(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Wow, christina, so nice can go japan! think i'm grounded for this year liao, thot in my mind, i really very 'gian' to go bangkok again end of year. kekeke. =)
So you planning F&E or with grp tours?

Dear Vone, how are you doing? Take gd care ya.
'Hugz'

Lib, how's yr weekend? I can't confirm for the vesak day holiday yet cos it seems my relatives from JB are coming. But i will let you know again ya. =))

Miso, me also sama sama with u. Put on 10kg!! sigh...btw how many weeks along are you now?

Btw gals, I visited my gynae last friday and my baby's weight at 24th week is 680g. Some of my friends commented that it's pretty big. Is that so?
i wondered if it's the durian i took...think better stop now....

Timie, i attended my second session of the TMC class and as usual very very the crowded!

And Seabreeze, guess what, when i reached the studio at 1.45pm, a handful of couples were sitting inside liao. wow! by 1.55pm, class almost full...Think everyone is starting to come early.

For the second session, Mrs Wong shared with us epidural and also the labour breathing and the what's-on during birth. Abit scary leh.

Reenie, sorry haven't fax to you the notes for the 1st session. Today i off, so relaxing, Post Mother's Day celebration for me. keke. Will fax to you tomo ya.

yvonne - i dun hv problm sleeping at nite...
just that must get up to pee, & when turning i'll awaken too. But i dun wake up coz of baby kicking.
wah i think your baby got strong limbs... or can join the China acrobatics troupe - tumble here & there

Hi breakbeats

I'm attending the lectures right now. Just completed the first lecture - Nutrition. Personal opinion, you should attend the lectures as soon as possible cos it gives you some of the information like the nutrition, amount you shd be eating etc. More useful in earlier trimester. Thot it was a little late in my final trimester to find out that I have not been eating ham the right way. hahah

wendy, haha...yeah...i guess as much...join the China acrobatics troupe... ;p

im a light slper..or maybe i dun get used to the baby's kickin... a little flickerin can just wake me up... talk to him not to disturb mummy also no use...

think the comin few more mths i gog to suffer alotz....sigh...

Hi, morning ladies.

Hope u all remem me. Long time din post liao. How are you ladies?

I attended Mdm Wong's 2nd lesson last sat. This was my first session coz hubby couldn't make it for the 1st. Hope we din miss much. Erowen, can also share with me your notes? Thanks in advance.

Lib, I'm interested to join the gathering. pls add me to the list. Thanks!

Hi Ero, yes got a great weekend.. stayed home the whole day on sat, ytd was juggling lunch wif my mil, and dinner wif my mum's family.. celebrating mom's day.. so happy ytd when receiving well-wishes sms from my friends. hehe.. makes me realise i'm oredi so "Senior"..

Know what, i got my 1st mom's day present.. from my young little cousin of 5yrs old last nite. She has made a little heart-shaped card each for all the mommies (granny, my mum & aunties plus me!!).. so touching..

Wendy, rest well k.. glad u have found yr pram.. seriously i been to hyperstore & kingdom oni once, not really "happy" wif their services & products lor.. though they claimed they are the main retailer and one-stop service. but then i can find better items from the dept stores.

** Last nite had a bad nite sleep... Keep wakening up.. couldn't really get to sleep... Cos of the tummy tension pull after lying on the back for too long, then when u turn to the side, u find yrself not sleeping comfortably wif the spine straining.. haiz.. Worst still, got a leg cramp in the middle of nite!!..

hey maltbibi, we are in the same class...let me see, i saw a few new faces leh. Where were you sitting. One couple besides me by the wall - i didn't see them during first lesson. The other couple is in front of me. What were you wearing?
Next time can say hi to each other!! =))
During our lunch with lib, she was telling me that you gals used to go shopping right?

Hey lib! Ya lor, we mother-to-be liao. My first gift for MD is from my hubby! He gave me a card and a bouquet of flowers. kekeke, We didn't go out for lunch, just bought cakes for my MIL and my mum. I ate the most!
Btw for your night cramp, was yr aircon on? next time meetup can show u some simple massage which yr hubby can do for you. to lessen the cramp on yr leg.

Lib
Try maternity pillow? It's a wedge only lah, dunno how much selling. Got it as a gift ystrday. Hey maybe can lend to u coz i dun see much benefit from it. U live Fernvale right?

Main retailer? Their prices not really competitive ley... and limited brands (in Hyperstore). I thought it's factory price, but Kiddy Palace also quite cheap mah, plus i got the disc card, plus can use credit card...

So nice of yr hb erowen.. my hb hor.. didn't even show anyting.. haiz.. when i showed him the card tat i rec'd he still asked me u have oso huh.. wow biang.. yes i on my aircon everynite.. juz got my 1st cramp last nite.. lucky he was home oso, he can help me massage lor.. if not i oso dunno how.. haiz.. yes pls tink u got to show me how to massage, so tat if he works nite shift and happen to have cramps i can diy oso..

yes wendy i'm staying in fernvale.. u sure u want to lend it to me? cos hor u nvr noe when u may nid it leh.. btw wich part of fernvale u staying? down at my estate realli got a lot of preggies leh... yes, they so-call the main-retailer lor.. i dun find that cheap.. juz i will not want to buy things from thr lor.. somemore is so crampy..

Wah..thread moving very fast..

Snoopy & Lib: Thanks for your warm welcome!

Snoopy: I sent u my contact via pm liao..we can arrange to go for the hospital tour together

Lib: Me same encounter as u on MRT..haiz..got once me & another preggie were standing then someone offer her a seat but I was standing all the way till I alighted at my stop! The difference is that she is wearing maternity dress and I was not (me wear normal top & maternity pants)..So the trick is to wear maternity dress..?? Or maybe must try to look more pathetic

Hi Ero,

Mine was the nite session. So din get to meet u. Did Mdm Wong bring you for a hospital tour and showed you how she "manipulate" the new-born baby? Was amazed by how fast and confident she handled the NB. Mdm Wong highlighted that their food esp their soup for the first day is good for mum who is breast-feeding. So after the tour, I have decided to deliver at TMC.

Ya, Lib and I went for lunch and lata went shopping in Orchard. Imagine two preggie ladies gg for shopping.

Would you be going for the gathering? Den I can get to meet you and the rest.

Hi Everyone!

I just returned from medical leave. As i was sharing, i had a sore throat and running nose. Hubby grounded me from all activities over the weekend.

Becky,
How are you now? I actually called up my gynae on Friday morning to ask for prescription. I managed to get some from the pharmacy. (no need to see him cos dun want to spend $$$) Just some pills to dry up the nose and lozenges for the throat. Now feeling better. Din have any fever so far.....Please drink alot of water ok! I also find BB less active. I supposed it's the medicine as it causes some drowsiness. I hope everything will be fine in a couple of days'time.

Vone,
I also experienced those cramps, but dun know if they are the same as yours. I told my gynae that i experience it more frequent after i did the amnio test. So he gave me some tablets to take to prevent any pre-mature labour and told me not to over exert myself. Well, i still get them on and off.....

Wendyg,
You are also in the Wed class? hey hey, you got me curious to find out who you are!

Christina,
YOu are also with MT E? who is your gynae? yours a boy too? So many boys these days.....much prefer girl girl! My appointment are usually very early like 8 plus in the morning and i go to office after that. You lucky babe! can go jalan jalan after the appointment! MY hubby is going to Japan too in end June. Do you all think it is advisable to go cos i should be at 30th week? Been there before, alot of walking and very crowded.

I use the clarins oil after shower day and night. Sometimes lazy to shower or late in the morning, i just dab some on cos i feel that tummy stretches more in the day time than when i am sleeping....but hor, the label recommends shower after the oil leh...got me abit confused too!

Erowen,
wow...you bb qute big huh? american size?? hehehe....
at 21 weeks, my bb weighs 420g. think pretty average. Put on about 3.5kg since pregnancy... Yah, after the second class at TMC, i was so tempted to just do an epi-c-section! get it over and done with!

Yvonne,
how's your aqua aerobics coming along? are you signing up for one soon?

BTW, anyone into yoga? Looking for khakis....

hi Lib, i kenna leg cramp last night too. Been getting it more and more often, at the calfs. my mum commented that once we get it, it'll 'visit' us pretty often, esp when we sleep in ac rooms

erowen, i have to travel!! at least once before 3rd trimester..cannot tahan liao. we've a lot of japanese friends staying in tokyo, so most likely f&e if we do go..

aidanee, i think the best assurance comes from your gynae. if he gives u the green light, should be okay. some airlines might ask for doc's letter if you're travelling in your 3rd tri, so you might want to ask ur gynae for it oso.

aidanee, i'm expecting a gal and my gynae is Dr kowa on the 16th flr. on the contrary i find that there r more gals than boys this year leh...

hi lib, from what i understand, try to cover yr legs with blanket if on air-con, cos the coldness blowing at our legs will trigger cramps. You can ask yr hubby to lift your small leg up gently and bend and push fwd yr toes gently slowly a few times.

maltibibi, oh i see. Mine is the pm session. Was yr session crowded? Ya, she brought us on the TMC tour, btw, the baby she was playing gal or boy? Ours was a gal gal and she was soooo cute!!! Think one day fresh 'out of the oven'. But i abit heartpain to see her being shift here and there by Mrs Wong leh.

ya, she mentioned the soup also. kekeke, so funny, she said some mothers just drank milo and left the soup to cold.

Did she show you all the different rooms? Cos during our tour, only the Thomson Suite was available. We only glimpse at the 2bedded room, wow, all crowded with the new mummies visitors. Didn't manage to see the 1 bedded cos fully booked.

Next week we will be seeing the labour ward! So exciting. =))

aidanee, hope you are feeling much better today! Still taking the med today?
Really ah? so my bb is big ah? in that case, sigh, must drop all durians liao. so sad, was still thinking of eating durians next week.
For yoga, there are a few outlets, one at babiesncream at GWC, i been to that outlet cos i know daphne and i was looking at their babysign workshop. The other one which my colleague attended is at Tanglin Shopping Centre i think.
Me very lazy, only swim and do some stretching exercises learn at the antenantal class.

Christina! So gd leh! U got frens in tokyo. Hope your trip can come true and when you come back, we will drool at yr travel tales and yr shopping souvenirs for yr bb! =))

aidanee
yes i'm in Wed class... so far can't get seat against wall coz i can't come early ley.. only on-time. my hubby & i come in with my other couple friend who's due almost same time - my friend got long long hair...

Calf cramp - i woke up with calf cramps on the day that i slept without aircon. Heard somewhere it's to do with lack of calcium? Drink more milk ladies... take more cheese.

wendy, i will keep an lookout for you and your friend. My impression is that there are 2 funny and interesting couples, esp the hubbies in my class. Joke alot....not you right?

Christina, so sweet! u are having a princess. have you thought of a name yet? My mother used to see Dr Kowa for post menopausal problems. He is very nice.

Thanks Erowen, i am feeling better now. stop the medication already cos gynae only gave me for 2 days..... I think you can look forward to better quality durians in a month's time.......dun indulge too much now with the low grade ones!

Thinking of swimming too...but can't swim for nuts! do you wear maternity swimwear? Actually i am not really an active person...but i want to strengthen my health so that i can manage my bb next time.....i always feel very weak! (I was underweight before preg)

btw, do all preggies need to take Iron pills? so far, i have only been told to take calcium and fish oil n multivit. My haemogloblin results show 12.5....Dr chew did not mention anything. or maybe he left out???

finally registered for my prenatal classes at MAH.. starting june... sat classes are already full, so no choice but to go for weekday ones.. guess it's also better since can go straight from work... excuse not to do OT..hehe...

visited someone who just delivered over the weekend.. suddenly, the reality of motherhood really hit me.. when bb cries n all, i find myself rather detached rather than being concerned about what happened to the baby like other visitors did... wonder if i'm being apprehensive abt motherhood? think it's a bit like getting cold feet when your wedding date draws near... i'm also quite scared of getting post natal blues, cos i think i will be prone to it, and have been warning my hb of this possiblity, but dun think he's really taking it seriously...

ting2
must pray against it lor.

Aidanee
Last Wed, i was the one who asked for my other hand to be massaged... remember? How can only do 1 hand - unbalanced. =P

i hate it when i see Christy Chung on the top banner promoting free slimming trial...
Inappropriate advertising.

tingting, i know exactly what u mean. my neighbour has 2 boys, eldest is about 6 years old and they both drive me MAD!!! told my husband that i dun like children especially with the neighbours' kids. everytime i c bump into them i would roll my eyes...i dun even find them cute, more like irritating and ill-behaved. feel like smacking them instead of kissing them.....

i had antenatal blues during 1st tri...so also think possibility of post natal blues quite high...but i think if i stay far far away from my MIL i'll be alright....must identify what is going to upset u then stay far far away from it...

aidanee, am not gog for the aqua aerobic...too "lei cher" gotta buy swimsuit.. anw, i hav signed up the prenatal yoga at great world.next saturday is my 1st session.. u interested?

im takin the calcium, folid acid and fish oil..not takin the iron, cos i hate it...it makes me vomit whenever i take it.. ;o( ur haemogloblin results show 12.5 means okay...normal is from the range 11-16...

ero, ur hubbie so sweet....

tingting, i also worry tat i will hav postnatal blue..but my hub keep tellin me tat think "positive" n everythin will be fine...

hi tingting,
did you manage to find the tel for the Mt A. hospital tour? So you'll be delivering at Mat A.?
thanks...

wendyg, okie, i know who already. hahaha, that was really funny.

Christina, I agree with you..... this is y i prefer gals to boys... I always play with girls, but when i see boys, esp those overly active ones, i also cannot tahan! Hope i will be more patient when it comes to my own son.

Was wondering if you all drink chicken essence. Does it help? My MIL is asking me to drink it every day, but my body very heaty one, scared later pu zhua.

May i know how much weight you have put on already? Me put on 9kg so far, now in my 24/25th week. Gynae told me to watch my weight..she was saying that my baby growing well, good weight, but cannot beat the mother
say i put on too much weight, supposed to be about 2kg a month, but i put on about 3kg a month, told me to watch my weight hehe but how to eat well and not put on weight? very difficult leh...

Yvonne, thanks for the information. I heard the iron pills smell really bad. I will check out the website for the yoga.....update you later.

aidanee and tingting, dun worry i think when it comes to our own children, maternal intincts will just naturally set in, our children will be the gems of our lives. its like how we look at other men and become instantly grateful that our hubbies are not like them? i think its the same with maternal love, our children will always be perfect in our eyes =)

Ero: I sleep with the blanket covered, maybe last nite, i kip tossing til i so pek chey tat i accidentally stretched my legs and got the cramp..

Breakbeats: No worries, this is the place where somehow we can find some assurance given by the rest of the preggies.. THough not all of us are experiencing the same thing, but so far, we have been together for like more than 4mths..

Aidanee: Agreed with Christina, there is more girls this year.. but if u compared to the month Aug-SEp got more gals then boy.. Is ok if is a boy or girl, so long as our babies are safe & healthy..

Hehe.. tok abt yoga classes, remembered i tok abt that few months ago, but have forgo the idea of going.. lazy to go leh..

mummytobe, i asked my gynae about chicken essence before, my gynae asked me to eat chicken meat instead...probably has a higher nutrition value...try not to introduce sudden changes in your diet if u havent tried/ taken it before pregnancy...that was his advice, hope it helps =)

aidanee, if u dun like iron pills, eat more red meat and dark green vegs. if u r not anaemic, a good diet is able to provide enough iron supplements. lucky u!! i've to rely on iron supplements cuz mine is way way way too low...

hi wendy, i know... but maybe i'm a more kiasi type of person n so want to think of the worst n pray for the best... hopefully things turn out right..

christina, is there really such things as antenatal blues? bcos i'm sort of feeling emotional at this stage, n wonder if it's hormonal effects...

yvonne, i think while we're still "sane" shld continue to think positive, but when emotions rule the head when the time comes we really need good support and lots of prayers...

i'm actually quite against video-taping the delivery process, or even just the cleaning up of the bb... not bcos i dun want to capture the significant moment, but when i think abt it i just have a vivid scene in my mind that right after delivery, hb will just pick up the camera and focus on the bb n neglect me totally. And i can just feel the feeling of being "used" right now, like a bb machine u know... i think the support right after delivery by hb is really important, bcos that's prob when i'll feel most vulnerable.. now u know why i suspect i will get postnatal blues... :p

cakey, the other time u were asking abt contact for prenatal classes at MAH? You can call this number: 6347 6333 and ask for Ms Vasantha. She's quite nice n friendly. Maybe we can be in the same class!

hi mummytobe
i also dunno how to control the weight.. every 2hr will get hungry... grrr. My appetite is back with a vengeance after taking a 3-4 month break (1st trimester).
supposed only 2kg this month, but i hv a feeling i put on 4kgs.. can only cfm on Thur during monthly chkup.
I think total 10kgs liaooozzzz. I'm starting Wk 30 today.

Lib, i agreed with u...most impt is the baby is healthy n safe...

im a lazy mum...hav been thinkin of yoga or aqua for long...only till now then i signed up for yoga..must jaga my body...otherwise, cant get back to the shape... ;o)

aidanee,

check tiz out...

Fees :
$116 for 4 sessions (finish in 6wks)
$216 for 8 sessions (finish in 12 wks)
$300 for 12 sessions

Class : Mon(1030am), Tue(7pm), Fri(7pm), Sat(330pm)

Duration: 1 hr per session

Student : Max 8 pax

Attire : comfortable wear

* Hubby cant enter the studio but can wait at the lounge area

U can check out their homepage.
http://www.babiesncream.com/sClassDetails.asp?CID=13

Mummy2b, since i'm in my week 20, i have oredi stopped taking cordyceps soup & chicken essence. Remembered the last time i took these and i became too heaty.. once u have reached the 3rd-tri, tink u have to take less heaty food.. As u tend to get hot & heaty very easily. Plus the weather nowadays are not very good.. too hot..

Now my so-called tonics is mainly bird nest on every 10th day basis, and sometimes will take almond tofu + bai2 guo2 yu4 mi4 as dessert..
My aunties were all saying take these dessert so tat next time bb will come out wif nice skin complexion.. But don't take too much...

I hope so too....when i go to my sis' house who has loads of children, i get tired playing wiht them....i wonder if i ever have the energy to play and look after my own kids. YES! must be more positive!!!!

I have 4 friends who are preg this year, and all boys...and 3 of my relatives just gave birth to boys too....that's how i concluded more boys...hehehe....maybe i am biased.....sour grapes.hahaha...yah...as long as healthy and safe! Boy or girl is not a concern.

Yvonne, i think i will stick to Shambhala at Forum cos cheaper and it's 1.5hr. And i know the teachers there have not more than 10 years of pre-natal experience. Lib, are you still keen? I will prob go for the trial this Sat.

tingting,
i like the way u say..."And i can just feel the feeling of being "used" right now, like a bb machine u know... " haha....so funnie....

Hi aidanee, i got to check out wif my gynae this thurs. Tat time i wanted to go for pre-natal massage but gynae strongly against it.. and said that it may cause pre-matured babies.. so scarry..

wahh! aidanee, no wonder u thought that there r more boys. u're surrounded by bb boys and im surrounded by bb gals in my family and social circle. this forum expecting more gals..kekek

next time must literally rub my shoulders against yours so i might have bb boy luck *kidding*

tingting, i think this is the stage when our tummy finally sticks out proudly and we're overwhelmed with the baby's soon-to-be arrival. like we dunno what else to expect anymore...a lot of uncertainties. im quite scared also, totally clueless on breastfeeding, taking care of bb... i was so weepy during my 1st tri, kept emotionally blackmailing hubby until i felt so bad...

i believe all mummies went through bb jitters...but trust me, when bb pops out we'll naturally know what to do. i become quite inspired by this mentally handicapped gal who's about 20 years old whom i always bumped into around my estate. one day to my shock and horror she's pregnant!! lquite disturbing cuz dunno who the father is and she's soo young! ast week i bumped into her again and she has delivered a big fat healthy bb boy and was nursing him like a pro....i was very impressed and moved by her maternal strength

Lib, i went for the prenatal massage too...didnt ask my gynae abt it...but now it makes me feel so scary...think i better stop gog for prenatal massage...

wow... this thread runs very fast...i practically have to glue my eyes on the monitor to avoid missing out any.....hahaha...boss not around today, can chat longer..

Shambhlala:
10 lessons @ S$24 per 1.5hr (over 4 months)
Trial lesson @ S$28 per 1.5 hr.
Dun have the website with me, but just type Shambhalayoga.... I know there is a very good Indian teacher (my previous teacher strongly recommends her) teaches on Mon and Thurs at 11am.
Another teaches weekday night at 6.30pm and sat 12noon. I was thinkg maybe i join the Sat.....actually, no restriction on which class to go....as long as you complete 10 sessions in 4 months +/-. Only thing, there is no mirror in the classroom. Blankets, bolster, yoga belt, mat are all provided.

I also thot of prenatal message, cos can help to reduce water retention adn aches and also tone the legs!!!!.....also worried about the side effect. some of my preg friends say very good leh...

sometimes, i just think too much....by the time i am ready to do yoga or massage or other bb-stuff, prob reach 3rd tri!!! Dun know y, maybe it's the weather, making me so legathic about everything!

Christina, yah lor, that's y i hope to have a rose among the torns mah.....less comparisons, esp amongst the relatives. hahaha....I will try for the next one!!!

Agreed with christina, now we will juz get worried tat we have no experience in taking care of our bb, but when time comes.. no worries.. we will be able to handle them..

Yvonne i realli wanted to go or the massage. but well after hearing tat from the gynae plus was in front of my hb, so can't go lor..

Hi Ero,

The nite session was veri crowded. I think abt 30 couples. Mrs Wong oso chose a BB gal during the playing. The BB looked so cute and rosy wif lotz of hair.

Ya, she mentioned the soup they brewed for abt 4hrs.

She onli showed us the VIP suite din manage to see the other rooms. All are fully occuipped. Have you booked your room olreadi? I'm thinking of booking a 2 bedded room on my nx visit to see gynae.

Lib, you tahan okay? i'll go with you for post-natal massages! heheh. its true loh, my gynae also gave me nono on prenatal massages because it'll draw blood away from foetus...supposed to improved blood circulation but also means less blood to bb..

Long time never log in. Was quite sick the past week with flu, fever and cough. Still not fully recover yet but no MC liao, so must come back to work.....

Seem like exercising is the latest topic....I'm starting on a weekly swim routine. Didn't buy any maternity swimwear cos seem not worth the trouble, I just wear my bikini top and a boy shorts for bottom. For sure people will stare but dun care loh...

I also started my antenatal class at TMC (2nd week), but not Mrs Wong's. Instead the instructor is a very friendly and animated Sister Lim. Have more or less decided to stay at TMC...but still thinking of whether 1-bedded or 2-bedded. Think the cost difference is about $800 for natural delivery....must we book the room early??

hehe..christina, tink u oso can't join me liao cos my sil has mastered the massage skills and hence, we will all be her guinea pigs.. haha.. she will be doing my post natal massage for me.. tink is free oso.. for her to add on to her profile.. hehe

hehe.. got to ask her.. dun tink will be FOC liao.. haha.. but hor if she charge at a norminal price why not.. Did snoopy call u? she is now in taka.. shopping.. hehe

Ixwong, hope u r feeling better... rest as much as u can.. & drink lots of water...