessively a lot... only additions to normal diet are morning snack of 2 slices of bread, and a tea break in the afternoon... but i know i ate more "heavy-duty" main meals like western food since preggie...hehe... think that's where i get my kilos from....

allo seabreeze

sorry for the late reply.. been busy after I'm back from Beijing. yes, I stay in Bishan Loft, blk 31.. are you my neighbour?

allo anissa
i like to have a boy first as I am still quite traditional and want to chuan zong jie dai. Also, personally I prefer boys so that I can be rougher with them unless girls, need to be dainty. Boys tend to be closer to mums and girls tend to be closer to dads

I've juz been informed that TMC antenatal classes been brough forward to start on 4 June instead of 11 June

hi angel,
welcome back!

hi yvonne,
i have not decide which pump i am getting, but i bought the Avent sterliser, i am using all Avent bottles, heard its good. As for pump, i am still deciding between manual or electric....i need something which is easy to use, easy to travel with, since i might need to pump at work next time?

hi girls,
i am feeling reallly weak these few days, i didn't take any dinner last nite, there's a lot of "wind" inside my stomach when i tapped on it...like "drumming". This morning i had breakfast, but i felt weak and dizzy on my way to work, then vomitted again!!!! My gynae told me its due to poor blood circulation....but i was only walking to my nearby bus stop and this happen....i am feeling super lousy. Took a cab to work and couldn't settle down to work, felt nausea. My lunch with only a cup of hot milk tea, probably a bun later
i couldn't stomach down any oily or cooked food....i hope my baby girl is not complaining inside.

is it true that its not advisable to use 2nd hand breast pump? if this is the case, those rented from TMC, is it consider 2nd hand?

hi Yvonne,
i just talked to my colleague whom recommended Avent Isis Breast Pump, both of them find this good
As for electric, they recommend Medela.

Since pregnancy, I've noticed that I leak urine when I sneeze... did you encounter such problem ? It seems to get worse for me now (getting into embarassing situation)... HELP !!! is it normal ? does it means I need to 'exercise' to firm up my womb ? Beside wearing sanitary pad, is there anything else I can do about it ??? Gosh.... thanks in advance ! (I'm into my 23weeks now)

angel ... correct lar ... me unit 02 hahahaha ... so qiao we both preg ... haven't seen you for SO SO LONG ..... showed my hubby your photo he say CFM its you .... but wanted to check mar heehee ....

reenie ... me read on some website that the pump are meant for single user oso ... thats why me not sure to buy or try borrow from fren ... or should i buy the manual one then 'upgrade' to the electric one at a later date ... me need to bring to office and pump oso ...

me suffering from indigestion and occasional vomiting too ... sianzzzzz

amelia, so far it also happened to me once when I sneeze. U will need to do some pelvics exercise.
Just try to squeeze ur pelvics (something like holding ur bladder) for abt 5 seconds and slowly release. Do it a few times a day. This will strengthen the muscles lor.

Tingting, haha... ur weight gain also quite fast hor. Tat time u were saying very hard to gain weight.... me too!... suddenly the weight juz zoomed up so fast! unbelievable!.... so now, i need to cut down my diet...

hi reenie, i feel lousy on certain days too esp when i dun rest enuf. when i've poor appetite, i oso juz take milo with biscuits or porridge. do take care okie? mebe ask for time off to go back & rest? BB shd be ok one, dun worrie. try not to take too much bread or buns as they do cause wind.

ameliaa, ya, u'll need to do the kegel exercises which helps strengthen pelvic muslces..

Hi amelia, me too.. will leak everytime I cough, sneeze or even laugh too loud/hard. I also need to put on the pantyliner. haiz.. but like what hoshi mentioned u can try doing some pelvic exercise to strenghthen the muscles.

hi Seabreeze,
me too, suffering from indigestion....
as for the breast pump, i read it somewhere too and realise some pump is for one time use only. My friend is thinking of passing Medela pump to me, but i hesitate. I will probably be getting Avent pump, manual type during the initial stage.

Timie,
thanks for your concern

is that true?? i didn't know Bread or Bun cause wind...oh dear, i just ate one big bun
hungry already. I will take your advice, try to take porridge or soupy stuff. Cannot take time off to go back and rest....have to struggle abit today.

i wish weekends comes soon so that i can rest....

seabreeze

you are jasmine?? my next door neighbour?? Wah.. so coincidental that we are both pregnant and about the same edd. For some strange reason, we don't bump into each other anymore even though we live next door. wahahaha

hi hoshi... yah lor... bcos i din gain weight for the 1st 16 weeks, so very "fang xin" ate loads of stuff... and now balloned already... still remember my shock at putting on 4kg in 1 month! but at last check when my weight gain was about 8kg at week 24, gynae mentioned i'm gaining weight "nicely" (whatever that means!), so i take it that it's acceptable..hehe... now i moderate a bit.. take care to eat less oily n sinful stuff, but sometimes just dun care and eat all i want..haha... i think most of my weight went to my thighs! I was already pear-shaped to start with.. now i've got thunder thighs...sigh...

hi reenie, take care... to avoid gasy stomach, it also helps to avoid beans, like red/green bean soup, etc... the last time i was sick with mild food poisoning n vomiting doc told me that these foods promote the production of gas in stomachs.

hi tingting,
i don't know what causes the wind or bloated stomach, seems like every meal i eat is like this.

angle ... yap ... we hardly bump into each other think cos we leave home at diff timing ...

reenie ... me too ... think its more of hygiene prob .... even thoes places that allow us to borrow the pump to test out ... they ask us not to feed the baby with the milk pumped from the test pump ....

Seabreeze,
u mean those from TMC cannot be feed to baby? then how? just for testing and throw away? =P
btw, do u have to go to work after maternity? i am considering the factor of breastfeeding after confinement...my current workplace got no fridge.

seabreeze

Do you intend to employ a maid to take care of yr bb after you've gone back to work? Or ask your mother or MIL to take care for you? I have zero option as my PIL dunno how to take care of bb (despite having 3 sons) and my mother made known to me that she doesn't want to be tied down by a bb now that she is retired. she wants the freedom to do whatever she wants like travelling etc etc wahahaha

so no choice but to get a maid. However a bit worrying cos there will be nobody to jaga the maid during the day. I am quite tempted to ask yr direct next door neighbour if they want to babysit as they have a few kids at home and should be experienced

hi angel,
its best to have someone around even if we employ a maid, that will be the best. If we get a maid to do both housework and babysitting, she might not be able to concentrate, its good to tell her the priority before you return to work.

most of my friends got a maid, with an elderly at home to "oversee".

Or do u have plans to stay at home after birth?

reenie ... not sure for the hospital ones ... but like mom in mind they are selling the ameda pump ... they allow you to borrow to try out ... but they dun recommend that you give the milk to the baby ....

have to work ... neber strike the 2.8m toto ler ...

angel ...

my mum will be taking care of the baby ... leave baby at my mum's place during day time ... your MIL working right? my neighbour also leave their baby to the maid one ler ...

you still got a dog at home right?

hi Seabreeze,
i think we got to check out with hospital if we want to borrow and try. Maybe for those attending Mrs wong class, can ask
I never buy 4D or toto, so i guess i have to work harder! haahahaaa...

reenie, maybe u can try to drink ginger tea? it helps...i alwaz hav bloated stomach till i get used to it liao..

hey angel & seebreeze, i stay in bishan 2... ;o)

reenie ... me giving birth at Mt A ... dunno if Mt A got such a service anot ....

yvonne ... we staying at bishan st 11 ... where u at?

Seabreeze,
u can check with the lactation consultant at Mt A. If not, try to decide based on feedback or suggestion u poll. For me, i am more or less decided to get the Avent (manual) pump. OR Medela electric.

reenie ...

most of my frens recommended Medela dual electric ... but one told me that the Medela Pump in Style (PIS) will help reduce the occurence of milk block ... which is very painful ... and Medela PIS has a resale value which works out to be the price of the dual pump which has no resale value ...

reenie
I also think that it is only good to employ a maid to take care of bb when there is someone at home to jaga. After delivery, I need to return to work full-time as we need the $$ so can't be a stay at home mom.

If I employ a maid, during the day she will concentrate of bb. In the evening, I'll take over and the maid will do a bit of light housework. My father-in-law will continue to cook and not the maid as it is his hobby. My mother-in-law can't do anything as she know nuts about anything. I've never seen a woman as pampered and lazy as her. she doesn't do any housework at all. Even her clothes are being washed and ironed by my father-in-law. Her meals are being prepared by my FIL. Her cups (after drinking) and cutlery (after eating) are also cleaned up by my FIL. Now I can't bathe my dog as got tummy obstruction, my FIL does it. My hubby now away, general cleaning of the house such as vacuuming and mopping also done by my FIL. She just sits there on her bed, watching tv and munching her tidbits (after which my father in law needs to clean up after her). Note that my FIL is also holding a full time job and return home only at 7pm. That's why la.. I have NO respect for her at all.

Sometime ago, I bought 2 boxes of durian back. 1 box for her and 1 box for me. I can't finish mine so I put back into the fridge for next day consumption. Guess what. She ate my box of leftover durians as well. There are 2 occasion that she bought durian and eat quietly in her room!!! I complain to my mother and she said it is because she doesn't know how to be a elder. She is too used to the pampering by her husband liao.

Now, got headache, don't know what to do. baby sitter is expensive and yet I still gotta employ a maid to clean the house and do housework as I have a dog at home.

angel ...

wow then you will have quite a headache ... how about bring the maid to your mum's place? at least someone to jaga until you are more confi that the maid can be independent enough to take care of the baby?

my next door neighbour maid always have other maid visiting her one ... esp in the afternoon ...

me on MC today ... thats why can be online for a longer time ... very bad indigestion ... couldn't sleep last night ... anyway vomited both breakfast and lunch ... sianzzzz

Angel,
u living with your PIL???? then it shouldn't be a problem, at least your MIL can oversee the maid right??? Don't tell me she cannot do it also......

wow...sounds like your MIL is very "hao ming", good life :p

frankly speaking, if you do not have a maid now, then try to get a babysitter instead? u can fetch baby home after 7pm....and babysitter will be a better caretaker as they are experienced and can cook food for your baby next time. If you leave with maid, who is going to prepare food for baby? Some maid got no knowledge even in heating up milk! My friend had a maid that nearly melt the bottles....heheeheh...

For me, i rather ask my mother to take care of baby, i will go out to work and pay her. If not, i would opt for babysitter instead of maid. I feel much comfortable that way. Maybe i heard so much about maid's stories, i get abit worried.

Seabreeze, take gd care of urself. i stay in st24... think i will get the avent manual breastpumps since after so received so many gd comments.. ;o)

Seabreeze,
oh dear, you sound so much like me....i also didn't rest well last nite due to indigestion, today as u know, i vomitted and feel weak. Couldn't find time to go see a doc and get MC to rest
My breakfast is gone.....lucky i managed to eat a bread just now for lunch.

do rest well girl, don't stay online for too long. take care.

angel.. sympathise with your situation... having elderly at home but cannot leave bb with them... until recently my mum agreed to quit her job to take care of bb, i was also left with no option. we were exploring infant care services. Maybe check if there's one near your workplace/home. After govt subsidy it shld be quite affordable.

must say ur FIL is a v patient man to put up with your MIL like that...

reenie ...

now better ... maybe too much food inside thats why whatever I take today just come out very easily ...

ppl keep telling me that 2nd tri is honeymoon ... dun seem to apply to me ler ...

yvonne ... think I heard abt the avent manual pump too ... but not sure if its efficient enough when I go back to work and need to express during lunch time ...

seabreeze and reenie

aiyo.. scary leh.. got maids visiting each other. Does your direct next door neighbour has elderly to jaga the maid? I thought I saw old folks at home.

I will instal a pinhole camera (don't know how ex is it) if I employ a maid. Reenie, my MIL works full time as well so nobody is at home in the day except for my dog. Even if she is not working, she is not dependent one la. She is always out shopping, doing her nails or hair, meeting her friends for high-tea etc. Can you imagine, I need to restrict the number of pairs of shoes she has at home. I don't allow her more pairs than agreed as she will jam up my shoe cabinet. If she buys a new pair of shoes, she'll need to throw away one old pair or I'll take any one pair and throw away for her. She is also occupying 2 wardrobes (2nd wardrobe in study room) and now almost occupying 3rd wardrobe (in my brother-in-law room but he is not in SG, studying in Aussie) liao.I don't deny that after all that investment, she looks pretty darn good for her age.

I can't send the maid to my mother as she lives in Jurong. I will ask my mommy to drop by my place often and stay for a couple of hours after my maternity leave to jaga the maid lor..

I can su-ku to you for many days and nights also cannot finish. I don't know if she is pretending to care for me. Once I am pregnant, she quickly make bird nest for me and it's about once a week. My hubby left for BJ, she also stopped making bird nests for me. I don't have bird nest for 6 whole weeks until I feedback to my hubby and innocently tell him, 'yr bb haven't eat bird nest since you left for BJ u know.. why yr mother stop making ah'.. wahahaha then immediately, my hubby called my MIL and she quickly soak a piece of birdnest in the water.. hehehehe

angel ...

must agree your MIL is quite modern looking for her age heehee ...

think sometimes their parents pop by ... but from my observation when I am on leave or MC (which is very frequent esp during my 1st tri) ... not often lor ... think maid vistation more hahahaha ... but think my neighbour makes an effort to come back for lunch sometimes ... she works near BL ...

then guess you really have to get a good maid ... you should start shopping for one now ... at least you can observe her for a few months ...

have you cleared up a room for your baby gal ... my house is still in a mess ....

allo tingting
My FIL is not patient at all. He is juz very caring. Like everyone of us, he has his strength and weakness. He is a very critical man and likes to scold my MIL for no rhythm or reason, criticise her etc. He used to scold with her so often, it feels like I am living in a quarrelsome house until I had my big fight with him 3 months after I married my husband. He threatened to go back to Muar (he's from Muar) and I said, 'it's up to you whether you want to go or not.. just don't complain to ppl that I chase you out. It is your own choice if you wish to go back'... thereafter he learn how to control himself a little and the frequency of quarrel been lesser.

hi angel,
now i understand better, it seems like you have no other choice, either get a babysitter or get a maid with your mother to supervise? Or you might want to consider infant center? its really tough to decide.....i am consider lucky, although its going to be heavy on financial.

your mil is so trendy at her age! oh mine...my mil is totally opposite, she is down to earth, housewife type, or should i say traditional type? until we have nothing in common to chat about. She's ok but i never consider letting her taking care of my baby, cos' she speaks total dialect and her way of handling baby is very different. I scare if baby become too close to her, baby will become very "hokkien" style.

I still prefer my own mother to take care as she speak chinese/a little english and experienced in babysitting before.

tingting

even if I put the bb in infantcare, still need to employ a maid as all of us are working and I have a dog at home. My dog sheds a lot and has skin problem so the floor needs to be vacuummed and mop every night after the bb arrival. There will be no one to do the cleaning in the house because 1st)my FIL needs to cook after he return from work, 2nd)my hubby works till 9ish to 10ish every night 3rd)my MIL doesn't do housework at all. She doens't even want to hang her clothes after the machine had spin-dry them (the load was put in by my FIL before he left for mktg). I told her that the washing is done, she said wait for my FIL to come back and hang whilst she continue lying on bed and watching tv. *faint*

I can't afford the option of sending bb to infant care as well as employing a maid. :eek:( So now hoping to employ a good maid who is reliable and good with newborn.

hi Seabreeze,
not really, 2nd trimester hasn't be totally good to me as well....my 1st trimester is pure tirness and sleep whole day, but its better as compare to now.

Regarding the Avent pump, i have colleague whom use it at workplace, she feedback its quite good. Whereas electric type, she feels like a cow....hahahahah..

reenie ...

think we same same ... was telling my gynae to spank my boy when he is born .. cos make me suffer so much ...

look like auntie now ... cos everyday very tired and dread going to work ...

isit ... my mum's fren daughter use hand to express her milk ... say its more comfortable and less painful ... maybe I will get the manual pump to try first ...

reenie

I can understand your situation as well. For eg, some older folks when feeding porridge to bb, they will put the spoonful of porridge into their mouth to cool it down before feeding the bb. so unhygienic right but they will not be able to understand and said I also raise my son (yr husband) up the same way. See how fit he is now!!! kind of crap!!

So who is taking care of yr bb after you return back to work? Your own mother?

I also wish for my mom to take care of bb. My mommy refused leh.. she said all babies taken care by her all turn out naughty (like me!!) and she wants her freedom to travel and to do things and rest. My mommy is the same age as my MIL but my mommy looks at least 10-15 years older and more auntie-like or rather the traditional mommy who will be the 1st to wake up, boil water, mop floor type .. hehe