(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

where are you ladies buying your maternity wear from? Seem like most places very exp ler ... dun wan spend so much on maternity wear ....

seabreeze, r u working? erowen has a big wardrobe of nice maternity work clothes she can give u advise on heheh!! i'm a stay at home mtb, so only spent on basics so far. one pair of shorts, pants and few basic tees i bought from thyme maternity takashimaya. most of the time i survive on wrap dresses and babydolls from my existing wardrobe....oh yah, my latest purchase is a dress from swell maternity for $89

Hihi...So happy someone finally replied me...Thank u thank u...
kiss.gif

Me not as fortunate as you wor

Me is working and trying to save up for bb fund..

breakbeats, when's ur edd? i'm not sure about glen e since i'll be delivering in mt e. have u asked ur gynae or the nurse about prenatal and postnatal courses from the hospital? most mtbs here are going for antenatal classes at tmc. i've not signed up for mine yet =P

Hi christina, Holland V a bit far leh.. and think I hv to give it a miss again.. cos usually Sunday is Family Day for us.. hb working from mon - sat.. whole day till 11 pm. So Sunday v. precious to me and ds to spend time with hb/daddy. haha..

wah.. my bb v. active during daytime leh.. from morning till now.. keep doing the somersault! got one v. painful one across tummy just now.. think it's her elbow. hiak hiak.

Hi breakbeat, welcome to join us. Me also not v. sure on courses cos I din attend any. Sorry.. maybe the rest can help..

Some info on Braxton Hicks. No wonder I felt it few weeks earlier.. cos this is my 2nd pregnancy and cld feel it earlier.

Pregnancy Symptoms & Complaints: Braxton Hicks
These contractions are practice for true labor.

What you may be experiencing: Whether its called "false labor," "practice contractions," or Braxton Hicks contractions (named for the 19th-century English doctor John Braxton Hicks, who first "discovered" them), you'll almost certainly experience this periodic tightening or hardening of your belly. These contractions, usually painless but occasionally quite uncomfortable, are your uterus's method of practicing for true labor. Braxton Hicks contractions may do some of the preliminary work of thinning and dilating your cervix. They usually first appear in the second trimester, around 20 weeks, though they may come earlier (and be more intense) if you have had a previous pregnancy.

At your prenatal checkup, let your healthcare provider know that you are having these contractions, which tend to occur more often as your due date approaches. If, at any point, they are very frequent (more than 4 an hour), accompanied by back, pelvic, or abdominal pain, or come with vaginal discharge, call your practitioner immediately.

What helps: Drinking plenty of fluids may help, as dehydration can be a contributing factor in bringing on Braxton Hicks contractions. If you find the contractions uncomfortable, do your best to relax when they strike. Try lying down and relaxing, or getting up and walking around, and practice your breathing exercises until they pass.

Christina ~ My edd is 12 Oct..1st time mummy & very blur.. Going to take up antenatal package with gynae at GEH, will check with them on the classes on my next visit...

Btw, some of the gals from Oct'05 MTB thread are going for aqua-aerobics specialised for preggies. Some interested in yoga..Me leh, too lazy, just go for occassional walks
..how about u gals?

christina ...

me working ... went to spring and bought a few tops ... very exp ler ... not sure if there are any outlets that sell similar design but at a lower price heehee ...

miso ...

wow really ar ... I always tot the cramp feeling is due to the stomach expanding ... heehee ...

breakbeats ...

welcome ... seem like the oct MTB oso very active ... i know poshbb ... we used to be from the Nov brides one ...

hi miso, its okay. i understand. sunday oso precious with my hubby too, esp when he goes away so often. mabbe we can all meet at the motherhood fair heheh.

breakbeats, my only form of exercise comes from walking in the mall. i call takashimaya my botanic gardens hahahah...

Seabreeze:

I agree most maternity wear very ex.. plus not everywhere got nice ones..unless very ex..

If only I have the capital, I would open a maternity shop that sells fashionable clothes at affordable prices...kekeke...wait till I strike 4D/toto/lottery...hee hee..

Christina:

Aiyo..ur botanic gardens very special..no greenery wan!
If I exercise there very fast broke..too many food & shopping temptations..kekeke

hello gals
took KFC for lunch, now bb keeps kicking, don't know whether she like it or not. =)

Christina, ya i'm using body shop cocoa butter stick, cos i super lazy one, after bath just wanna laze!! So the stick is pretty convenient for me, just turn and roll on my tummy, no need to use hand. =)) So far i quite ok but i do find abit sticky lor. Btw don't massage in circular motion ya, cos may cause early contractions. That was what advised by Mrs Wong and this morning my colleague was also saying the same.Just stroke yr tummy while applying stretchmark cream.

Oh ya hubby in states! he can lotsa bb wear for your darling girl. =) work is like that one...my hubby also flew to states last year for 3 weeks and before that he was in sydney. Last time, i not preggie i already feel sian, but now pregnant i guess really not easy, but yr parents and us preggies are here for you. =) Take care ya.

Seabreeze, you can try big belly mum. I tried pasting the link here but not allowed leh. =( It's pretty good. I also buy from Spring (Suntec or Causeway), Perfect Mum and Desiree (Suntec).

welcome here breakbeats, ya 4 of us had a great
meet-up on Monday and it was really very fun! Pure preggie talk! Will certainly jio you if we have more coming up. =)

hi erowen, thanks for the sayang. thank goodness i've preggie forum, friends and family to fall back on, if not sure get antenatal depression...my gynae told me not to rub too much after application also, never knew the reason till u mentioned it in your post. wahhh this mrs wong is really legendary!!

breakbeats, i know what u mean...always ended up buying breakfast enough to last 3 days when i'm at taka basement. soo much nice pastries...and my favourite red bean tokiwado pancake yummmmm!!

hiya musicgal, i bought the gel long time ago when face was feeling itchy... din know that it's so popular! keke... maybe u can pop by Guardian to check? There may be other brands out there...think generally gel form is cooler.

yah, holland v is indeed v far... esp for me staying in punggol!
we can arrange somewhere more central like plaza sing, orchard, or even raffles place, city hall...

hi tingting, no prob! with so many mtbs staying ard punggol/ sengkang, i dun even mind meeting somewhere nearer to those areas!! tricky bit is deciding on a date =)

Hi breakbeats

Gleneagles does have antenatal classes. It consists of 3 lectures and 4 exercise classes. There is no baby handling sessions in this schedule. But they offer complimentary classes after you deliver there. I don't have their number with me. But you can try their website. www.gleneagles.com.sg

Which gynae are you seeing?

erowen ...

didn't know that ler ... me always rub in circular motion thinking that its easier for the cream to be absorbed ...

better start to be gentle on my tummy from tonight onwards =)

will check out big belly mum ...

breakbeat ...

if strike 4D/toto i will take one year no pay leave to be a stay home mum ... but must be BIG prize lar ... my baby always let us sticke $20 or $30 toto only ...

Vone, do take care and rest more! Don't walk around too much or stress yourself. There was one day where I walked around too much too, and when bedtime came, I had some cramps too. I was pretty worried too and made sure that I spent the next couple of days taking it easy and resting more, and thank God the cramps didn't come back. So don't worry or stress yourself yah......rest more!! Will be praying for you that all is fine.

Hi breakbeats, welcome to Aug/Sep MTBs. I will also be giving birth in GEH as it is the nearest to my home. But was thinking of attending the TMC class since there are so many positive feedback about the legendary Mrs Wong. So it's either a choice between not attending any classes or the class at TMC. Have you gone for the hospital tour at GE? Was thinking of arranging for the tour, think it is mentioned on their website that you can arrange for Tues/Thurs. If you haven't gone yet, we can arrange to go on the same day?

christina, didn't realize Takashimaya was your playground, since you stay all the way in Sembawang. I am there quite often too, but have not bumped into you yet. Will buzz you next time when I am at Taka, in case you are there too. Then we can meet up for a drink cum snack!

erowen, yes....aircon is working fine and well now, no more drippy drippy.Looks like you have only 1/2 more hour to go before you can knock off for the day! Enjoy your weekend!

miso, I went to your multiply website and took a look at your recipes. Think I will try out your cheese pasta when I have time. And thanks for posting the info on the Braxton Hicks....it is always good to be well-informed. btw, can you email me the list of items to prepare for baby's arrival too? Many thanks in advance.

Lib, you are feeling lazy izit?? That why didn't reply to the forum postings?? Then it is time to get you out to go for another outing!!!!

hi christina and snoopy, ya try to apply across gently, definitely not circular. Not gd for bb. I was also rather surprised when i heard that from Mrs Wong.

wah christina! U can buy so many things for breakfast! Are you a pastry lover? =))
For me, everytime i go Mei-di-ya at ex liang court, i will sure end up with lotsa japanese goodies, cos i simply cannot resist their pretty packing and the nice nice food. =))

ya snoopy! knocking off soon!! Yippee!!! Now thinking of what to eat for dinner!!! U enjoy yr weekend too ya.

seabreeze, you got buy toto/4D ah? I tried once leh but never strike, seems like my bb yet to make any of my strike wish come true. =)
ya lor, if really strike, i will also take no pay leave look after bb. =))

yvonne, we knew each other via this forum and it was only recently we met up, it was organised by christina and snoopy. =)

erowen ...

buy a chance mar ... recently we will strike the small small prizes ... maybe my baby dun wan me to stay at home to accompany him heehee ...

Hi Vone,

Don't worry too much, I am sure all will be well =) In my course of job, I have to climb up and down the crafts several times a day and many times, I experience sharp pain and to this day, everything seems to be fine.

That was one night the pain was so bad that tears kept flowing. I didn't go to my gynae. My thinking is, in olden days the women were 10 times more 'xiong' than us and they still survive.

By the way, where did you send the list to? Is it to my a/c at [email protected] cos I didn't receive it. I intend to do some shopping but really dunno where to start

Anissa

hi gals, me at home now, today traffic is very smooth although raining just now.
U gals take care and have a wonderful and smooth weekend.

dear vone, hang in there and stay positive. =)

Hallo, i'm a 1st time mum and BB is due on 20 Sept. Can i join u ladies in this forum? Currently seeing Dr AL Lim at TMC

hi tingting,

yeah looks like i gotta find some other alternative... thanks for the recommendation though, i'll keep an eye out for it!

hey gals,

where do u feel the tightening of the braxton hicks contractions? i'm not sure exactly what it is i feel leh... i know there's 'tightening' but it's more like the baby changing positions cos can actually see a bump rise on some part of my tummy while the opposite side becomes softer than usual... unless it's all my imagination!

is anyone taking health suppliments ? My aunt kept insisting I take 'Solarays' DHA . Do you know where I can find this ? thanks

Hi seabreeze,

I bought some of my maternity dresses in Chinatown. Mayb u can check out those shops there. They sell nice maternity dresses ard $25 and blouses and pants are below $20.

Snoopy, i tried to pm u the list.. but u did not set the pm on. anyway.. chk ur multiply messages.. i sent to u there. If u trying out the cheese pasta.. do try it out with macaroni.. me and hb find it nicer..hehe..

Hi musicgal.. Braxton Hicks tightening is like suddenly for a while u feel the 'suan suan' feeling in ur tummy while it hardens. Just few seconds thingy.. then it will be bk to norm.

Hi ameliaa, think I saw it in Guardian.. U may wish to chk out with their pharmacist.

Hi Alice, welcome here.. of cos u r welcome to join us! How many weeks are you now?

Hi anissa, I hv the same thinking as u. Tt's y I juggle the taking care of my ds during weekends and some nights after work I will go home with him alone. And with ds, I also will remind myself tt our ancestors never have epidural to help them thru the delivery and some even gave birth in bushes! hahaa... this is to constantly remind myself..it's always in my head in the labour ward.. so I din say Yes to epidural. hehe..

Hi Ladies, I'm back to the forum.. Hehe was out ytd the whole afternoon lar.. Went out for lunch appt wif my neighbour then i proceed to Bugis Junction for running some errands plus kip alookout on the special buys..

Didn't noe ytd was so active, hehe.. maybe is the last day of the week, so everyone is so lazy to work.. keke.. (Snoopy, yes u have to get me out for gathering more hor.. hehe.. too boring at home liao. Christina, hehe yr playground is quite an expensive playground leh.. where most of the branded goods are selling thr.. hehe.. Btw, congrats for today to come,.. yr hb is back..)

Welcome newbies! Breakbeats, yvonne sure we will organise one big gathering among the preggies.. It was realli an experience mitup. Hehe.. (but hor, christina, got to be somewhere in town lar, more convenient..)

Alice, i'm oso seeing AL Lim.. He is a good gynae but too bad he has a super long waiting hours.. hehe..

** Today is realli a fine fine day, hope it can last throuhout..

ALrite ladies, since the small gathering on 2 May 05 was such a success, tinking of organising another one this coming long holiday weekend. Anyone interested? We can meet up on 23 May 05 for either lunch or tea since is a public holiday, and is not a sunday.. So no chance to say got to keep sunday as family day and Monday as a working day.. hehe..

Join the list if u can make it.
1) Lib - Free on 23 May

hi snoopy, my gynae is in mt e, so what i usually do is park the car at taka, walk to mt e for appt, then spent rest of afternoon in taka. sure, buzz me next time when u're there, i'm most likely to be in town having lunch with ex colleagues.

lib, thanks!! you remembered my hubby's return heheheh. we just came back from grocery shopping. how nice to have a man by my side to carry all those heavy stuff again. i practically bought the whole supermarket back! will have to get back with u on the date, me thinking of going to japan, my last shot on travelling before i hit the 3rd trimester.

erowen, same here!! i LOVE japanese snacks. esp rice crackers wrapped with seaweed...yummy, salivating liao..

Haha..Christina.. Of cos i remember today is yr hubby's return.. No problem, juz let me noe if u available then.. Japan.. hmm is really a good place to go for preggies, cos the japanese are very nice to preggies .. haiz unlike S'porean..

Ladies, do u all noe ytd while was in the train from Bugis to Yio Chu Kang, i stood in front of a lady age abt 25 - 30yrs old.. she was sitting. Imagine from City Hall till Somerset station she juz pretended not to see me.. So sickening.. thk goodness, a young chap hehe.. offered his seat and make sure that no selfish pple stole the seat.. hehe..

hi christina,

so nice tat u can go for holidaz.... i was thinkin for a short trip too. but i guess it will waste money coz i dun think i can enjoy much..i get easily tired nowadays... ;o(

Hi Lib, I tell u.. it's very normal!!! Like what I say earlier earlier earlier..... when in the train to and from work, I sometimes feel like a 'walking sleeping pill"! Ppl see me only will sleep leh! So maddening sometimes... but as I progress further and now bigger tummy... a lot of kind souls would give up their seats for me. So glad..really needed a seat though it's only few stops. The other day.. the whole train jerked.. aiyo.. lucky I hold my stand well cos I wasn't holding onto any railings..no space for me to hold ah.. then upon seeing this, someone finally gave me his seat too! haha..

Oh.. today went to gynae. Din know I put on so much!!! Total 10 kg leh!!! Oh gosh! From 1st visit at 53 kg.. now I am 63 kg!! But bb only weighs 658 gm. Everything is ok... and gynae says my bb's head is in the 'down' position and placenta is not blocking it. So meaning to say placenta is slowing moving up. Am so relieved to hear this! Cos I dun wanna hv a c-sect!

hi gd morning...
i'm so sleepyyy
zzzzzzzzzzzz

Hi Lib, i'm doing fine. Walked too much ystrday & now my right hip joint hurts. How i wish can take leave & go massage.

Bought a pram from OG Orchard Point... after spending whole afternoon btwn Baby Kingdom & Baby Hyperstore, the salesgirl claimed that pram that was reserved for us was sold!! Within a space of 1hr, when we were deciding on car-seat, they said they sold 4-5 pcs of the same model pram that we were eyeing, so since we haven't paid, they took our reserved set to sell. Sheesh! Baby Hyperstore, Juliet. Then 30 min later, she telephoned us to say our reserved set was still at the counter, please come back NOW to get it, o'wise they won't hold it for us. Threatening us hor, even though they made the mistake in the 1st place. But we were already at Orchard ley.. so we told them to go fly kite lah. Bought same model @ OG, & can use credit card sommore. Difference of $18.

Guess where we WON'T go to get our carseat...

Combi model TM359...
Hyperstore doesn't sell Combi, my mistake, i got it from Baby Kingdom. 83 Kaki Bkt Ave 1.

Baby Hyperstore got more range on display, but the salespeople seem young & can't dish out proper advise. 69 Kaki Bkt Ave 1.

Dunno how many harness... we don't intend to go hiking with the pram, so didn't really pay attn to the harness ley. We went more for price & ease of use & weight.

anyway Baby Hyperstore only carries a few European brands. Can't find popular brands like Graco, Combi, Lucky Baby etc, which tend to be lighter. Their Quinny, MacLaren, Peg Perego etc are costly & heavy, so we not too keen.

hi wendy,

are u sayin tat baby kingdom, Juliet, the salesperson? i thot kingdom service is better than hyperstore...at hyperstore, the salesperson not quite knowledgable abt their products n the service also not so good..

at the end i bought the car seat, stroller, cots and bath tup at kingdom...

yes it's true, Kingdom salespeople can advise better. But too bad they made a booboo with our item. What cheeses us was that she wouldn't even hold that item for us - we had to go back from Orchard to Kaki Bukit to pay for it immediately, o'wise they'd release it to others. In the first place, we told them CONFIRMED we want the pram, we just deciding on the car seat. If buy 2 items hopefully can get better price mah. Then Juliet said we didn't pay, so they sold it someone else.

so, where did u bought ur car seat n stroller? not sure whether i got it too ex from there...we paid abt 610 for the car seat n stroller...

haven't get car seat yet.. likely First Few Years (United Sq, KK Hosp, Paragon) coz just rcv'd gift vchrs from there.

Stroller Combi $238. BB Kingdom's lowest price to us was $220, but must pay cash. We got it from OG - used credit card.

does anyone of u have slpin at nite? my baby kicks me lotz durin the nite esp when i go to bed! cant really rest well...tho body is restin but my minds is working...so many funnie dreamz...