(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

ixwong, u sound like a glamour hollywood mummy with your bikini and boy short!

if still not feeling well, can try to extend your mc with the doc? most docs are very kind to mtbs and will extend mc if they are still ill... take care and get well soon, dont work too hard!

yess!!! snoopy called me about 15mins ago!! did she call u too? me at home now. was in orchard this morning for coffee though...

my neighbours boys are at their naughtiest best again....they r playing marbles against my door....cannot tahan....then they are gonna start pressing my doorbell and run away...afternoon routine.
sure go crazy during my confinement...

christina
aiyo, so naughty ah. Got inform their parents anot? My neighbour keeps her boys inside the house, they don't play at the common area. Only when they go out then the boys come to my gate & call out "Anybody home?!"

Christina, so good life! wish i can take leave too..then can do some baking... ;o)

really cant undertand my bb...when i slpin, he awake..when i lunchin, he slp! when i work, he keep kickin me...geez....

i look like a panda bear now...2 dark eye rings!!!! ;p

yar she called me for yr number.. hehe.. now u still in honeymoon period, so if can do as much as u can, enjoy as much as u want..

once u reach to the 3rd-tri, like me, gets tired very easily liao..

if yr neighbours boys still like then tell the parents lor

Yvonne, is like tat.. most bb routine's are the opp of ours.. once yr tummy gets bigger, u tend to feel more..

i am leaving the office now...cos feel abit tired and the the blocked nose is making me "breathless" in the confined area. going out for some fresh air!

chat with you again tomorrow! take care and have a great evening!

hi yvonne, what abt trying to 'train' baby on timing ? I try to tell baby in womb that Morning, wake up, time to go to work, Time for lunch (mine always makes me puke around lunch time) and time to go to sleep... hee hee it doesn't work ALL the time, but it seems to help a bit

ameliaa, am tryin to do tiz as well..but doesnt seem like workin ler..only when my hub put his hand on my tummy...then he keep quiet..now my hub dun trust me..he say " no ler, bb v guai...no movement ler..." sigh....

Yvonne,
you can check out TMC website for the prices of their maternity packages. http://www.thomsonmedical.com/

Thanks for your concerns, gals. Agree that it's now much easier to get MC. Most doctors would voluntarily offer you MC but I paisay to be away from office for so long.

Going to see my gynae later for my once-a-month date with bb. Just pass 25th week. Don't think I gain much weight this month since so sick....

hi Aidanee,

Thanks for your concern, gald you are better now. My flu amd sore throat has cleared . Ate so much "rubbish" over the weekend.....
Remember to take more water and veg....the weather so bad recently.....

Wonder anyone still vomit at this stage ? i will throw up everytime i eat fruits and chocolate....think my bb dun like these food....

The class at tmc was enriching and Mrs wong is great veri experience. the suite she showed us that Zoe tay stay the last time was so beautiful . you feel like in a hotel room rather in the hospital but $700 + per day is really ex.

i'm back..past few days pc kana virus so was tryin to catch up with the thread tis pm..

welcome all newbies

yvonne, we same gynae, oso Dr Chua leh..

btw, for those who have leg cramps, can try to quickly put yr foot down on the floor if it comes. i did dat the last time in middle of nite w/o gettin out of bed (jus slant sideways on sleepin position), and the pain went away veri quickly for me.

erowen, the last time for my class, it seemed to get more crowded at certain sessions, prob cos some couples missed their sessions and came for make-up class. for the 4th & 5th sessions, we'll sit on chairs, so try to take the front seats cos we sat in middle rows & kana blocked so can't see clearly when she did some demos. she will come around to demo again, but not so clear lah..

nowadays keep feelin veri hungry oso..jialat. have been eatin quite junkie food for past mth, so startin to get worried abt getting 'scolding' fr gynae when i see her tis fri..but can't help it leh..

ixwong/yvonne, i decided to book the 1-bedded @ tmc cos i wan my hb to stay in with me leh.. oso hoping bb can be with us most of time. i tink diff is $100+. saw the 1 & 2-bedded when i went for hosp tour last time, it's more spacious. quite ex la, but we thot our 1st bb, so nvr mind lor..mebe if we hv 2nd one then can opt for 2-bedded..

ixwong, do take care okie..recover soon!

what kind of postnatal massage is good? anyone thinking of getting the malay masseuse type of massage? I heard of some people using a malay masseuse who came everyday for one week to get rid of the wind and dirty blood etc.

any idea whether this works or is good?

Timie, actlly i have booked the 1bedded but am not sure wat the price. my hub paid the 500 deposit so balance will be during the end 3rd trimester...

hi girls,
went for my checkup yesterday! baby is sleeping and her legs are pressing on my pelvic area, no wonder these few days i felt more urge to go toliet =P somehow i feel so "aching" when she kicks on my bladder area.
I am into my 24weeks now, the gynae did not mentioned about the weight of baby to me anymore. He says everything is normal.

hi erowen,
its okay, no rush for those notes
thanks. I just went for a hosptial tour yesterday at TMC, the moment i step into the delivery ward, felt abit strange....hopefully i won't be too nervous on the delivery day.

Mother's day has just passed, reminded me that i am going to be a mother soon! Didn't do much celebration, except a dinner with my mother, hubby treated us, cos' i am a mother too...heeheheehe...

Happy belated mother's day to everyone here!

erowen ...

sound like the class will be very packed ar ...

anyway must we go for the hospital tour? cos me not delivering at TMC ler ...

Reenie, i hav the same feelin as u when i stepped into the delivery ward! feel strange n scary... will u be delivery at tmc?

how big is ur baby now? can u see ur bb face? during my last checkup, i didnt manage to see his face coz he was using his hands to cover up his face... so cute... ;o)

Think I will opt to stay in a 4-bedded at TMC. The diff from 1-bedded is about $1.5k to $2K. hehe.. and furthermore, hb cannot stay with me in hospital..

hi yvonne,
yes, i will be doing it at TMC
quite close to my new house, since i am shifting into Sengkang next month. Futhermore, gynae is at TMC.
i cannot tell how big my baby is now, can see the face cos' facing us during the scan......my girl too will hide her face with her hands! hahahaaha....shy shy, but that happens during the detailed scan, can u imagine ???? i have opt for a 1-bedded room cos' hubby wanted to stay in with me, i think its good to have his support during my stay there....maybe i need his help =P

hee....totally agreed with u. tho my frenz say we will need mum more than hubby durin the time...but i still choose to be with my hub... ;o)

did u go for the 3D scan? wanted to do it but tmc does not hav tiz priviledge...

hav u decided any nice name for ur little princess?

hi yvonne,
i personally think my hubby presence is more important than my mum during the stay, but after going home, i think my mum plays an important role!! haahaha...she has to teach me how to handle the newborn, frankly speaking, i can't hold a newborn, bath...and breastfeeding is challenging.

no, i didn't go for 3D scan, but i think some girls in this forum went, u can check with them.

we are deciding a name for boy and girl, just in case :p haven't confirmed yet.

most of my frenz told me the most challengin is to breastfeed ur baby... it will cause bleedin if the latchin is not right.. (sound scary right)

u seeing eunice chua at tmc?

Hi mummytobe,
I've also gained abt 9kg so far. Now abt 24.5 weeks. Gynae also asked me to control my diet but very difficult leh....
Will be getting a malay massage after delivery. Recommended by one of the gals here. Massage lady's name is Jamiah (Tel: 90025637). Think her charges is abt $550 for 10 sessions.

Gals, any1 doing a diabetics test next checkup? I will be doing one, coz gynae says my sugar level quite high during the triple test.... keeping my fingers crossed.

Oh, another thing. Now we are abt 24-26 weeks, we can take chinese herb 'gor-lay' (Ginseng). Can buy from chinese medical shop and brew together with chicken... heard it's to 'bu' the baby lor..

hi hoshi, u've got a sweet tooth is it?
me also.. yest was at home nursing a headache, but the weather was so hot that i ate "forbidden stuff" such as ice-cream, chocolates n soft drinks.. high-calorie, high-sugar junks... hopefully will not have high sugar level at next check up. i've already gained 10kg at 26 weeks... at last check up at 24 weeks, i gained 7.5kg.. gynae did not say anything abt my weight gain,so i assume it's ok... nowadays, always wonder if weight gain is appropriate... got to wait for monthly verdict from gynae...haha...

storms brewing in office... really look forward to my long maternity break man...

tingting,
on the contrary, i dun really like sweet stuff leh.. dunno why blood test shows tat my sugar level quite high...

Recommended weight gain is 10-12 kg thru'out entire pregnancy, so now gotta control, else later on, very hard to lose weight... hehe...

yvonne, so scary... not sure whether we are able to BF, now still got bleeding problems... hehe.. read from another thread tat there's one new mom having strawberry milk... scary hor...

ya.. bleeding and/or cracking of nipples will be an issue if we are not right in latching bb on. Both u and bb has to learn the right way. We must teach bb to latch properly and bb has to be taught also to learn how to suck properly. Get a Lactation Consultant's help from ur respective hospital on bfg. Really good.

Also helps us a great deal to know what to expect from bfg.. do read more!

hoshi ...

dr cheng is quite known for asking preg woman watch weight ... have gained another 1.5kg since I saw him 2 weeks ago ... very scared that he will 'scold' me again ar ...

Hi hoshi, this is for u.

My practitioner says I need a glucose screen. Why?
Most practitioners routinely recommend a glucose screening test (also called a glucose challenge test or GCT) between 24 and 28 weeks of pregnancy to check for gestational diabetes, a high blood sugar condition that some women get during pregnancy. Like any screening test, this one is designed to cast a wide net and identify as many women as possible who may have a problem. A positive result doesn't mean that you have gestational diabetes; in fact, only about a third of women who test positive on the glucose screen actually have this condition. To find out if you're one of them, you'll have to undergo a longer, more definitive exam called a glucose tolerance test (GTT).

Between 2 and 7 percent of expectant mothers develop gestational diabetes, making it one of the most common health problems during pregnancy. And since the condition rarely causes any symptoms, testing is the only way to find out if you have it. Your practitioner may want you to be screened earlier than 24 weeks if a routine urine test showed a high amount of sugar in the urine or if you're considered to be at high risk. If the results are normal, you'll be screened again at 24 to 28 weeks. (Of course, if you've already been diagnosed with diabetes before pregnancy, you won't need to be screened. Instead, you'll continue to work with your practitioner to manage your condition during your pregnancy.)

How is the screening test done?
When you arrive for the test, you'll be given a sugar solution that contains 50 grams of glucose. The stuff tastes like a very sweet soda pop (it comes in cola, orange, or lime flavor), and you have to get all of it down in five minutes. Some centers keep it chilled or let you pour it over ice and drink it cold. An hour later (bring a book or magazine!), your practitioner or a technician will take a blood sample from your arm to check your blood sugar level. (The idea is to see how efficiently your body processes sugar.) The results should be available in a few days. If the reading is abnormal (too high), which happens about 15 to 23 percent of the time, your practitioner will have you come back for a three-hour glucose tolerance test to see if you really do have gestational diabetes. The good news is that most women whose screening test shows elevated blood sugar won't turn out to have gestational diabetes.

Will this test make me feel sick?
Some women find that drinking the glucose solution makes them feel nauseated and a few even throw up. You may find that it helps to have eaten something a few hours before the screening test. If you vomit soon after you've gotten the drink down, you'll have to come back another day and repeat the test. But most women get through it just fine. It's actually more common for women to feel sick during the three-hour glucose tolerance test because the solution for this test may be twice as sweet or twice as much liquid as the one for the screening test and you have to drink it after fasting.

What is an abnormal blood glucose level?
Different practitioners use different standards for determining whether your level is too high. Some will say that if your one-hour blood sugar level is 140 milligrams of glucose per deciliter of blood plasma (mg/dL) or more, you need to have the glucose tolerance test. (Others put the cut-off at 130 mg/dL to catch more women who may have gestational diabetes, even though there are likely to be more false positives this way.) If your blood glucose level for this test is higher than 200 mg/dL, most practitioners will consider you diabetic and you won't be required to take the glucose tolerance test. But any score between 140 and 200 means that you'll have to take the three-hour glucose tolerance test for a definite diagnosis.

What is the glucose tolerance test like?
For 8 to 14 hours before the test, you can't eat or drink anything but sips of water, so you'll want to schedule it for first thing in the morning. (Don't smoke or exercise either.) For three days before the test, you'll be told to eat at least 150 grams of carbohydrate a day. (If you eat a normal diet and have an extra piece of bread at each meal, you'll likely be getting enough carbs.)

When you arrive for the test, the technician will take a blood sample to measure your fasting blood glucose level and then ask you to drink either a more concentrated dose or a larger volume of the glucose solution (containing 100 grams of glucose). Then brace yourself for three more arm pricks as they test your blood every hour for the next three hours. (You'll definitely need a source of distraction this time, as you'll have to stay seated in the waiting room between blood drawings. You might also want to bring a sandwich, so you can eat right after your final blood sample is drawn. You'll most likely be quite hungry.) The technician should alternate arms each time she draws your blood.

If one of the readings is abnormal, you may have to take another test later in your pregnancy. Or your practitioner may ask you to make some changes in your diet and exercise routine. If two or more of your readings are abnormal, you'll be diagnosed with gestational diabetes and you'll need to talk to your practitioner about a treatment plan. This chart shows the levels that the American Diabetes Association considers abnormal at each interval of the test:

Interval Abnormal reading
Fasting 95 mg/dl or higher
One-hour 180 mg/dl or higher
Two-hour 155 mg/dl or higher
Three-hour 140 mg/dl or higher

What happens if I'm diagnosed with gestational diabetes?
You'll work with your practitioner or a diabetes specialist and possibly a nutritionist to come up with a plan to manage your condition. Your condition should only last as long as your pregnancy. However, a small number of women who develop diabetes during pregnancy will continue to have the disease after delivery, so you'll have to take another glucose test after six weeks postpartum.

wah miso, thanks for the info!! really appreciate tat. This means that I've gotta take more blood test liao..
guess it's the glucose tolerance test coz gynae says I need to be at the clinic for abt 4 hours....

seabreeze, really?... hehe... coz he saw that i've gained abt 4 kg within one month from my last visit.... haha... tat's why he asked me to watch wat i eat.... hehe.... actually, i also didn't notice tat my weight 'balloon' so fast!.. was actually thinking not to exceed 60kg mark.. but now, already 59.4kg....

No prob hoshi. Just tt, I underwent this kinda test for my first pregnancy cos almost every single visits to gynae showed sugar in urine.. tt's y. And I was given the insulin jab for a week leh.. then when I ask him further abt it, he says he can let my endocrinologist take care of my sugar problem and my endo ask me to do blood sugar test on my own for 1 week at diff intervals.. showed all fine! So this GTT tests.. not v. accurate la. In fact, endo also explained to me why sugar will be shown in urine in most preggies.. but hm.. i dunno how to explain to u. hehe.. But anyway, i make it a point not to hv any meals b4 I see my gynae or if i did, eat little, then drink lotsa water!

hi yvonne,
my gynae is Paul Tseng, sharing the same clinic as Eunice.

hi girls,
have u talked to your superior or boss regarding your maternity leave? i had a conversation with my immediate superior and somehow decided to cut my maternity leave short, to about 2 months.

Maybe for the 3rd month onwards, will take in blocks of week.

No choice, it seems like my job are not very secure now, even though i can make necessary arrangement to even attend meetings/work stuff in 2nd months!

Hope i won't get any depression if such things should happen during my confinement or pregnancy.....

Hi reenie, dun think too much now. Take it as it comes. U nvr know what will happen few months down the road.. and try to relax as much as possible during ur confinement. I almost went into depression. Lucky my saviour hb saved me! haha...

I will be taking 3 mths ML one shot.

hi miso,
thank u so much
i'm trying to be positive all these while, should it happens, i just wish i have the courage to accept and move on...

yup, knowing that hubby is standing by is indeed the most comforting thing.

its so good to have 3 mths leave to bond with the baby, especially good for those breastfeeding.

reenie, i agreed with miso, be positive. tho i know sometime we, preggie woman tends to be abit paranoid...;p

talk abt breastfeedin. have u got ur breastpump yet? which brand r u intend to buy?

Hi all mummies-to-be,

I went to the gynae last weekend and was told that my baby is almost 600g at 24 wks =) That's abt the size of a giant prawn!!! A mth ago he was only 290g and I was kinda worried that he is too 'small' cos all the mummies-to-be here seem to have babies heavier than mine. Anyway, to cut the long story short, I had durian every day and in 1 mth, my baby gains 310g!!!

My weight has been very constant up to 20 week. Only put on 0.5kg but last week when I went to the gynae, he told me I have put on 2.5kg! I am now 53kg =)

One more thing, there are indeed more baby boys than gals. The guy to gal ratio was 2:1 in the past. That day when I went for my detailed scan, the radiography confirmed my guess that there are indeed more baby boys born this year esp.

Anissa

Anissa, so happy to hear tat ur bb growing big! ;o) now i kinda worry of taking too much durian..hav been taking it every twice a week.. ;p cant wait to see my bb in another 1 time... ;o) my bb is abt 385g at 19.6wk...

Hi Yvonne,

Actually I intend to go for natural birth. As such, my baby can't be too big. Your baby is almost 100g heavier than mine when I was 20 wk pregnant. At least it shows that he is getting all the nutrients =)

Btw, does your baby kick a lot? Mine seems to enjoy kicking me very much. I think that's his favourite past-time. I skipped lunch this afternoon cos he kicked me so much that I felt uncomfortable.

3 more mths then I will be on maternity leave!

Anissa, yes, my bb kick me alotz esp at nite. but after i used the method "telling him not to kick mummy at nite, we slp together, next morning then u kick mummy to wait me up." and it works! ;o)

is no gd for u n the bb to skip lunch. remember to take ur 3 meals... ;o)

when is ur edd? another 3 more mths u be gog 4 ur maternity leave! tatz fast! i gotta wait another 4 more mths...

reenie ...

I may take 2 month of ML first too ... cos have a mega project in Jan/Feb which I like to be involve ... think will keep the 3rd month for traveling heehee ... see me this mummy only think of fun and play hahahaha ...

anissa & yvonne ...

my baby boy kicks alot too ... esp at night when I am trying to zzz have learned to ignore him liao hahahaha ....

hoshi ..

when is your next appt?

seabreeze, my last appt was 9th May, next appt will be on 4th June.

Gynae says bb weighs 700-800g at 24 weeks already..

Anissa, u are so light! 53kg only!... wat's ur weight before preggie?

I'm back from Beijing!! Went for my scan yesterday at 23.5wks and my bb is at 680g. Now I feel v uncomfortable after meals as my tummy stretches v tightly.

any ladies gotta anything for baby yet? i only bought avent isis pump seiyu sale $59 think usual is $89 ....during the motherhood fair is the prices veri much cheaper? I am deciding whether to buy at motherhood fair or Dept store during Great Spore Sale....

Hi Yvonne & SeaBreeze,

Actually strange enough, I believe the baby does understand cos whenever he starts kicking me, I will rub my tummy and asks him not to do that as mummy needs to sleep and he seems to understand!

My delivery date is 5th Sept but I will be on maternity leave frm 5th Aug onwards. My boss just asked me into his office today and asked if I have made any arrangements for someone to take over my tasks when I am not around. I told him I will still come into the office as and when it's necc. or possible and I will correspond with my subordinates frm home (via emails). Tough thing is, my job involves recruitments and training. Anyway, I heard from a/c that he told them he feels the 'pain' abt the 3 mths maternity leave. Hahaha ...

Hoshi5,

I've always been 44kg before I went to HK but after staying in HK for 5 yrs, I put on 6kg. Can't resist going for supper there every night! I was 50kg when pregnant. Only gain 0.5kg first 20 wks then I started on my durian feast every night and now, I am 53 kg - 4 wks later! My baby is now abt 590g =)

Looks like my baby is the lightest among all the babies here. Maybe cos I 'run' too much in my job.

Hi Ladies, long time no see.. seem like these 2 days, our thread is abit quiet.. Hope everything is fine for all of u.

Welcome back Angel... Coming back to home is still the best..